$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 14, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
120 reviews
Abby trip

It was great. Relaxing the experience was so good I would go again with all my family See full review

  • Abby trip
  • Jan 20, 2014
Best All inclusive

It was my first time there and I loved it, the staff was so pleasant. See full review

  • Chede
  • Oct 9, 2013
Beachfront All-Inclusive Resort
Swim, sun or stay active at the large oceanfront Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Settled on a golden-sand beach along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, the hotel offers the warm, wide ocean out its doors in addition to two pools and and a club just for children from 4-12 years. Play tennis on site, golf nearby or book a variety of waters ports and local tours (fees apply). Many guests of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive upgrade to the Club Premium level with a private lounge, free Wi-Fi, Jacuzzi and extra services.
Highlights

  • Meals, house wine and drinks, activities and non-motorized water sports included
  • Nightly disco on the beach
  • Six a la carte restaurants, buffet , snack bar,  four bars and evening entertainment
  • Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones
  • Beachfront on the northern "Amber Coast"
  • Club Premium Services

Location
The Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive lies along the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. This scenic area is often called the "Amber Coast," for the rich deposits of amber in the region and the tawny color of the hotel beaches. The capital of Santo Domingo lies about three hours to the south of the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Reach Puerto Plata in a few minutes by car to peek into restaurants, bars and amber shops, walk along the ocean-side promenade or journey to the Colonial-era fort.
Rooms
Find a guest room to fit any need from the 585 rooms tucked into the lush landscape at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Tile floors feel smooth and cool underfoot after a day on the sand, part of the traditionally tropical look. All accommodations include a ceiling fan, air conditioning and a balcony for a cross-breeze of fresh island air. Rooms at the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive feature a mini-bar stocked daily, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryer and a CD/MP3 player. Order room service during certain hours or log on the Internet (fees apply). Upgrade to the Club Premium level for a suite with added amenities.

The Club Premium Services is inclusive of personalized service, early check-in and late check-out (subject to availability), private reception, domestic and imported selected beverages, breakfast, lunch buffet, and snacks in the Club Premium lounge, concierge and upgrades in room amenities, pool towels in the room, 10% discount on massages, priority reservations for a-la-carte restaurants, private solarium with towel service, private Jacuzzi in the Club Premium area, reservations and flight confirmation, general information about excursions, restaurants and activities in the area, safe deposit box and Wi-Fi service in the Club Premium area.
Features
In between kayaking, sailing, beach volleyball and mini-golf, guests sample from eight restaurants and four bars at Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive. Get into vacation mode and book a massage, take an aerobics class or learn scuba diving in the pool. Close to the Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, tour the old rum factory, play the slots at the casino or get to know the picturesque fishing village of Sosua a short distance away.
Dining
At Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive, diners indulge in a selection of Italian, Brazilian, Mexican, Japanese and international cuisines offered at in-house La Giralda, La Fontana, Marenostrum, La Dolce Vita, Rodizio, Mexico Lindo and Kyoto restaurants. Guests can also sit back and relax with a variety of refreshments and snacks at La Bodega, La Bodeguita, Bar Disco Playa, Coco Bar and Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum on site.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (8.5 mi/13.6 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (21.8 mi/35.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Club Premium
All suites are equipped with with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Free Internet (Wifi), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box included and balcony. The guests staying in our Suites receive the Club Premium Service.
Superior
With an warm decoration, these rooms are equipped with air conditioning, telephone,irons and table to iron, dryer of hair, minibar, television of cable with international and national channels, Internet Wifi($), Coffee Maker, Safety deposit box($)and balcony.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.7973 -70.6885
Area served
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP) at 15 minute.
Area description
Casinos, golf, whale watching (Jan-March a few hours away), shopping, and great nightlife.

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.3 mi

Dining

La Giralda
Buffet restaurant open for breakfast from 07.00 " 10.30hrs, lunch from 12.30 " 15.00hrs, and dinner 18.00 " 22.00hrs.
La Fontana
Pizzeria open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code casual.
Marenostrum
A la carte seafood restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
La Dolce Vita
A la carte Italian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Rodizio
A la carte Brazilian restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Mexico Lindo
A la carte Mexican restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Kyoto
A la carte Japanese restaurant open for dinner from 18.00 until 22.30hrs. Reservations are required. Dress code: casual-elegant
Coco Bar
Pool bar open from 10.00 until 18.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages
Grill buffet & Snack Marenostrum
beachside, open for lunch. Snack from 11.00 - 17.00hrs
La Bodega
Lobby bar, open from 10.00 - 1.00hrs, domestic and imported selected beverages.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Salon Playa Dorada: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions 50 M2 / 535 Square Feet Height | Height M / Feet Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 40 / Pax 60 People Cocktail / Pax School | People Classroom 42 / Pax Auditorium | 66Personas Auditorium / Pax Imperial 20 People / Pax Salon Puerto Plata: Specifications | Specifications Dimensions | Dimensions/140 M2 / 1498 Square Feet Height | Height Electricity | Electricity 110V / 60 Cycles Capabilities | Capacities Banquets | Banquets 150 / Pax Cocktail 200 persons / Pax School | People Classroom 124 / Pax Auditorium | Auditorium 180 / Pax Imperial 50 / Pax

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
120 out of 120
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
NYC spring breaker
NYC
Mar 24, 2013

