$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 22, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
126 reviews
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Best All inclusive

It was my first time there and I loved it, the staff was so pleasant. See full review

  • Chede
  • Oct 9, 2013
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, hot tub, and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private hot tub in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Hotel Map

19.7973 -70.6885
Area served
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP) at 15 minute.
Area description
Casinos, golf, whale watching (Jan-March a few hours away), shopping, and great nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Dining

La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.
La Bodeguita
bar, open from 17.00 - 23.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.
Bar Disco Playa
beachside. Open:10.00 - 18.00 hrs. Snack : de 23.00 " 1:00 hrs. Bar Disco 23.00 " 2.00 hrs
La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 126
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Used and Abused!
Business
Minnesota
Mar 4, 2011

Playa Dorado/Barcelo is a total RIPOFF!

I came to Puerta Plata to get a look at the country and the people that lived in it. I also felt that having a hotel closer to the city and airport would reduce some of the exorbitant taxi fares I had heard about. I paid $190 a day for "ALL INCLUSIVE" it was anything but! I was only "allowed" to eat at one restaurant the others listed on the website were apparently for "special guests" other than me! From the initial check in; where they forgot to take my credit card then called me up a day later accusing me of trying to cheat them! To the lousy food at the glorified Old Country Buffet meets Dominican Republic restaurant to being virtually ignored by the wait staff every time I ate (apparently single people are non events to staff there!) None of the promised "inclusive" services were available to me or anyone else I could see. They had plenty of hotel people on the beach trying to get me to "enjoy the "beach activities" as long as I listened to the excruciating TIMESHARE sales pitch! OMG! I was turned away from the so called Italian and Oriental eating places though a quick inspection of what was being served there appeared very mediocre. There were upselling inside the hotel a "Premium Barcelo" package that more than one sucker was signing up for. Everyone I spoke with seem to be paying a different price and when I asked why they signed up for the extra charges they ignorantly stated "it was just another 15 to 45 dollars. Pathetic! Avoid this crank joint at all costs. I did much better at a resort outside of town by about an hour the Bahai Princippi where I paid $57 a day for the exact same amenities. Also the Playa Dorado/Barcelo charges for internet at a rate of $7.00 per 12 minutes and 25 dollars per 24 hours! This after paying $190 per day! Not even the Hilton in the US tries that nonsense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All inclusive means whatever we choose to give which in my case was almost nothing! Stay away from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
edgewater, nj
Mar 6, 2011

Unfriendly Staff

Spent my friend's birthday over there, we got to the hotel at 2:30PM, a non smiling front desk personnel and told us we will be staying at so and so room but she cant give us the key yet cause check in is at 3PM. Once it was 3PM, almost everybody got up from the lobby and lined up to get their key. Anyway, once we got to the room things started looking better, although the safety deposit box has no lock and shower was not draining well. 6AM in the morning a security guard was banging on our door and when we opened it, "Oh, sorry"...wth! Oh, and btw, you have to make dinner reservations on their themed restaurants and you cant make it over the phone and only between 9-11 and 3-5, not a minute early, also only 2 nights...doesn't matter if you only staying 3 nights. The hotel was packed and there was no room in the beach nor the poolside :-/ it was not a very good vacation. They had nice shows every night, quite entertaining. They had discoteq every night, too. which was very loud and kind of corny but will do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cheated
Business
puerto plata dominican republic
Dec 3, 2011

very dissapointed

First of all the rooms were ugly but very clean and tidy..The food overall was very poor. The shows and discotec were good overall and staff were very helpful and nice... Overall,,, if I were given no other choice this place would have to do.. Really disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Mar 3, 2011

Barcelo Puerto Plata is a total RIPOFF!

I was just there from February 27 to March 2nd 2011! So you can forget anything older. Recreational activities? Such as what? They have a nice selection of board and parlor games OK? Nothing else mentioned here is available without extra charges! The restaurants are limited to one unless you are signing up for one of those horrid time share pitches. I was paying $190 dollars a day and could not find anything that didn't have ups, overs and extra charges attached to it. Food again one place I was allowed to eat was like an Old Country Buffet. The entertainment at night was horrible. The service at the bars was always slow. No matter who I spoke to and complained that doesn't $190 a day in the Dominican buy anything? I got nothing but poor English and evasive answers. Avoid this place at all costs the "good reviews" are almost all fake!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I took a tour that I paid for called "Outback Safari" where you get to meet real Dominicans their houses their schools you get a nice tour a good lunch and finish up with boogie boarding on the Ocean. You pay for this tour but it is actually worth the $75 dollars you pay it unlike the Barcelo which is quite simple a total waste of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl
May 13, 2010

OK getaway.

Well, I got plenty of rest..undisturbed sleep, which was wonderful! The staff was indeed friendly. I was well taken care of. The Beach..just great! Got plenty of sun. I had a few problems in the beginning when I arrived: 1. I thought My traveling to the hotel was included..NOT! had to pay for a Taxi (rip-offs!) 2. The A/C didnt work in the first room I occupied. I had to wait until alomst 3 pm for another room. 3. "The Locals" need I say more! :( 4. Annoying vendors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

dont go on the weekends! The locals will drive you nuts!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reyrey the Traveler
Business
New Jersey
Jul 14, 2014

Fantastic getaway

I personally went for a wedding at the beach which was pretty good. The staff was very attentive to all of the details of the wedding which was good. The food on the other hand could have been a little better. It was edible but sometimes it just tasted bland. The pool is excellent in the morning when most of the visitors are still asleep. The shows at night have variety from night to night and you have a chance to win a few things if you are bold enough to participate in the pre-show event. All in all, it was a excellent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to enjoy a calm and peaceful dinner without the complications of waiting in line at the buffet, make sure to make your reservations early for the various different restaurants that the hotel has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jadom
Business
Katy, Texas
Sep 21, 2012

comfortable

My stay at your resort was a very wonderful experience. Just what i wanted, and what i needed. The rooms were very clean, the food was great, and every one was very polite and ready to help. I would stay at your resort again. And would recommend. Devon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

make sure you see the shows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P$
Business
Usa
Apr 24, 2010

Great place

The only bad thing was on the weekends the locals took over and they were pushy ans rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Dec 2, 2010

fun fun fun

it was great good weather friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam1987
Business
Bayonne, New Jersey
Jun 11, 2010

POP Vacation

good place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top