$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Riu Bachata All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
102 reviews
Fantastic getaway

I love it the people were gate the food was fantastic it was just a dream getaway from it all See full review

  • Robert4rosado
  • Jun 18, 2014
Awesome family resort

We had a great time! The staff work very hard to make sure that you have a positive experience. The... See full review

  • Digby99
  • Mar 23, 2014
Riu Bachata is a modern resort with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. This luxury resort is located on the shores of beautiful Maimon Bay in a quiet location, surrounded by stunning mountainside scenery just outside of Puerto Plata - right on the beach. An all-inclusive resort, featuring in-room liquor dispensers for your convenience, at no extra charge. The 610 bungalow-style guestrooms are surrounded by 12 acres of tropical gardens. Enjoy two swimming pools (including a childrens pool, Jacuzzi, or stretch out on the beach in a relaxing sun lounger. There are many activities, such as beach volleyball, tennis, windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, snorkeling, and more. There is also a nearby spa, casino gaming, and shopping on the resort's 'Caribbean Street.' This all-inclusive resort includes all meals, drinks, and most activities, and has something to offer every vacationer. Guests may also make use of the exchange program with Riu Merengue and Riu Mambo sister properties. The Dominican Republic is waiting for you! Property amenities: Outdoor Children's pool & mini-club, daily entertainment program for children ages 4 to 12; this summer, Riu Hotels & Resorts will be launching RiuLand, its new concept of children's entertainment and activities created by its Entertainment and Activities Department's team of professionals. The brand-new programme, which even boasts its own image and music, offers children between 4 and 12 a wide array of age-appropriate fun things to do that promote good group dynamics and education in values such as cultural diversity and ecology. 2 outdoor swimming pools daily activities for adults one with integrated Jacuzzi, 2 lit tennis courts, multi-sports court, aerobics, water polo, boccia, ping pong, one scuba diving lesson in pool, nightly entertainment including live music and Riu Theme Shows, Pacha Disco (entrance and drinks included), entrance at El Million Casino (drinks no included), unlimited domestic alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks, all meals and snacks, exchange privileges through out the Riu Complex during the day (Riu Mambo & Riu Merengue). Two wedding gazebos. At the Caribbean Street: Fitness center, billiards, Spa services; massages and beauty treatments, cigar shop, jewelry, photo studio & lab. Medical staff on call 24 hrs, gift shop, babysitting upon request, car rental, internet access at Reception, laundry service, all this with extra charge. Minimum Age: At least one person of 21 years old in every room. The Hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. ***NO STUDENT GROUPS UNDER 21 YEARS OR SPRING BREAKERS ARE ACCPETED ALL YEARR ROUND*** Maximum Occupancy: In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise) the maximum occupancies are 4 people per room, either 3 Adults + 1 Child OR 2 Adults + 2 Children. Four adults are NOT permitted. All people in room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children & and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Discounts: Children under 2 years stay & eat free. Their age must be specified in the Booking. Honeymooners: Will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of Marriage will be required upon arrival. Special requests : Any special request such a extra beds, rollaways, cribs, room next door , remains upon availability of the hotel . Guests will be informed at check in.

Hotel Map

19.8342 -70.7709
Area served
Puerto Plata, Bahia de Maimon, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP)
Area description
Located on the beautiful Maimon Bay, 82 feet from the Caribbean Street, 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata and 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata's International Airport. Maimon bay is the place to relax on the beach with a good book and a tropical drink. The main attractions here are the beautiful beach and the beachfront Riu Resorts complex, guests will enjoy the day and nighttime many activities offered at the three all-inclusive Riu Hotels. For a taste of local Dominican culture is easy and fun, visit Puerto Plata is only six miles away. Local excursion: Puerto Plata (16th century fort and amber museum), Cordillera Central Mountains, and Santiago (tobacco and folklore museums).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Bachata All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Bachata All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Room contains two double beds or one king size bed (on request), satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower & hairdryer, mini-bar & liquor dispenser (re-stocked), safety deposit box, ceiling fan & air conditioning. ***Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years.
Double Room Ocean View
Room amenities includes: 2 double beds or 1 king bed, Air-conditioned, ceiling fan, satellite TV, direct dial phone, mini-bar, liquor dispenser, in-room safe, bathroom with shower , hairdryer and balcony. Ocean View.
Junior Suite
Room contains balcony or terrace, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, bathroom with shower and hairdryer, mini-bar & liquor dispenser (re-stocked), safety deposit box, living area in room, ceiling fan & air conditioning. ***Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years.
Family Room
Bigger than a Double Room. Air conditioning, ceiling fan, two double beds and 1 twin bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liqour dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace. (Minimum occupancy is 2 adults + 1 child)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, dinner reservations required.
La Tambora
Beach Bar
Bahia de Maimon
Main restaurant serving international and local specialties, offering buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Caramba
Lounge Bar.
Maracuya
Pool Snack Bar and restaurant
Los Liros
Swim up Bar
Steak House
Steak House restaurant, dinner reservations required.
Bikini
Pavilion Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Bachata All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Bachata All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad from Fremont
fremont
Jun 27, 2014

great value for family vacation

The staff at the Riu Bachata are wonderful, they are every where and they keep check in up on all the guests to make sure we are having a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Extreme tour of Water falls, horseback riding and the ziplines is the best value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bachata All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert4rosado
Riu Bachata All Inclusive
Jun 18, 2014

