$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joseph s.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

nice trip

Our trip was nice. The staff and food were great. Rooms needed updating but were clean. The beach was clean but the vendors waking around got to be a little to much at times. I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Cover your wrist bands if you go into town. The vendors are like sharks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crampy
Business
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

Funtastic Vacation

The trip was soooo fun. Excellent hotel staff members. Other guests at the hotel where easy going and fun. Entertainment was also good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tmac1993
Business
georgia
Apr 1, 2014

not sure I would stay again

We did the premium package and it was nothing special. Too expensive for what you got. Would have enjoyed it more if we had done standard package and NOT spent the extra money for the premium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 31, 2010

Average

Hotel is not bad for the price, food was good, not too many choices but overall good. Beach was beautiful. Not enough beach chairs or towels. Had to get up at 6:30am every day to "reserve" beach chairs, and one time another guest removed my items from chair, throw it in sand and took chair, so that when I arrived at 8:30 I only had one chair! Hotel allows "vendors" to stay on beach all day (example: women who braid hair, sit under shade all day, taking up shade space and talking all day, every day) They have security standing by entrance to beach all day which makes no sense - as vendors are allowed on beach. Hotel staff treats European/Canadians much better. Security guards treat you as if you are sneaking into hotel, when you are paying to stay there! shows were not very good, not much to do. If you want to stay with an older crowd and just sit by the beach it's fine. Bottom line - you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VNM
Business
Boston, MA
May 11, 2010

NICE and perfect short vaca..

this is a great place to stay if your on a budget, overall its a great place to stay to enjoy and relax more with your family, there was a lot of kids and older people there the weekend we went. Quiet and mellow place. Service there was great from room to restaurant. food was okkay..had better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jun 1, 2011

Puerto Plata

I enjoyed my six day stay at Barcelo. The food was delicious (especially the Mexican & Brazilian) and the staff were friendly, but it would have been easier if the staff had spoken more English. At times it was hard to communicate with some of them for simple requests. If you don't mind tons of children running around the resort then this is the place for you! It's super kid-friendly. Overall, Barcelo certainly doesn't have that four (4) star appeal but it was worth the money. I'd definitely recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hemingway's or CocoBongo offered much better entertainment than the hotel's entertainment which starts at 9pm each night. They're both a short walk from the hotel site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun Time88
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Sep 29, 2011

I had a Great Time!!!!

The best part about this Hotel are the Staff. They were so nice and friendly, I made tons friends while staying their :D The food was good and the rooms were not. Only issues were the timing of the food places, wish they were open longer and the rooms A/C was a little to high. I would definitley go back, the price was good :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nellarosent
Business
portland
May 5, 2012

acceptable better than other

good time , nice beaces but could be cleaned, from time to time , good food but server could smile more, good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dont stay to close to shows arena unless you like to go to sleep after 23:00rd hour ...nice but loud

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ziplining Is Only A Dream
Business
New York, NY
Jan 3, 2013

Fun if you plan excursions

Hotel is decent, service is spotty, food is ok, but definitely a value vacation. Small property size can make it difficult to stay longer than a few days so booking excursions outside of the hotel is must to keep it interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Sosua Beach and the bar district - well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
calicolKM
Business
new york
Feb 24, 2013

THE BARTENDERS!!

The bartenders next to the Jacuzzi are really nasty, they are really expecting you to tip them if not you will get ignore next time you come. Overall i was very disappointed at first because i was expecting a little more of luxury however some how we managed well and everything turned out okay. What makes this Resort special is mainly the live band and the people otherwise this is a 2 Star Resort!! BTW they don't have kids club here at this Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top