$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
R.I
Apr 29, 2011

could be better

I didnt like that I had to wait over 2 hours for a room because of their check in times. Every where else I've been I never waited. The reception desk was always rude and never helpfull. I would rather stick to the buffet the resturants were not good. Also we booked an excursian and they forgot to pick us up so we held up everyone! If I was to go back to D.R it would be to Punta Cana!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PRINCESS WARRIOR
Family
ORLANDO,FLORIDA
Jun 18, 2010

PLEASE DONT GO

LONG WAITING FOR CHECK IN, THEY HAVE DIFFERENT PRICES FOR TOURIST FOR THEM IS CHEAPER AND I ASKED WHY? THAT IS NOT FAIR, IF THAT IS THE CASE MY HUSBAND IS FROM HERE AND THEY SAID HE IS FROM HERE BUT DOESNT LIVE HERE OK!. THEY LOOKED STRESS OUT. THE LIGHT COMES AND GOES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

teleferico you go in to the mountain more than 2,ooo feet from the ocean is very nice it has a restaurant, a garden botanic is 2oo.oo pesos per adult no more.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tubachatu8
Family
New York, NY
Oct 11, 2010

good price, low quality, beach A++++

The price was good, but as you might expect the quality in terms of food is bad. i was there for three night. The food was good the first night, but on the second day i found myself basically eating the same thing with a few minor changes. By the end of the vacation my girlfriend and i mostly ate bread because we were tired of their selections... The best thing this hotel has is the beach. If i do decide to go back, the beach is the only reason. I've been to 4 resorts in Dominican Republic and i think this was the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom&girl
Family
Miami Florida
Oct 25, 2010

Hotel rundown

Me and my daughter of 3 for two days. I was a bit disappointed with the maintenance, but I was told it is a 12 year old hotel. We had a king size bed that was more like a hammock, bugs included. The pool was not clean. The food was average. I would not go there again, would choose IBEROSTAR next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lmied
Couples
Boise, Idaho
Mar 21, 2012

Never going back

I'll start with the good stuff: Good beach and pool, great staff, decent grounds and landscaping. Now the bad: our building was horribly echoey at night (all night from spring breakers), so we had to crank the A/C every night; however, there are no bedspreads on the beds, only a sheet and light blanket, so we were freezing. Also, you can only get two double beds, no king sized, so we were either crammed onto one double bed or pushed the two beds together ourselves and I slept in the crack every night. The worst part of our entire experience was the food. The buffet had a lot of options, but each one was equally disgusting with fatty meat or weird spices mixed into the food. The best meal there was breakfast because I could eat Fruit Loops...every day. The a la cart restaurants were not quite as bad; the best one was the Mexican restaurant and the Brazilian was not terrible. The Oriental meal looked like feces on a plate and tasted how I would imagine feces would taste. We did not bother with the seafood restaurant because I did not feel like getting food poisoning while we were there. All in all, we were ready to leave by Saturday morning, but were stuck there until Monday. Definitely not worth the money and hassle- I would not recommend this place. I was diligent and read the reviews and for some reason a lot of them said it was decent, but I am telling you, DON'T waste your money here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go somewhere else!

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sharon.
Couples
Boston, MA
May 9, 2012

Not good enough for the money.

Not a 4 star hotel as listed. Very small and modest lobby. Rude workers. Food variety poor. Very small buffet space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Not enough intertaintment on rainning days and nights. Nothing to do while rainning. Very poor night shows.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rn from fl
Couples
orlando, fl
May 7, 2012

worst place ever visited

Dirty rooms food sucks, old rooms and at the beach the people selling stuff do not let you relax harrasing you to buy something and the put the prices to the sky. Boring show suck s

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
done with all inclusives
Couples
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2012

Buffet Only

The hotel was a liilte older but who cares. The beach and the pool were great. The staff was extremely helpful and outgoing. The problem was they claim to have 8 restaurants. The restaurants were never open more then two a day, for dinner only by reservation only. 3 of our 5 nights there it was buffet only. We lived on mango and thankfully had a car so we left to eat else where, which seems riciulous for an all inclusive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Steak House across the street

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
seasoned travelers4
Friends
Boston, MA
Nov 15, 2012

not even close to 3 star, would not go back

room was very old, but clean: tiny old TV from the 80s. Bathtub looked like the paint peeled off and was painted over. very cheap decor. But clean. The power went out at least 5 times a night. usually for 5-10 minutes, a few times for 30 minutes to an hour. There was no back up generator, so no emergency lighting or exit signs or any illumination at all. It was pitch black in the room and throughout the resort. When the sky was cloudy and the stars and moon could not shine through, you literally felt like you were in a cave or completely blind when standing out in the open, could not tell where to go. The food was awful. Worse than any cheap buffet I've ever tried in the states. Very poor selection, almost no veriety at all. The buffet: - for salad bar only dehydrated iceberg lattice, tasteless unripened tomatoes, cucumbers, only 1 kind of dressing at lunch and dinner and no dressing at all in the morning. - the meat had a rubber texture and was impossible to bite into - the same food every day, no verity - rice, boiled potatoes, heavily overcooked vegetables, canned overcooked beans, pizza and pasta. one day we had to navigate through very thick cloud of smoke in the buffet to get food because their exhaust fans broke in the kitchen. The restaurants: we went to Italian, Mexican and Seafood and every entree we ordered was exactly the same. All salads came from the buffet and always consisted of dehydrated iceberg lattice, tasteless unripened tomatoes, cucumbers. All the vegetables were cut the same way. Sometimes they would throw a piece of avocado on it an call it an avocado salad. Every time we ordered fish no matter what it said on the menu: salmon, sea bass, mahi-mahi or anything else, it actually was just the local fish (called dorado i think) with a different sauce on top! In every restaurant. When we ordered calamari the brought out shrimp using an excuse that calamari was not good, but one of us was allergic to shrimp, so they gave her canned mushrooms instead! All the pastries had a strong smell and taste of baking soda. The cake we ordered was stale and dry, at least 2 weeks old. the beach: was dirty, seaweed, wood debris and garbage wash up on the shore. The sand was rock hard and very dark color. One of our rooms got flooded during the rain. One day there were no clean/dry beach towels because the laundry was not working -- due to power outage. We paid for wi-fi and could never get it to work. The signal was either not there or very weak, kept logging you out. the shows: very very much on a budget in terms of props and costumes. The dancers tried their best. Highlights: cheap close to airport 20 min staff, especially the animation crew were very nice, entertaining and accommodating. Honestly, if it was not for the animation/show guys our vacation would probably be ruined. They saved the day by always making us laugh, recommending things to do and providing information on the local attractions if you are a seasoned traveler looking for a good deal it is better to get a nice non-all inclusive hotel near the beach in Cabarete. great beach, lots of restaurants on the beach with bars, DJs, rooftop and beach front dining, cheap massage on the beach. I think that's what we'll do if we ever go back to DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deyanara
Family
Harwich ma
May 30, 2013

Poor

Room wasn't clean enough roaches in the bathroom I took a picture I call front desk and the dindt do anything also no free wifi so my girls complain about how cheap a discussing was very bad experience food was delicious also no parking space for my car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top