$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

5 stars
Playa Dorada, ., Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
18 reviews
Great couple getaway!!!

From the moment u walk thru those doors ur treated like a king!!! Unbelievable!!! All the staff... See full review

  • Hana love to travrl
  • Jul 10, 2014
PERFECTION!!

A beautiful place with a beautiful staff! It doesn't get any better then this! See full review

  • Shelly5651
  • Jul 8, 2014
Glamorous all-suite retreat in Dominican Republic

Casa Colonial Beach & Spa garners rave reviews for stellar design resembling a European manor in the Caribbean. The 50 suites in white stucco buildings reflect the style of the great historic estates. Activities for guests include swimming, snorkeling, sport fishing, scuba diving, and golf at Playa Dorada's course designed by Robert Trent Jones Senior, only a few steps away.

Highlights
  • First and only member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World in the Dominican Republic
  • Gourmet restaurant and luxurious spa
  • Rooftop pool and Jacuzzis
Rooms

Each of the spacious suites features a king-size bed, marble floor, bathroom with shower and tub, plush robes, private balcony, satellite television, CD player, coffee maker, hairdryer, high-speed Internet access, air-conditioning, iron and ironing board, minibar, and safe deposit box. Options range from Junior and one-bedroom suites to deluxe suites with private balcony and master suites with private entrance.

Features

The shimmering sands of Playa Dorada invite guests to go barefoot and feel the warmth. Guests can also swim in the infinity pool and relax in four temperature-controlled Jacuzzi whirlpools on the ocean-view rooftop terrace. More energetic options include golf on the adjacent 18 hole Playa Dorada course designed by Robert Trent Jones Sr. Fully equipped ocean view Cybex gym offers a place to work out, and whatever activity guests choose, Spa Bagua with its 13 treatment rooms is a perfect place to wind down.

 

Casa Colonial Beach and Spa boasts two enticing restaurants. Lucia features Asian fusion cuisine with views of the exotic mangrove jungle, separated by only a glass wall. Signature dishes include fresh lobster Cobb salad served with lemon tarragon vinaigrette and tropical fruit, blackened salmon filet topped with Mediterranean basil sauce and beef tenderloin topped with melted gorgonzola cheese. Veranda offers more casual dining for breakfast and lunch daily. Guests may dine outside on the terrace or in the air conditioned dining room.

Transportation
  • Gregorio Luperon International Airport (9 mi/14.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Horseback riding at Rancho Lorilar (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Puerto Plata (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
Business
  • Conference room for 25 people
  • High speed Internet Service
  • Full staff for catering

Hotel Map

19.8061 -70.7231
Area served
Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata
Nearby airports
The hotel is located 9 miles from Puerto Plata International Airport, 25 minutes by car or 5 minutes by helicopter.
Area description
Playa Dorada beach, Puerto Plata

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Colonial Beach and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Casa Colonial Beach and Spa Rooms

