$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VNM
Business
Boston, MA
May 11, 2010

NICE and perfect short vaca..

this is a great place to stay if your on a budget, overall its a great place to stay to enjoy and relax more with your family, there was a lot of kids and older people there the weekend we went. Quiet and mellow place. Service there was great from room to restaurant. food was okkay..had better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jun 1, 2011

Puerto Plata

I enjoyed my six day stay at Barcelo. The food was delicious (especially the Mexican & Brazilian) and the staff were friendly, but it would have been easier if the staff had spoken more English. At times it was hard to communicate with some of them for simple requests. If you don't mind tons of children running around the resort then this is the place for you! It's super kid-friendly. Overall, Barcelo certainly doesn't have that four (4) star appeal but it was worth the money. I'd definitely recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hemingway's or CocoBongo offered much better entertainment than the hotel's entertainment which starts at 9pm each night. They're both a short walk from the hotel site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun Time88
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Sep 29, 2011

I had a Great Time!!!!

The best part about this Hotel are the Staff. They were so nice and friendly, I made tons friends while staying their :D The food was good and the rooms were not. Only issues were the timing of the food places, wish they were open longer and the rooms A/C was a little to high. I would definitley go back, the price was good :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nellarosent
Business
portland
May 5, 2012

acceptable better than other

good time , nice beaces but could be cleaned, from time to time , good food but server could smile more, good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dont stay to close to shows arena unless you like to go to sleep after 23:00rd hour ...nice but loud

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ziplining Is Only A Dream
Business
New York, NY
Jan 3, 2013

Fun if you plan excursions

Hotel is decent, service is spotty, food is ok, but definitely a value vacation. Small property size can make it difficult to stay longer than a few days so booking excursions outside of the hotel is must to keep it interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Sosua Beach and the bar district - well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calicolKM
Business
new york
Feb 24, 2013

THE BARTENDERS!!

The bartenders next to the Jacuzzi are really nasty, they are really expecting you to tip them if not you will get ignore next time you come. Overall i was very disappointed at first because i was expecting a little more of luxury however some how we managed well and everything turned out okay. What makes this Resort special is mainly the live band and the people otherwise this is a 2 Star Resort!! BTW they don't have kids club here at this Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Junior10'
Business
Puerto Plata
May 4, 2013

Nice place for the price.

My guest and I had a good time but it could have been better. The all inclusive wasn't that good. You might want to go elsewhere for better food. The drinks were so small I felt like a kid asking mommy for a refill every 10 minutes. The waiters were funny acting. I remember sitting at the bar and being ignored while watching people come up and get there drinks immediately. This happened on several occasions. The room was nice, clean and cool. Im a hard sleeper, but someone's car alarm kept going off every night. There was a party every night until 3 or 4 in the morning. With all that said I would return, cant beat the price for 4 night and two people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelodger
Business
Orlando, FL
May 1, 2013

The all-inclusive made it a good value

The hotel has a number of amenities and was in a great location. That being said, the first room we were in was a bit dirty and so we moved into a clean room upstairs after the first night. There seems to be a show [read loud] that runs until midnight or later every night so I don't recommend staying in building's 9 or 10. The food was pretty good and the fact that you could walk up and get a mixed drink as much as you'd like make it an overall decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lyssaleigh24
Business
nyack, ny
May 28, 2013

Not bad

It wasn't a bad place to stay however, didnt go beyond expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gjoel8
Business
NYC
Jul 22, 2013

Barcelo

Good experience-nice hotel, but always opt for the premium service. Its worth it for at least not standing in the check in line. Locals flock to to this place on the weekends....stay away, do not come in on Friday! Best bet stay Mon-Fri.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top