$362 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Bayahibe, La Romana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
148 reviews
Great First Experience

The Dreams La Romana was an excellent place to visit. As a seasoned traveler the hotel amenities,... See full review

  • Bhaskar Patel
  • Aug 22, 2014
Best of all, the staff

Terrible access road makes you wonder if it is worth your money. Why do they not fix it? Once you... See full review

  • Felipe Birdman
  • Aug 5, 2014
Dominican Republic all-inclusive resort along Caribbean with pools
Situated along the sparkling Caribbean waters on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive exudes luxury with three pools, eight restaurants and endless entertainment and recreation options. Unlimited meals, drinks and entertainment team with elegant guest rooms and suites with stocked minibars and garden, ocean or pool views. Room service is available 24 hours a day for those looking to get away from it all, while seven bars provide another place to unwind.
Highlights
  • Unlimited recreation, entertainment, drinks at seven bars and meals at eight international restaurants
  • Beachfront address with luxury ocean, garden or pool-view rooms
  • Live nightly entertainment, plus a spa and health club
Rooms
All 751 guest rooms at the Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive have one king or two double beds with furnished balconies or terraces overlooking the Caribbean, tropical grounds or pool. Luxury amenities abound, including stocked minibars, alarm clocks with MP3 docking stations and designer toiletries as well as 24-hour room service. Cable televisions, irons and ironing boards, hair-dryers, individual climate control, CD and DVD players, and in-room safes are added comforts. Preferred rooms at Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive offer upgraded amenities, including complimentary wireless Internet access in rooms.
Dining
Eight gourmet dining experiences await at Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive, including a Pan-Asian eatery, stylish seafood spot and candlelit, adults-only French restaurant. Casual options, such as a cafe, espresso bar and poolside pizzeria, are on hand. Additionally, seven bars dot the property.
Recreation
The Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - All Inclusive property features three sun-drenched swimming pools, clubs for kids and teens, and inclusive nonmotorized water sports, such as snorkeling. Also, a spa and heath club are on site.
Transportation
  • La Romana International Airport (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • Punta Cana International Airport (34 mi/54.7 km)
Attractions
  • Punta Espada Golf Course (30.3 mi/48.8 km)
  • Macao Surf Camp (34.9 mi/56.2 km)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Course (35 mi/56.3 km)
Business
  • Exhibit, meeting and conference space for up to 700 people
  • Wireless Internet access throughout function areas (fees may apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

Preferred Club Garden View
Rooms are equipped with: 1 King bed or 2 double beds Air conditioning with in-room climate control bathroom with shower Hair dryer Vanity mirror Scale CD/DVD Player MP3 Docking station alarm clock Coffee/Tea maker Cable TV Iron & Ironing Board Direct dial telephone Private safe Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water, juice, and beer Preferred Club Benefits: Private Preferred Lounge VIP Status and Amenities Upgrade toiletries Concierge Service Private Pool Area Complimentary newspaper in room every day (English or Spanish) Free internet access bringing your own Laptop and Preferred Lounge we provide a PC. Upgraded mini bar serviceDaily, Continental breakfast service at the Lounge. Afternoon hors d'ouvres and exquisite desserts. Up graded Fine Liquors at the Lounge
Suite Garden View
Suites are equipped with: 1King bed Furnished Balcony Air conditioning with in-room climate control Full bathroom with shower and Hydro massage tub Hair dryer Vanity mirror Scale CD/DVD Player MP3 Docking station alarm clock Coffee/Tea maker Flat Screen Cable TV with remote control Iron & Ironing Board Direct dial telephone Private safe Magnetic key door locks Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water, juice, and beer Living room area Flat Screen Cable TV in living room Courtesy bathroom in living room
Preferred Club Partial Ocean View
Rooms are equipped with: 1 King bed or 2 double beds Air conditioning with in-room climate control bathroom with shower Hair dryer Vanity mirror Scale CD/DVD Player MP3 Docking station alarm clock Coffee/Tea maker Cable TV Iron & Ironing Board Direct dial telephone Private safe Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water, juice, and beer Preferred Club Benefits: Private Preferred Lounge VIP Status and Amenities Upgrade toiletries Concierge Service Private Pool Area Complimentary newspaper in room every day (English or Spanish) Free internet access when bringing your own Laptop and Preferred Lounge we provide a PC. Upgraded mini bar service Daily, Continental breakfast service at the Lounge. Afternoon hors d'ouvres and exquisite desserts. Up graded Fine Liquors at the Lounge
Suite Ocean Front
Suites with a stunning ocean front, are equipped with: 1King bed Furnished Balcony Air conditioning with in-room climate control Full bathroom with shower and hydro massage tub Hair dryer Vanity mirror Scale CD/DVD Player MP3 Docking station alarm clock Coffee/Tea maker Flat Screen Cable TV with remote control Iron & Ironing Board Direct dial telephone Private safe Magnetic key door locks Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water, juice, and beer Living room area Flat Screen Cable TV in living room Courtesy bathroom in living room
Deluxe Garden View Room
Rooms are equipped with: 1 King bed or 2 double beds Air conditioning with in-room climate control, bathroom with shower/bathtub, hair dryer, vanity mirror, scale, CD/DVD Player, MP3 docking station, alarm clock Coffee/Tea maker, Cable TV, Iron & Ironing Board, Direct dial telephone, Private safe, Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water, juice, and beer.
Deluxe Partial Ocean View Room
Rooms are equipped with: 1 King bed or 2 double beds Air conditioning with in-room climate control bathroom with shower/bathtub Hair dryer Vanity mirror Scale CD/DVD Player MP3 Docking station alarm clock Coffee/Tea maker Cable TV Iron & Ironing Board Direct dial telephone Private safe Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, bottled water, juice, and beer

