$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santo Domingo
Jun 10, 2011

Good and Bad

Spent a long weekend at Barcelo Puerto Plata. Room was decent, better than others in area, however, shower did not work properly. Food in the buffet was good. Checkin/out was lengthy and needs to be improved. Beach facilities were non existent as renovations were underway. Disco was closed, no food at beach and limited bar services. Animation team was constantly harrassing and trying to hit on wife. I would not recommend to anyone. Only reason for returning would be if price is an option as seems to be less expensive than other area resorts for obvious reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
Jun 4, 2011

Not Good

This is NOT the hotel if you are looking to relax, enjoy the beach scenery, or just layback with your family... With only 2 representatives at Check - In it took an hour and half to check in. Most of the staff was rude, when asked a question they would point to the direction instead of speaking and language was not the issue, the food was mediocre not what we have experienced in other all inclusive hotels, and last but not least, the beach is open to all...we couldn't enjoy 15 minutes without being interrupted by locals trying to sell you something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2011

Good, but...

My overall experience was good, with one exception. There was one (1) person at reception come check-in time (3pm). After ten minutes on the line, I finally asked to see the supervisor and then another person came to my assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Road House on Friday nights

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CORAL SPRINGS, FLORIDA
May 17, 2011

HOTEL AND CAR RENTAL

VERY UNHAPPY, FIRST I BOOKED FROM MIAMI , ONE PERSON AND WHEN I ARREIVED I WAS NOT ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE I RENTED , BECAUSE THEY REQUIRED A CREDIT CARD WHICH I DIDN T HAVE [...], ALL I HAD WAS A DEBIT CARD AND THEY WOULD ACCEPT BUT I NEEDED TO LEAVE 300 HUNDRED USD FOR EACH DAY, SOMETHING I WAS NIT PREPARED TO OR COULD NT DO. THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN 900 USD, I ENDED TAKING A CAB TO THE HOTEL AND IT COST ME 100 USD, PLUS HAD TO TAXI MY FIANCEE AND KIDS FROM SANTIAGO TO THE HOTEL AND PAID ANOTHER 100 EACH WAY PLUS 100 FOR ME TO GET BACK TO THE AIRPORT UPON DEPARTAING. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,Ma
Apr 30, 2011

Nice Place

Best Trip Ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
R.I
Apr 29, 2011

could be better

I didnt like that I had to wait over 2 hours for a room because of their check in times. Every where else I've been I never waited. The reception desk was always rude and never helpfull. I would rather stick to the buffet the resturants were not good. Also we booked an excursian and they forgot to pick us up so we held up everyone! If I was to go back to D.R it would be to Punta Cana!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clau n chlo
Business
new york, new york
Apr 8, 2011

"C and C vacay"

staff: excellent!! food: great!! pool: clean and fun!! activities: so much to do, too little time!! overall, my daughter and i had a wonderful time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Mar 3, 2011

Barcelo Puerto Plata is a total RIPOFF!

I was just there from February 27 to March 2nd 2011! So you can forget anything older. Recreational activities? Such as what? They have a nice selection of board and parlor games OK? Nothing else mentioned here is available without extra charges! The restaurants are limited to one unless you are signing up for one of those horrid time share pitches. I was paying $190 dollars a day and could not find anything that didn't have ups, overs and extra charges attached to it. Food again one place I was allowed to eat was like an Old Country Buffet. The entertainment at night was horrible. The service at the bars was always slow. No matter who I spoke to and complained that doesn't $190 a day in the Dominican buy anything? I got nothing but poor English and evasive answers. Avoid this place at all costs the "good reviews" are almost all fake!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

I took a tour that I paid for called "Outback Safari" where you get to meet real Dominicans their houses their schools you get a nice tour a good lunch and finish up with boogie boarding on the Ocean. You pay for this tour but it is actually worth the $75 dollars you pay it unlike the Barcelo which is quite simple a total waste of money.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Isaac from Brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 7, 2011

Great place to spend your vacation

The hotel is great.The staff was very friendy. We enjoyed the activities by the pool. the food was great.But the only drawback was to wake up early in the morning if you need a spot in the shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 2, 2011

DO NOT BOOK! Worst Resort EVER!

I would rate this a NEGATIVE 10 if that was an option. This was BY FAR the worst vacation experience I have ever had. I have stayed at a few all inclusives and they were all great experiences. I was expecting something similar, especially since Barcelo is rated 4 STARS on [...] and is a chain. This was the worst resort. The only good part was the king bed room was very large. I had traveling problems arriving (due to Continental airlines which is a whole other issue) so I contacted [...] Barcelo to let them know I am STILL coming and not to give up my room. I was staying 5 nights, now to be 4. I also SPECIFICALLY told [...] Barcelo that I would be arriving earlier than the 3pm check in time and wanted to make sure since I was supposed to already be there they wouldnt give me a hard time checking in. Sure enough I had to wait 2 HOURS to check into my room. At first shower had no hot water AT ALL, I had to complain about this for 2 days before anyone fixing it -- then it was no choice either a freezing cold or blistering hot shower. No in between. All you need to know is that Barcelo is the worst resort you could stay at: the food was LITERALLY inedible, the staff was so RUDE and the beach was terrible bc local vendors are asking you NON stop to buy their stuff. I walked along the beach and there weren't nearly as many vendors at the other resort beaches. Save up your money for an extra month and go somewhere respectable like Jamaica. Seriously -- I barely ate, barely slept this entire trip. Anybody who says this place is decent is NUTS. I'm nut a spoiled American either, I lived in Europe for 2 mos. I know how to adapt with other cultures and foods etc but this was BEYOND that. Please just go ANYWHERE else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DONT GO HERE!!!!!!!! It is worth the money to spend an extra $200 or w/e to go to Jamaica!

Back to menu Return to top