$237 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Bayahibe, La Romana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
62 reviews
Getaway for 2

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing getaway and the Dominican Republic was the perfect... See full review

  • Kyle W.
  • Apr 6, 2015
The BEST Hotel EVER!

i have to say that i am reading all these reviews and alot of them arent so good, this hotel is... See full review

  • Steffoooo
  • Nov 26, 2014
Posh all-inclusive La Romana resort with Caribbean views and pool
Perched upon white, sandy shores, luxurious Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive is an elegant companion to nearby Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach. Situated nearby Playa Dominicus, its on-site amenities range from a club for kids to a salon, spa and gift shop as well as stylish guest rooms with minibars. Several restaurants and a nightclub are located on site, as is a sparkling pool, laundry and fitness facilities and a currency exchange. An airport shuttle is available, as are child care services (fees apply). Meeting spaces are on hand, too.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive property where most beverages and meals are included in the cost of stays
  • Beachfront locale with pool, fitness facility and spa offering massage services
  • Club for kids age 4 to 12, plus on-site shopping at a gift shop and newsstand
Rooms
All 330 air-conditioned guest rooms at the Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive, situated in several colonial-style buildings, have one king or two queen beds as well as cable televisions, stocked minibars, in-room safes and balconies. Other features include irons and ironing boards, phones with voice mail, hair-dryers and alarm clocks. Larger suites at the Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive have living areas with ocean or garden views.
Dining
At Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive, guests relish specialties at the international-style buffet, an Italian a la carte dinner restaurant, a Mexican restaurant, an Asian oriental a la carte restaurant, a Mediterranean a la carte restaurant and a pizzeria.
Recreation
The Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive resort is home to a fitness center, freshwater pools and steam bath. A nightclub is also located on site, along with a salon and spa offering massages and other luxurious treatments.

Scuba diving (PADI & SSI certificate courses), water-skiing, snorkeling, banana boat rides, fishing, horseback riding, complete program of water and land excursions are offered at an additional fee.
Transportation
  • La Romana International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
Attractions
  • La Romana (21 mi/33.8 km)
  • Punta Espada Golf Course (29.6 mi/47.6 km)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Course (34.4 mi/55.4 km)
  • Macao Surf Camp (34.9 mi/56.2 km)
  • San Pedro De Macoris (45 miles/72.4 km)
  • Santa Domingo (80 mi/128.7 km)
Business
  • Amphitheater accommodates up to 1,000 guests
  • Multiple, flexible meeting spaces for up to 250 people at the nearby Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior / Superior Ocean Front
Two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioned, 3 floors buildings with sea or garden view, bathroom with shower and tub, balcony, telephone, iron and iron board, color satellite TV, mini-bar with soft drinks, safe box, hair dryer.
Junior Suites
One king size bed and a living area, air conditioned, 3 floors buildings with garden view, bathroom with shower and tub, balcony, telephone, iron and iron board, color satellite TV, mini-bar with soft drinks, safe deposit box, hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Viva Mexico
Mexican a la carte restaurant open for dinner only, reservations required.
Il Palco
Italian a la carte restaurant, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Caf
Mediterranean a la carte restaurant, open for dinner only, reservations required.
La Terraza
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Located at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach.
La Roca
Grill restaurant, open for lunch and dinner, lunch buffet style, dinner a la carte, reservations required for dinner. Located at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach.
La Pizzeria
Authentic Italian wood oven pizza, open all night long from 07:00pm until 07:00am.
La Yuca
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Bambu
Asian oriental a la carte restaurant, open for dinner only, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kyle W.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Getaway for 2

