$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Luperon, km. 4, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
148 reviews
Awesome girls vacation!

Staff are great, very kind, attentive and upbeat. Lots of fun activities for all ages, keep you on... See full review

  • Masha88
  • Jun 9, 2014
One word....AMAZING!

My first time traveling to the Dominican Republic and will def. not be my last. I would stay... See full review

  • MegDRforever
  • Mar 7, 2014
Spacious and uncrowded, all-inclusive resort with an endless blue pool
With a giant, sparkling blue pool that seems nearly as large as the ocean, the impressive Iberostar Costa Dorada all-inclusive hotel sits on the beach of Costa Dorada. Tall palms sway over grounds dotted with flamingos, turtles and peacocks, a world away from the bustling city of Puerto Plata in the Dominican Republic just minutes by car. Kids enjoy their own pool and the day-to-night entertainment. Activities, sports and the beach provide recreation, while restaurants and bars at the Iberostar Costa Dorada all-inclusive hotel keep everyone happy.
Highlights

  • Meals, drinks, sports, daytime activities and evening entertainment are all-inclusive
  • Four restaurants, four bars and a snack bar
  • Large swimming pool on the expansive beach of Costa Dorada
  • Fitness center, aerobics and volleyball plus kayaking, catamarans and windsurfing
  • On-site spa

Location
The Iberostar Costa Dorada all-inclusive hotel lies along on the beach of Costa Dorada on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. More than half a million tourists visit each year to discover the shopping malls, restaurants, bars and gift stores that stretch three miles along the seafront. The tourist zone near the Iberostar Costa Dorada all-inclusive hotel includes two casinos, tennis courts, horse riding stables plus an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones.
Rooms
Beach casual and comfortable for families or couples describes the 498 rooms and 18 junior suites at the Iberostar Costa Dorada all-inclusive hotel. Choose two twins or one king bed in tidy rooms that feature air conditioning, a ceiling fan, telephone, cable TV and a mini-bar. Find views of the ocean, pool or garden from a vacation-ready balcony or terrace. Book a junior suite with a separate sitting area to get closer to the beach. High-speed wireless Internet access is available in all accommodations (fees apply).
Features
Dance like an island native in the nightclub at the Iberostar Costa Dorada all-inclusive hotel. Then wake to a buffet breakfast and an all-inclusive day of beach lounging, swimming, snorkeling, aerobics, billiards, archery, basketball, tennis, table tennis, volleyball, kayaking, catamarans and windsurfing. Work out in the fitness center then head to the Turkish bath. Guests book a catamaran sail or an adventurous excursion, visit the PADI diving center or indulge in a rejuvenating massage at the spa and beauty salon (fees apply). Kids ages four to 12 enjoy club activities throughout the day. Babysitting and laundry add family convenience (fees apply) at the Iberostar Costa Dorada all-inclusive hotel.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35 km)
  • Santo Domingo (127 mi/204 km)

Business

  • High-speed wired Internet access available in public areas (fees apply)
  • Meeting rooms accommodate up to 450 guests

Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
The standard room offers one king bed or two twins along with Air conditioning, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service at cost, Mini bar, Safe in room at cost, Telephone and Mini Refrigerator.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

19.7765 -70.6576
Area served
Puerto Plata
Nearby airports
Gregorio Luperon International Airport
Area description
Iberostar Costa Dorada sits directly on the beach of Costa Dorada, just a short five minutes away from the bustling city of Puerto Plata. Approximately 20 minutes from Gregorio Luperon International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 2.7 mi

Dining

Buffet Restaurant
Breakfast: 07:00 – 10:00 am; Lunch: 1:00 – 3:00 pm; Dinner: 6:30 – 9:30 pm.
Brazilian - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner: 6:00 – 9:00 pm. Dress Code: long trousers for men shirts with sleeves, and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
Mexican – Menu style Restaurant
Dinner: 6:00 – 9:00 pm. Dress Code: long trousers for men shirts with sleeves, and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.
International - Menu style Restaurant
Dinner: 7:00 – 9:00 pm. Dress Code: long trousers for men shirts with sleeves, and no sandals allowed. Reservation required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evitoooo
New Jersey
Jul 16, 2014

