$223 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
54 reviews
Great Experience

We experienced a great vacation. It was to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Management and... See full review

  • Warpco
  • Jun 18, 2012
Perfect Relaxation!

This was a second trip to Grand Paradise and was more impressed than the first. Smooth check-in.... See full review

  • Sit back and Relax
  • Jan 30, 2012
Family-friendly beachfront all-inclusive in Dominican Republic

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada offers all-inclusive beachfront comfort in 424 rooms and suites 25 minutes from the international airport and 15 minutes from Puerto Plata. As part of the Playa Dorada complex, Grand Paradise is set on Costa Dorada beach near shopping and a championship golf course.

Highlights
  • No worries about pricing with all-inclusive fare
  • Close to international airport
  • Location on attractive slice of beach
Rooms

All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, air conditioning, flat-screen television, safe deposit box, minibar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, and hairdryer. Suites include a separate living area, kitchenette, and balcony or terrace, with garden, pool, or ocean view.

Features

The all-inclusive package includes room, tips, and taxes, all meals (buffet style), snacks, alcoholic and nonalcoholic house drinks, daytime and nighttime entertainment, and nonmotorized watersports. Dining options include two full-service restaurants (reservation required) and a buffet, with midnight snack service available until 1 a.m. Four bars include a beach bar and a swim-up pool bar.

 

Daily daytime activities include aerobics, beach volleyball, dance classes, and contests. Non-motorized watersports such as kayaking, sunfish sailing, windsurfing, sailing, snorkeling and scuba diving (clinics at the pool) are also free of charge. Motorized sports (available for a surcharge) include Jet-Ski and waterskiing, and a ride on a banana boat. Other activities include ping pong, archery, mini golf, half-court basketball, and two tennis courts. Guests can also swim in the lagoon-style pool or relax in the Jacuzzi.  

 

The nighttime social scene includes nightly entertainment and the dance club Crazy Moon, open from 11 p.m. until 2 a.m., with free drinks.

 

A child's pool is available, and the Kids Club program offers supervised activities from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. for children ages 5 to 12.

Transportation
  • Gregorio Luperon International Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.2 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi service (fee applies)
Policies and fees
NOTICE: The casino will be closed from May to December.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.7998 -70.6832
Area served
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Airport of Puerto Plata
Area description
25 minutes from the International Airport of Puerto Plata and 15 minutes from the Puerto Plata town.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite
All suites are equipped a king bed, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Independent living area, kitchenette and balcony or terrace. Garden, pool or ocean view available. Iron and iron board
Superior Ocean View
All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Full or partial ocean view. Iron upon request
Saver Room
All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Garden or pool view. Iron upon request
Superior Garden View
All rooms are equipped with one or two full beds, independent A/C, 32" flat screen TV, cable, telephone, safety deposit box ($), mini bar with complimentary water and soda, full bath, handheld hairdryer. Garden or pool view. Iron upon request

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Casino
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.4 mi

Dining

Edens
Seaside restaurant opens for snacks from 12:00 to 16:00, no reservation required. Opens for dinner at 18:30, see information
Hibiscus
Seaside buffet restaurant, features a thatched cana roof. Opens for breakfast (07:00 - 11:00) lunch (12:30 - 14:30) and dinner (18:30 - 22:00). Casual dress code. There are theme buffets for dinner.
Edens
Open-air, seaside BBQ & Grill a-la carte restaurant, features a thatched cana roof. Opens for dinner -reservation required- (18:30 - 22:00), casual dress code.
Michelangelo
A la carte Italian restaurant. It's air-conditioned and features a romantic atmosphere. Opens for dinner (18:30 - 22:00). Reservation is required. Business casual dress code.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vince the pro
Business
New Jersey
Feb 4, 2014

A long way from a four start rating.

The best thing about the Hotel is the staff. They were great! However, I booked an Ocean View suite and they gave me a pool view suite. They only provided one hand towel and one bath towel per day per person. So once you shower in the AM, your towels are wet the rest of the day. The soap and shampoo are practically non-existing. The food was better than average, but you need to pay for a safe key and Wi-Fi service. Also, they are constantly trying to sell you time-sharing units, which becomes annoying. I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Florida Expert
Orlando FL
Nov 23, 2012

break time

reserved two rooms for four nights . FD staff not so helpful. all other staff great job. remote did not work .no hot water in the shower some days. good food and drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

dont need a guid to the city.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bigmama801
New York
Aug 15, 2012

Paradise Dorada

I booked this hotel because it was suppose to be a 4 star hotel with remodeled rooms. The walls had cracks, the lighting in the room was minimal, the phone in the room did not work. I was given towels that should have been thrown away as they were ripped. In addition, I love going to the casino - another reason I chose this place only to arrive and be informed that the hotel was under renovation - What??? The front desk personnel were not the most polite folks. As for the entertainment and the staff at poolside, bar and restaurants, they were fantastic. The food was great each day. Our overall experience I give it a 7 but I won't be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Bravissimo Dinner and Show - 20 min drive - purchased exursion on the internet. It was the highlight of the week. Well worth it. Beautiful restaurant with top quality food and a great Las Vegas Style show

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sea breeze
san juan, pR
Aug 2, 2012

awfull

no fun... the breakfast is the same every day... food->not good at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria from Brooklyn
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 17, 2012

Girls Getaway

Food was horrible!!! Alcoholic drinks were terrible!!! Stick with the mixed drinks they were ok. The pools was fun and many activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warpco
Nanticoke, Pa
Jun 18, 2012

Great Experience

We experienced a great vacation. It was to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Management and Staff were so accomodating and we enjoyed a relaxing time just taking it easy. We have been to this resort previously, as well as other Amhsa Marina Resorts and other Playa Doradas Hotels. We usually visit the Puerto Plata area three times a year and we have to say that Grand Paradise is one of the finest. They offer a large selection of food in the buffet and two specialty restaurants. The beds and pillows are very comfortable also. Many want to be super critical, but just go and have a great relaxing time and enjoy the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop or look arounf the Plaza, which is a brief walk.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nabdadon
New York, NY, USA
Apr 25, 2012

Can't complain

I had a great time. I can't wait to go back. My wife and I did the dinner on the beach, and people were passing by taking our pictures as if we we celebrities or related to Obama.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Albanian
Yorktown, NY 10598, USA
Apr 11, 2012

A great location

Bed sheets were too small for the bed and falling off. Bathroom needed repairs but, needed three calls for the handyman to show up, to declare that he needed a part and will come back, which never happened. Music was too loud at night, with a whistling noise that pierced my ears. Reception staff not helpful, you need to "pull" an answer from them. I had stomach discomfort, as had many other customers, however, there was no attempt to help. Had to walk to doctor's office, who charged me $212 (US). All in all, I would not go back, nor recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hemingway's Bar & Grill had good Mexican food.

Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jumior
new york
Mar 6, 2012

what a waste

the restaurants were terrible , staff would try to hustle you for every dollar. to have a safe in your room would cost 20 dollars a week, usually its standard in most resorts

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Beach Resort and Casino - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sit back and Relax
Queens, NY, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Perfect Relaxation!

This was a second trip to Grand Paradise and was more impressed than the first. Smooth check-in. Beautiful beach, professional staff, and always great food! Great variety at the buffets, never boring selections. The staff always has a smile and never hesitates to accomodate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search