$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
130 reviews
awesome

the resort was very nice, clean and the staff was awesomne to say the least. there are a lot of... See full review

  • Gabriel M.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, hot tub, and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private hot tub in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.
Superior Club Premium
Enjoy accommodations in one of our 45 m Superior Club Premium rooms, with everything necessary to ensure comfort during your stay. The guests staying in our Superior receive the Club Premium Service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pop barcelodisappointment
Business
pop barcelo
Jun 16, 2012

just ordinary

my last experience at barcelo punta cana was great so i decided to stick to this hotel and booked it again at puerta plata; however the experience was disappointing. food- for the ones you need to make reservations for; they were just average whereas the buffet needed improvement. (selections options were low and from whats available the food just wasn't tasty. the beach was somewhat close by, but was very empty and wasn't that clean. my friends and i decided to visit the disco by the beach at night and we found homeless dogs running running around. lastly, we were suppose to have a resort credit but this was a rip off. the resort credit couldn't be applied to anything, so in the end we didnt even use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Razil
Business
New York
Jun 17, 2012

Ok Place.

The food was not that great , the drinks were not good at all. The rooms were clean but not what i was expecting. Some of the staff were not very attentive. I would not go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Wedding Planner 24
Business
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Apr 2, 2013

Disappointed

This hotel has a great location and the ambiance is wonderful. The problem with this hotel is that the rooms smell like mold or mildew. This made us sick and we couldn't get a good nights sleep without waking up in the morning feeling like a bag was over our heads. In addition to this, our room backed up to an offsite club. This club played loud music into the early hours of the morning. The buffet at the hotel always had something edible. However, the restaurants left something to be desired. The one thing we did do was snorkeling at Paradise Island. This was amazing. It reminded me of something out of a National Geographic documentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to Paradise Island for snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
paquitta
Business
chicago
Jun 1, 2013

hotel ups and downs

we arrived with a group of 10 and they put 8 in one building and us in the other. I asked to be moved like my one friend did and was rudely told no. the rest of the staff is awesome but the front desk people must think they are gods. night one security called repeatedly due to the bloody screaming at 2:30 by a group of Jersey girls coming back from the disco. went on for 20 minutes, then started up again a half hour later...we asked again to be moved to the other part of the hotel and were refused. next night another drunken group fighting and yelling at 1:30...security comes again next night the disco closes and about 15 people are drunk off their butts and decide to scream at the tops of their lungs while diving in to the pool outside our room,,pool closed at 6pm... security again... its not that I dont drink because I do and their bars are awesome but when you know the disco is closing why the heck don't you have security in place on the path from the beach to the rooms. we were just lucky that we were on that path and they put most of the drunken louts in our building. these people love to scream and scream all night ... the bartenders are great once you tip them, they know what you drink and have it ready. the activities at the pool were fun, the buffet was large but after 6 days was monotonous . we ate at almost every restaurant on the grounds and most were good. a few great a few bland.. the view at the beach is awesome, the pool clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

the food is more bland than I would have thought so maybe go off site for a night ....otherwise for an all inclusive it was nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frias
Business
Haina, DR
Jan 22, 2014

It's Ok for the Price

The rooms are old. Need updating. The food is just ok. Not a big selection of food. I have been to other resorts that give you a great selection. The pool area and staff are good. The staff do a really good job entertaining. The front desk be aware they are very rude and have no smiles on there face. Be very careful with towels they make sure to count them very well as if they are new towels. Very old. We had ask for wash clothes from our cleaning lady, she responded I will have to ask for them as they don't normally put them in the bathrooms. Ok so at night when we returned to our room, we checked for them we never got them. We decided not to ask again. At check out they ask us where were the wash clothes. That we never got. We told the front desk. We never received them. He stated we needed to pay for them. We waited about 30 min. for the main manager to come. Had to explain the whole story again. She finally check us out without having to pay for the towels we never received. Just to say I will not be returning back to this Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laconia bums inc
Business
Ny
Apr 26, 2014

Unfriendly staff

Unfriendly & understaffed personell from the front desk to beachfront you feel like an intruder rather then a valued guest For example, our group of 4 adults were confronted and made uncomfortable and then punished with little service at the Italian restaurant for arriving late and then were denied coffee & desert while suffering through inattention for as much of a delay the staff was directed to impose on us by manager

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Can't beat price and can otherwise manage through shortcoming

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
R.I
Apr 29, 2011

could be better

I didnt like that I had to wait over 2 hours for a room because of their check in times. Every where else I've been I never waited. The reception desk was always rude and never helpfull. I would rather stick to the buffet the resturants were not good. Also we booked an excursian and they forgot to pick us up so we held up everyone! If I was to go back to D.R it would be to Punta Cana!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PRINCESS WARRIOR
Business
ORLANDO,FLORIDA
Jun 18, 2010

PLEASE DONT GO

LONG WAITING FOR CHECK IN, THEY HAVE DIFFERENT PRICES FOR TOURIST FOR THEM IS CHEAPER AND I ASKED WHY? THAT IS NOT FAIR, IF THAT IS THE CASE MY HUSBAND IS FROM HERE AND THEY SAID HE IS FROM HERE BUT DOESNT LIVE HERE OK!. THEY LOOKED STRESS OUT. THE LIGHT COMES AND GOES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

teleferico you go in to the mountain more than 2,ooo feet from the ocean is very nice it has a restaurant, a garden botanic is 2oo.oo pesos per adult no more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tubachatu8
Business
New York, NY
Oct 11, 2010

good price, low quality, beach A++++

The price was good, but as you might expect the quality in terms of food is bad. i was there for three night. The food was good the first night, but on the second day i found myself basically eating the same thing with a few minor changes. By the end of the vacation my girlfriend and i mostly ate bread because we were tired of their selections... The best thing this hotel has is the beach. If i do decide to go back, the beach is the only reason. I've been to 4 resorts in Dominican Republic and i think this was the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom&girl
Business
Miami Florida
Oct 25, 2010

Hotel rundown

Me and my daughter of 3 for two days. I was a bit disappointed with the maintenance, but I was told it is a 12 year old hotel. We had a king size bed that was more like a hammock, bugs included. The pool was not clean. The food was average. I would not go there again, would choose IBEROSTAR next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top