$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
188 reviews
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Best All inclusive

It was my first time there and I loved it, the staff was so pleasant. See full review

  • Chede
  • Oct 9, 2013
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, Jacuzzi and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private Jacuzzi in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.7973 -70.6885
Area served
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP) at 15 minute.
Area description
Casinos, golf, whale watching (Jan-March a few hours away), shopping, and great nightlife.

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (188)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Queens, New York
Oct 26, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

While at hotel we enjoyed the swimming pools and beach. enjoyed the nightly shows and disco. Food /drinks were good. You have a choice of restaurants, Italian,Brazilian,Oriental,Main Buffet Restaurant. Overall the Buffet Restaurant was very good. This was my first all inclusive trip it was good. I think I would return if I ever decide to make another trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Not too far from Airport.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Nov 30, 2010

Nice place for the price we paid.

This was the first time we went there, the place was nice, food was good, the kids enjoy the pool and the beach and the comedy show, the only thing on what I was disappointed was the room, the shower was broken, there was a water leak in the room, we called many times for repair and nobody came, most of the staff was very helpful, people from the restaurants were very professionals, the overall for being the first time going it was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The place was great but the room, which was not a big issue since we went back to the room just to sleep or change our clothes otherwise it wold be a big problem.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ziplining Is Only A Dream
New York, NY
Jan 3, 2013

Fun if you plan excursions

Hotel is decent, service is spotty, food is ok, but definitely a value vacation. Small property size can make it difficult to stay longer than a few days so booking excursions outside of the hotel is must to keep it interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Sosua Beach and the bar district - well worth it.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lyssaleigh24
nyack, ny
May 28, 2013

Not bad

It wasn't a bad place to stay however, didnt go beyond expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nobleG
Columbia, MD
Dec 11, 2009

The Good, the bad and the ugly

relaxed on the beach and the jeep safari and shopping. I think the staff need to be better trained and more English translators needed. E.g. It took 2 days for me to get a coffee pot for my room. The tables are missing napkins or knives. you are served coffee but no sugar offered. It is a nice resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

excellent entertainment with exceptional edancers

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nobleG
Columbia, MD
Dec 11, 2009

The Good, the bad and the ugly

relaxed on the beach and the jeep safari and shopping. I think the staff need to be better trained and more English translators needed. E.g. It took 2 days for me to get a coffee pot for my room. The tables are missing napkins or knives. you are served coffee but no sugar offered. It is a nice resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

excellent entertainment with exceptional edancers

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tmac1993
georgia
Apr 1, 2014

not sure I would stay again

We did the premium package and it was nothing special. Too expensive for what you got. Would have enjoyed it more if we had done standard package and NOT spent the extra money for the premium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun Time88
Toronto, ON, Canada
Sep 29, 2011

I had a Great Time!!!!

The best part about this Hotel are the Staff. They were so nice and friendly, I made tons friends while staying their :D The food was good and the rooms were not. Only issues were the timing of the food places, wish they were open longer and the rooms A/C was a little to high. I would definitley go back, the price was good :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
paterson nj
Aug 9, 2011

A family getaway

It was a nice and relaxes week for me and my family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marist
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Nice family trip!!!!!!

This was our second time staying there. It was a good value. There was too much going on in terms of the "Spring Breakers."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top