$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobee
Business
NY
May 28, 2014

Good deal and low price

Overall 75% Food is acceptable, Room interiors is clean , l dont any complaint .because l got low price of two people , l am agree that 's how much l pay and what l get ?Everything is good , but it is cant compare to 5 stars resort , it is average ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft Lauderdale, Fl
Jun 21, 2010

So So

Some vendors attempt to rip you off when using dollars and converting from pesos. Bell boy service took 20 minutes to respond aka "Dominican time." On weekends, locals recieve a great price for vacationing and weekends are mobbed at the pool, poolside umbrellas, and buffets. Food is ok and gets old quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl
May 13, 2010

OK getaway.

Well, I got plenty of rest..undisturbed sleep, which was wonderful! The staff was indeed friendly. I was well taken care of. The Beach..just great! Got plenty of sun. I had a few problems in the beginning when I arrived: 1. I thought My traveling to the hotel was included..NOT! had to pay for a Taxi (rip-offs!) 2. The A/C didnt work in the first room I occupied. I had to wait until alomst 3 pm for another room. 3. "The Locals" need I say more! :( 4. Annoying vendors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

dont go on the weekends! The locals will drive you nuts!

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West New York, NJ
Jun 25, 2009

Relaxing Vacation...

Barcelo in Puerto Plata was amazing...friendly staff, great big and small pools, beach, disco, were fantastic. The food was great when making reservations at the special restaurants, however the daily breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets were okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is this place called "La Plaza" it's great for cheap souvenirs and it's a short walk away. It's amazing!

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 6, 2009

Hotel Barcelo, Puerto Plata

Overall, the staff/food/amenenites at Barcelo were great. Negative: I'm a nonsmoker and the rooms smelled like stale cigarettes. The staff at Orbitz were very tardy in submitting my order to the hotel. Although the check-in was at 3pm, the hotel received my order at 6pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 8, 2010

Very Nice Vacation

Enjoyed the pool and beach. Liked the nightly shows. and the food was pretty good considering it was all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duluth, MN
Feb 27, 2010

Fair...Service lacking, hotel was nice..

The hotel was clean, beach and pool were well maintained. Most of the staff was very friendly but a couple were pretty rude... Tennis rackets were bent and broke(my handle was snapped in half and duct taped together), snorkel items were icky.. The biggest draw back to the Barcelo is making reservations for dinner. They only take reservations during certain hours, hours when all the sight seeing trips are taking place, so you would have to stick around the hotel in order to make a reservation... So eating at the buffet was the norm, and its not the greatest sevice or food...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Dec 30, 2009

OK hotel in deteriorating resort area

We traveled around the country having been to Punta Cana and Puerto Plato among other places in a single trip. There is no conceivable reason, other than a huge price difference, to going to Puerto Plato instead of Punta Cana. Puerto Plato is where the all inclusive business started in that country, but by now the whole Puerto Plato area just seems obsolete. The sea water is brown due to geography, the beach near hotel is filled with garbage. The hotel is nice but nothing fancy - cookie cutter resort about 15 years old. The shows are better than in other places we've been to. The hotel does not have catamarans unlike all hotels in Punta Cana. Beach vendors are uncontrolled and bether every couple of minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nobleG
Business
Columbia, MD
Dec 11, 2009

The Good, the bad and the ugly

relaxed on the beach and the jeep safari and shopping. I think the staff need to be better trained and more English translators needed. E.g. It took 2 days for me to get a coffee pot for my room. The tables are missing napkins or knives. you are served coffee but no sugar offered. It is a nice resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

excellent entertainment with exceptional edancers

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 3, 2010

Barcelo Premium

I had a great stay, thanks to the entire Premium staff. The ladies at the premium concierge were amazing. Didn't care for the entertainment staff. [*] The locals from Santiago take over this resort on the weekends. They are rude and pushy, especially in the buffet diningroom and the show area. Each person would save even 10 seats for family members. I am not opposed to Barcelo allowing locals, however, if they would like repeat clientele from other countries, then they should limit their room blocks to a smaller amount to locals on the weekends. In the long run, this is hurting their business. Barcelo, look at all the complaints that other people have on the locals at your property. Property has a lot of amenities for a relaxing, fun vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to haggle, the beach has a lot of vendors. [...] #15 has great prices.

Back to menu Return to top