Junior Suites with garden view
Oversized rooms exquisitely decorated with marble floor and beautiful bathrooms (with open view from the bathroom to the room). One kind bed (allows only 2 adults) or two queen beds (allows 4 adults). 24 hour room service/Wake-up service Alarm clock Balcony Bathrobe & slippers Cable channels CD player Coffee maker Hairdryer High speed Internet access IDD telephone with voice mail Individually controlled air-conditioning Iron/Ironing board Large flat color screen with remote control Mini bar Multichannel radio Safety deposit box
Deluxe Suite Tropical
Spacious and superb, each deluxe suite features two queen size beds or one king, a separate living room with a sofa bed, one bathroom, dining area and spacious balcony. In room amenities include air conditioning and ceiling fan, high speed Internet, two large flat screen televisions with cable channels and one DVD player, three telephones with international direct dialing and voice mail, a minibar, coffee maker, bathrobes and slippers, a radio and CD player, an iron with ironing board, hair dryer, alarm clock, umbrella, in-room safe large enough for a laptop and 24 hour room service. The bathrooms are equipped with double hand basins, a sumptuous Roman style tub and separate walk-in shower.
Junior Suites with ocean view
Oversized rooms exquisitely decorated with marble floor and beautiful bathrooms (with open view from the bathroom to the room). One kind bed (allows only 2 adults) or two queen beds (allows 4 adults).24 hour room service/Wake-up service Alarm clock Balcony Bathrobe & slippers Cable channels CD player Coffee maker Hairdryer High speed Internet access IDD telephone with voice mail Individually controlled air-conditioning Iron/Ironing board Large flat color screen with remote control Mini bar Multichannel radio Safety deposit box
Junior Suite Tropical View Superior
Oversized rooms at the 02nd or 03rd floor exquisitely decorated with marble floor and beautiful bathrooms (with open view from the bathroom to the room). One kind bed (allows only 2 adults) or two queen beds (allows 4 adults).24 hour room service/Wake-up service Alarm clock Balcony Bathrobe & slippers Cable channels CD player Coffee maker Hairdryer High speed Internet access IDD telephone with voice mail Individually controlled air-conditioning Iron/Ironing board Large flat color screen with remote control Mini bar Multichannel radio Safety deposit box
Junior Suite Ocean Front Superior
Oversized rooms at the 02nd or 03rd floor exquisitely decorated with marble floor and beautiful bathrooms (with open view from the bathroom to the room). One kind bed (allows only 2 adults) or two queen beds (allows 4 adults).24 hour room service/Wake-up service Alarm clock Balcony Bathrobe & slippers Cable channels CD player Coffee maker Hairdryer High speed Internet access IDD telephone with voice mail Individually controlled air-conditioning Iron/Ironing board Large flat color screen with remote control Mini bar Multichannel radio Safety deposit box
Junior Suite Lanai Ocean Front
Oversized rooms at the ground floor with direct access to the beach, exquisitely decorated with marble floor and beautiful bathrooms (with open view from the bathroom to the room). One kind bed (allows only 2 adults) or two queen beds (allows 4 adults).24 hour room service/Wake-up service Alarm clock Balcony Bathrobe & slippers Cable channels CD player Coffee maker Hairdryer High speed Internet access IDD telephone with voice mail Individually controlled air-conditioning Iron/Ironing board Large flat color screen with remote control Mini bar Multichannel radio Safe deposit box

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 2.2 mi

Dining

Lucia
Our gourmet Lucia restaurant serves international dishes with sensuous variations inspired by our award winning chef, who often enhances flavors with exotic island fruits.
Veranda
Offers a casual dining experience for breakfast, lunch & dinner overlooking the beautiful blue waters of the Caribbean offering exotic Caribbean cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hana love to travrl
new york
Jul 10, 2014

Great couple getaway!!!

From the moment u walk thru those doors ur treated like a king!!! Unbelievable!!! All the staff always with a smile ready to help!!! Hotel is sparkling clean! Rooms get cleaned and fresh towels twice a day! Definitely going back there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shelly5651
Miami, FL
Jul 8, 2014

PERFECTION!!

A beautiful place with a beautiful staff! It doesn't get any better then this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Ocean World for an unforgettable animal Adventure!! Swimming with the dolphins can't be missed!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelingMadeEasy
Boston, MA
Apr 29, 2014

5 Star Service

The staff at Casa Colonial really made our experience so much better. The hotel is gorgeous! If you are looking for a retreat and to get pampered, this is your place. Rooms are clean, big and comfortable. Food is not typical of the country as they have an italian restaurant, but it is still good. Breakfast is by far the best and not too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little mall, walking distance from Casa Colonial, just in case you forgot something. The team there will drive you over and wait for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jdelta9889
Seabrook, TX
Mar 30, 2014

Amazing! Simply Amazing.

Pros: This Resort in NOT ALL INCLUSIVE. So if you are looking for loads of free drinks, crowded beach, and mediocre food, this place is not for you. This is a 5 star resort with a chef that produces top notch food. You will never be disappointed with your meal. When you walk on the beach and stroll by the other all inclusive resorts the mood changes from relaxed to crowded. Walking onto the Casa Colonial Beach is like walking into another world. You are treated as Royalty here. I can't say enough about the level of service and food that this place offers. You do have to pay for drinks, but they are actually very reasonable (<$4 for beer). Cons: There are no shows, activities or dance parties at this resort, only a piano player that played on Friday & Saturday (To be fair there are only 50 rooms with maybe a handful of couples there at a time so having shows / dance parties is not reasonable) Also, there can be quite a buildup of seaweed on the beach when the sea is rough, but they clean it everyday. Pro tip: Walk to the left down the beach about 500 meters (maybe 3 or 4 resorts down) and you will find a mini coral reef that you can snorkel and see fish!!! The visibility in front of The Casa Colonial is not that good. Conclusion: My wife and I were looking for a relaxing week to enjoy wonderful food and we found it! 15 Min from the Peurto Plata Airport, right on the beach!!! We would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to kick back, relax, and be treated like Royalty!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mares Restaurant and Lounge. Simply Amazing. Get a cab there and enjoy!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nobodyspecial26
Atlanta, Ga
Apr 21, 2013

Pricey but very good small hotel

Very quiet and relaxing hotel, the grounds are kept nice and the food is pretty good. The staff is very helpful. This hotel is not all-inclusive so you pay for EVERYTHING and it's not cheap. Good for couples who want a relaxing romantic vacation. Only 10 rooms were occupied when we stayed at Casa Colonial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Romantic
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2013

Heaven on Earth!