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Bordeaux
Gourmet restaurant only for adults. Open for dinner 6.0o pm - 10.00pm
Oceana
Enjoy the cool breze of the Caribbean sea at this Seafood restaurant open for dinner 6.00pm-10.00pm
Jungle
Dominican style, outdoor restaurant subejct to weather conditions. Open from 6.00pm-10.00pm
Pizzeria
Located in the pool area. Open for lunch 11AM -5PM.
Bars
7 Bar serving local and international brands. Our bar are located in: Lobby, Beach, Pool, Swim up Bar, theatre, disco
World Cafe
Our buffet style restaurant features a variety of theme night specialties. Casual attire. Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is from 7AM - 10:30AM / Lunch is from 12PM (NOON) - 2:30PM / Dinner is from 6PM - 10PM, dress is casual elegance.
Portofino
You must experience the fresh, a la carte Italian specialties that are both innovative and traditional. Dress is casual elegance. Open for dinner from 6PM - 10PM.
Himitsu
Enjoy a delicious variety of Pan-Asian specialties Dress is casual attire Open for dinner from 6.30PM - 11PM.
Seaside Grill
Serving a full array of grilled specialties. Open for lunch from 12.00 to 5pm and dinner a la carte from 6PM to 10PM. Dress is casual
El Patio
Mexican specialties open only for dinner from 6.00pm-10.00pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities offering a ballroom and five breakouts, up to 700 people. Professional and experienced service staff is on-site to assist in planning details. To discuss your meeting and incentives needs with our group sales manager, please contact Shirley Sanchez at groups.drelr@dreamsresorts.com

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
YESSE
Business
Bronx, New York, USA
Sep 9, 2011

THE WORST NIGHTMARE OF MY LIFE!!

MOST OF THE HOTEL STAFF ARE FROM HAITI AND NOT THE FRIENDLY DOMINICANS IM USED TO. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ALL. SINCE THE FIRST DAY WE WERE HAVING PROBLEMS. THEY DIDN'T PICK UP US AT THE AIRPORT, WE TOOK A TAXI AND NEVER REFUND OUR MONEY. WHEN WE GOT IN THE ROOM WHILE WE WERE CHANGING A CLEANING LADY WALKED IN AND SAID TO TURN OFF THE TV OR SHE WOULD CALL SECURITY EVEN THOUGH WE WERE IN THE VIP BLACK CARD AREA. WE TOOK A 4 HOURS TOUR, LEFT THE HOTEL AT 3PM AND RETURNED AT 415PM. NEVER WENT WHERE WE SUPPOSED TO GO, INSTEAD TOOK US TO A TOWN WHERE A BUNCH OF HAITIAN KIDS WERE ASKING FOR MONEY AND SINCE WE DIDNT HAVE ANY THEY WERE THROWING ROCKS TO US. WHEN WE TRIED TO SAY SOMETHING THE LEADER WANTED TO FIGHT WITH THE WOMEN.WE ORDERED FOOD TO BE DELIVERED TO THE ROOM IN 30 MINS, INSTEAD THE FOOD GOT TO US 3 HOURS LATER COLD AND THE DRINKS HOT. WENT TO THE CHINESE RESTAURANT TO EAT, 2 GIRLS IN OUR TABLE PASSED OUT WAITING ON THE FOOD BECAUSE THEY WERE STARVING... WE GOT THERE ON A FRIDAY AFTERNOON AND ONLY MANAGE TO GET TO THE BEACH ON MONDAY FOR A FEW. AFTER SO MANY COMPLAINS AS OF COURTESY THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD GIVE US A NICE PACKAGE..ALL WE GOT A SMALL OPENED BOTTLE OF BRUGAL AND SCRATCHED OLD SCHOOL MUSIC CD, INSTEAD OF THE PICTURES AND VIDEO OF THE TOUR WE DID... EVERYWHERE U LOOK ALL YOU SEE PEOPLE COMPLAINING...IT WAS AN HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

PLEASE DON'T DO IT... THEY ARE DANGEROUS AND THEY WOULD TAKE YOUR MONEY EVEN IF YOU CANCEL

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alexbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
Business
NY
Apr 19, 2012

Terrible food

Food is the worst ever, never recommend, don't go, restuarants are terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TangoTT
Business
New York
Dec 2, 2013

2nd time and hated again.

