$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inn312
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Excellent family or couples getaway.

For starters the staff was excellent, they were very friendly and they made you feel like family. Plenty of pools for all ages and the beach was less than 5 minutes to reach. The food was great especially the ala carte restaurants. Due to bad weather we had to cancel the planned vacation we made, things happen for a reason and in this case it was a blessing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DahianaD
Business
Bronx, New York, USA
Oct 19, 2011

A small hidden gem!

We got a great deal on a 3 night stay and when we arrived we were pleasently surprised to see what a gorgeous resort it was. The staff was pleasant, the room was always maintained stocked and cleaned. The pools were wonderful! The beach was amazing! The all inclusive restaurants were delicious!! I definetley recommend this resort for their Amenities, great staff and overall comfort. We had minor issues, for example the shower in our room wasn't working properly, but they fixed it right away, as well as the delay in having our room ready when checking in. I will def. be returning with my family! as well as recommending this resort to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get to their Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner early. It is Buffet style & they have many new options everyday.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marist
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Nice family trip!!!!!!

This was our second time staying there. It was a good value. There was too much going on in terms of the "Spring Breakers."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coco123col
Business
New Jersey, USA
May 1, 2012

quick getaway

Buffet food was basic with no variety.Staff was friendly.Room was very clean.Good restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Oriental restaurant is the best

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuggie1979
Business
brooklyn, New York
Jul 4, 2012

Great stay

I enjoyed my stay, very nice staff and great food. Amenities that were offered and i accepted were great, city tour was fabolous, as well as the zip line and monkey jungle, buggies were very fun but very messy so dress for the occasion, lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hillary2
Business
NY
Sep 12, 2012

Good price.

Friendly staff and right in POP. For the price, its definitely worth staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Excellent night show

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jadom
Business
Katy, Texas
Sep 21, 2012

comfortable

My stay at your resort was a very wonderful experience. Just what i wanted, and what i needed. The rooms were very clean, the food was great, and every one was very polite and ready to help. I would stay at your resort again. And would recommend. Devon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

make sure you see the shows.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourist from Dublin
Business
Ireland
Jan 7, 2013

Great holiday

Hotel was more than we expected. Staff were nice, food was great but the Asian restaurant was not great. The funny thing was you are tough expected to tip at the bar to get better service but overall staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Espinal family
Business
Bronx, new york
Feb 6, 2013

First vacation with my baby

We all had a good time even though was for few days. We wanted to stay longer, the time went so fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Loo
Business
Ohio
Feb 26, 2013

Met my expectations

Overall I enjoyed my stay at Barcelo Puerto Plata. We were given a free upgrade to a junior suite which was truly an upgrade. The room was large with cool a/c. I was pleased with our room, the only drawback is that there were ants in the restroom at times and it seemed like housekeeping did the bare minimum. (Replaced towels and made the bed). Sometimes they would restock the mini fridge, which wasn't so important because there was plenty to eat and drink on the property. The beach was very clean apart from some seawood. It was always busy and hard to find empty chairs. We always seemed to manage. Yes there are sales people but they are very gracious and leave you alone if you say no thanks. We weren't bothered at all and enjoyed talking to them. Just be sure to never take their first offer. The property itself was a perfect size. Plenty of a la carte restaurants and bars. There's always activities poolside. The drinks are stiff, the mixes are pretty sugary but it just depends on your taste. Bring a refillable bottle if you don't want to go to the bar every 10 minutes. The cups are tiny. The food was average at best but of course it's never as good as home. :) When we visited there was a lot of students, which made the resort very lively. At night they have shows that involve the audience or are performed by their dance team. I enjoyed participating in the shows. They were always entertaining. If you're looking for nightlife there is a beach disco. The area is small but there is decent music, food and drinks. We loved our stay at Barcelo. At times certain staff seemed less than helpful but other staff members were extremely friendly and fun. We did miss out on visiting the city. The hotel really tries to stray you from exploring on your own. They offer excursions but I don't recommend booking on the resort. 2 minutes walk off the property is a small shopping center that offers the excursions at a lower rate. If you're looking for great weather, a place to relax in the sun, party, and eat whenever you want this is a great place to choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the oriental restaurant. It's so bad it's laughable! Try the Mexican, Italian, and pizzeria, very tasty!

Back to menu Return to top