Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,Ma
Apr 30, 2011

Nice Place

Best Trip Ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Everth
Business
Gainesville, VA, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Best hospitality ever!!

This resort was simply amazing in many ways. The staff was courteous and polite at all times. They really have such an organized way of doing things from coordinating meals to activities. The only minor issue I had was with Cocotours, which was the company that picked me up from the airport to the hotel. The pick pick upfrom the airport was fine. But they were 45 minutes late to pick me up from the hotel to the airport. They didn't apologize or recognized they were late. I would not recommend their services to anyone. Anyways I can't really stress the awesome time I had while staying at Barcelo Puerto Plata. It was just perfect. Great service. Great food. Great location. Clean spacious rooms. I am definitely going back to DR and I'm definitely staying at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring small bills for tips and shopping. Not all stores or attractions take credit cards nor give you change in $ currency.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pache
Business
Ponce, PR
Dec 16, 2010

excellent location and service

Only stayed for one day. Warm welcome, excellent proactive service, good food. Most guests were international, hotel kept a balanced local taste of music and food. Beach is great, couple of swimming pools. Would repeat visit. Close by excellent show and other facilities. 5 minutes from local airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel made arrangements for near by Bravisimo show at near by location which includes casino and disco. Worth the price.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Feb 6, 2010

Wonderful Honeymoon

Stayed here for our honeymoon. The food was great, the staff was friendly, and there were very few children around. Absolutely wonderful place to go and relax on the beach or by the pool with lots of tropical drinks. While a few of the staff (like the towel girl) seemed apathetic, most were very friendly and helpful. They were fixing things that were damaged or needed improving while we were there, but did it mostly in ways that didn't bother us: we came back from the beach one evening to find a row of palms planted behind our room blocking the view of an ugly shed, and saw them replacing the roofs of the tiki huts by the pool at night. The worst part was the old fat women who decided they needed to bathe topless and the old men in speedoes. No one needs to see that, but at the same time it's a phenomenon hardly limited to this resort. In one week, we got around to doing many, but not all, of the included activities. We wish we'd been able to stay longer than a single week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ocean World in Puerto Plata was a great side trip to go swim with dolphins and play with sea lions.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LawtownHarv
Business
Lawrence, MA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Awesome

The staff was incredible they made us feel as we had been there before. The nightly shows were amazing so was the food. I can't wait to go back....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabriel M.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

awesome

the resort was very nice, clean and the staff was awesomne to say the least. there are a lot of activities to do on and off the resort. the beach the you can access at the resort is very nice. the drink service is quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
karol s.
Business
Prospect park
May 20, 2015

Awesome friend trip!

Everything was perfect the food was great the service and staff no complaint at all defenitly I'll go many time more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American married Dominica
Business
seattle and Santiagp DR
Mar 9, 2014

Honeymoon "Luna de Miel "

Cool room on the end with backyard palm garden privacy and quiet. Yet close in to pool, restaurants and show. We got married in Santiago and came to Barcelo for our honeymoon, quite a big adjustment in cultural difference between bride and groom. Groom is American from Seattle and bride Dominicana from Santiago so we were basically adjusting to how to be a married couple. Special experience. The only negative comments I need to make is very crowded and challenging to find two chairs together by pool or on beach, it felt crowded but everything worked out fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make a la carte restaurant reservation in morning because they book up fast.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inn312
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Excellent family or couples getaway.

For starters the staff was excellent, they were very friendly and they made you feel like family. Plenty of pools for all ages and the beach was less than 5 minutes to reach. The food was great especially the ala carte restaurants. Due to bad weather we had to cancel the planned vacation we made, things happen for a reason and in this case it was a blessing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DahianaD
Business
Bronx, New York, USA
Oct 19, 2011

A small hidden gem!

We got a great deal on a 3 night stay and when we arrived we were pleasently surprised to see what a gorgeous resort it was. The staff was pleasant, the room was always maintained stocked and cleaned. The pools were wonderful! The beach was amazing! The all inclusive restaurants were delicious!! I definetley recommend this resort for their Amenities, great staff and overall comfort. We had minor issues, for example the shower in our room wasn't working properly, but they fixed it right away, as well as the delay in having our room ready when checking in. I will def. be returning with my family! as well as recommending this resort to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get to their Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner early. It is Buffet style & they have many new options everyday.

Back to menu Return to top