$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
188 reviews
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Best All inclusive

It was my first time there and I loved it, the staff was so pleasant. See full review

  • Chede
  • Oct 9, 2013
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, Jacuzzi and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private Jacuzzi in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Hotel Map

19.7973 -70.6885
Area served
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP) at 15 minute.
Area description
Casinos, golf, whale watching (Jan-March a few hours away), shopping, and great nightlife.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (188)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pache
Ponce, PR
Dec 16, 2010

excellent location and service

Only stayed for one day. Warm welcome, excellent proactive service, good food. Most guests were international, hotel kept a balanced local taste of music and food. Beach is great, couple of swimming pools. Would repeat visit. Close by excellent show and other facilities. 5 minutes from local airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel made arrangements for near by Bravisimo show at near by location which includes casino and disco. Worth the price.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn
Jun 12, 2008

Very Family Friendly

The Barcelo (All-Inclusive) accomodations were much to our satisfaction, and we will definitely plan to stay there in the future. Rooms were comfortable, kept clean, and the mini refrigerator were daily stocked with soft drinks, water, and beer. Staff members were very friendly, and helpful. There were activities for all ages:children,adults, as well as seniors (including water sports). Foods were well prepared, and much variety to choose from (buffet-style). Speciality Cuisine was also an option to choose from for dinning (Italian, Mexican, Brazilian, Seafood). I highly recommend a vacation stay at Barcelo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown City of Pueto Plata is about a 15 minutes ride.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
paterson nj
Aug 9, 2011

A family getaway

It was a nice and relaxes week for me and my family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marist
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Nice family trip!!!!!!

This was our second time staying there. It was a good value. There was too much going on in terms of the "Spring Breakers."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Aug 7, 2010

GREAT

Great they were attentive and friendly showed great hospitality.. their food was OK.. could have been better. drinks were very good atleast for house named bottles they used. Other reviews complained about it being water down not one drink i had was water down if anything very strong. overall great stay good clubs and music and great atmosphere will travel again. Beautiful Hotel if i had the oppurtunity to stay longer i would have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

for a quick travel to nightlife Roadway and Coco Bongos walk through the mini mart though the back parking lot and its barely a walk.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam1987
Bayonne, New Jersey
Jun 11, 2010

POP Vacation

good place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CORAL SPRINGS, FLORIDA
May 17, 2011

HOTEL AND CAR RENTAL

VERY UNHAPPY, FIRST I BOOKED FROM MIAMI , ONE PERSON AND WHEN I ARREIVED I WAS NOT ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE I RENTED , BECAUSE THEY REQUIRED A CREDIT CARD WHICH I DIDN T HAVE [...], ALL I HAD WAS A DEBIT CARD AND THEY WOULD ACCEPT BUT I NEEDED TO LEAVE 300 HUNDRED USD FOR EACH DAY, SOMETHING I WAS NIT PREPARED TO OR COULD NT DO. THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN 900 USD, I ENDED TAKING A CAB TO THE HOTEL AND IT COST ME 100 USD, PLUS HAD TO TAXI MY FIANCEE AND KIDS FROM SANTIAGO TO THE HOTEL AND PAID ANOTHER 100 EACH WAY PLUS 100 FOR ME TO GET BACK TO THE AIRPORT UPON DEPARTAING. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabe n Kris
New York, NY
Mar 13, 2011

Our Honeymoon

We went on our Honeymoon but the first couple of days was BAD.. Hardly NO Beach or Pool Towels we had to WAIT 2 DAYS for a pair we ask for a Queen size bed we got 2 TWIN size beds and when we asked to change they gave us the Run Around there's no Manager Onsite..The Customer Service is really BAD! But the Staff was Great....The Morning Buffet is Awesome the other Buffets like lunch and dinner were ok... You have to make a Reservation to eat in the Restaurants which my favorite will be the Brazilian and Mexican the Italian is OK...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is cheaper to BUY in the Plaza that is Behind the hotel its Safe to walk the only bad thing is you have alot of guys trying to sell you stuff and you also have 2 NiteClubs n a Movie Theater n internet booth which is less than $3 for 30mins compare to $4 n 15min in the Hotel Lobby

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vacation 2010
New York Republic
Aug 13, 2010

vacation 2010

Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn New york
Jun 1, 2010

great getaway

I had alot of fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

coco bongo

Back to menu Return to top