$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

4 stars
Bayahibe, La Romana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
88 reviews
Can't wait to go back.

It was amazing. we had such a great time. Everyone was wonderful. Some difficulty with the language... See full review

  • Ciotog
  • May 27, 2014
Graduation Getaway

Location: convenient/inconvenient depends on which airport--about 15 min. drive from La Romana... See full review

  • GodLi
  • Jun 4, 2014
Posh all-inclusive La Romana resort with Caribbean views and pool
Perched upon white, sandy shores, luxurious Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive is an elegant companion to nearby Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach. Situated nearby Playa Dominicus, its on-site amenities range from a club for kids to a salon, spa and gift shop as well as stylish guest rooms with minibars. Several restaurants and a nightclub are located on site, as is a sparkling pool, laundry and fitness facilities and a currency exchange. An airport shuttle is available, as are child care services (fees apply). Meeting spaces are on hand, too.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive property where most beverages and meals are included in the cost of stays
  • Beachfront locale with pool, fitness facility and spa offering massage services
  • Club for kids age 4 to 12, plus on-site shopping at a gift shop and newsstand
Rooms
All 330 air-conditioned guest rooms at the Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive, situated in several colonial-style buildings, have one king or two queen beds as well as cable televisions, stocked minibars, in-room safes and balconies. Other features include irons and ironing boards, phones with voice mail, hair-dryers and alarm clocks. Larger suites at the Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive have living areas with ocean or garden views.
Dining
At Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive, guests relish specialties at the international-style buffet, an Italian a la carte dinner restaurant, a Mexican restaurant, an Asian oriental a la carte restaurant, a Mediterranean a la carte restaurant and a pizzeria.
Recreation
The Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive resort is home to a fitness center, freshwater pools and steam bath. A nightclub is also located on site, along with a salon and spa offering massages and other luxurious treatments.

Scuba diving (PADI & SSI certificate courses), water-skiing, snorkeling, banana boat rides, fishing, horseback riding, complete program of water and land excursions are offered at an additional fee.
Transportation
  • La Romana International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
Attractions
  • La Romana (21 mi/33.8 km)
  • Punta Espada Golf Course (29.6 mi/47.6 km)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Course (34.4 mi/55.4 km)
  • Macao Surf Camp (34.9 mi/56.2 km)
  • San Pedro De Macoris (45 miles/72.4 km)
  • Santa Domingo (80 mi/128.7 km)
Business
  • Amphitheater accommodates up to 1,000 guests
  • Multiple, flexible meeting spaces for up to 250 people at the nearby Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior / Superior Ocean Front
Two queen size beds or one king size bed, air conditioned, 3 floors buildings with sea or garden view, bathroom with shower and tub, balcony, telephone, iron and iron board, color satellite TV, mini-bar with soft drinks, safe box, hair dryer.
Junior Suites
One king size bed and a living area, air conditioned, 3 floors buildings with garden view, bathroom with shower and tub, balcony, telephone, iron and iron board, color satellite TV, mini-bar with soft drinks, safe deposit box, hair dryer.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3479 -68.8289
Area served
Bayahibe, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Nearby airports
72 Miles / 115 km from Las Americas International Airport (approx. 1 hr. 45 min. drive) 62 Miles /100 km from Punta Cana Airport (approx. 1 hr. 15 min. drive) 11 Miles /18 km from La Romana International Airport (approx. 15 min. drive)
Area description
On the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, facing the gorgeous islands of Saona and Catalina. 72 Miles / 115 km from Las Americas International Airport (approx. 1 hr. 45 min. drive), 62 Miles /100 km from Punta Cana Airport (approx. 1 hr. 15 min. drive), 11 Miles /18 km from La Romana International Airport (approx. 15 min. drive) 25 minutes from La Romana city.

