$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
CORAL SPRINGS, FLORIDA
May 17, 2011

HOTEL AND CAR RENTAL

VERY UNHAPPY, FIRST I BOOKED FROM MIAMI , ONE PERSON AND WHEN I ARREIVED I WAS NOT ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE I RENTED , BECAUSE THEY REQUIRED A CREDIT CARD WHICH I DIDN T HAVE [...], ALL I HAD WAS A DEBIT CARD AND THEY WOULD ACCEPT BUT I NEEDED TO LEAVE 300 HUNDRED USD FOR EACH DAY, SOMETHING I WAS NIT PREPARED TO OR COULD NT DO. THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN 900 USD, I ENDED TAKING A CAB TO THE HOTEL AND IT COST ME 100 USD, PLUS HAD TO TAXI MY FIANCEE AND KIDS FROM SANTIAGO TO THE HOTEL AND PAID ANOTHER 100 EACH WAY PLUS 100 FOR ME TO GET BACK TO THE AIRPORT UPON DEPARTAING. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Jun 20, 2010

Relax Time

All in all i really like the hotel. It was nice, clean, stuff was friendly. We really enjoy life shows. However outside the "club premium"a lot of workers of the hotel didnt speak English language. Whats more rekreaction atractions were sheduled so if we wanted to rent for example volleyball we had few problems because it wasnt that specific hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food is good but house wine makes you sick so dont drink too much

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
new jersey
Aug 21, 2010

very good except...

we enjoy our vacations,the food was good,the beach really nice. like everything has some thing that is not to your liking ifound that the music that they play was loud especially by the beach you want to relax not to have all that noise. also the managament should make sure that peaple working there knows how to treart their clients we have a few prblems especially with the women very nasty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
boston, ma.
Jun 8, 2009

great location food great very clean

hotel was great clean rooms spacious,hot water was great , air condition was great,staff was very friendly, food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
paterson nj
Aug 9, 2011

A family getaway

It was a nice and relaxes week for me and my family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
FL
Sep 21, 2010

Good stay

If you want to spend some quality time with your family and/or friends, Barcelo Puerto Plata is a nice place to stay. The complex is neat with a beautiful swimming pool with bar. The only drinkable thing is their beer (Presidente). If you look for premium hard liquor, do not be surprised when they charge you extra for it (around $5). What's included in all inclusive package is their local alcohol (low quality), beer and wine. Rooms are clean but definitely aged. TV in my room was from early 80's with no remote. Had problem with AC as thermostat didn't work properly.Safe is available in room for charge of $2.50 per day. Internet is $4 for 15 minutes or $18 per day. Buffet is the best- with lots of fruit and fresh fish. We tried their restaurants (Brazilian and sea food) but I must say I was disappointed. Location was awesome, just a short walk to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicamala
Single
Las Vegas,Nv
Oct 11, 2010

barcelo puerto plata

The staff is very friendly and helpful.Overall it was one of the best for guest service I have seen in awhile.Food was good lots of resturant choices.Grounds are kept very clean.Enjoyable nightly entertainment on site and coco bongo is walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The day tours can be purchased on the beach for less than in the hotel.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
orlando, fl
Apr 4, 2010

had a great time

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2011

Good, but...

My overall experience was good, with one exception. There was one (1) person at reception come check-in time (3pm). After ten minutes on the line, I finally asked to see the supervisor and then another person came to my assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Road House on Friday nights

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joseph s.
Couples
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

nice trip

Our trip was nice. The staff and food were great. Rooms needed updating but were clean. The beach was clean but the vendors waking around got to be a little to much at times. I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Cover your wrist bands if you go into town. The vendors are like sharks.

Back to menu Return to top