$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
130 reviews
awesome

the resort was very nice, clean and the staff was awesomne to say the least. there are a lot of... See full review

  • Gabriel M.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, hot tub, and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private hot tub in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.
Superior Club Premium
Enjoy accommodations in one of our 45 m Superior Club Premium rooms, with everything necessary to ensure comfort during your stay. The guests staying in our Superior receive the Club Premium Service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jun 1, 2011

Puerto Plata

I enjoyed my six day stay at Barcelo. The food was delicious (especially the Mexican & Brazilian) and the staff were friendly, but it would have been easier if the staff had spoken more English. At times it was hard to communicate with some of them for simple requests. If you don't mind tons of children running around the resort then this is the place for you! It's super kid-friendly. Overall, Barcelo certainly doesn't have that four (4) star appeal but it was worth the money. I'd definitely recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hemingway's or CocoBongo offered much better entertainment than the hotel's entertainment which starts at 9pm each night. They're both a short walk from the hotel site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2011

Good, but...

My overall experience was good, with one exception. There was one (1) person at reception come check-in time (3pm). After ten minutes on the line, I finally asked to see the supervisor and then another person came to my assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Road House on Friday nights

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CORAL SPRINGS, FLORIDA
May 17, 2011

HOTEL AND CAR RENTAL

VERY UNHAPPY, FIRST I BOOKED FROM MIAMI , ONE PERSON AND WHEN I ARREIVED I WAS NOT ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE I RENTED , BECAUSE THEY REQUIRED A CREDIT CARD WHICH I DIDN T HAVE [...], ALL I HAD WAS A DEBIT CARD AND THEY WOULD ACCEPT BUT I NEEDED TO LEAVE 300 HUNDRED USD FOR EACH DAY, SOMETHING I WAS NIT PREPARED TO OR COULD NT DO. THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN 900 USD, I ENDED TAKING A CAB TO THE HOTEL AND IT COST ME 100 USD, PLUS HAD TO TAXI MY FIANCEE AND KIDS FROM SANTIAGO TO THE HOTEL AND PAID ANOTHER 100 EACH WAY PLUS 100 FOR ME TO GET BACK TO THE AIRPORT UPON DEPARTAING. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,Ma
Apr 30, 2011

Nice Place

Best Trip Ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
R.I
Apr 29, 2011

could be better

I didnt like that I had to wait over 2 hours for a room because of their check in times. Every where else I've been I never waited. The reception desk was always rude and never helpfull. I would rather stick to the buffet the resturants were not good. Also we booked an excursian and they forgot to pick us up so we held up everyone! If I was to go back to D.R it would be to Punta Cana!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clau n chlo
Business
new york, new york
Apr 8, 2011

"C and C vacay"

staff: excellent!! food: great!! pool: clean and fun!! activities: so much to do, too little time!! overall, my daughter and i had a wonderful time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabe n Kris
Business
New York, NY
Mar 13, 2011

Our Honeymoon

We went on our Honeymoon but the first couple of days was BAD.. Hardly NO Beach or Pool Towels we had to WAIT 2 DAYS for a pair we ask for a Queen size bed we got 2 TWIN size beds and when we asked to change they gave us the Run Around there's no Manager Onsite..The Customer Service is really BAD! But the Staff was Great....The Morning Buffet is Awesome the other Buffets like lunch and dinner were ok... You have to make a Reservation to eat in the Restaurants which my favorite will be the Brazilian and Mexican the Italian is OK...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is cheaper to BUY in the Plaza that is Behind the hotel its Safe to walk the only bad thing is you have alot of guys trying to sell you stuff and you also have 2 NiteClubs n a Movie Theater n internet booth which is less than $3 for 30mins compare to $4 n 15min in the Hotel Lobby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
edgewater, nj
Mar 6, 2011

Unfriendly Staff

Spent my friend's birthday over there, we got to the hotel at 2:30PM, a non smiling front desk personnel and told us we will be staying at so and so room but she cant give us the key yet cause check in is at 3PM. Once it was 3PM, almost everybody got up from the lobby and lined up to get their key. Anyway, once we got to the room things started looking better, although the safety deposit box has no lock and shower was not draining well. 6AM in the morning a security guard was banging on our door and when we opened it, "Oh, sorry"...wth! Oh, and btw, you have to make dinner reservations on their themed restaurants and you cant make it over the phone and only between 9-11 and 3-5, not a minute early, also only 2 nights...doesn't matter if you only staying 3 nights. The hotel was packed and there was no room in the beach nor the poolside :-/ it was not a very good vacation. They had nice shows every night, quite entertaining. They had discoteq every night, too. which was very loud and kind of corny but will do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Used and Abused!
Business
Minnesota
Mar 4, 2011

Playa Dorado/Barcelo is a total RIPOFF!

I came to Puerta Plata to get a look at the country and the people that lived in it. I also felt that having a hotel closer to the city and airport would reduce some of the exorbitant taxi fares I had heard about. I paid $190 a day for "ALL INCLUSIVE" it was anything but! I was only "allowed" to eat at one restaurant the others listed on the website were apparently for "special guests" other than me! From the initial check in; where they forgot to take my credit card then called me up a day later accusing me of trying to cheat them! To the lousy food at the glorified Old Country Buffet meets Dominican Republic restaurant to being virtually ignored by the wait staff every time I ate (apparently single people are non events to staff there!) None of the promised "inclusive" services were available to me or anyone else I could see. They had plenty of hotel people on the beach trying to get me to "enjoy the "beach activities" as long as I listened to the excruciating TIMESHARE sales pitch! OMG! I was turned away from the so called Italian and Oriental eating places though a quick inspection of what was being served there appeared very mediocre. There were upselling inside the hotel a "Premium Barcelo" package that more than one sucker was signing up for. Everyone I spoke with seem to be paying a different price and when I asked why they signed up for the extra charges they ignorantly stated "it was just another 15 to 45 dollars. Pathetic! Avoid this crank joint at all costs. I did much better at a resort outside of town by about an hour the Bahai Princippi where I paid $57 a day for the exact same amenities. Also the Playa Dorado/Barcelo charges for internet at a rate of $7.00 per 12 minutes and 25 dollars per 24 hours! This after paying $190 per day! Not even the Hilton in the US tries that nonsense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All inclusive means whatever we choose to give which in my case was almost nothing! Stay away from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Mar 3, 2011

Barcelo Puerto Plata is a total RIPOFF!

I was just there from February 27 to March 2nd 2011! So you can forget anything older. Recreational activities? Such as what? They have a nice selection of board and parlor games OK? Nothing else mentioned here is available without extra charges! The restaurants are limited to one unless you are signing up for one of those horrid time share pitches. I was paying $190 dollars a day and could not find anything that didn't have ups, overs and extra charges attached to it. Food again one place I was allowed to eat was like an Old Country Buffet. The entertainment at night was horrible. The service at the bars was always slow. No matter who I spoke to and complained that doesn't $190 a day in the Dominican buy anything? I got nothing but poor English and evasive answers. Avoid this place at all costs the "good reviews" are almost all fake!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I took a tour that I paid for called "Outback Safari" where you get to meet real Dominicans their houses their schools you get a nice tour a good lunch and finish up with boogie boarding on the Ocean. You pay for this tour but it is actually worth the $75 dollars you pay it unlike the Barcelo which is quite simple a total waste of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top