Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
190 reviews
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Best All inclusive

It was my first time there and I loved it, the staff was so pleasant. See full review

  • Chede
  • Oct 9, 2013
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, Jacuzzi and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private Jacuzzi in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

19.7973 -70.6885
Area served
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP) at 15 minute.
Area description
Casinos, golf, whale watching (Jan-March a few hours away), shopping, and great nightlife.

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.
La Bodeguita
bar, open from 17.00 - 23.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.
Bar Disco Playa
beachside. Open:10.00 - 18.00 hrs. Snack : de 23.00 " 1:00 hrs. Bar Disco 23.00 " 2.00 hrs

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sharon.
Boston, MA
May 9, 2012

Not good enough for the money.

Not a 4 star hotel as listed. Very small and modest lobby. Rude workers. Food variety poor. Very small buffet space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Not enough intertaintment on rainning days and nights. Nothing to do while rainning. Very poor night shows.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cheated
puerto plata dominican republic
Dec 3, 2011

very dissapointed

First of all the rooms were ugly but very clean and tidy..The food overall was very poor. The shows and discotec were good overall and staff were very helpful and nice... Overall,,, if I were given no other choice this place would have to do.. Really disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Mexican on the Beach
Paterson NJ
Jul 2, 2013

Not a 4 star resort!!

The resort did not live up to its name or its 4 star rating at any point of our vacation. The worst part of this resort is the food. the food was horrible, with very little seasoning. most of it was bland, the syrup was not good at all, the hotdogs and hamburgers and most meat tasted like plastic. the drinks at the bar were all made with cheap cheap liquor, probably 2 dollars a bottle if that. there was a short selection of premium liquor(like 5-8 bottles) but you had to pay extra if you wanted these liquors. the bartenders were friendly but they did not know how to mix drinks. the Staff overall was friendly and helpful at times but this did not overide the horrible experience with the resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

try to make reservations for the special dinning places, the food is not top quality but its better than eating the bland food at the buffet.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rn from fl
orlando, fl
May 7, 2012

worst place ever visited

Dirty rooms food sucks, old rooms and at the beach the people selling stuff do not let you relax harrasing you to buy something and the put the prices to the sky. Boring show suck s

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, new york
Nov 17, 2009

bad expirience

the buffet food was excellent but the service at the seafood restaurant was awful. When the wine was finished we had to ask for it. when we order we ask for coffee at the end waited more than 25min before we had to ask again for the coffee. the shower in the bathroom is dirty and filthy. the bed is the worst, after the first day woke up with a back ache the show wasn't that great no intertainment at all.well like they said you get what you pay for. in addition people are not polite at the buffet they rush like there's no more food lett. they don't make lines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
m from usa
NY
Jul 2, 2009

Read Carefully! An honest review USA

OK, we booked at the Barcelo based on the many positive reviews, maybe they are paid..not sure but my experience was anything but positive. I found the staff indifferent and cold. The vendors were unbearable and the resort was noisy at all hours. I was dumbfounded by the lack of manners by both the staff and the guests, I guess since it was off season they have many locals which apparently is not good as they were flat out RUDE! They would cut in front of you in line at the buffett and the bar or even in the pool. It was awful. The good was the excursions, if you get a chance to water fall slide it is awsome! The horseback riding is cool as was the catamoran. I would definately not return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your excursions from Ramone at the beach, much cheaper than the hotel.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deyanara
Harwich ma
May 30, 2013

Poor

Room wasn't clean enough roaches in the bathroom I took a picture I call front desk and the dindt do anything also no free wifi so my girls complain about how cheap a discussing was very bad experience food was delicious also no parking space for my car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
done with all inclusives
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2012

Buffet Only

The hotel was a liilte older but who cares. The beach and the pool were great. The staff was extremely helpful and outgoing. The problem was they claim to have 8 restaurants. The restaurants were never open more then two a day, for dinner only by reservation only. 3 of our 5 nights there it was buffet only. We lived on mango and thankfully had a car so we left to eat else where, which seems riciulous for an all inclusive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Steak House across the street

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
O177182
Sacarmento, Ca
Jul 3, 2009

It started with a Ugly room card...

I am thouroughly disgusted with the service both with orbitz and this hotel. from the begining i felt as though I was lead into making a choice i did not want to make. The service in the hotel was AWFUL! I recieved either late or no response to issues i had with my room and the ammenities promised in the description here on the site. There were at least 100 people (mostly locals) at the check in desk with no organization from the hotel staff on line control. I was cut in line 6 different times (a lot due i part because I did not speak spanish to get the staffs attention and there was no "line" system to take people on a first come first served basis) Also on 2 occasions i came back to my room to find the housekeeping staff lounging in my room as if it were a break area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco Bongo

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
seasoned travelers4
Boston, MA
Nov 15, 2012

not even close to 3 star, would not go back

room was very old, but clean: tiny old TV from the 80s. Bathtub looked like the paint peeled off and was painted over. very cheap decor. But clean. The power went out at least 5 times a night. usually for 5-10 minutes, a few times for 30 minutes to an hour. There was no back up generator, so no emergency lighting or exit signs or any illumination at all. It was pitch black in the room and throughout the resort. When the sky was cloudy and the stars and moon could not shine through, you literally felt like you were in a cave or completely blind when standing out in the open, could not tell where to go. The food was awful. Worse than any cheap buffet I've ever tried in the states. Very poor selection, almost no veriety at all. The buffet: - for salad bar only dehydrated iceberg lattice, tasteless unripened tomatoes, cucumbers, only 1 kind of dressing at lunch and dinner and no dressing at all in the morning. - the meat had a rubber texture and was impossible to bite into - the same food every day, no verity - rice, boiled potatoes, heavily overcooked vegetables, canned overcooked beans, pizza and pasta. one day we had to navigate through very thick cloud of smoke in the buffet to get food because their exhaust fans broke in the kitchen. The restaurants: we went to Italian, Mexican and Seafood and every entree we ordered was exactly the same. All salads came from the buffet and always consisted of dehydrated iceberg lattice, tasteless unripened tomatoes, cucumbers. All the vegetables were cut the same way. Sometimes they would throw a piece of avocado on it an call it an avocado salad. Every time we ordered fish no matter what it said on the menu: salmon, sea bass, mahi-mahi or anything else, it actually was just the local fish (called dorado i think) with a different sauce on top! In every restaurant. When we ordered calamari the brought out shrimp using an excuse that calamari was not good, but one of us was allergic to shrimp, so they gave her canned mushrooms instead! All the pastries had a strong smell and taste of baking soda. The cake we ordered was stale and dry, at least 2 weeks old. the beach: was dirty, seaweed, wood debris and garbage wash up on the shore. The sand was rock hard and very dark color. One of our rooms got flooded during the rain. One day there were no clean/dry beach towels because the laundry was not working -- due to power outage. We paid for wi-fi and could never get it to work. The signal was either not there or very weak, kept logging you out. the shows: very very much on a budget in terms of props and costumes. The dancers tried their best. Highlights: cheap close to airport 20 min staff, especially the animation crew were very nice, entertaining and accommodating. Honestly, if it was not for the animation/show guys our vacation would probably be ruined. They saved the day by always making us laugh, recommending things to do and providing information on the local attractions if you are a seasoned traveler looking for a good deal it is better to get a nice non-all inclusive hotel near the beach in Cabarete. great beach, lots of restaurants on the beach with bars, DJs, rooftop and beach front dining, cheap massage on the beach. I think that's what we'll do if we ever go back to DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top