$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
128 reviews
awesome

the resort was very nice, clean and the staff was awesomne to say the least. there are a lot of... See full review

  • Gabriel M.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, hot tub, and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private hot tub in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 128
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angelina D
Business
New Jersey
Nov 27, 2014

I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

From the moment I arrived there were issues. The toilet wasn't flushing so I had to call the front desk to send a plumber. They never offered to switch my room. I had to make reservations from some restaurants the day before and others the same day. The worst....The maid cleaned my room and left my door unlocked while I was spending the day at a tour. I reported this and all they did was wave the $7.50 fee for my safe...which quite honestly didn't make up for the inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NH cabana boy
Business
boston, ma
Aug 16, 2014

slipping

Service was slow overall and most requests got messed up, even though my wife is from the DR. Had a premium club room that was not premium. Clubs section was run down and services were not good. No value In premium. refridgerator broken in room and never repaired. Bathroom was big, but rundown Food was forgettable and produced for the masses. The japanese Ala-carte restaurant looked nice but service was terrible and food not too good Go there, but get the cheapest room you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lola 1970
Business
new york
Jul 21, 2014

resort a Puerto Plata, playa dorada.

The hotel is a beatiful well maintenance place, the pool and the show were very excited; I enjoyed my family summer vacations. They should improve the food ( same everyday), also the drinks ( very low quality ).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rodizio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josecabrera
Business
new york
May 27, 2014

Vacation

good hotel, close to the beach, but to far fron the parking yard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frias
Business
Haina, DR
Jan 22, 2014

It's Ok for the Price

The rooms are old. Need updating. The food is just ok. Not a big selection of food. I have been to other resorts that give you a great selection. The pool area and staff are good. The staff do a really good job entertaining. The front desk be aware they are very rude and have no smiles on there face. Be very careful with towels they make sure to count them very well as if they are new towels. Very old. We had ask for wash clothes from our cleaning lady, she responded I will have to ask for them as they don't normally put them in the bathrooms. Ok so at night when we returned to our room, we checked for them we never got them. We decided not to ask again. At check out they ask us where were the wash clothes. That we never got. We told the front desk. We never received them. He stated we needed to pay for them. We waited about 30 min. for the main manager to come. Had to explain the whole story again. She finally check us out without having to pay for the towels we never received. Just to say I will not be returning back to this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abby trip
Business
Puerto plata
Jan 20, 2014

Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Mexican on the Beach
Business
Paterson NJ
Jul 2, 2013

Not a 4 star resort!!

The resort did not live up to its name or its 4 star rating at any point of our vacation. The worst part of this resort is the food. the food was horrible, with very little seasoning. most of it was bland, the syrup was not good at all, the hotdogs and hamburgers and most meat tasted like plastic. the drinks at the bar were all made with cheap cheap liquor, probably 2 dollars a bottle if that. there was a short selection of premium liquor(like 5-8 bottles) but you had to pay extra if you wanted these liquors. the bartenders were friendly but they did not know how to mix drinks. the Staff overall was friendly and helpful at times but this did not overide the horrible experience with the resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

try to make reservations for the special dinning places, the food is not top quality but its better than eating the bland food at the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deyanara
Business
Harwich ma
May 30, 2013

Poor

Room wasn't clean enough roaches in the bathroom I took a picture I call front desk and the dindt do anything also no free wifi so my girls complain about how cheap a discussing was very bad experience food was delicious also no parking space for my car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calicolKM
Business
new york
Feb 24, 2013

THE BARTENDERS!!

The bartenders next to the Jacuzzi are really nasty, they are really expecting you to tip them if not you will get ignore next time you come. Overall i was very disappointed at first because i was expecting a little more of luxury however some how we managed well and everything turned out okay. What makes this Resort special is mainly the live band and the people otherwise this is a 2 Star Resort!! BTW they don't have kids club here at this Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Espinal family
Business
Bronx, new york
Feb 6, 2013

First vacation with my baby

We all had a good time even though was for few days. We wanted to stay longer, the time went so fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top