Fantastic getaway

I love it the people were gate the food was fantastic it was just a dream getaway from it all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

fantastic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bachata All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lusdan
Bayamon< Puerto Rci
May 29, 2014

Great Time

Had a Wonderful Time the staff were great very attentive and cater to our needs. As for the bed kind of hard and not many blankets. Amenities were OK .Now the club or disco Club was horrible . You will think your are going to hear more merenge or salsa but you get pop music. Any way had a great time any way...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bachata All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Digby99
Near Chicago
Mar 23, 2014

Awesome family resort

We had a great time! The staff work very hard to make sure that you have a positive experience. The food in the main dinning hall was very good. We had most all food that you would find at a full size buffet in the US. The snack bar food was fair. They had mainly hamburgers and hotdogs and nochos at the snack bar. The room was spotless. The maid would make swans or fish out of the towels and blanket. They are always working on the grounds, beach and pool to keep it beautiful. There is only one brand of draft beer. It is a light beer called Brahma. The bartenders were prompt and were more than happy to make about any drink you can imagine. There were activities going on from beach volleyball, water polo, ping pong, water exercise classes, etc. We did four excursions that included atv 4 wheeling, snorkling, city tour, and cable car to the top of the mountain. The atv adventure included seeing the location where they filmed Jurassic Park. We toured a cigar factory, rum factory, amber museum, cathedral, town square, and market. The cable car ride to the top of Isabella had a bronze statue of Christ on the top. It is an identical copy, only smaller, of the one in Rio. Some of the stores are high pressure sales, with negotiation, that we are not familiar with in the US. We found that they accept about half of what they are asking for items. US dollars and Canadian Dollars are widely accepted. This is a family friendly resort that we would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel has various excursions available. There are lots of things to do other than the beach and pool. Snorkling and the cable car dride were the best two that we enjoyed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bachata All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RelaxinDude
Cincinnati Ohio
Mar 20, 2014

Great for relaxing

Room was nice. Spacious and clean with a nice balcony. Couples might not like the two beds put together rather than a king. There was a ceiling fan so I only used the a/c one night when it was muggy. The fridge was noisy so I unplugged it. I didn't drink any of the beverages in the room so it didn't matter. The staff are generally great and everybody speaks English and many French and German. I tried to eat in the main buffet as there was usually a lot of good things to eat and the secondary snack room was fora late breakfast or snack by the pool or beach. The pool bar was great (they made special drinks for me - big up Tullie!) just ask for a bit more liquor in your drinks to get the adequate strength. The wait staff in the buffet are super busy but if you engage they will be friendly especially in the evenings. Nobody I spoke to was impressed by the steak house or Italian restaurant so don't bother The beach was nice due to the trees so you could get a bit of shade but the water is rocky so wear water shoes as a lot of people were getting foot injuries. There is a sweet spot right in front of the Italian restaurant where you can walk out maybe 50 feet and be surrounded by fish - Doctor fish, sergeant majors etc. The Bachata pool with the swim up bar was the party spot and sometimes overly rowdy but moving over to the second pool quieted it down a lot and if you wanted a quieter pool the other two pools at the Merengue were far quieter. A lot of people mentioned the towels/card deal but I never used mine I just took a bath towel from the room or one I brought myself I took a snorkeling excursion to Sosua via the Scuba people on the beach (over by the Merengue) and the guide (Omar) was really good and the snorkeling at Sosua was nice. I had good reports of Paradise Island (look for a good rate as the trips there vary a lot in price) and mixed ones about the Puerto Plata city tour. They had a few pedal boats and kayaks and one poor sail boat which was my one major peeve about the resort. There's also bocce, horseshoes, beach volleyball,pool activities. I used the gym which was small: a few spin bikes, elliptical machines, the odd free weights and a multipurpose type weight machine but the spin bikes and the ellipticals were enough to get my sweat on. The entertainment at night is corny, the only night I really enjoyed was Sunday when they had just a couple singers and people danced. Make sure to take a lot of sunscreen as it is expensive there, also the outlets are recessed so it was impossible to charge my phone in my room as the adapter blocked it so I had to charge it in the lobby where there were a few flush outlets. The outlets are universal so they take Euro and American plugs. Also a stack of ones to throw out some tips are a good choice as well. A lot of people complained about getting water but there is water in all the dining rooms, at the bars etc so carry a bottle with you and you'll be OK. Also tip the drink guys and they'll hook you up more regularly or just score some at the bar. I was told the wine in the dining rooms was poor but I didn't drink any. I was told the wifi for $40/week was a good value but I just subsisted on the free stuff in the lobby as I just sent two emails off my phone. Overall a great family vacation for the price or if you just wanted to chill for a week like I did. The Dominicans were friendly and you rarely got a pressure sell outside the hotel. If I go back for a more active vacation I'll go to Sosua or Cabarete but you can't fault Riu too much for what they offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I got my travel to and from the airport with the VIP comapny when I booked my trip and they were excellent and it was half the price of a taxi (I think a taxi was $30 each way - which is good as it's a 40 minute ride). They also gave us a good orientation to the hotel and were very nice. I think the taxis were good and the drivers seemed OK but I didn't use them. The taxi rates were posted at the airport and at the hotel so there were no games there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bachata All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GinaNurse
Montana
Mar 18, 2014

