$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ctra San Pedro - Romana km 12,, El Soco, La Romana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
79 reviews
Relaxing getaway

The hotel is beautiful! The ocean water is murky but the beach is nice. The people you meet there... See full review

  • Tuck0305
  • Jul 15, 2014
Great Vacation

We were surprised when learned that new Luxury Bahia Principe was opened and we'll stay there.... See full review

  • Tatyana and G
  • Dec 18, 2013
All-inclusive, lively Dominican Republic resort with full spa
An idyllic, all-inclusive property along the Caribbean waters, Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive has pools for adults and children as well as a mini-club for kids, a spa, tennis courts and merengue dancing. Three a la carte restaurants, a buffet and four bars combine with a private beach, health club and a casino as well as an amphitheater where nightly entertainment takes place. A business center, nonmotorized water sports including kayaking, and comfortable guest rooms with stocked minibars are further lures.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive resort with unlimited wining and dining at three al la carte restaurants, a buffet and four bars
  • Beachfront location with pools for both children and adults
  • Nightly entertainment, including merengue dancing
Rooms
All 425 junior suites and two-story villas at Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive have one king or two full-size beds and terraces or balconies overlooking the water or grounds. Cable televisions, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), direct-dial phones and in-room safes are among the highlights, as are air conditioning and bathrooms with jetted tubs and showers, bathrobes, vanity mirrors and hair-dryers. Rooms also have sofa beds as well as stocked minibars, alarm clocks, coffee-makers and complimentary bottled water. Meanwhile, room service is available during limited hours, wakeup calls can be requested and daily housekeeping is provided.
Dining
Meals and beverages at the Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive are included at a buffet and three a la carte restaurants -- one Italian-bent. Additionally, a snack bar affords a casual alternative, and four bars provide places to unwind over tropical drinks.
Recreation
Guests at Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive can relax at two pools, one for children, or read a book in the shaded solarium. A spa, gym, two tennis courts and a paddle court offer ways to pass the time. The same goes for billiards, table tennis and inclusive nonmotorized water sports, such as kayaking. Guests can also opt to relax on the private stretch of white, sandy beach at Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive. Nightly dancing and themed entertainment is held at an on-site amphitheater.
Transportation
  • La Romana International Airport (15.3 mi/25 km)
  • Santo Domingo International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Macao Surf Camp (52.1 mi/83.8 km)
  • Punta Espada Golf Course (53.8 mi/86.6 km)
  • Dressel Divers (54.8 mi/88.2 km)
Policies and fees
All Inclusive: Towel service at the beach and pools, international entertainment program for adults and children (day and night programs), games and organized activities, minibar with water, soft drinks and beer. Refill once a day, special activities for children at Mini club (4-12 years), nonmotorized water sports, sports-1 scuba diving lesson at the pool, gym, free entrance and all local drinks in the disco located in the "pueblo principe," all local taxes in tips, three a la carte dinners per week of stay and previous reservation, to choose among the three restaurants of specialties, unlimited local drinks, beer and soft drinks in all bars of the hotel until 23:00 hours, all local drinks at the disco of Pueblo Principe.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers 1 king bed or 2 Double beds with safety deposit box, extra bed laundry, medical service, telephone calls and fax, services and souvenirs in "Pueblo Principe".
Junior Suite Deluxe
The room includes: 2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) Air conditioning Fully-fitted bathroom with bathtub and hydro massage shower column. Sofa bed LCD satellite TV Ceiling fan Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Telephone (external calls with charge) Alarm clock Iron and ironing board Safe (with charge) Mini-bar (replenishment once a day) Terrace Coffee machine Amplifying mirror. Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in speciality Restaurants per week Private Club House WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Le Gourmet
A la carte Gourmet restaurant.
Il Capriccio
with the best of Italian cuisine
El Pescador
with Mediterranean cuisine
Las Olas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Orquidea
Main buffet restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Dec 29, 2010

Really, 5 stars hotel?

Beautiful hotel. Some staff at front desk were not very friendly. [...] Food average. Great entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Disco starts at 12:00 so make sure you get a good day's sleep if you want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 16, 2010

Gran Bahia La Romana

Very clean rooms, attentive staff in front desk and rest., food was better than average. It still could have been even better. They tried, but food in the DR is not the same as US or Europe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get to know your wait staff for your room and rest. - give tham a tip $ in the beginning and they will surely look out for you and get to know your needs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 24, 2010

Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Incl

The resort was very nice and well kept. Beach and pool were not crowded, even though hotel was fully booked.Food was very good, but theme restaurant(seafood) was very disappointing. Same dishes as buffet, with a below mediocre "chef specialty" a la carte choice. We really enjoyed the 4 night trip, but there were some things that others may have "whined about". Beds were HARD. Telephone did not work. Hot water outage for 1 overnight. These complaints would be unacceptable if we paid a premium price, but at rock bottom price, "the trip is what you make it".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

buy alcohol at airport in duty free shop, so you can carry it on. BEWARE if you have a connecting flight (after customs in USA). Bottles must go into checked bags.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Oct 30, 2010

paradise vacation

we have a great time service were exelent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
olatiti
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 13, 2010

