$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Espinal family
Business
Bronx, new york
Feb 6, 2013

First vacation with my baby

We all had a good time even though was for few days. We wanted to stay longer, the time went so fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Loo
Business
Ohio
Feb 26, 2013

Met my expectations

Overall I enjoyed my stay at Barcelo Puerto Plata. We were given a free upgrade to a junior suite which was truly an upgrade. The room was large with cool a/c. I was pleased with our room, the only drawback is that there were ants in the restroom at times and it seemed like housekeeping did the bare minimum. (Replaced towels and made the bed). Sometimes they would restock the mini fridge, which wasn't so important because there was plenty to eat and drink on the property. The beach was very clean apart from some seawood. It was always busy and hard to find empty chairs. We always seemed to manage. Yes there are sales people but they are very gracious and leave you alone if you say no thanks. We weren't bothered at all and enjoyed talking to them. Just be sure to never take their first offer. The property itself was a perfect size. Plenty of a la carte restaurants and bars. There's always activities poolside. The drinks are stiff, the mixes are pretty sugary but it just depends on your taste. Bring a refillable bottle if you don't want to go to the bar every 10 minutes. The cups are tiny. The food was average at best but of course it's never as good as home. :) When we visited there was a lot of students, which made the resort very lively. At night they have shows that involve the audience or are performed by their dance team. I enjoyed participating in the shows. They were always entertaining. If you're looking for nightlife there is a beach disco. The area is small but there is decent music, food and drinks. We loved our stay at Barcelo. At times certain staff seemed less than helpful but other staff members were extremely friendly and fun. We did miss out on visiting the city. The hotel really tries to stray you from exploring on your own. They offer excursions but I don't recommend booking on the resort. 2 minutes walk off the property is a small shopping center that offers the excursions at a lower rate. If you're looking for great weather, a place to relax in the sun, party, and eat whenever you want this is a great place to choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the oriental restaurant. It's so bad it's laughable! Try the Mexican, Italian, and pizzeria, very tasty!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrittanyTyheem
Business
New York
Apr 10, 2013

Great bang for your buck

We upgraded to VIP club premium the room was very spacious and clean. Room service was excellent anything we needed was accommodated promptly. The pool looked very inviting and it was calm but had a great Dominican Republic feeling!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
el lando
Business
union city new jersey
Jun 7, 2013

love barcelo

awesome love the hotel i will come back for my next vacations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

love it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josecabrera
Business
new york
May 27, 2014

Vacation

good hotel, close to the beach, but to far fron the parking yard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacation 2010
Business
New York Republic
Aug 13, 2010

vacation 2010

Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 12, 2010

Great

I had a great experience. The check in was fast. The food was great as well as the night shows. O loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P$
Business
Usa
Apr 24, 2010

Great place

The only bad thing was on the weekends the locals took over and they were pushy ans rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 30, 2010

Will Definitely Return

The hotel was amazing. All the staff members were extremely nice and helpful. We spent most of our time relaxing by the beach and the pool. We did leave the hotel to go out on 4x4 car drives. We didn't want to leave but we had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Plan all activities with hotel representatives for the best prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Dec 2, 2010

fun fun fun

it was great good weather friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top