$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
West New York, NJ
Jun 25, 2009

Relaxing Vacation...

Barcelo in Puerto Plata was amazing...friendly staff, great big and small pools, beach, disco, were fantastic. The food was great when making reservations at the special restaurants, however the daily breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets were okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is this place called "La Plaza" it's great for cheap souvenirs and it's a short walk away. It's amazing!

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New Jersey
Jul 6, 2009

Hotel Barcelo, Puerto Plata

Overall, the staff/food/amenenites at Barcelo were great. Negative: I'm a nonsmoker and the rooms smelled like stale cigarettes. The staff at Orbitz were very tardy in submitting my order to the hotel. Although the check-in was at 3pm, the hotel received my order at 6pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Feb 8, 2010

Very Nice Vacation

Enjoyed the pool and beach. Liked the nightly shows. and the food was pretty good considering it was all inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Duluth, MN
Feb 27, 2010

Fair...Service lacking, hotel was nice..

The hotel was clean, beach and pool were well maintained. Most of the staff was very friendly but a couple were pretty rude... Tennis rackets were bent and broke(my handle was snapped in half and duct taped together), snorkel items were icky.. The biggest draw back to the Barcelo is making reservations for dinner. They only take reservations during certain hours, hours when all the sight seeing trips are taking place, so you would have to stick around the hotel in order to make a reservation... So eating at the buffet was the norm, and its not the greatest sevice or food...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Princeton, NJ
Dec 30, 2009

OK hotel in deteriorating resort area

We traveled around the country having been to Punta Cana and Puerto Plato among other places in a single trip. There is no conceivable reason, other than a huge price difference, to going to Puerto Plato instead of Punta Cana. Puerto Plato is where the all inclusive business started in that country, but by now the whole Puerto Plato area just seems obsolete. The sea water is brown due to geography, the beach near hotel is filled with garbage. The hotel is nice but nothing fancy - cookie cutter resort about 15 years old. The shows are better than in other places we've been to. The hotel does not have catamarans unlike all hotels in Punta Cana. Beach vendors are uncontrolled and bether every couple of minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nobleG
Couples
Columbia, MD
Dec 11, 2009

The Good, the bad and the ugly

relaxed on the beach and the jeep safari and shopping. I think the staff need to be better trained and more English translators needed. E.g. It took 2 days for me to get a coffee pot for my room. The tables are missing napkins or knives. you are served coffee but no sugar offered. It is a nice resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

excellent entertainment with exceptional edancers

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Philadelphia
Aug 3, 2010

Barcelo Premium

I had a great stay, thanks to the entire Premium staff. The ladies at the premium concierge were amazing. Didn't care for the entertainment staff. [*] The locals from Santiago take over this resort on the weekends. They are rude and pushy, especially in the buffet diningroom and the show area. Each person would save even 10 seats for family members. I am not opposed to Barcelo allowing locals, however, if they would like repeat clientele from other countries, then they should limit their room blocks to a smaller amount to locals on the weekends. In the long run, this is hurting their business. Barcelo, look at all the complaints that other people have on the locals at your property. Property has a lot of amenities for a relaxing, fun vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to haggle, the beach has a lot of vendors. [...] #15 has great prices.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gossabee
Family
Long Island, NY
Feb 21, 2010

Worth the price?

We arrived at the hotel earlier than the check-in time. They were very accomodating and our luggage was secured for us while we used the facilities before our room was ready. Check-in was a breeze. When we got to our room it was what we thought it would be with 2 double beds in the room. Without asking, they supplied us with a third bed, which was a nice thing. We found the staff to be very professional and friendly. The food at the buffet was better than expected and the ala carte restraunts were also acceptable. Now for the bad. We had no hot water in the room for 2 days of the 8 day stay. Making reservations for the ala carte restraunts is quite difficult if you are not a Club member. (pay for the upgrade) The nightly show is not a show at all. It afforded very little entertainment. It did rain a few days and there is absolutely nothing to do in the rain. No game room for the kids and no activities scheduled during the day. We have visited other all inclusive hotels and have thoroughly enjoyed the shows and activities set up by the resort. Not at all like Barcelo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Vendors on the beach are the same licensed vendors as the local flea market. There is also a mall a few steps away from the resort. You can bargain with the vendors at the beach and flea market but we found the mall had the best prices and some vendors at the mall will bargain as well. Do not trade your money at the hotel. You will get a better price at the exchange bank at the mall. Shop with pesos, it will save you $$ in the end.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY85
Friends
New York, NY
Mar 25, 2010

Great Value

Overall, the resort was a great value for the price. The seafood and Mexican restaurants are outdoors so I wouldn't necessarily call them restaurants. The best food was the pizza from the upstairs pizza grill, but they should have made this available during lunch as well as dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I highly recommend taking a tour guide with you if you wish to explore downtown Puerto Plata - he or she will be helpful in educating you about the area as well as keeping locals away from you so that you are not heckled and pressured into buying things you do not want.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York City
Sep 13, 2010

Okay stay

While at the resort we went to a couple of tours which were good, they were set up by the rep at hotel lobby. The hotel was too loud on the weekend as locals took over the place. The service was awful as the servers seemed occupied about talking to each other rather than serving the guests. Too many children. The only positive was the night shows on stage and the disco right on the beach. The food was awful and made my girlfriend and I sick for like three days of our 11 day stay. The hotel grounds were nice and the beach was nice.Rooms were okay. Pushy vendors on the beach that act as if they are yor friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Alfresco restaurant serves some great lobster at a reasonable price. Just walk across to the plaza.

Back to menu Return to top