Dining

Viva Mexico
Mexican a la carte restaurant open for dinner only, reservations required.
Il Palco
Italian a la carte restaurant, open for dinner only, reservations required.
Viva Caf
Mediterranean a la carte restaurant, open for dinner only, reservations required.
La Terraza
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Located at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach.
La Roca
Grill restaurant, open for lunch and dinner, lunch buffet style, dinner a la carte, reservations required for dinner. Located at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach.
La Pizzeria
Authentic Italian wood oven pizza, open all night long from 07:00pm until 07:00am.
La Yuca
International buffet style restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Bambu
Asian oriental a la carte restaurant, open for dinner only, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MissAnonima
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2014

Relaxing family vacation

Food could definitely be better. Not many options to choose from and the quality was poor. Buffet was very small and this resort brings in a lot of people. As far as service, it was either very good or bad. Some staff members looked tired and annoyed. Others always had a huge smile on their faces. Would probably return but not in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buceador
Cordoba, Argentina
Jun 26, 2014

Ordinary experience

We are disappointed by the services offered and that were not met. The free internet is not working and is not provided in the rooms. Many services and meals are extra unannounced. The personal attention is aggressive and unprofessional. When requesting bedding had to claim for a day and repeatedly to reply. Poor service in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask all costs before traveling.

Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well rested traveler
Lawton, OK
Jun 8, 2014

A Good vacation

The grounds are beautiful and meticulously cared for. The food at the buffet was amazing! Wed were there 7 nights and because of the quality of the buffet we never bothered making reservations at the A La Carte restaurants available. On the down side, we found that there were 2 night shows, one completely in Italian at 9:45 pm and the International multilingual show did not start until 11:00 so we never made it to the late show. The bit we saw of the Italian show was disappointing. I have been on many of these all-inclusive resorts and this one was the most lacking when it came to the nightly shows. The other disappointing item was the limited drinks made available in the room. No beer was provided in the fridge and only a few drinks were provided on the first day. The staff was very friendly and the bar tenders were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GodLi
Boston, Massachusetts
Jun 4, 2014

Graduation Getaway

Location: convenient/inconvenient depends on which airport--about 15 min. drive from La Romana airport, about 1 hr. from Punta Cana airport, about 1.5 hrs. from Santo Domingo airport Lobby: easy check-in/check-out--concierges are multi-lingual, make a la carte restaurant reservations at guest services, travel agents' desks, "free Wi-Fi"--horrible signal and only works on/off for small tasks Room: standard room pretty small for four adults, shower only half covered by glass wall so bathroom floor was constantly flooded, not enough towels--received two towels per day for a room with four adults, "comforter" = thin sheet of fabric Pools: four lovely clean pools--three lively & one quiet (two deepest pools only about 5ft.) Restaurants: six free a la cartes (one with surcharge)--can only make three reservations for a week's stay, three buffets (one only opened for lunch), two day time snack bars, one overnight pizzeria Bars: six bars (in each of the two lobbies and by each of the four pools)--drinks varied by bartender on shift Service: some servers/bartenders were definitely nicer than others (as expected) but good overall--we always tipped $1-$2USD at the bars and buffets and $5USD at the a la cartes which seemed pretty uncommon amongst the European visitors (majority of the clientele there) Shopping: two shopping areas within the resort, larger one in the center of Beach and Palace sides and smaller one on Palace side; shopping outside of resort seems to be the same price if not higher (before haggling) as in the resort Excursions: trips offered included Saona Island, Catalina Island, Santo Domingo, Dune Buggees, Horseback Riding, Swim with Dolphins, Ziplining, etc. (typically offered by your assigned travel agent)--we did the Catalina trip where we were picked up via bus from resort, pit stop at a small shopping area, took catamaran to Catalina Island, spent a few hours on island (banana boat, wing ride, snorkeling, lunch buffet), catamaran back to port, bus to Casa de Campo for site seeing and shopping, bus back to resort--wasn't worth the $110 in our opinion but Catalina Island is really beautiful! Entertainment: animation crew spent days at the pools giving dance lessons and nights dancing away on stage in the theater then at the after party on the pool deck by the theater--the theater shows were always great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid being hassled by the local sellers outside the resort and having to hassle for a better price and do your shopping in the resort!

Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melissa A.C.
Sioux Falls, SD
Jun 3, 2014

You couldn't pay us to return!

