$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laconia bums inc
Business
Ny
Apr 26, 2014

Unfriendly staff

Unfriendly & understaffed personell from the front desk to beachfront you feel like an intruder rather then a valued guest For example, our group of 4 adults were confronted and made uncomfortable and then punished with little service at the Italian restaurant for arriving late and then were denied coffee & desert while suffering through inattention for as much of a delay the staff was directed to impose on us by manager

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Can't beat price and can otherwise manage through shortcoming

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alyssa aka Abby
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
May 8, 2012

Really not what I was expecting

I arrived to a crowded open air front desk; swarms of people with no sense of personal space or manners. After receiving my "welcome packet' I asked where I could find my room and was told to see a bellhop. I was driven to my room and was surprised to find another open air builiding and no elevators. My room housed two double beds, small table, a barely moving fan, hardly working ac, and a toliet that would not stop running. The swim up bar in the pool was very nice and drinks were poured strongly. While there are 8 restaurants on the property, only 2 open each evening and reservations must be made however you can not make reservations the day you check in. Breakfast buffet and lunch buffet were fine and full of options and the restaurants offered a few interesting choices. Beach area was nice if you ignore the salespeople and there were several games to participate in while relaxing. Pool was huge and again, games were played on the deck with the staff. Most of the staff was very nice and even went out at night with the guests to the discoteca. Not sure I would go back due to the accomodations and the lack of english being spoken. While I knew I was going to a spanish speaking country, I thought as this is a resort, there would be more english.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pop barcelodisappointment
Business
pop barcelo
Jun 16, 2012

just ordinary

my last experience at barcelo punta cana was great so i decided to stick to this hotel and booked it again at puerta plata; however the experience was disappointing. food- for the ones you need to make reservations for; they were just average whereas the buffet needed improvement. (selections options were low and from whats available the food just wasn't tasty. the beach was somewhat close by, but was very empty and wasn't that clean. my friends and i decided to visit the disco by the beach at night and we found homeless dogs running running around. lastly, we were suppose to have a resort credit but this was a rip off. the resort credit couldn't be applied to anything, so in the end we didnt even use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Razil
Business
New York
Jun 17, 2012

Ok Place.

The food was not that great , the drinks were not good at all. The rooms were clean but not what i was expecting. Some of the staff were not very attentive. I would not go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Wedding Planner 24
Business
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Apr 2, 2013

Disappointed

This hotel has a great location and the ambiance is wonderful. The problem with this hotel is that the rooms smell like mold or mildew. This made us sick and we couldn't get a good nights sleep without waking up in the morning feeling like a bag was over our heads. In addition to this, our room backed up to an offsite club. This club played loud music into the early hours of the morning. The buffet at the hotel always had something edible. However, the restaurants left something to be desired. The one thing we did do was snorkeling at Paradise Island. This was amazing. It reminded me of something out of a National Geographic documentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to Paradise Island for snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
paquitta
Business
chicago
Jun 1, 2013

hotel ups and downs

we arrived with a group of 10 and they put 8 in one building and us in the other. I asked to be moved like my one friend did and was rudely told no. the rest of the staff is awesome but the front desk people must think they are gods. night one security called repeatedly due to the bloody screaming at 2:30 by a group of Jersey girls coming back from the disco. went on for 20 minutes, then started up again a half hour later...we asked again to be moved to the other part of the hotel and were refused. next night another drunken group fighting and yelling at 1:30...security comes again next night the disco closes and about 15 people are drunk off their butts and decide to scream at the tops of their lungs while diving in to the pool outside our room,,pool closed at 6pm... security again... its not that I dont drink because I do and their bars are awesome but when you know the disco is closing why the heck don't you have security in place on the path from the beach to the rooms. we were just lucky that we were on that path and they put most of the drunken louts in our building. these people love to scream and scream all night ... the bartenders are great once you tip them, they know what you drink and have it ready. the activities at the pool were fun, the buffet was large but after 6 days was monotonous . we ate at almost every restaurant on the grounds and most were good. a few great a few bland.. the view at the beach is awesome, the pool clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

the food is more bland than I would have thought so maybe go off site for a night ....otherwise for an all inclusive it was nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jul 20, 2010

