$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Dorada Complex, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
paquitta
Business
chicago
Jun 1, 2013

hotel ups and downs

we arrived with a group of 10 and they put 8 in one building and us in the other. I asked to be moved like my one friend did and was rudely told no. the rest of the staff is awesome but the front desk people must think they are gods. night one security called repeatedly due to the bloody screaming at 2:30 by a group of Jersey girls coming back from the disco. went on for 20 minutes, then started up again a half hour later...we asked again to be moved to the other part of the hotel and were refused. next night another drunken group fighting and yelling at 1:30...security comes again next night the disco closes and about 15 people are drunk off their butts and decide to scream at the tops of their lungs while diving in to the pool outside our room,,pool closed at 6pm... security again... its not that I dont drink because I do and their bars are awesome but when you know the disco is closing why the heck don't you have security in place on the path from the beach to the rooms. we were just lucky that we were on that path and they put most of the drunken louts in our building. these people love to scream and scream all night ... the bartenders are great once you tip them, they know what you drink and have it ready. the activities at the pool were fun, the buffet was large but after 6 days was monotonous . we ate at almost every restaurant on the grounds and most were good. a few great a few bland.. the view at the beach is awesome, the pool clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

the food is more bland than I would have thought so maybe go off site for a night ....otherwise for an all inclusive it was nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deyanara
Business
Harwich ma
May 30, 2013

Poor

Room wasn't clean enough roaches in the bathroom I took a picture I call front desk and the dindt do anything also no free wifi so my girls complain about how cheap a discussing was very bad experience food was delicious also no parking space for my car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lyssaleigh24
Business
nyack, ny
May 28, 2013

Not bad

It wasn't a bad place to stay however, didnt go beyond expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LUISA AND ROB
Business
RHODE ISLAND
May 22, 2013

FANTASTIC GET AWAY

THE MOST AMAZING TIME OF MY LIFE, I LOVED IT!!! I WOULD REPEAT THE VACATION TO THIS RESORT OVER AND OVER, MY HUSBAND LOVED THE ENTERTAINMENT, AND FOOD, VERY DELICIOUS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Junior10'
Business
Puerto Plata
May 4, 2013

Nice place for the price.

My guest and I had a good time but it could have been better. The all inclusive wasn't that good. You might want to go elsewhere for better food. The drinks were so small I felt like a kid asking mommy for a refill every 10 minutes. The waiters were funny acting. I remember sitting at the bar and being ignored while watching people come up and get there drinks immediately. This happened on several occasions. The room was nice, clean and cool. Im a hard sleeper, but someone's car alarm kept going off every night. There was a party every night until 3 or 4 in the morning. With all that said I would return, cant beat the price for 4 night and two people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelodger
Business
Orlando, FL
May 1, 2013

The all-inclusive made it a good value

The hotel has a number of amenities and was in a great location. That being said, the first room we were in was a bit dirty and so we moved into a clean room upstairs after the first night. There seems to be a show [read loud] that runs until midnight or later every night so I don't recommend staying in building's 9 or 10. The food was pretty good and the fact that you could walk up and get a mixed drink as much as you'd like make it an overall decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrittanyTyheem
Business
New York
Apr 10, 2013

Great bang for your buck

We upgraded to VIP club premium the room was very spacious and clean. Room service was excellent anything we needed was accommodated promptly. The pool looked very inviting and it was calm but had a great Dominican Republic feeling!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Wedding Planner 24
Business
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Apr 2, 2013

Disappointed

This hotel has a great location and the ambiance is wonderful. The problem with this hotel is that the rooms smell like mold or mildew. This made us sick and we couldn't get a good nights sleep without waking up in the morning feeling like a bag was over our heads. In addition to this, our room backed up to an offsite club. This club played loud music into the early hours of the morning. The buffet at the hotel always had something edible. However, the restaurants left something to be desired. The one thing we did do was snorkeling at Paradise Island. This was amazing. It reminded me of something out of a National Geographic documentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to Paradise Island for snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC spring breaker
Business
NYC
Mar 24, 2013

Awesome Spring Break spot

Barcelo POP was awesome, it's just 25min from the airport make sure and get the hotel transfer (VIP van lines). The staff was super friendly, I really can't complain about the staff. The food/ selections was delicious. Wasn't a big fan of the restaurants, to me buffet style was better tasting food ( I had better seafood and Italian food). The people were fairly young, which made the spring break concept great. Don't get me wrong it's a family hotel so there were kids and senior citizens. I travelled by myself, and safety was a huge issue for me, but I felt safe in the complex. The nightly shows are fun, and the discoteca was a place for ppl to interact/ dance/ drink and be merry. Last but not least, since I was single it was a great place to meet potential candidates ;) I highly recommend this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Loo
Business
Ohio
Feb 26, 2013

Met my expectations

Overall I enjoyed my stay at Barcelo Puerto Plata. We were given a free upgrade to a junior suite which was truly an upgrade. The room was large with cool a/c. I was pleased with our room, the only drawback is that there were ants in the restroom at times and it seemed like housekeeping did the bare minimum. (Replaced towels and made the bed). Sometimes they would restock the mini fridge, which wasn't so important because there was plenty to eat and drink on the property. The beach was very clean apart from some seawood. It was always busy and hard to find empty chairs. We always seemed to manage. Yes there are sales people but they are very gracious and leave you alone if you say no thanks. We weren't bothered at all and enjoyed talking to them. Just be sure to never take their first offer. The property itself was a perfect size. Plenty of a la carte restaurants and bars. There's always activities poolside. The drinks are stiff, the mixes are pretty sugary but it just depends on your taste. Bring a refillable bottle if you don't want to go to the bar every 10 minutes. The cups are tiny. The food was average at best but of course it's never as good as home. :) When we visited there was a lot of students, which made the resort very lively. At night they have shows that involve the audience or are performed by their dance team. I enjoyed participating in the shows. They were always entertaining. If you're looking for nightlife there is a beach disco. The area is small but there is decent music, food and drinks. We loved our stay at Barcelo. At times certain staff seemed less than helpful but other staff members were extremely friendly and fun. We did miss out on visiting the city. The hotel really tries to stray you from exploring on your own. They offer excursions but I don't recommend booking on the resort. 2 minutes walk off the property is a small shopping center that offers the excursions at a lower rate. If you're looking for great weather, a place to relax in the sun, party, and eat whenever you want this is a great place to choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip the oriental restaurant. It's so bad it's laughable! Try the Mexican, Italian, and pizzeria, very tasty!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top