I have been to many all-inclusive resorts. Checking in, the staff was beyond rude. They clearly gave more attention and preference to the "VIP Guests" that were checking in. Definitely made us feel less important because we had an orange wristband instead of a yellow one. The bellmen were the only people we found to be friendly. The drinks are horrible (Unless you're VIP). The only ones I could stand drinking are the blended ones but those have so much sugar, of course it masks the disgusting "flavor" of the liquor. The hours of food at the main restaurant were ridiculous. If you are there on vacation, don't plan on sleeping in because you won't be able to have breakfast, which was the ONLY decent meal. The "specialty" restaurants are NOT worth having to work with the rude lady that books them for you. My parents both ended up in the ER after we returned from only a 4 day stay due to the food/water at the resort. Thankfully I liked to sleep so I wasn't "fortunate" enough to eat or have as many drinks as them. My sister was married there. They were VIP as they have a timeshare with Wyndham. The ceremony was beautiful, however, they didn't accommodate all of our guests - we had to wait for them to bring another table over and 4 chairs. I had to have my brother-in-law order me a drink (skyy vodka) because he was VIP and anytime i asked for a better vodka, they apparently didn't understand and brought me a cup of really bad vodka, no ice. No water. No straw. SO RUDE. Mark my words, I will not ever return to or recommend anyone to stay at a Viva Wyndham property. Especially not in the Dominican. RUINED my first visit to the Dominican completely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

DON'T STAY!

Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ciotog
LI, NY
May 27, 2014

Can't wait to go back.

It was amazing. we had such a great time. Everyone was wonderful. Some difficulty with the language but hey we traveled to a foreign country, you have to expect that. I will definately go back. All the rooms were booked but it wasn't crowded. Always plenty of room at the beach, in the pools and in the restaurants. Food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations for the specialty restaurants when you arrive.

Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancy Lynne
Spokane, Washington
May 16, 2014

Best Anniversary Vacation EVER!

I will admit the spouse and I were a little nervous after reading some of the reviews online, although most were positive, a few had us concerned. However, everything was nearly perfect from the day we arrived until the very last day. Although the resort is owned by the Italians and much of the staff is Dominican or European, most spoke at least some English and we had no problem with communication. Everyone was accommodating, friendly and the service was excellent (we found that tipping even a dollar or 2 got us extra bottled water and fabulous drinks with fast service). However, tipping is not mandatory. Bartender Miguel was wonderful! I would encourage anyone who goes, to take advantage of some of the many excursions offered. We did the zip lining and the catamaran cruise to Sona island, both were unforgettable and fun experiences. They weren't that expensive and got us off the resort for two days. Of course, there is plenty to do within the resort and hanging out at the clean, beautiful LaRomana beaches was Heavenly. The buffets were all right, not great, but better than most. We liked the a la carte dinners the best. Our room was small but clean and all we needed for as little time as we spent there. I recommend taking your own cup if you want a larger drink as their cups are rather small...this also saves the bartender from having to pour more drinks...(which are quite strong). Six days for us was not long enough as there is just so much to do. We highly recommend anyone to take advantage of a full body, hour-long massage by the pool. We both got a great massage for $100 -- half the price you'd pay in the US. There were also several other Americans there during our stay so we didn't feel outnumbered. The Wyndham Palace is a beautiful resort and we highly recommend it for couples or adult single groups. Although there were several families we would not bring small children to this resort. Ready to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the a la carte meals provided and even pay a little extra for extra a la carte dining which is not that expensive and the food and experience is much better than the buffets.

Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marine07
Charlotte, north carolina
May 4, 2014

Stress free

this was great vacation beach is beautiful and no having to worry about food and drinks was great. Only two things to worry about. Staff, if you have a good looking girl get ready they will be looking at her in avery bad way it dos not matter if you are with her. Two, if you think that because you are going to dominican republic you are going to listen tropical music you are wrong, this is an italian hotel most of the music is italian and the people speak more italian than any other language and there is nothing wrong with italians is just that i went to dominican republic not to italy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring sun block they will charge $30 dollars for it at the hotel

Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Francesca's mom
New Jersey
Apr 28, 2014

Spring break

only downside - TOO many people, otherwise it is good place to go

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
snim
NY, USA
Apr 23, 2014

bad experience

I booked hotel 11/6/13 for 4/12/14-4/22/14. Based on previous review (people complained that they were relocated), I called in 4/12/14 in AM to request a status of my reservation and was told that my name is not in system, the office is closed bc of Saturday and there is nobody to talk !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top