Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pache
Business
Ponce, PR
Dec 16, 2010

excellent location and service

Only stayed for one day. Warm welcome, excellent proactive service, good food. Most guests were international, hotel kept a balanced local taste of music and food. Beach is great, couple of swimming pools. Would repeat visit. Close by excellent show and other facilities. 5 minutes from local airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel made arrangements for near by Bravisimo show at near by location which includes casino and disco. Worth the price.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Dec 2, 2010

fun fun fun

it was great good weather friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 30, 2010

Will Definitely Return

The hotel was amazing. All the staff members were extremely nice and helpful. We spent most of our time relaxing by the beach and the pool. We did leave the hotel to go out on 4x4 car drives. We didn't want to leave but we had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Plan all activities with hotel representatives for the best prices.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 30, 2010

Nice place for the price we paid.

This was the first time we went there, the place was nice, food was good, the kids enjoy the pool and the beach and the comedy show, the only thing on what I was disappointed was the room, the shower was broken, there was a water leak in the room, we called many times for repair and nobody came, most of the staff was very helpful, people from the restaurants were very professionals, the overall for being the first time going it was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The place was great but the room, which was not a big issue since we went back to the room just to sleep or change our clothes otherwise it wold be a big problem.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc ny
Nov 11, 2010

never stay there again

I have been to many hotels in dominican republic and was never had a problem until this trip and how the staff handle my problem which was to just to not report it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

never go here food was not good staff was rude

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, New York
Oct 26, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

While at hotel we enjoyed the swimming pools and beach. enjoyed the nightly shows and disco. Food /drinks were good. You have a choice of restaurants, Italian,Brazilian,Oriental,Main Buffet Restaurant. Overall the Buffet Restaurant was very good. This was my first all inclusive trip it was good. I think I would return if I ever decide to make another trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Not too far from Airport.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom&girl
Business
Miami Florida
Oct 25, 2010

Hotel rundown

Me and my daughter of 3 for two days. I was a bit disappointed with the maintenance, but I was told it is a 12 year old hotel. We had a king size bed that was more like a hammock, bugs included. The pool was not clean. The food was average. I would not go there again, would choose IBEROSTAR next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tubachatu8
Business
New York, NY
Oct 11, 2010

good price, low quality, beach A++++

The price was good, but as you might expect the quality in terms of food is bad. i was there for three night. The food was good the first night, but on the second day i found myself basically eating the same thing with a few minor changes. By the end of the vacation my girlfriend and i mostly ate bread because we were tired of their selections... The best thing this hotel has is the beach. If i do decide to go back, the beach is the only reason. I've been to 4 resorts in Dominican Republic and i think this was the worst.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicamala
Business
Las Vegas,Nv
Oct 11, 2010

barcelo puerto plata

The staff is very friendly and helpful.Overall it was one of the best for guest service I have seen in awhile.Food was good lots of resturant choices.Grounds are kept very clean.Enjoyable nightly entertainment on site and coco bongo is walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The day tours can be purchased on the beach for less than in the hotel.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Sep 21, 2010

Good stay

If you want to spend some quality time with your family and/or friends, Barcelo Puerto Plata is a nice place to stay. The complex is neat with a beautiful swimming pool with bar. The only drinkable thing is their beer (Presidente). If you look for premium hard liquor, do not be surprised when they charge you extra for it (around $5). What's included in all inclusive package is their local alcohol (low quality), beer and wine. Rooms are clean but definitely aged. TV in my room was from early 80's with no remote. Had problem with AC as thermostat didn't work properly.Safe is available in room for charge of $2.50 per day. Internet is $4 for 15 minutes or $18 per day. Buffet is the best- with lots of fruit and fresh fish. We tried their restaurants (Brazilian and sea food) but I must say I was disappointed. Location was awesome, just a short walk to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top