$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tac1
Business
New york
Sep 9, 2011

barcelo vacation

had a great time , the hotel is really nice the only thing missing is free internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inn312
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Excellent family or couples getaway.

For starters the staff was excellent, they were very friendly and they made you feel like family. Plenty of pools for all ages and the beach was less than 5 minutes to reach. The food was great especially the ala carte restaurants. Due to bad weather we had to cancel the planned vacation we made, things happen for a reason and in this case it was a blessing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Inn312
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 6, 2011

Excellent family or couples getaway.

For starters the staff was excellent, they were very friendly and they made you feel like family. Plenty of pools for all ages and the beach was less than 5 minutes to reach. The food was great especially the ala carte restaurants. Due to bad weather we had to cancel the planned vacation we made, things happen for a reason and in this case it was a blessing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
paterson nj
Aug 9, 2011

A family getaway

It was a nice and relaxes week for me and my family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manny Ramirez
Business
New Jersey,
Aug 8, 2011

Puerto Plata

It was amazing experience! I loved it the resort, the people were nice, friendly, polite, etc... The food was incredible good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
puerto plata, dominican republic
Jun 16, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

WENT TO THE BEACH, DANCED AT A LIVE ENTERTAINMENT AREA, VISITED A SEA ATTRACTION WITH DOLPHINS AND ATE AT MANY DIFFERENT RESTAURANT. THERE WAS NOTHING MISSING TO MAKE THE STAY MORE, ENJOYABLE EVERYTHING THERE WAS ENJOYABLE THIS TRIP WAS MORE OF A OUT OF THE COUNTRY TRIP THEN MY LAST TRIP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERY NIGHT WAS A DIFFERENT ENTERTAINMENT OR SHOW.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santo Domingo
Jun 10, 2011

Good and Bad

Spent a long weekend at Barcelo Puerto Plata. Room was decent, better than others in area, however, shower did not work properly. Food in the buffet was good. Checkin/out was lengthy and needs to be improved. Beach facilities were non existent as renovations were underway. Disco was closed, no food at beach and limited bar services. Animation team was constantly harrassing and trying to hit on wife. I would not recommend to anyone. Only reason for returning would be if price is an option as seems to be less expensive than other area resorts for obvious reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
Jun 4, 2011

Not Good

This is NOT the hotel if you are looking to relax, enjoy the beach scenery, or just layback with your family... With only 2 representatives at Check - In it took an hour and half to check in. Most of the staff was rude, when asked a question they would point to the direction instead of speaking and language was not the issue, the food was mediocre not what we have experienced in other all inclusive hotels, and last but not least, the beach is open to all...we couldn't enjoy 15 minutes without being interrupted by locals trying to sell you something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jun 1, 2011

Puerto Plata

I enjoyed my six day stay at Barcelo. The food was delicious (especially the Mexican & Brazilian) and the staff were friendly, but it would have been easier if the staff had spoken more English. At times it was hard to communicate with some of them for simple requests. If you don't mind tons of children running around the resort then this is the place for you! It's super kid-friendly. Overall, Barcelo certainly doesn't have that four (4) star appeal but it was worth the money. I'd definitely recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hemingway's or CocoBongo offered much better entertainment than the hotel's entertainment which starts at 9pm each night. They're both a short walk from the hotel site.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jun 1, 2011

Puerto Plata

I enjoyed my six day stay at Barcelo. The food was delicious (especially the Mexican & Brazilian) and the staff were friendly, but it would have been easier if the staff had spoken more English. At times it was hard to communicate with some of them for simple requests. If you don't mind tons of children running around the resort then this is the place for you! It's super kid-friendly. Overall, Barcelo certainly doesn't have that four (4) star appeal but it was worth the money. I'd definitely recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hemingway's or CocoBongo offered much better entertainment than the hotel's entertainment which starts at 9pm each night. They're both a short walk from the hotel site.

Back to menu Return to top