$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
127 reviews
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Best All inclusive

It was my first time there and I loved it, the staff was so pleasant. See full review

  • Chede
  • Oct 9, 2013
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, hot tub, and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private hot tub in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 127
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bobee
Business
NY
May 28, 2014

Good deal and low price

Overall 75% Food is acceptable, Room interiors is clean , l dont any complaint .because l got low price of two people , l am agree that 's how much l pay and what l get ?Everything is good , but it is cant compare to 5 stars resort , it is average ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
paquitta
Business
chicago
Jun 1, 2013

hotel ups and downs

we arrived with a group of 10 and they put 8 in one building and us in the other. I asked to be moved like my one friend did and was rudely told no. the rest of the staff is awesome but the front desk people must think they are gods. night one security called repeatedly due to the bloody screaming at 2:30 by a group of Jersey girls coming back from the disco. went on for 20 minutes, then started up again a half hour later...we asked again to be moved to the other part of the hotel and were refused. next night another drunken group fighting and yelling at 1:30...security comes again next night the disco closes and about 15 people are drunk off their butts and decide to scream at the tops of their lungs while diving in to the pool outside our room,,pool closed at 6pm... security again... its not that I dont drink because I do and their bars are awesome but when you know the disco is closing why the heck don't you have security in place on the path from the beach to the rooms. we were just lucky that we were on that path and they put most of the drunken louts in our building. these people love to scream and scream all night ... the bartenders are great once you tip them, they know what you drink and have it ready. the activities at the pool were fun, the buffet was large but after 6 days was monotonous . we ate at almost every restaurant on the grounds and most were good. a few great a few bland.. the view at the beach is awesome, the pool clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

the food is more bland than I would have thought so maybe go off site for a night ....otherwise for an all inclusive it was nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lyssaleigh24
Business
nyack, ny
May 28, 2013

Not bad

It wasn't a bad place to stay however, didnt go beyond expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ziplining Is Only A Dream
Business
New York, NY
Jan 3, 2013

Fun if you plan excursions

Hotel is decent, service is spotty, food is ok, but definitely a value vacation. Small property size can make it difficult to stay longer than a few days so booking excursions outside of the hotel is must to keep it interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Sosua Beach and the bar district - well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
seasoned travelers4
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 15, 2012

not even close to 3 star, would not go back

room was very old, but clean: tiny old TV from the 80s. Bathtub looked like the paint peeled off and was painted over. very cheap decor. But clean. The power went out at least 5 times a night. usually for 5-10 minutes, a few times for 30 minutes to an hour. There was no back up generator, so no emergency lighting or exit signs or any illumination at all. It was pitch black in the room and throughout the resort. When the sky was cloudy and the stars and moon could not shine through, you literally felt like you were in a cave or completely blind when standing out in the open, could not tell where to go. The food was awful. Worse than any cheap buffet I've ever tried in the states. Very poor selection, almost no veriety at all. The buffet: - for salad bar only dehydrated iceberg lattice, tasteless unripened tomatoes, cucumbers, only 1 kind of dressing at lunch and dinner and no dressing at all in the morning. - the meat had a rubber texture and was impossible to bite into - the same food every day, no verity - rice, boiled potatoes, heavily overcooked vegetables, canned overcooked beans, pizza and pasta. one day we had to navigate through very thick cloud of smoke in the buffet to get food because their exhaust fans broke in the kitchen. The restaurants: we went to Italian, Mexican and Seafood and every entree we ordered was exactly the same. All salads came from the buffet and always consisted of dehydrated iceberg lattice, tasteless unripened tomatoes, cucumbers. All the vegetables were cut the same way. Sometimes they would throw a piece of avocado on it an call it an avocado salad. Every time we ordered fish no matter what it said on the menu: salmon, sea bass, mahi-mahi or anything else, it actually was just the local fish (called dorado i think) with a different sauce on top! In every restaurant. When we ordered calamari the brought out shrimp using an excuse that calamari was not good, but one of us was allergic to shrimp, so they gave her canned mushrooms instead! All the pastries had a strong smell and taste of baking soda. The cake we ordered was stale and dry, at least 2 weeks old. the beach: was dirty, seaweed, wood debris and garbage wash up on the shore. The sand was rock hard and very dark color. One of our rooms got flooded during the rain. One day there were no clean/dry beach towels because the laundry was not working -- due to power outage. We paid for wi-fi and could never get it to work. The signal was either not there or very weak, kept logging you out. the shows: very very much on a budget in terms of props and costumes. The dancers tried their best. Highlights: cheap close to airport 20 min staff, especially the animation crew were very nice, entertaining and accommodating. Honestly, if it was not for the animation/show guys our vacation would probably be ruined. They saved the day by always making us laugh, recommending things to do and providing information on the local attractions if you are a seasoned traveler looking for a good deal it is better to get a nice non-all inclusive hotel near the beach in Cabarete. great beach, lots of restaurants on the beach with bars, DJs, rooftop and beach front dining, cheap massage on the beach. I think that's what we'll do if we ever go back to DR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Santiaguera
Business
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Sep 25, 2012

The staff makes the trip worth it!

I have been to this resort a number of times because of the great staff. They are friendly but not overbearing. The live band is wonderful, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Razil
Business
New York
Jun 17, 2012

Ok Place.

The food was not that great , the drinks were not good at all. The rooms were clean but not what i was expecting. Some of the staff were not very attentive. I would not go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pop barcelodisappointment
Business
pop barcelo
Jun 16, 2012

just ordinary

my last experience at barcelo punta cana was great so i decided to stick to this hotel and booked it again at puerta plata; however the experience was disappointing. food- for the ones you need to make reservations for; they were just average whereas the buffet needed improvement. (selections options were low and from whats available the food just wasn't tasty. the beach was somewhat close by, but was very empty and wasn't that clean. my friends and i decided to visit the disco by the beach at night and we found homeless dogs running running around. lastly, we were suppose to have a resort credit but this was a rip off. the resort credit couldn't be applied to anything, so in the end we didnt even use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alyssa aka Abby
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
May 8, 2012

Really not what I was expecting

I arrived to a crowded open air front desk; swarms of people with no sense of personal space or manners. After receiving my "welcome packet' I asked where I could find my room and was told to see a bellhop. I was driven to my room and was surprised to find another open air builiding and no elevators. My room housed two double beds, small table, a barely moving fan, hardly working ac, and a toliet that would not stop running. The swim up bar in the pool was very nice and drinks were poured strongly. While there are 8 restaurants on the property, only 2 open each evening and reservations must be made however you can not make reservations the day you check in. Breakfast buffet and lunch buffet were fine and full of options and the restaurants offered a few interesting choices. Beach area was nice if you ignore the salespeople and there were several games to participate in while relaxing. Pool was huge and again, games were played on the deck with the staff. Most of the staff was very nice and even went out at night with the guests to the discoteca. Not sure I would go back due to the accomodations and the lack of english being spoken. While I knew I was going to a spanish speaking country, I thought as this is a resort, there would be more english.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun Time88
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Sep 29, 2011

I had a Great Time!!!!

The best part about this Hotel are the Staff. They were so nice and friendly, I made tons friends while staying their :D The food was good and the rooms were not. Only issues were the timing of the food places, wish they were open longer and the rooms A/C was a little to high. I would definitley go back, the price was good :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top