$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
127 reviews
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Best All inclusive

It was my first time there and I loved it, the staff was so pleasant. See full review

  • Chede
  • Oct 9, 2013
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, hot tub, and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private hot tub in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Dining

La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.
La Bodeguita
bar, open from 17.00 - 23.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.
Bar Disco Playa
beachside. Open:10.00 - 18.00 hrs. Snack : de 23.00 " 1:00 hrs. Bar Disco 23.00 " 2.00 hrs
La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,Ma
Apr 30, 2011

Nice Place

Best Trip Ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
R.I
Apr 29, 2011

could be better

I didnt like that I had to wait over 2 hours for a room because of their check in times. Every where else I've been I never waited. The reception desk was always rude and never helpfull. I would rather stick to the buffet the resturants were not good. Also we booked an excursian and they forgot to pick us up so we held up everyone! If I was to go back to D.R it would be to Punta Cana!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clau n chlo
Business
new york, new york
Apr 8, 2011

"C and C vacay"

staff: excellent!! food: great!! pool: clean and fun!! activities: so much to do, too little time!! overall, my daughter and i had a wonderful time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabe n Kris
Business
New York, NY
Mar 13, 2011

Our Honeymoon

We went on our Honeymoon but the first couple of days was BAD.. Hardly NO Beach or Pool Towels we had to WAIT 2 DAYS for a pair we ask for a Queen size bed we got 2 TWIN size beds and when we asked to change they gave us the Run Around there's no Manager Onsite..The Customer Service is really BAD! But the Staff was Great....The Morning Buffet is Awesome the other Buffets like lunch and dinner were ok... You have to make a Reservation to eat in the Restaurants which my favorite will be the Brazilian and Mexican the Italian is OK...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is cheaper to BUY in the Plaza that is Behind the hotel its Safe to walk the only bad thing is you have alot of guys trying to sell you stuff and you also have 2 NiteClubs n a Movie Theater n internet booth which is less than $3 for 30mins compare to $4 n 15min in the Hotel Lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
edgewater, nj
Mar 6, 2011

Unfriendly Staff

Spent my friend's birthday over there, we got to the hotel at 2:30PM, a non smiling front desk personnel and told us we will be staying at so and so room but she cant give us the key yet cause check in is at 3PM. Once it was 3PM, almost everybody got up from the lobby and lined up to get their key. Anyway, once we got to the room things started looking better, although the safety deposit box has no lock and shower was not draining well. 6AM in the morning a security guard was banging on our door and when we opened it, "Oh, sorry"...wth! Oh, and btw, you have to make dinner reservations on their themed restaurants and you cant make it over the phone and only between 9-11 and 3-5, not a minute early, also only 2 nights...doesn't matter if you only staying 3 nights. The hotel was packed and there was no room in the beach nor the poolside :-/ it was not a very good vacation. They had nice shows every night, quite entertaining. They had discoteq every night, too. which was very loud and kind of corny but will do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Used and Abused!
Business
Minnesota
Mar 4, 2011

Playa Dorado/Barcelo is a total RIPOFF!

I came to Puerta Plata to get a look at the country and the people that lived in it. I also felt that having a hotel closer to the city and airport would reduce some of the exorbitant taxi fares I had heard about. I paid $190 a day for "ALL INCLUSIVE" it was anything but! I was only "allowed" to eat at one restaurant the others listed on the website were apparently for "special guests" other than me! From the initial check in; where they forgot to take my credit card then called me up a day later accusing me of trying to cheat them! To the lousy food at the glorified Old Country Buffet meets Dominican Republic restaurant to being virtually ignored by the wait staff every time I ate (apparently single people are non events to staff there!) None of the promised "inclusive" services were available to me or anyone else I could see. They had plenty of hotel people on the beach trying to get me to "enjoy the "beach activities" as long as I listened to the excruciating TIMESHARE sales pitch! OMG! I was turned away from the so called Italian and Oriental eating places though a quick inspection of what was being served there appeared very mediocre. There were upselling inside the hotel a "Premium Barcelo" package that more than one sucker was signing up for. Everyone I spoke with seem to be paying a different price and when I asked why they signed up for the extra charges they ignorantly stated "it was just another 15 to 45 dollars. Pathetic! Avoid this crank joint at all costs. I did much better at a resort outside of town by about an hour the Bahai Princippi where I paid $57 a day for the exact same amenities. Also the Playa Dorado/Barcelo charges for internet at a rate of $7.00 per 12 minutes and 25 dollars per 24 hours! This after paying $190 per day! Not even the Hilton in the US tries that nonsense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All inclusive means whatever we choose to give which in my case was almost nothing! Stay away from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Mar 3, 2011