Love the DR but this hotel let me down

I have been to the DR several times, and came back home very satisfied, it is a beautiful island but this hotel was not what I expected. I didn't pay much for the trip so I guess I shouldn't ask for much either. The hotel may be worth the cheap price, but know what to expect. With the exception of the buffet food and the Asian food the restaurants were not tasty at all. Everything is very disorganized and the staff is not too friendly. The entertainment was on almost all day up to 10 or 11 pm. I am young and like to have decent fun but this entertainment was super loud. I do think this is a place where kids can have fun because they were many kids everywhere. The rooms very outdated. Nobody knows anything about anything. The check-in and check-out was a mess. They have 1 to 2 people working at the front desk and the line is usually long. If you request anything, expect to wait. You must pay for the room save $15(which I recommend) and the internet is also expensive. The wireless connection is with a code. You need to have a pc of paper for everything even for the restaurants reservations. They really need to update their systems. Their night shows are suppose to be family shows but some of them are by no mean proper for kids. Their drinks are watery and they don't have natural juices unless you are in the upgrade side. On a positive note, my room was cleaned and the ladies cleaned it every day. The pools were also generally cleaned but since there were so many people in it, it got dirty fast. I went during the summer, so kids were out of school. I am not sure if that's the reason why there were so many people everywhere. In general, just being away from home was nice. The beach was also nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dunja
Business
New York, NY
Apr 16, 2008

Nice family place

I was very happy with the food choices, the Restaurants, but it is hard to even get in and make a reservation for them. Upon arrival no one tells you where what is and where you can find anything and what is offered.No introduction and no welcome of some sort.We were handed a brochure with information and the rest you have to find out yourself, things like where and when food is offered, recreational activities, shows and entertainment, kidsclub etc. The food was really good and plenty of choices.No complaints there on my part.However the buffet dining hall is dark and not very inviting.Some sections are closed off and one had the feeling the staff did not want to open them up even if seating was scarce. The servers were many but not very attentive.Only a handful were friendly, others more neutral.Every day things were missing like napkins or silverware, drinks either not offered or forgotten.That got on our nerves after a couple of days. Internet was additional and needed to be paid, no wireless access offered.One had the feeling that guests were sucked dry out of their money by vendors and sellers on the beach.It was kind of annoying and one wanted to avoid going to the beach. The beds were not very comfortable, the closetspace small.But the A/C worked very well as well as the showers. It was nice that each room had a little balcony.Although the facilities were very tidy and clean. The location was great though, the tours offered plenty, although don't take the Oceanworld trip.Too long and too expensive.And when you take a Dirt-buggy trip bring sunglasses and a bandana.They don't tell you because you then have to buy one there for $$$$.But what fun!! Was great! All in all it is a good family place.Although teenagers started getting bored, no games, not enough table tennis or other recreational things to do.Disco and entertainment great, bars great. For the traveler without kids or used to a higher standard next door, the Blue Bay , is nicer, smaller and has much better service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW JERSEY
Jul 26, 2010

HOTEL SERVICE VERY POOR

The checkin took 1 hour (too long with a disabled person).There were no toothpaste or shampoo and the toilet flowed over. The cafeteria mangager would NOT ALLOWED ME TO TAKE FOOD FOR MY DISABLED BROTHER IN THE ROOM and the nice restaurant was on the 2nd floor. Not good for disable people since they were not elevators. I had to dress him everday and take him to the cafeteria which was a task. It was my worst stay at a hotel. They were very little ramps for a wheel chair but the staff was helpful. The housekeeping was prompt when I called to get the bathroom cleaned up after it overflowed. The staff needs to improve on having the room ready. They forgot to clean my room one day even though I left the sign to clean it. I would like to get a refund on my hotel stay. The flight was fine with Jetblue assisting all the way to DR.I was very disappointed and so is my brother. I would not recomend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santo Domingo
Jun 10, 2011

Good and Bad

Spent a long weekend at Barcelo Puerto Plata. Room was decent, better than others in area, however, shower did not work properly. Food in the buffet was good. Checkin/out was lengthy and needs to be improved. Beach facilities were non existent as renovations were underway. Disco was closed, no food at beach and limited bar services. Animation team was constantly harrassing and trying to hit on wife. I would not recommend to anyone. Only reason for returning would be if price is an option as seems to be less expensive than other area resorts for obvious reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top