$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

3 stars
Ctra San Pedro - Romana km 12,, El Soco, La Romana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
74 reviews
Relaxing getaway

The hotel is beautiful! The ocean water is murky but the beach is nice. The people you meet there... See full review

  • Tuck0305
  • Jul 15, 2014
Great Vacation

We were surprised when learned that new Luxury Bahia Principe was opened and we'll stay there.... See full review

  • Tatyana and G
  • Dec 18, 2013
All-inclusive, lively Dominican Republic resort with full spa
An idyllic, all-inclusive property along the Caribbean waters, Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive has pools for adults and children as well as a mini-club for kids, a spa, tennis courts and merengue dancing. Three a la carte restaurants, a buffet and four bars combine with a private beach, health club and a casino as well as an amphitheater where nightly entertainment takes place. A business center, nonmotorized water sports including kayaking, and comfortable guest rooms with stocked minibars are further lures.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive resort with unlimited wining and dining at three al la carte restaurants, a buffet and four bars
  • Beachfront location with pools for both children and adults
  • Nightly entertainment, including merengue dancing
Rooms
All 425 junior suites and two-story villas at Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive have one king or two full-size beds and terraces or balconies overlooking the water or grounds. Cable televisions, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), direct-dial phones and in-room safes are among the highlights, as are air conditioning and bathrooms with jetted tubs and showers, bathrobes, vanity mirrors and hair-dryers. Rooms also have sofa beds as well as stocked minibars, alarm clocks, coffee-makers and complimentary bottled water. Meanwhile, room service is available during limited hours, wakeup calls can be requested and daily housekeeping is provided.
Dining
Meals and beverages at the Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive are included at a buffet and three a la carte restaurants -- one Italian-bent. Additionally, a snack bar affords a casual alternative, and four bars provide places to unwind over tropical drinks.
Recreation
Guests at Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive can relax at two pools, one for children, or read a book in the shaded solarium. A spa, gym, two tennis courts and a paddle court offer ways to pass the time. The same goes for billiards, table tennis and inclusive nonmotorized water sports, such as kayaking. Guests can also opt to relax on the private stretch of white, sandy beach at Gran Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive. Nightly dancing and themed entertainment is held at an on-site amphitheater.
Transportation
  • La Romana International Airport (15.3 mi/25 km)
  • Santo Domingo International Airport (31 mi/50 km)
Attractions
  • Macao Surf Camp (52.1 mi/83.8 km)
  • Punta Espada Golf Course (53.8 mi/86.6 km)
  • Dressel Divers (54.8 mi/88.2 km)
Policies and fees
All Inclusive: Towel service at the beach and pools, international entertainment program for adults and children (day and night programs), games and organized activities, minibar with water, soft drinks and beer. Refill once a day, special activities for children at Mini club (4-12 years), nonmotorized water sports, sports-1 scuba diving lesson at the pool, gym, free entrance and all local drinks in the disco located in the "pueblo principe," all local taxes in tips, three a la carte dinners per week of stay and previous reservation, to choose among the three restaurants of specialties, unlimited local drinks, beer and soft drinks in all bars of the hotel until 23:00 hours, all local drinks at the disco of Pueblo Principe.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4354 -69.1925
Area served
San Pedro.
Nearby airports
Santo Domingo Airport-50 km (35 Min)
Area description
Located on the south of the Dominican rep, between Santo Domingo and La Romana, by Mortero beach shore.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
The room offers 1 king bed or 2 Double beds with safety deposit box, extra bed laundry, medical service, telephone calls and fax, services and souvenirs in "Pueblo Principe".
Junior Suite Deluxe
The room includes: 2 full-size beds (1.35 m x 2 m) or 1 King-size bed (2 m x 2 m) Air conditioning Fully-fitted bathroom with bathtub and hydro massage shower column. Sofa bed LCD satellite TV Ceiling fan Hair dryer Amplifying mirror Telephone (external calls with charge) Alarm clock Iron and ironing board Safe (with charge) Mini-bar (replenishment once a day) Terrace Coffee machine Amplifying mirror. Towels for the pool and beach in the room upon arrival Bathrobe and slipper service in the room Telephone with private help line Room service (consult timetable) Evening turn-down service VIP Amenities Umbrella Private reception Welcome Cocktail 4 Dinners in speciality Restaurants per week Private Club House WIFI in the room (with charge)

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Le Gourmet
A la carte Gourmet restaurant.
Il Capriccio
with the best of Italian cuisine
El Pescador
with Mediterranean cuisine
Las Olas
Beach buffet restaurant.
Orquidea
Main buffet restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BPL888
Boston Ma
Oct 23, 2013