Paradise

The only complaint that I have is that it took me 3 hours to check into this hotel. There was absolutely no direction stating that it was a necessity to PRINT OUT my hotel reservation. Apparently, even though it is the year 2014, a proof of email on my phone is not enough to check into the hotel. After I was made aware of this situation at the time of my check in, they would not print this out for me. I had to pay $3 to use an hour of their internet. It took 20 minutes for them to finally realize that their main printer was not hooked up correctly and I would not be able to print it out from their computer. We finally convinced them to let us use a computer in the back room. Three hours later we were in our room ready to start our awesome vacation. Other than that, this place was pretty good. Was not that great. Frozen drinks weren't quite frozen. Rooms were nice and clean Beach was awesome. People were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rockstar Bandit
San Tan Valley, AZ
Jul 1, 2014

Geat Deal for the money

We were very pleased with our stay. The room was clean, the staff always went out of their way to take care of our needs and requests. Language is a little bit of a barrier, but they try very hard to accomadate. The only negative is that on the weekends they let the locals come on to the property. besides making the club more crowded they tend to cut in line, and are very pushy. If you are from the US and used to being courteous and waiting your turn, you will find this irritating. Food at most 4 star properties is average and not fancy. But dinners here we very good and the Brazilian BBQ was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get to the beach early the best locations fill up quickly.

Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Venus' dad
Boston, MA
Jun 17, 2014

Wonderful rest and relaxation

We stayed at Iberostar Costa Dorada for 3 nights and overall had a great vacation! The hotel is all inclusive with several restaurants to choose for dinner (don't forget to make reservations every morning), but we ended up mostly going to the buffet which was diverse and very good. There's a nice swimming pool with a poolside bar, as well as a sandy beach with some watersports activities if you're into that. We were offered various excursions at extra cost but chose to stick to the all inclusive, which was more than enough for us. The room was very good, about 4 star value. we had some leaking so after reporting we were moved to another room. There's not much to do at night, but there is a show every night and a dance party, if you're into that. The city is also close and you can find some activities there; we only left the hotel once for the cable car to Mount Isabel, which is highly recommended. If you want to go, you can take a taxi for a round-trip (agree on the fare before), or use the local mini-bus, called guagua (line c), which is much cheaper (25 pessos per direction at 2014). Even though it's not the most convenient, it's also an interesting experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mount Isabel des Torres, take the cable car (Teleferico).

Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psyched78
Alexandria, VA
Jun 11, 2014

Happy Anniversary!

My wife and I stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary. It was fantastic! Good beach, the staff was helpful and responsive, and the bars always had great drinks made fast. The buffet restaurant had many options. The only drawbacks were that the reservation restaurants would semi-shoo you out if you had a late reservation and the constant excursion solicitation on the beach. There were always 5 or 6 there, and you had to tell each one of them no. Then 30 minutes later, do it again because they would "forget" they asked you. Overall a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Masha88
New York
Jun 9, 2014

Awesome girls vacation!

Staff are great, very kind, attentive and upbeat. Lots of fun activities for all ages, keep you on your feet and overall just fun and constantly laughing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Extreme mega adventure The best combination of activities for the best possible price.

Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danielle from New England
New Hamphire
Jun 1, 2014

Family Trip

Hotel staff exceptional. Customer base was family orientated as well as singles, couples, old and young. Everyday was a ritual of down for breakfast, up to room to change into suits and then to pool. Bartender very attentive at the swim up bar and to make conversation. Pool games fun but nightly entertainment a little on the simple side with men dressed as women. The bugs were out at night so bring spray. The casino was closed but you could go to a neighboring hotel if you wanted to gamble. Not much in shopping so had to buy gifts at the airport. The restaurants were a good choice if you wanted to be in air condition as well as to be waited on. Service sometimes slow but you are on vacation. Overall this vacation was fun due to the great weather, great staff and for the price. I would definitely go back and recommend to others. Even though not a 5 star hotel the grounds were immaculate and the staff tried to tend to your every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Great deal for the price.

Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. Dee Traveler
Brooklyn, NY
May 30, 2014

Nice

I stayed at this hotel last week, and it was...nice. Good things first: Overall, the staff is very friendly and willing to please. The food isn't the best I've had,but no matter her taste in food, you will be able to find something nice to eat. My favorite was the bite-sized pieces of flan they serve for desert. The pool and beach area was clean and the overall property was clean as well. Now, the bad: Truly, the only bad thing was my room. I stayed in the 3000s. The day I left for my trip, I got a cold, so by the time I checked in, I was congested and tired and wanted to shower and sleep. I get to my room and the bellman quickly shows me where everything was. When he left, I go to take a shower and my tub was absolutely filthy! I was so turned off and went to my phone to call the front desk, but there is no directory. The usually "0" doesn't do anything here. But I was so exhausted, I just took a nap. The next day, I showed the cleaning people and they cleaned my tub...AT LIKE 3:00PM!!!! I know they have to clean vacant rooms, but for my whole time there, I couldn't figure out the cleaning schedule to save my life. Also, DR is very humid, so be prepared to have everything you own feel damp (even your paper money). You have to have the air conditioning on the entire time. But, if you open you balcony door, it kicks out the air and you have to have housekeeping reset it. Huh??? Also, the outlets are 110v, but because of how it is framed, it did not fit my iPad plug and my flat iron only fit in one outlet on the other side of the room. Overall, I liked my time there, but the room I was in needs some serious updates. Also, the housekeeping staff needs to clean rooms a lot better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joydivisyon1
Ewing, New JErsey
May 11, 2014

Okay Trip

Let me start off by saying that we had a great time - because we were on vacation! However, it could have been better. This was our 6th all inclusive vacation and the worst so far. Food - the food left much to be desired. The buffet is not as good as other reviewers have said. There is not much variety from day to day and the quality of the meat is poor. The a la cartes were also not very good - same problem with the meat. The shrimp were not deveined. Pool - the pool is nice and big. At the beginning of the day it is pretty good, but at the end it is pretty gross because the filtration system is not good enough for the size. There are a lot of chairs and palapas, although they may not be in the most prime location there is definitely enough. Ocean - the ocean is nice, but the water is colder than I expected. There are hecklers on the beach that can be quite tenacious and will follow you even if you tell them you are not interested 5 times. Room - the room was okay, not great and not bad. We got a corner room on the first floor which turned out to be a problem over the weekend when people were going past our room very loudly at all hours of the night. We did not have this problem from Monday on though. Entertainment - the shows were not that great. Again, we have been to 5 other resorts and their shows were much better. The entertainment staff is very friendly and tries to get people involved in the many activities during the day. Bars - at the bars we went to (the pool bar, ocean bar, and snack bar) there weren't blenders to make blended drinks. There are some premade frozen drinks in slushy-type machines (pina colada, strawberry daquari, and margarita) FYI - when you arrive at the airport in the Dominican Republic you need to pay $10 per person for a tourist card. They accept cash only. This caught me off guard as I did not hear it mentioned in other reviews. Also, some people will need to pay $20 per person to leave, although some airlines charge this as part of the fare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iwonasheep
MA.
Apr 22, 2014

Fantastic getaway

Good Hotel.Perfect stuff.great staff. Awesome food , rooms were fair , beach was nice . Snack bar on the beach was just awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Iberostar Costa Dorada All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melbolay
New York City
Apr 20, 2014

Family Getaway

We love staying at Iberostar. They know how to treat guests well and always make it fun. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the grounds are well-maintained. The food is better than the drinks, (a bit watered down) and also beware of water from the tap. The resort is an easy drive from the airport and just a beautiful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top