$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
190 reviews
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Best All inclusive

It was my first time there and I loved it, the staff was so pleasant. See full review

  • Chede
  • Oct 9, 2013
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, Jacuzzi and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private Jacuzzi in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Hotel Map

19.7973 -70.6885
Area served
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP) at 15 minute.
Area description
Casinos, golf, whale watching (Jan-March a few hours away), shopping, and great nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
O177182
Sacarmento, Ca
Jul 3, 2009

It started with a Ugly room card...

I am thouroughly disgusted with the service both with orbitz and this hotel. from the begining i felt as though I was lead into making a choice i did not want to make. The service in the hotel was AWFUL! I recieved either late or no response to issues i had with my room and the ammenities promised in the description here on the site. There were at least 100 people (mostly locals) at the check in desk with no organization from the hotel staff on line control. I was cut in line 6 different times (a lot due i part because I did not speak spanish to get the staffs attention and there was no "line" system to take people on a first come first served basis) Also on 2 occasions i came back to my room to find the housekeeping staff lounging in my room as if it were a break area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco Bongo

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Feb 21, 2010

Not worth the trip

Very poor hotel. No hot water at numerous times, difficult to get a pool towel, very unhelpful employees, didn't even have electricity the last day, staff stole from room. Vomit in lobby bathroom for hours before cleaning. Room was across from adjoining mall with a disco which blasted music until at least 4 AM. Power surge strip in room with fire marks on it and still in use (we disconnected for fear of a fire).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc ny
Nov 11, 2010

never stay there again

I have been to many hotels in dominican republic and was never had a problem until this trip and how the staff handle my problem which was to just to not report it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

never go here food was not good staff was rude

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc ny
Nov 11, 2010

never stay there again

I have been to many hotels in dominican republic and was never had a problem until this trip and how the staff handle my problem which was to just to not report it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

never go here food was not good staff was rude

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York. NY
Jul 19, 2009

I hope others don't make this mistake!

We were a couple on a romantic holiday who wanted to try an all-inclusive for at least one night of our week-long trip. We booked a one-night stay at this place after six nights at another hotel next door, which was delightful. The Barcelo Puerto Plata was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. It began with a mob at check in on Friday. It took TWO HOURS to get our hotel keys. During that time, other guests were pushing and shoving to get the staff's attention, and the staff didn't care about a line, or helping people in order. They simply replied to the people who shoved their way to the front first. The rest of the trip was about that stressful. After being told we had a room with a queen bed, we arrived at our dingy, dirty room (which was in the process of being cleaned by the staff with a strong bleach, the smell of which carried through the night). There were two twin beds instead, both of which had no support and rolled around on the floor. When I called guest services, they said, "Well, I wouldn't try going down to the reservation desk until at least another two hours. It will be crazy down there until then. I could send someone up to push the beds together?" When I said that I had been told I had a queen, she got angry and said, "Don't you realize this is a family hotel? We have families staying here. So most of our rooms are twins. There is nothing we can do." Furious and exhausted, we debated calling Orbitz and trying to change our reservation. However, seeing that it was just a night, and we had such a great time up until the hellish Barcelo, we decided to simply grit our teeth and stay for a night. So we went to the buffet, where there was the worst food I've ever eaten, bugs on the tables. Half the tables hadn't been serviced and still had dirty plates, napkins, and tablecloths. (No wonder there were bugs.) We jumped in the pool afterward, where there were tons of people mobbing the dirty pool bar, and where our towels were stolen. So we went to the beach for the sunset, the only nice part of the evening. Back in the room, we could hear very clearly the other guests in the next room and in the rooms above and below through the air vents. It was so loud, we had to turn the TV way up to avoid it. We had the breakfast the next day, which was not nearly as bad as the dinner, but still subpar. We went through the same check-out hell and then left, happy we spent six days at the other place and vowed to never stay at an all-inclusive ever again. I will definitely be seeking a refund of some sort from the Barcelo company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York. NY
Jul 19, 2009

I hope others don't make this mistake!