Fun and relaxing

First off, this was my first all-inclusive experience, and I am normally more of an "adventure" traveler, so my opinion might be a bit skewed. The rooms were nice and VERY clean, but spring for the ocean view, as the "garden view" actually means "no view". The staff were quite accommodating, and very nice and fun. Not that it is necessary, but most of them speak pretty good English, and if they don't they will direct you to someone that does. The grounds are well maintained, the pools are immaculate and the beach is nice. If you love going to the beach, wander down toward the merengue beach, the water is a bit clearer and the beach is a bit nicer. As far as amenities, the bars are numerous, but they don't serve ANY top shelf liquor and they only have ONE beer on draft, which is ok, but sometimes you just want an ice cold bottle or can of beer (which you can find in the gift shop for $4 each). The drinks were of the in-machine frozen variety, so really just syrup and ice, and the booze was watered down a lot... which could be a good thing if you are drinking in the sun all day. Everything was really sugary and sweet, no fresh fruit or juice in them, which was definitely disappointing. The "nightlife" was laughable, and usually consisted of the "activities" people just dancing around on stage, or grabbing people from the audience and having them do stupid things. Karaoke night was entertaining, only because we got to hear songs we like. The location is horrible if you have ANY desire to leave the resort, which we found out: most people that go to all-inclusives DON'T LEAVE THE RESORT. I found this quite peculiar, as the DR has a rich culture and plenty of sightseeing things to do, but to each his own. It was at least a $40 cab ride just to get anywhere, including the airport and the town of puerto plata, which is a small little beachside town. Not much for touristy stuff, but we had a good meal there and did some shopping. If you are looking for something outside of the resort, go to sosua, it is a gorgeous beach with a bunch of little shops and restaurants right there. You can rent a chair for $5, and they will wait on you hand and foot if you like. It was very relaxing and perfect for swimming. Which brings me to the food... it is HORRIBLE!! Literally after 2 days of eating the same bland, poorly prepared slop, I was nauseous just thinking about eating a meal, but we still had 6 days left. There is NO local or regional cuisine, and what may have been an attempt at it was undercooked rice and beans from a can. The rest was literally like eating prison food. I work in a hospital, and the hospital cafeteria food is 10X better than this stuff. The only thing I could stomach was made to order eggs and toast in the morning. We tried the Italian a la carte restaurant, and it was perhaps ONE notch better than the buffet, but it's not really a la carte, as you have two dinner options and everything else is served, again, buffet style. For lunch, the little poolside grill sometimes had a big pot of chili or a bbq... I would recommend eating whatever is NOT ON THE BUFFET. Beside the food, I have few complaints. The place was beautiful, and the weather was perfect. If you don't care about food, or will eat toast for every meal, this could be your place. I probably wouldn't go back again, but I think that's because I'm just not an all-inclusive kind of girl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

SOSUA beach is beautiful. It is a bit of a commute, but well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bachata All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jayceelove86
nj
Mar 6, 2014

honeymoon

Everything was wonderful except for the food. The food tasted horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Better food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bachata All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BB NYC
NY
Feb 23, 2014

Favorite hotel in PP

This is my fourth stay at this resort. I think the staff, property and the location are all very good. Food is usually excellent but on this stay it did lack a little bit while the resort was nearly full. The entrance into the ocean is mostly rocky, except at the furthest beach in front of the RIU Mambo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bachata All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Filthy Rich
Puerta Plata
Feb 2, 2014

Nice Property, BUT

Hotel grounds were immaculately kept, staff was great. The room was very musty and mildew conditions prevailed and the bed was terrible, hard as a rock. the food was ok, could have offered more specialty items on a daily basis. they like PASTA. the beach area was not condusive for swimming lots of rocks. Punta Cana beaches much more desireable. would not come back to this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Bachata All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Brooklyn Man
New York City
Jan 21, 2014

Ok for the price, but not coming back

So i booked to go here with my family and an infant just for some sun, which we got, but the hotel from the start took for ever to get us a crib. I had to constantly repeat to front desk Staff to refill bottle water in the room as I need more for the infant's use. The rooms always took forever to clean and often when I came back from lunch they were still not done. On the last few days I found rock's in my chili, which was more than disappointing because I almost broke my tooth and thankfully I didn't get in the first days because I wouldn't be able to eat anything. The entertainment was average and all the games, shows were old and overplayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search