$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ctra San Pedro - Romana km 12,, El Soco, La Romana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
79 reviews
Relaxing getaway

The hotel is beautiful! The ocean water is murky but the beach is nice. The people you meet there... See full review

  • Tuck0305
  • Jul 15, 2014
Great Vacation

We were surprised when learned that new Luxury Bahia Principe was opened and we'll stay there.... See full review

  • Tatyana and G
  • Dec 18, 2013
All-inclusive, lively Dominican Republic resort with full spa
An idyllic, all-inclusive property along the Caribbean waters, Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive has pools for adults and children as well as a mini-club for kids, a spa, tennis courts and merengue dancing. Three a la carte restaurants, a buffet and four bars combine with a private beach, health club and a casino as well as an amphitheater where nightly entertainment takes place. A business center, nonmotorized water sports including kayaking, and comfortable guest rooms with stocked minibars are further lures.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive resort with unlimited wining and dining at three al la carte restaurants, a buffet and four bars
  • Beachfront location with pools for both children and adults
  • Nightly entertainment, including merengue dancing
Rooms
All 425 junior suites and two-story villas at Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive have one king or two full-size beds and terraces or balconies overlooking the water or grounds. Cable televisions, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), direct-dial phones and in-room safes are among the highlights, as are air conditioning and bathrooms with jetted tubs and showers, bathrobes, vanity mirrors and hair-dryers. Rooms also have sofa beds as well as stocked minibars, alarm clocks, coffee-makers and complimentary bottled water. Meanwhile, room service is available during limited hours, wakeup calls can be requested and daily housekeeping is provided.
Dining
Meals and beverages at the Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive are included at a buffet and three a la carte restaurants -- one Italian-bent. Additionally, a snack bar affords a casual alternative, and four bars provide places to unwind over tropical drinks.
Recreation
Guests at Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive can relax at two pools, one for children, or read a book in the shaded solarium. A spa, gym, two tennis courts and a paddle court offer ways to pass the time. The same goes for billiards, table tennis and inclusive nonmotorized water sports, such as kayaking. Guests can also opt to relax on the private stretch of white, sandy beach at Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive. Nightly dancing and themed entertainment is held at an on-site amphitheater.
Transportation
  • La Romana International Airport (15.3 mi/25 km)
  • Santo Domingo International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Macao Surf Camp (52.1 mi/83.8 km)
  • Punta Espada Golf Course (53.8 mi/86.6 km)
  • Dressel Divers (54.8 mi/88.2 km)
Policies and fees
All Inclusive: Towel service at the beach and pools, international entertainment program for adults and children (day and night programs), games and organized activities, minibar with water, soft drinks and beer. Refill once a day, special activities for children at Mini club (4-12 years), nonmotorized water sports, sports-1 scuba diving lesson at the pool, gym, free entrance and all local drinks in the disco located in the "pueblo principe," all local taxes in tips, three a la carte dinners per week of stay and previous reservation, to choose among the three restaurants of specialties, unlimited local drinks, beer and soft drinks in all bars of the hotel until 23:00 hours, all local drinks at the disco of Pueblo Principe.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers 1 king bed or 2 Double beds with safety deposit box, extra bed laundry, medical service, telephone calls and fax, services and souvenirs in "Pueblo Principe".
Junior Suite Deluxe
The room includes: 2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) Air conditioning Fully-fitted bathroom with bathtub and hydro massage shower column. Sofa bed LCD satellite TV Ceiling fan Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Telephone (external calls with charge) Alarm clock Iron and ironing board Safe (with charge) Mini-bar (replenishment once a day) Terrace Coffee machine Amplifying mirror. Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in speciality Restaurants per week Private Club House WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Le Gourmet
A la carte Gourmet restaurant.
Il Capriccio
with the best of Italian cuisine
El Pescador
with Mediterranean cuisine
Las Olas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Orquidea
Main buffet restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Margarita lovely
Business
Orlando
Dec 4, 2012

family get away

It was nice but there was a terrible smell in the room, it was like well skeptical smell and also one of the guy the carry suitcases was very NASTY to me in the lobby and made me feel unwelcome was yelling at me very unprofessional,other than that it was great ,food was excellent ,the person at customer services very helful as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet,very polite and helful also a lot variety of food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pituco
Business
Puerto Rico
Dec 1, 2012

It was a good experience but they need to more creative with the shows.