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing getaway and the Dominican Republic was the perfect place. This was a first time traveling to the Dominican Republic and we were satisfied. The Viva Wyndham provided a great balance between relaxation and activities. Please note that Viva Wyndham is connected to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach so you get to share in all the amenities of that resort. The rooms were basic providing two beds, bathrooms, and a closet. We did not locate the stocked fridge until later in our trip (it was located in our closet, which was new to us). The rooms were appropriate for us because we spent most of our time traveling around the rest of the resort. Food was decent. The buffets provided a large assortment which should meet many people's needs. The restaurants for reserved dinners were amazing. I highly recommend the Italian dinner. There are several activities throughout the resort. During the day you can lay by the beach or pool. On some locations of the beach, the staff entertains and gets travelers involved with activities such as volleyball, water aerobics, dancing and more! We had a get time learning the resorts dance! There are several mini shops that you can get various items from. At night, entertainment is provided. Local artists come out and sign, staff put on amazing shows at the theater, and after the shows the DJ comes out for the night life party. We were pretty impressed. The day we left, we were already talking about the next time we could come back. We do recommend brushing up on Spanish (just the minimal stuff). Also, when you arrive at the resort, take a walk around and check out everything! We were amazed at how large the resort was and how much there was to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DTRLAW
Business
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

Better than Expected... Great time!

We were looking to get away to somewhere warm for family spring break and headed to Dominican Republic's best deal at the time Viva Wyndham. We had an awesome time and have lots of great professional photos of us taken by the onsite photographers to remember it. We got lucky and had a great ocean front room. We could walk out of our room straight to the beach. It was never too busy for us to dine where we wanted. My daughter (age 10) loved it there. She wasn't into the kids club activities but made a friend who didn't speak English but they managed to communicate well and play. The kids in the kids club seemed to be having a great time. The food was a daily buffet with nightly themes and we all managed to find things we enjoyed daily. The package also included 2 a la carte restaurants which were good for a change of pace. The drinks were never too strong so we had way too many. We had daily snacks of french fries and mojitos and lemonade. We danced poolside with the entertainment staff. It was a great experience and given the price compared to all other trips during the time of year, it was much better than we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Wondeful beach

This was my second time at this resort. Its absolutely great for the price. My favorite thing here is the beach. Plenty of food choices. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steffoooo
Business
Paterson, New Jersey
Nov 26, 2014

The BEST Hotel EVER!

i have to say that i am reading all these reviews and alot of them arent so good, this hotel is AMAZING, the food is amazing, obviously the rooms are not 5 stars but they are around 3-4 comfy and beautiful. the people are soo soo nice there omg its incredible, everyone is happy, super hot clubs inside, cheap store prices, everyone is awesome in there, do not got anywhere else, go to wyndham!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MissAnonima
Business
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2014

Relaxing family vacation

Food could definitely be better. Not many options to choose from and the quality was poor. Buffet was very small and this resort brings in a lot of people. As far as service, it was either very good or bad. Some staff members looked tired and annoyed. Others always had a huge smile on their faces. Would probably return but not in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buceador
Business
Cordoba, Argentina
Jun 26, 2014

Ordinary experience

We are disappointed by the services offered and that were not met. The free internet is not working and is not provided in the rooms. Many services and meals are extra unannounced. The personal attention is aggressive and unprofessional. When requesting bedding had to claim for a day and repeatedly to reply. Poor service in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask all costs before traveling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well rested traveler
Business
Lawton, OK
Jun 8, 2014

A Good vacation

The grounds are beautiful and meticulously cared for. The food at the buffet was amazing! Wed were there 7 nights and because of the quality of the buffet we never bothered making reservations at the A La Carte restaurants available. On the down side, we found that there were 2 night shows, one completely in Italian at 9:45 pm and the International multilingual show did not start until 11:00 so we never made it to the late show. The bit we saw of the Italian show was disappointing. I have been on many of these all-inclusive resorts and this one was the most lacking when it came to the nightly shows. The other disappointing item was the limited drinks made available in the room. No beer was provided in the fridge and only a few drinks were provided on the first day. The staff was very friendly and the bar tenders were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GodLi
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Jun 4, 2014