Would go back in a heartbeart

Previous bad reviews got me 'over' prepared for this trip - We were in for a pleasant surprise. The rooms were clean, the food selection was more than adequate and we did not experience any discomfort. We had the deluxe package which included room service, the staff went over and above to ensure our toddlers had a great time. Tips and bits of Spanish language do go a long way in relating with staff. Mosquito repellant and insecticides are a must to enjoying outdoor activities and keeping the nuisance to a minimum. The only issue we had was that - with no warning - some guests decided to go topless on the beach, which puts a damper on family fun. If that gets taken care of, we would definitely be back as we had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Our kids looked forward to the evening entertainment. It was fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
World Traveling Ant
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Aug 9, 2010

Just OK

First of all, it is posted and we were told by the hotel that it is only 35 minutes from Santo Domingo airport which is not true..its more like 50 minutes to an Hour...which is about $65.00 in a taxi.....The hotel itself is beautiful, the pool, the grounds and the staff were great....the food is not..very repetitious and the 3 restaurants that you can reserve are not worth it....you come out better in the main dining area...the all inclusive alcohol is cheap liquor and watered down to make things worse......The off site excursions/tours are pricey, so you need to haggle with the coordinator for the best price..and the Santo Domingo tour was kind of scary...we were in the middle of the slums of the city and felt kind of unsafe, plus there was no opportunity to get any food while on tour......If you want a resort to relax and just enjoy the beach, pool and the shows, this is the place for you...if you desire anything else DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Great Beach Activities

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 3, 2010

Gran Bahia August 2010

The hotel was much prettier than the photos on the internet. The staff was friendly and the food was good. Unfortunately, they have Pepsi products, I love Coca Cola, but they had many other suitable beverages from which to choose. Be advised that if you take a DVD player, the TVs at this hotel do not have the jacks/prongs (red, yellow, white) to hook it up--so you may need some type of adapter. The in room safe cost four dollars per night. It is code operated, so you are not forced to walk around with a key which is nice. The ironing board in the room is one of those tiny table boards not a stand up ironing board, but it worked just fine. No one approached us on the beach trying to sell us things which was especially nice. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Fla
Aug 2, 2010

Not what was expected

Only relaxed, nothing to do there but pool and beach. Food was good, lots of variety. Better shows, better activities especially when it rains since you can't use the pool or beach. Very far from everything. Shopping there was very expensive. No means of leaving the hotel unless you take an excursion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good food, lots of varieties..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teleswitch
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 29, 2010

Survey

Very good Nice personnel Well maintained

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando Florida
Jun 28, 2010

THE GOOD AND THE BAD

The landscaping and the pool area is absolutely beautiful. The maids who service the rooms are extremely helpful and friendly. The waiters were great! ([...] took great care of our family). They appreciate the tips and small gifts. Beach is ok but the beach massage was heavenly. The food is ok and you will find something you like but the variety is not great so it gets old quick. Whatever you do, don't let the lady at the spa cut your hair. My daughter had her hair trimmed and it was so uneven, she had to have her hair recut shorter when we returned home just tofix the mess the beautician made. I overheard another lady complaining about her hair cut too. The staff at the front desk are a joke and definitely need customer service training. Unless you flash your dollars before you ask your question, don't expect much. The front desk manager is not friendly or willing to help you out with anything. My husband, son and son-in-law tipped very well daily but the front desk personnel were just too much to bare. The air conditioner in our room did not work for 2 days. The first night they kept telling us they were working on it. When we called the front desk, their answer to us was "Call us in 20 minutes, it should get cooler. This went on until midnight until my husband (he's a contractor) went downstairs to talk to the repairman and explained to him how to fix the problem. Needless to say, they did not have the parts so we had no air. The next day they tried to say it was cooler but not as cool and we should be ok. It wasn't even blowing cold air. My husband approached a gentleman that we thought could be the manager. Turns out he was the area director of all the Gran Bahia Principes in the Dominican. We explained the air conditioning dilema and bad customer service. We wanted to be on vacation, not argue with thier personnel or fix air conditioners. Within 2 hours our air was fixed and people were hopping. Thank you [...]! I don't think we will go back to the Gran Bahia in La Romana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the phone number of your taxi driver when you arrive in the Dominican and call him direct to get transportation. If you have the hotel call for a taxi, plan to pay 2 to 3 times more. Thankfully we speak Spanish and were able to communicate easily. Scuba diving, golfing and gambling are a 45 minute to 1 hour drive from the hotel. They say they have children activities, but when asked about it, they never seemed to know anything about it. The children's clubhouse has no airconditioning so it is too hot to stay in there with the kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top