I cannot say enough about this place -- truly the most amazing experience I've ever had. Just as a frame of reference for anyone reading this... I am a very well-traveled New Yorker (Manhattan), and, while I'm not a snob, I know and appreciate fine hotels and restaurants. This hotel is beyond top-notch. From the minute you walk in, your jaw drops... the lobby is beautiful, and you're immediately greeted by the beverage of your choice (my girlfriend and I opted for champagne). After a quick check-in, we were given a complete tour of the grounds, including the restaurant (Lucia -- I'll get to that in a moment), the spa, the gym, roof infinity pool, etc. The grounds are beautiful and impeccably kept... and when I say that I did not see a single insect anywhere, not even a fly (in the room, in the restaurant, on the beach, at the pool, etc.), I am not kidding. The place is state of the art, beautifully decorated, and clean as can be. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the service was great. Drinks and lunch are served beach-side if you wish. My girlfriend and I flew down on a Thursday and stayed through Sunday -- the place was virtually empty (it's small anyway, maybe 50 suites). We ventured down the beach in either direction to find other busier/trashy hotels, probably all-inclusives... you will not find this kind of thing at Casa Colonial, trust me. Breakfast (we opted for in-room on our patio) each morning was prompt and delicious. Lucia, the upscale restaurant on premises, was beautfiul and amazing. Service was A-1, and the food (mixed bag of fusion cuisine) was what you might find in an expensive New York City restaurant. Just unbelievable. I'd seriously give Casa Colonial a 6th star if I could. My girlfriend and I had such an amazing and romantic experience there. I thought the place was worth every penny. If you're bringing kids or are cost-conscious (although I didn't find it overly expensive considering how perfect this place is), then you may want to look at some other properties. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Lucia's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarBL
New York, NY
Mar 28, 2013

Great relaxing getaway.

I went here with a friend for a relaxing and quiet weekend and it was perfect. Large rooms, the food was delicious, the spa was reasonably priced, the staff was helpful. There was some outside noise from the resort next door, but we were so relaxed it didn't bother us much. No nightlife, but that's what we were looking for so it was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoAnn the world explorer
Seattle, WA
Feb 19, 2013

Casa Colonial

This is a very nice and private hotel. Because of the small number of rooms, there were always choice beach chairs and spots in the restaurants and bars. When I booked this I couldn't tell if the hotels in Puerto Plata where right on the beach, but they are. Rooms are set back a bit and in the trees, but run right to the sand. We had a lovely stay. This hotel is within a large, private compound of beachfront hotels and has beautiful surroundings. The staff was always present and very helpful with transportation or any of our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BarbNDesh
New Jersey
Aug 4, 2012

AWESOME PLACE!!!

This hotel was by far the nicest place I've stayed at. It was beautiful. The rooms were very clean, and comfortable. The grounds, beach and pool areas all kept up very well. I cannot say enough about the staff, everyone was very curteous and friendly and the service was exceptional. If you want to relax and have peace and quiet, this is the place to go. The only down side is that it is not an all inclusive resort, and there was no night life. So you have to spend more money to eat, and you would have to travel if you wanted a night out. I would highly recommend this hotel. It was worth the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Since the Casa Colonia is not all inclusive and there was only one dining option for dinner, we could either walk or they could drive you by golf cart to the shopping are within in grounds. We found this bar called Hemmingway's and it was a great place to eat. We found ourselves eating there every night. Food was wonderful and a good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Colonial Beach and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
canadia
New York, NY, USA
Feb 21, 2012

A nice weekend getaway

Hotel - both public space and rooms - exude charm and elegance and give off a real sense of tranquility, complete with songbirds and crickets. The facilities are nice and the outdoor pool/deck space is beautiful. Room service food is a little lackluster - food comes promptly but hamburgers were fatty to the point of inedible. Restaurant food is EXCELLENT - would recommend eating there instead. Some of the staff spoke little to no English- but it is the Dominican Republic, so adjust your expectations. It's nice and romantic, albeit a little boring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search