Graduation Getaway

Location: convenient/inconvenient depends on which airport--about 15 min. drive from La Romana airport, about 1 hr. from Punta Cana airport, about 1.5 hrs. from Santo Domingo airport Lobby: easy check-in/check-out--concierges are multi-lingual, make a la carte restaurant reservations at guest services, travel agents' desks, "free Wi-Fi"--horrible signal and only works on/off for small tasks Room: standard room pretty small for four adults, shower only half covered by glass wall so bathroom floor was constantly flooded, not enough towels--received two towels per day for a room with four adults, "comforter" = thin sheet of fabric Pools: four lovely clean pools--three lively & one quiet (two deepest pools only about 5ft.) Restaurants: six free a la cartes (one with surcharge)--can only make three reservations for a week's stay, three buffets (one only opened for lunch), two day time snack bars, one overnight pizzeria Bars: six bars (in each of the two lobbies and by each of the four pools)--drinks varied by bartender on shift Service: some servers/bartenders were definitely nicer than others (as expected) but good overall--we always tipped $1-$2USD at the bars and buffets and $5USD at the a la cartes which seemed pretty uncommon amongst the European visitors (majority of the clientele there) Shopping: two shopping areas within the resort, larger one in the center of Beach and Palace sides and smaller one on Palace side; shopping outside of resort seems to be the same price if not higher (before haggling) as in the resort Excursions: trips offered included Saona Island, Catalina Island, Santo Domingo, Dune Buggees, Horseback Riding, Swim with Dolphins, Ziplining, etc. (typically offered by your assigned travel agent)--we did the Catalina trip where we were picked up via bus from resort, pit stop at a small shopping area, took catamaran to Catalina Island, spent a few hours on island (banana boat, wing ride, snorkeling, lunch buffet), catamaran back to port, bus to Casa de Campo for site seeing and shopping, bus back to resort--wasn't worth the $110 in our opinion but Catalina Island is really beautiful! Entertainment: animation crew spent days at the pools giving dance lessons and nights dancing away on stage in the theater then at the after party on the pool deck by the theater--the theater shows were always great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid being hassled by the local sellers outside the resort and having to hassle for a better price and do your shopping in the resort!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melissa A.C.
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Jun 3, 2014

You couldn't pay us to return!

I have been to many all-inclusive resorts. Checking in, the staff was beyond rude. They clearly gave more attention and preference to the "VIP Guests" that were checking in. Definitely made us feel less important because we had an orange wristband instead of a yellow one. The bellmen were the only people we found to be friendly. The drinks are horrible (Unless you're VIP). The only ones I could stand drinking are the blended ones but those have so much sugar, of course it masks the disgusting "flavor" of the liquor. The hours of food at the main restaurant were ridiculous. If you are there on vacation, don't plan on sleeping in because you won't be able to have breakfast, which was the ONLY decent meal. The "specialty" restaurants are NOT worth having to work with the rude lady that books them for you. My parents both ended up in the ER after we returned from only a 4 day stay due to the food/water at the resort. Thankfully I liked to sleep so I wasn't "fortunate" enough to eat or have as many drinks as them. My sister was married there. They were VIP as they have a timeshare with Wyndham. The ceremony was beautiful, however, they didn't accommodate all of our guests - we had to wait for them to bring another table over and 4 chairs. I had to have my brother-in-law order me a drink (skyy vodka) because he was VIP and anytime i asked for a better vodka, they apparently didn't understand and brought me a cup of really bad vodka, no ice. No water. No straw. SO RUDE. Mark my words, I will not ever return to or recommend anyone to stay at a Viva Wyndham property. Especially not in the Dominican. RUINED my first visit to the Dominican completely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

DON'T STAY!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ciotog
Business
LI, NY
May 27, 2014

Can't wait to go back.

It was amazing. we had such a great time. Everyone was wonderful. Some difficulty with the language but hey we traveled to a foreign country, you have to expect that. I will definately go back. All the rooms were booked but it wasn't crowded. Always plenty of room at the beach, in the pools and in the restaurants. Food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations for the specialty restaurants when you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top