No need to say that it was a great time the one we spent there and we'll be back soon. The service was great all around. Food was good but the quality of the ingredients was average. We figured that being an all inclusive package, they do not use top quality products like prime cuts or top drinkig liquors, but, in general, the hotel facilities and the service is much better than others that we've been in at the Dominican Republic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not use other dining facilities but the main dining room. Service there is, by far, much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VAMA
Business
WASHINGTON, DC
Nov 25, 2012

Family vacation

This is our first time at Bahia Principe La Romana and we were not dissappointed. Our room was very comfortable nice, big and clean, the staff was very friendly specialy entertement team they do make the effort to please gests. The food was good a lot of choises.Only we didn’t expect the water at the beach to be murky, not dirty, just not clear, the beach itself is very well maintained and clean. Overall a relaxing stay and beautiful grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kavita R.
Business
Queens, NY
Oct 3, 2012

Nice Getaway for the Price

The staff at this hotel were amazing. They were so kind, sweet and friendly. I appreciated that and it definitely contributed to the enjoyment of my vacation. The food was average. I was there for 5 days, 4 nights and the food was quite repetitive. The specialty restaurants served the same things over and over and the buffet had the same things every day, with the exception of one night that was "Mexican" themed and there was some variety that night. The pool/pool bar are amazing. I spent most of the days here and I had no complaints. I loved Eduardo and Santiago at the bar!! :) My biggest complaint and one that would cause me to be reluctant about recommending this place were the mosquitoes! They were everywhere, including the rooms. It was impossible to sleep comfortably. There were also all over in the restaurants making it a real nuisance. in summary, I think this hotel is a good value but the mosquito situation really put a damper on things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Definitely book your transportation to and from the airport with the company that you booked your vacation with.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rene Sanchez
Business
Salinas Puerto Rico
Sep 10, 2012

Excellent Vacations

Great Hotel for the price. The staff was amazing. The security in the hotel was great. The food, wonderfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Gourmet restaurant, the lobster was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blanka B
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 19, 2012

Dominican vacation

All the best for the hotel and facility. Beautiful vegetation, meticulous maintenance, clean, polite staff. The only not perfect thing is the the sea at the beach was murky and that while hotel has a dedicated crew to clean the water from sea weeds and other undesirable “stuff”, my daughter got stung jelly fish. She was not the only one. I heard several people complaining. On the other hand the same happened to my other daughter in Jamaica last year. Hotel staff is certainly trying its best to prevent it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Saona island trip is worth goping to.While the beach at Saona is not that impressive (hotel beach ws nicer) the trip in catmaran on a way there and speed boat on a way back is extremly pleasurable. Especially when we stop in the middle of the ocean and the water is 3 feet deep and starfish can be picked by hand.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
elizabeth m
Business
florida
Aug 10, 2012

our vacation

this hotel its not bad but needs more to it. the beach is not good at all not like punta cana. they need more viarity when it comes to the food this dominican republic and would like to see more of there type of food.. the animators are friendly but there show needs work. my famly and i will not be returning to this hotel again the lights when out several times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Check out
Business
Motown
Jul 9, 2012

Check out visit

More positive than expected. Felt safe, professional staff in dress and actions. Landscaping outstanding and real value for price. Will be returning with 30 plus people. Food was plentiful and reflected cultural and pride of chefs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Prices resonable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ikebongo
Business
south amboy, new jersey
Jun 25, 2012

Awesome

One of the best vacations I've ever been on. The place was clean, the food was awesome. They literally didn't cut any corners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Altagracia
Business
San Juan, PR
May 28, 2012

Fantastic

Everything was excellent and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top