Awesome Spring Break spot

Barcelo POP was awesome, it's just 25min from the airport make sure and get the hotel transfer (VIP van lines). The staff was super friendly, I really can't complain about the staff. The food/ selections was delicious. Wasn't a big fan of the restaurants, to me buffet style was better tasting food ( I had better seafood and Italian food). The people were fairly young, which made the spring break concept great. Don't get me wrong it's a family hotel so there were kids and senior citizens. I travelled by myself, and safety was a huge issue for me, but I felt safe in the complex. The nightly shows are fun, and the discoteca was a place for ppl to interact/ dance/ drink and be merry. Last but not least, since I was single it was a great place to meet potential candidates ;) I highly recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
pop barcelodisappointment
pop barcelo
Jun 16, 2012

just ordinary

my last experience at barcelo punta cana was great so i decided to stick to this hotel and booked it again at puerta plata; however the experience was disappointing. food- for the ones you need to make reservations for; they were just average whereas the buffet needed improvement. (selections options were low and from whats available the food just wasn't tasty. the beach was somewhat close by, but was very empty and wasn't that clean. my friends and i decided to visit the disco by the beach at night and we found homeless dogs running running around. lastly, we were suppose to have a resort credit but this was a rip off. the resort credit couldn't be applied to anything, so in the end we didnt even use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
Sharon.
Boston, MA
May 9, 2012

Not good enough for the money.

Not a 4 star hotel as listed. Very small and modest lobby. Rude workers. Food variety poor. Very small buffet space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Not enough intertaintment on rainning days and nights. Nothing to do while rainning. Very poor night shows.

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Alyssa aka Abby
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
May 8, 2012

Really not what I was expecting

I arrived to a crowded open air front desk; swarms of people with no sense of personal space or manners. After receiving my "welcome packet' I asked where I could find my room and was told to see a bellhop. I was driven to my room and was surprised to find another open air builiding and no elevators. My room housed two double beds, small table, a barely moving fan, hardly working ac, and a toliet that would not stop running. The swim up bar in the pool was very nice and drinks were poured strongly. While there are 8 restaurants on the property, only 2 open each evening and reservations must be made however you can not make reservations the day you check in. Breakfast buffet and lunch buffet were fine and full of options and the restaurants offered a few interesting choices. Beach area was nice if you ignore the salespeople and there were several games to participate in while relaxing. Pool was huge and again, games were played on the deck with the staff. Most of the staff was very nice and even went out at night with the guests to the discoteca. Not sure I would go back due to the accomodations and the lack of english being spoken. While I knew I was going to a spanish speaking country, I thought as this is a resort, there would be more english.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
rn from fl
orlando, fl
May 7, 2012

worst place ever visited

Dirty rooms food sucks, old rooms and at the beach the people selling stuff do not let you relax harrasing you to buy something and the put the prices to the sky. Boring show suck s

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
nellarosent
portland
May 5, 2012

acceptable better than other

good time , nice beaces but could be cleaned, from time to time , good food but server could smile more, good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dont stay to close to shows arena unless you like to go to sleep after 23:00rd hour ...nice but loud

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
coco123col
New Jersey, USA
May 1, 2012

quick getaway

Buffet food was basic with no variety.Staff was friendly.Room was very clean.Good restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Oriental restaurant is the best

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
marist
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Nice family trip!!!!!!

This was our second time staying there. It was a good value. There was too much going on in terms of the "Spring Breakers."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
lmied
Boise, Idaho
Mar 21, 2012

Never going back

I'll start with the good stuff: Good beach and pool, great staff, decent grounds and landscaping. Now the bad: our building was horribly echoey at night (all night from spring breakers), so we had to crank the A/C every night; however, there are no bedspreads on the beds, only a sheet and light blanket, so we were freezing. Also, you can only get two double beds, no king sized, so we were either crammed onto one double bed or pushed the two beds together ourselves and I slept in the crack every night. The worst part of our entire experience was the food. The buffet had a lot of options, but each one was equally disgusting with fatty meat or weird spices mixed into the food. The best meal there was breakfast because I could eat Fruit Loops...every day. The a la cart restaurants were not quite as bad; the best one was the Mexican restaurant and the Brazilian was not terrible. The Oriental meal looked like feces on a plate and tasted how I would imagine feces would taste. We did not bother with the seafood restaurant because I did not feel like getting food poisoning while we were there. All in all, we were ready to leave by Saturday morning, but were stuck there until Monday. Definitely not worth the money and hassle- I would not recommend this place. I was diligent and read the reviews and for some reason a lot of them said it was decent, but I am telling you, DON'T waste your money here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go somewhere else!

Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
cheated
puerto plata dominican republic
Dec 3, 2011

very dissapointed

First of all the rooms were ugly but very clean and tidy..The food overall was very poor. The shows and discotec were good overall and staff were very helpful and nice... Overall,,, if I were given no other choice this place would have to do.. Really disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
DahianaD
Bronx, New York, USA
Oct 19, 2011

A small hidden gem!

We got a great deal on a 3 night stay and when we arrived we were pleasently surprised to see what a gorgeous resort it was. The staff was pleasant, the room was always maintained stocked and cleaned. The pools were wonderful! The beach was amazing! The all inclusive restaurants were delicious!! I definetley recommend this resort for their Amenities, great staff and overall comfort. We had minor issues, for example the shower in our room wasn't working properly, but they fixed it right away, as well as the delay in having our room ready when checking in. I will def. be returning with my family! as well as recommending this resort to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get to their Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner early. It is Buffet style & they have many new options everyday.

Back to menu Return to top