$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
150 reviews
Awesome friend trip!

Everything was perfect the food was great the service and staff no complaint at all defenitly I'll... See full review

  • karol s.
  • May 20, 2015
awesome

the resort was very nice, clean and the staff was awesomne to say the least. there are a lot of... See full review

  • Gabriel M.
  • Dec 23, 2014

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.
Superior Club Premium
Enjoy accommodations in one of our 45 m Superior Club Premium rooms, with everything necessary to ensure comfort during your stay. The guests staying in our Superior receive the Club Premium Service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 150
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Santiaguera
Business
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Sep 25, 2012

The staff makes the trip worth it!

I have been to this resort a number of times because of the great staff. They are friendly but not overbearing. The live band is wonderful, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Everth
Business
Gainesville, VA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Best hospitality ever!!

This resort was simply amazing in many ways. The staff was courteous and polite at all times. They really have such an organized way of doing things from coordinating meals to activities. The only minor issue I had was with Cocotours, which was the company that picked me up from the airport to the hotel. The pick pick upfrom the airport was fine. But they were 45 minutes late to pick me up from the hotel to the airport. They didn't apologize or recognized they were late. I would not recommend their services to anyone. Anyways I can't really stress the awesome time I had while staying at Barcelo Puerto Plata. It was just perfect. Great service. Great food. Great location. Clean spacious rooms. I am definitely going back to DR and I'm definitely staying at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring small bills for tips and shopping. Not all stores or attractions take credit cards nor give you change in $ currency.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabriel M.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

awesome

the resort was very nice, clean and the staff was awesomne to say the least. there are a lot of activities to do on and off the resort. the beach the you can access at the resort is very nice. the drink service is quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
karol s.
Business
Prospect park
May 20, 2015

Awesome friend trip!

Everything was perfect the food was great the service and staff no complaint at all defenitly I'll go many time more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
May 26, 2009

Weekend Getaway

Overall a good experience. Check in process was horrible. I arrived early and had to stand in a very unorganized line in order to simply obtain the keys to my room. Also the AC was not functioning our first evening there and I had to call the front desk over 4 times to get someone there. Besides that Memorial Day Weekend was quiet and restful. Mostly occupied with native Dominicans. Staff was nice, although a little audacious with women which was a bit uncomfortable. Other than tha, had a great time. Went with friends who also enjoyed their stay. Would definitely go again for a quick getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to dine somewhere besides the buffet restaurant, be sure to make reservations ahead of time. Also, the vendors on the beach really try to squeeze you dry. I was offered a canvas painting for $45, and managed to bring it down to $7.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn New york
Jun 1, 2010

great getaway

I had alot of fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

coco bongo

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Passport Stamper
Business
NY, NY
Jul 7, 2009

The good, the bad and the ugly.

THE GOOD: The hotel is right by the beach, which is wonderful. You can eat all you want, and the food is delicious and fresh and clean. You can do buffet or even make reservations at one of their restaurants. THE BAD: The staff is sometimes unfriendly and not very helpful. Also, there was an ongoing problem of our room keys not working, so we had to walk all the way back to reception to get new keys twice. THE UGLY: The beaches are filled with people desperate to sell you something: sombreros, cigars, hair braiding, jewelry, excursions, etc. So it's not exactly a beach environment for relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations for excursions once you check in. DON'T WAIT. They fill up quickly. Also, there's not much to do in terms of excursions on Sundays.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Sep 21, 2010

Good stay

If you want to spend some quality time with your family and/or friends, Barcelo Puerto Plata is a nice place to stay. The complex is neat with a beautiful swimming pool with bar. The only drinkable thing is their beer (Presidente). If you look for premium hard liquor, do not be surprised when they charge you extra for it (around $5). What's included in all inclusive package is their local alcohol (low quality), beer and wine. Rooms are clean but definitely aged. TV in my room was from early 80's with no remote. Had problem with AC as thermostat didn't work properly.Safe is available in room for charge of $2.50 per day. Internet is $4 for 15 minutes or $18 per day. Buffet is the best- with lots of fruit and fresh fish. We tried their restaurants (Brazilian and sea food) but I must say I was disappointed. Location was awesome, just a short walk to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
May 26, 2009

Weekend Getaway

Overall a good experience. Check in process was horrible. I arrived early and had to stand in a very unorganized line in order to simply obtain the keys to my room. Also the AC was not functioning our first evening there and I had to call the front desk over 4 times to get someone there. Besides that Memorial Day Weekend was quiet and restful. Mostly occupied with native Dominicans. Staff was nice, although a little audacious with women which was a bit uncomfortable. Other than tha, had a great time. Went with friends who also enjoyed their stay. Would definitely go again for a quick getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to dine somewhere besides the buffet restaurant, be sure to make reservations ahead of time. Also, the vendors on the beach really try to squeeze you dry. I was offered a canvas painting for $45, and managed to bring it down to $7.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun Time88
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Sep 29, 2011

I had a Great Time!!!!

The best part about this Hotel are the Staff. They were so nice and friendly, I made tons friends while staying their :D The food was good and the rooms were not. Only issues were the timing of the food places, wish they were open longer and the rooms A/C was a little to high. I would definitley go back, the price was good :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top