Barcelo Puerto Plata is a total RIPOFF!

I was just there from February 27 to March 2nd 2011! So you can forget anything older. Recreational activities? Such as what? They have a nice selection of board and parlor games OK? Nothing else mentioned here is available without extra charges! The restaurants are limited to one unless you are signing up for one of those horrid time share pitches. I was paying $190 dollars a day and could not find anything that didn't have ups, overs and extra charges attached to it. Food again one place I was allowed to eat was like an Old Country Buffet. The entertainment at night was horrible. The service at the bars was always slow. No matter who I spoke to and complained that doesn't $190 a day in the Dominican buy anything? I got nothing but poor English and evasive answers. Avoid this place at all costs the "good reviews" are almost all fake!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I took a tour that I paid for called "Outback Safari" where you get to meet real Dominicans their houses their schools you get a nice tour a good lunch and finish up with boogie boarding on the Ocean. You pay for this tour but it is actually worth the $75 dollars you pay it unlike the Barcelo which is quite simple a total waste of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Isaac from Brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 7, 2011

Great place to spend your vacation

The hotel is great.The staff was very friendy. We enjoyed the activities by the pool. the food was great.But the only drawback was to wake up early in the morning if you need a spot in the shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 2, 2011

DO NOT BOOK! Worst Resort EVER!

I would rate this a NEGATIVE 10 if that was an option. This was BY FAR the worst vacation experience I have ever had. I have stayed at a few all inclusives and they were all great experiences. I was expecting something similar, especially since Barcelo is rated 4 STARS on [...] and is a chain. This was the worst resort. The only good part was the king bed room was very large. I had traveling problems arriving (due to Continental airlines which is a whole other issue) so I contacted [...] Barcelo to let them know I am STILL coming and not to give up my room. I was staying 5 nights, now to be 4. I also SPECIFICALLY told [...] Barcelo that I would be arriving earlier than the 3pm check in time and wanted to make sure since I was supposed to already be there they wouldnt give me a hard time checking in. Sure enough I had to wait 2 HOURS to check into my room. At first shower had no hot water AT ALL, I had to complain about this for 2 days before anyone fixing it -- then it was no choice either a freezing cold or blistering hot shower. No in between. All you need to know is that Barcelo is the worst resort you could stay at: the food was LITERALLY inedible, the staff was so RUDE and the beach was terrible bc local vendors are asking you NON stop to buy their stuff. I walked along the beach and there weren't nearly as many vendors at the other resort beaches. Save up your money for an extra month and go somewhere respectable like Jamaica. Seriously -- I barely ate, barely slept this entire trip. Anybody who says this place is decent is NUTS. I'm nut a spoiled American either, I lived in Europe for 2 mos. I know how to adapt with other cultures and foods etc but this was BEYOND that. Please just go ANYWHERE else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DONT GO HERE!!!!!!!! It is worth the money to spend an extra $200 or w/e to go to Jamaica!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pache
Business
Ponce, PR
Dec 16, 2010

excellent location and service

Only stayed for one day. Warm welcome, excellent proactive service, good food. Most guests were international, hotel kept a balanced local taste of music and food. Beach is great, couple of swimming pools. Would repeat visit. Close by excellent show and other facilities. 5 minutes from local airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel made arrangements for near by Bravisimo show at near by location which includes casino and disco. Worth the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top