Excellent Experience

The room was very comfortable and the staff was outstanding. The food at the main restaurant/buffet was plentiful, varied and very good. The separate Gourmet restaurant was outstanding and the service was very attentive. The pool was huge and the beach was peaceful and spacious. We could not find anything at all that was less than excellent. Well done!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an excellent, well run cave tour Cueve de las Maravillas (http://gocaribbean.about.com/od/attract4/gr/LaRomanaCaves.htm) 10 minutes away. It was a great, comfortable walking tour. It is run by a private foundation and is a great, low cost excursion

Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAZ18
MIAMI
Sep 23, 2013

CHEAP & NICE

THE HOTEL IS PRETTY GOOD, VERY MAINTAIN, PEOPLE ARE VERY NICE AND THEY KNOW COUPLE DIFFERENT LANGUAGE! THE ONLY BAD THING AND FOR ME IS VERY IMPORTANT IS THE OCEAN, IT IS NOT THAT GREAT BECAUSE IS NOT CLEAR HAS BARCELO PUNTA CANA! I WONT COME BACK TO LA ROMANA BUT I WILL RESERVE AGAIN ON ANY BAHIA PRINCIPE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

FRENCH COUSING THE BEST!

Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TurkC123
Brooklyn, NY
May 20, 2013

It was cool...

I stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe in Jamaica an absolutely loved it! We stayed at this resort and it was cool but there were a few things that could have been better. While the resort itself was beautiful, there were not that many things for us to do aside from the non-motorized water sports. The staff was absolutely amazing, everyone was so friendly and willing to help perfect my Spanish. However, they also served as the resorts entertainment which became very repetitive and slightly annoying after the second day. At this point we decided to venture off the resort. We missed the opportunity to go on a guided tour, but the staff made arrangements for us to take a taxi and tour La Romana. The food at this resort was kind of whack, as everything seem to be in a brown sauce. Also, I found it pretty strange that there was hardly any traditional Dominican food. I was a little disappointed in the food quality but once we were able to eat at the other restaurants on the resort it wasn't so bad. All in all it was a pretty decent resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Giggles24
New Jersey
Mar 30, 2013

Relaxing Time

I had a great time at the resort. It was close to the airport so the ride was not that long. The whole entire staff was very friendly and had you entertained at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dominican from NY
NY
Jan 9, 2013

Nice Hotel

Very pleased with the beautifull setting, service and cleanliness of the hotel. Amenities were entertaning and pleasant. Food was good, not exellent. Not pleased at all with the recomended french restaurant, the seafood Rest. Was good. Did not get to try the Italian, sorry to choose the french over the italian, it had to be better. Overall had a good time. Good value. Would come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Margarita lovely
Orlando
Dec 4, 2012

family get away

It was nice but there was a terrible smell in the room, it was like well skeptical smell and also one of the guy the carry suitcases was very NASTY to me in the lobby and made me feel unwelcome was yelling at me very unprofessional,other than that it was great ,food was excellent ,the person at customer services very helful as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet,very polite and helful also a lot variety of food.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pituco
Puerto Rico
Dec 1, 2012

It was a good experience but they need to more creative with the shows.

No need to say that it was a great time the one we spent there and we'll be back soon. The service was great all around. Food was good but the quality of the ingredients was average. We figured that being an all inclusive package, they do not use top quality products like prime cuts or top drinkig liquors, but, in general, the hotel facilities and the service is much better than others that we've been in at the Dominican Republic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not use other dining facilities but the main dining room. Service there is, by far, much better.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VAMA
WASHINGTON, DC
Nov 25, 2012

Family vacation

This is our first time at Bahia Principe La Romana and we were not dissappointed. Our room was very comfortable nice, big and clean, the staff was very friendly specialy entertement team they do make the effort to please gests. The food was good a lot of choises.Only we didn’t expect the water at the beach to be murky, not dirty, just not clear, the beach itself is very well maintained and clean. Overall a relaxing stay and beautiful grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kavita R.
Queens, NY
Oct 3, 2012

Nice Getaway for the Price

The staff at this hotel were amazing. They were so kind, sweet and friendly. I appreciated that and it definitely contributed to the enjoyment of my vacation. The food was average. I was there for 5 days, 4 nights and the food was quite repetitive. The specialty restaurants served the same things over and over and the buffet had the same things every day, with the exception of one night that was "Mexican" themed and there was some variety that night. The pool/pool bar are amazing. I spent most of the days here and I had no complaints. I loved Eduardo and Santiago at the bar!! :) My biggest complaint and one that would cause me to be reluctant about recommending this place were the mosquitoes! They were everywhere, including the rooms. It was impossible to sleep comfortably. There were also all over in the restaurants making it a real nuisance. in summary, I think this hotel is a good value but the mosquito situation really put a damper on things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Definitely book your transportation to and from the airport with the company that you booked your vacation with.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rene Sanchez
Salinas Puerto Rico
Sep 10, 2012

Excellent Vacations

Great Hotel for the price. The staff was amazing. The security in the hotel was great. The food, wonderfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Gourmet restaurant, the lobster was great.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search