$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
131 reviews
awesome

the resort was very nice, clean and the staff was awesomne to say the least. there are a lot of... See full review

  • Gabriel M.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, hot tub, and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private hot tub in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.
Superior Club Premium
Enjoy accommodations in one of our 45 m Superior Club Premium rooms, with everything necessary to ensure comfort during your stay. The guests staying in our Superior receive the Club Premium Service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 131
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn,NY
Jul 15, 2009

"Unbeatable location for the price"

The location was great, the service was awesome. I have to really say that the entertainment "Animation Team" was great. There were 3 people which stood out the most: [...], [...] & [...]. These 3 guys did a outstanding job and really make the resort fun and the shows awesome. I will def. be back. Muchachos "que lo que"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC spring breaker
Business
NYC
Mar 24, 2013

Awesome Spring Break spot

Barcelo POP was awesome, it's just 25min from the airport make sure and get the hotel transfer (VIP van lines). The staff was super friendly, I really can't complain about the staff. The food/ selections was delicious. Wasn't a big fan of the restaurants, to me buffet style was better tasting food ( I had better seafood and Italian food). The people were fairly young, which made the spring break concept great. Don't get me wrong it's a family hotel so there were kids and senior citizens. I travelled by myself, and safety was a huge issue for me, but I felt safe in the complex. The nightly shows are fun, and the discoteca was a place for ppl to interact/ dance/ drink and be merry. Last but not least, since I was single it was a great place to meet potential candidates ;) I highly recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jadom
Business
Katy, Texas
Sep 21, 2012

comfortable

My stay at your resort was a very wonderful experience. Just what i wanted, and what i needed. The rooms were very clean, the food was great, and every one was very polite and ready to help. I would stay at your resort again. And would recommend. Devon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

make sure you see the shows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P$
Business
Usa
Apr 24, 2010

Great place

The only bad thing was on the weekends the locals took over and they were pushy ans rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Dec 2, 2010

fun fun fun

it was great good weather friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam1987
Business
Bayonne, New Jersey
Jun 11, 2010

POP Vacation

good place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicamala
Business
Las Vegas,Nv
Oct 11, 2010

barcelo puerto plata

The staff is very friendly and helpful.Overall it was one of the best for guest service I have seen in awhile.Food was good lots of resturant choices.Grounds are kept very clean.Enjoyable nightly entertainment on site and coco bongo is walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The day tours can be purchased on the beach for less than in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl
May 13, 2010

OK getaway.

Well, I got plenty of rest..undisturbed sleep, which was wonderful! The staff was indeed friendly. I was well taken care of. The Beach..just great! Got plenty of sun. I had a few problems in the beginning when I arrived: 1. I thought My traveling to the hotel was included..NOT! had to pay for a Taxi (rip-offs!) 2. The A/C didnt work in the first room I occupied. I had to wait until alomst 3 pm for another room. 3. "The Locals" need I say more! :( 4. Annoying vendors!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

dont go on the weekends! The locals will drive you nuts!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reyrey the Traveler
Business
New Jersey
Jul 14, 2014

Fantastic getaway

I personally went for a wedding at the beach which was pretty good. The staff was very attentive to all of the details of the wedding which was good. The food on the other hand could have been a little better. It was edible but sometimes it just tasted bland. The pool is excellent in the morning when most of the visitors are still asleep. The shows at night have variety from night to night and you have a chance to win a few things if you are bold enough to participate in the pre-show event. All in all, it was a excellent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to enjoy a calm and peaceful dinner without the complications of waiting in line at the buffet, make sure to make your reservations early for the various different restaurants that the hotel has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Used and Abused!
Business
Minnesota
Mar 4, 2011

Playa Dorado/Barcelo is a total RIPOFF!

I came to Puerta Plata to get a look at the country and the people that lived in it. I also felt that having a hotel closer to the city and airport would reduce some of the exorbitant taxi fares I had heard about. I paid $190 a day for "ALL INCLUSIVE" it was anything but! I was only "allowed" to eat at one restaurant the others listed on the website were apparently for "special guests" other than me! From the initial check in; where they forgot to take my credit card then called me up a day later accusing me of trying to cheat them! To the lousy food at the glorified Old Country Buffet meets Dominican Republic restaurant to being virtually ignored by the wait staff every time I ate (apparently single people are non events to staff there!) None of the promised "inclusive" services were available to me or anyone else I could see. They had plenty of hotel people on the beach trying to get me to "enjoy the "beach activities" as long as I listened to the excruciating TIMESHARE sales pitch! OMG! I was turned away from the so called Italian and Oriental eating places though a quick inspection of what was being served there appeared very mediocre. There were upselling inside the hotel a "Premium Barcelo" package that more than one sucker was signing up for. Everyone I spoke with seem to be paying a different price and when I asked why they signed up for the extra charges they ignorantly stated "it was just another 15 to 45 dollars. Pathetic! Avoid this crank joint at all costs. I did much better at a resort outside of town by about an hour the Bahai Princippi where I paid $57 a day for the exact same amenities. Also the Playa Dorado/Barcelo charges for internet at a rate of $7.00 per 12 minutes and 25 dollars per 24 hours! This after paying $190 per day! Not even the Hilton in the US tries that nonsense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All inclusive means whatever we choose to give which in my case was almost nothing! Stay away from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top