We were a couple on a romantic holiday who wanted to try an all-inclusive for at least one night of our week-long trip. We booked a one-night stay at this place after six nights at another hotel next door, which was delightful. The Barcelo Puerto Plata was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. It began with a mob at check in on Friday. It took TWO HOURS to get our hotel keys. During that time, other guests were pushing and shoving to get the staff's attention, and the staff didn't care about a line, or helping people in order. They simply replied to the people who shoved their way to the front first. The rest of the trip was about that stressful. After being told we had a room with a queen bed, we arrived at our dingy, dirty room (which was in the process of being cleaned by the staff with a strong bleach, the smell of which carried through the night). There were two twin beds instead, both of which had no support and rolled around on the floor. When I called guest services, they said, "Well, I wouldn't try going down to the reservation desk until at least another two hours. It will be crazy down there until then. I could send someone up to push the beds together?" When I said that I had been told I had a queen, she got angry and said, "Don't you realize this is a family hotel? We have families staying here. So most of our rooms are twins. There is nothing we can do." Furious and exhausted, we debated calling Orbitz and trying to change our reservation. However, seeing that it was just a night, and we had such a great time up until the hellish Barcelo, we decided to simply grit our teeth and stay for a night. So we went to the buffet, where there was the worst food I've ever eaten, bugs on the tables. Half the tables hadn't been serviced and still had dirty plates, napkins, and tablecloths. (No wonder there were bugs.) We jumped in the pool afterward, where there were tons of people mobbing the dirty pool bar, and where our towels were stolen. So we went to the beach for the sunset, the only nice part of the evening. Back in the room, we could hear very clearly the other guests in the next room and in the rooms above and below through the air vents. It was so loud, we had to turn the TV way up to avoid it. We had the breakfast the next day, which was not nearly as bad as the dinner, but still subpar. We went through the same check-out hell and then left, happy we spent six days at the other place and vowed to never stay at an all-inclusive ever again. I will definitely be seeking a refund of some sort from the Barcelo company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Mar 27, 2008

HELL HOLE

Where do I begin. It took us 5 1/2 hours to check into our room. After another 3 hours of arguing, we finally got a room; coincidentally a couple cancelled their trip for the same exact check-in/out dates. Also, I heard from other guests, that a similiar incident happened to them upon check-in. Our room was broken down. The hot water handle in the bath tub would wind up in your hand as you tried to put hot water on. Our bathroom was broken 90% of our trip, the sink over flowed, the air conditioner didn't work, and the room phone did not work for the entire stay. Food was disgusting, staff was ignorant/arrogant, and there was absolutely NOTHING to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
m from usa
NY
Jul 2, 2009

Read Carefully! An honest review USA

OK, we booked at the Barcelo based on the many positive reviews, maybe they are paid..not sure but my experience was anything but positive. I found the staff indifferent and cold. The vendors were unbearable and the resort was noisy at all hours. I was dumbfounded by the lack of manners by both the staff and the guests, I guess since it was off season they have many locals which apparently is not good as they were flat out RUDE! They would cut in front of you in line at the buffett and the bar or even in the pool. It was awful. The good was the excursions, if you get a chance to water fall slide it is awsome! The horseback riding is cool as was the catamoran. I would definately not return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your excursions from Ramone at the beach, much cheaper than the hotel.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pop barcelodisappointment
pop barcelo
Jun 16, 2012

just ordinary

my last experience at barcelo punta cana was great so i decided to stick to this hotel and booked it again at puerta plata; however the experience was disappointing. food- for the ones you need to make reservations for; they were just average whereas the buffet needed improvement. (selections options were low and from whats available the food just wasn't tasty. the beach was somewhat close by, but was very empty and wasn't that clean. my friends and i decided to visit the disco by the beach at night and we found homeless dogs running running around. lastly, we were suppose to have a resort credit but this was a rip off. the resort credit couldn't be applied to anything, so in the end we didnt even use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
R.I
Apr 29, 2011

could be better

I didnt like that I had to wait over 2 hours for a room because of their check in times. Every where else I've been I never waited. The reception desk was always rude and never helpfull. I would rather stick to the buffet the resturants were not good. Also we booked an excursian and they forgot to pick us up so we held up everyone! If I was to go back to D.R it would be to Punta Cana!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top