$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
129 reviews
awesome

the resort was very nice, clean and the staff was awesomne to say the least. there are a lot of... See full review

  • Gabriel M.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, hot tub, and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private hot tub in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 2, 2011

DO NOT BOOK! Worst Resort EVER!

I would rate this a NEGATIVE 10 if that was an option. This was BY FAR the worst vacation experience I have ever had. I have stayed at a few all inclusives and they were all great experiences. I was expecting something similar, especially since Barcelo is rated 4 STARS on [...] and is a chain. This was the worst resort. The only good part was the king bed room was very large. I had traveling problems arriving (due to Continental airlines which is a whole other issue) so I contacted [...] Barcelo to let them know I am STILL coming and not to give up my room. I was staying 5 nights, now to be 4. I also SPECIFICALLY told [...] Barcelo that I would be arriving earlier than the 3pm check in time and wanted to make sure since I was supposed to already be there they wouldnt give me a hard time checking in. Sure enough I had to wait 2 HOURS to check into my room. At first shower had no hot water AT ALL, I had to complain about this for 2 days before anyone fixing it -- then it was no choice either a freezing cold or blistering hot shower. No in between. All you need to know is that Barcelo is the worst resort you could stay at: the food was LITERALLY inedible, the staff was so RUDE and the beach was terrible bc local vendors are asking you NON stop to buy their stuff. I walked along the beach and there weren't nearly as many vendors at the other resort beaches. Save up your money for an extra month and go somewhere respectable like Jamaica. Seriously -- I barely ate, barely slept this entire trip. Anybody who says this place is decent is NUTS. I'm nut a spoiled American either, I lived in Europe for 2 mos. I know how to adapt with other cultures and foods etc but this was BEYOND that. Please just go ANYWHERE else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DONT GO HERE!!!!!!!! It is worth the money to spend an extra $200 or w/e to go to Jamaica!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pache
Business
Ponce, PR
Dec 16, 2010

excellent location and service

Only stayed for one day. Warm welcome, excellent proactive service, good food. Most guests were international, hotel kept a balanced local taste of music and food. Beach is great, couple of swimming pools. Would repeat visit. Close by excellent show and other facilities. 5 minutes from local airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel made arrangements for near by Bravisimo show at near by location which includes casino and disco. Worth the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Dec 2, 2010

fun fun fun

it was great good weather friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 30, 2010

Nice place for the price we paid.

This was the first time we went there, the place was nice, food was good, the kids enjoy the pool and the beach and the comedy show, the only thing on what I was disappointed was the room, the shower was broken, there was a water leak in the room, we called many times for repair and nobody came, most of the staff was very helpful, people from the restaurants were very professionals, the overall for being the first time going it was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The place was great but the room, which was not a big issue since we went back to the room just to sleep or change our clothes otherwise it wold be a big problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 30, 2010

Will Definitely Return

The hotel was amazing. All the staff members were extremely nice and helpful. We spent most of our time relaxing by the beach and the pool. We did leave the hotel to go out on 4x4 car drives. We didn't want to leave but we had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Plan all activities with hotel representatives for the best prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc ny
Nov 11, 2010

never stay there again

I have been to many hotels in dominican republic and was never had a problem until this trip and how the staff handle my problem which was to just to not report it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

never go here food was not good staff was rude

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, New York
Oct 26, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

While at hotel we enjoyed the swimming pools and beach. enjoyed the nightly shows and disco. Food /drinks were good. You have a choice of restaurants, Italian,Brazilian,Oriental,Main Buffet Restaurant. Overall the Buffet Restaurant was very good. This was my first all inclusive trip it was good. I think I would return if I ever decide to make another trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Not too far from Airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom&girl
Business
Miami Florida
Oct 25, 2010

Hotel rundown

Me and my daughter of 3 for two days. I was a bit disappointed with the maintenance, but I was told it is a 12 year old hotel. We had a king size bed that was more like a hammock, bugs included. The pool was not clean. The food was average. I would not go there again, would choose IBEROSTAR next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tubachatu8
Business
New York, NY
Oct 11, 2010

good price, low quality, beach A++++

The price was good, but as you might expect the quality in terms of food is bad. i was there for three night. The food was good the first night, but on the second day i found myself basically eating the same thing with a few minor changes. By the end of the vacation my girlfriend and i mostly ate bread because we were tired of their selections... The best thing this hotel has is the beach. If i do decide to go back, the beach is the only reason. I've been to 4 resorts in Dominican Republic and i think this was the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicamala
Business
Las Vegas,Nv
Oct 11, 2010

barcelo puerto plata

The staff is very friendly and helpful.Overall it was one of the best for guest service I have seen in awhile.Food was good lots of resturant choices.Grounds are kept very clean.Enjoyable nightly entertainment on site and coco bongo is walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The day tours can be purchased on the beach for less than in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top