I always give benefit of the doubt, but this was our 2nd and last time staying at this chain. It was 20 of us and many rooms. We all have same feeling as this review. This hotel seemed to hate Russian Americans. Restaurant service was horrible. It usually took 5 times to ask waiter for water. At all restaurants, meet was very hard and not cooked as asked. We've asked for a specific type of liquor and they always brought a cheapest one and not the one we asked for. There were little bugs in all of our rooms. Not all, but most staff was not helpful at all. Beach is horrible and after a volleyball game, all of the players feet was hurting because lack of sand and hard surface on the beach. Beach tables were always dirty and bird dropping on beach lounges in the early morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marcelo Meyer
Business
Chile
Jul 20, 2011

The worst hotel I have been

Embarrassing the hotel. Would not recommend at all. The day we were leaving, my wife walking down the beach where the dirty towels are provided for the change of towels, is electrocuted feet and left with severe pain in the foot and ankle, I also happened the same but does not generate so much pain. Being a 5 star hotel is unacceptable that this happened. The attention of the hotel was terrible, the operations officer did not give an answer that did not correspond to the case, indicating they were checking the area and had not detected anything. I will take a drastic legal action with those responsible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jakey Jakey Big Mistakey
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 29, 2011

Eat before you come

The Good: -The resort is well manicured -The beach is very nice -The weather was good -It was inexpensive The Bad: -The rooms were not all that nice (I would compare them to an older Best Western) -The service was very average and hit or miss -Tipping was expected -Pools closed at 6pm; all bars closed at 2am The Ugly: -The food was the worst I've ever had; absolutely horrendous -They had one type of horrible beer -When you ordered a drink, you were lucky to get what you ordered. The glasses were often dirty. There was no such thing as premium liquors or import beers. Overall, the drinks were absolutly terrible. -The "minibar", if you want to call it that, consisted of the smallest fridge I've ever seen with 2 (TWO!) beers, a bottle of water, and a sprite. Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring your own food and booze. Or better yet, don't come here at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 6, 2010

Not my dream vacation

Poor customer service at Dreams La Romana. Poor location and poor beach area. We were very disappointed in the resort. We even went to Dreams Punta Cana one day to compare and were not allowed to even visit their beach. They took us on a tour of the facilities and then walked us straight to the door after we had driven two hours to visit the hotel. There are too many other very nice vacation destinations to put up with the Dreams. They market La Romana resort as "luxury", but I would consider it "rustic" instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car!!!! Roads and local drivers are awful!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alley2
Business
Queens, New York
May 14, 2014

Not too happy!

The pathway to enter the hotel looks like sleepy hollow. Staff is wonderful and friendly. Hostess in the restaurants are very unfriendly and rude! Some of the staff make up their own rules in the hotel. Family style hotel, NOT for single people. Buffet food is ok, only great night was Dominican night. If you purchase car service they pick you up 3hrs before (la romana airport is just 15mins away). Hotel is not in La Romana its in Bayahibe. It rained every day during my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dominican night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jaferl
Business
Salem, NH, USA
Dec 4, 2011

Go to Ibersotar Hacienda Dominicus

Room temp was 75 degress, reported and was "fixed" about 8 times but temperature never went down. Other options were not given. Sent email to reserve three king size beds and one double, got two doubles and two kings. Variety in food was very limited (I guess I was spoiled at Iberostar back in April). On our first meal, a group of 7 was sat with only 3 napkins, we asked for more three times and never got them, we ended up sharing napkins. First night, went to the buffet, we did not get any drinks at the buffet, were missing 3 water glasses until we got desserts and were never filled with water. I will not continue....as I said on the title, just go to Iberostar, there are no people selling you timshares or excursions and bothering you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bringbackhockey
Business
Boston,Massachusetts
Dec 14, 2012

Beautiful area, lacking service

Speaking as an American, I have been to dreams in Puerta Vallarta Mexico and they were great. However la romana wasn't. Nobody spoke English. It was a struggle to even get a drink. One person we traveled with actually had to draw pictures to help them understand what she was requesting. The concierge is disgusting too. We wanted to golf and the hotel concierge showed us 4 courses. We chose one (la estancia) and booked a 7am tee time and a 6am cab. Te next morning, the cab didn't show. We got to the course at 7 and it was deserted. Finally a man showed up at 715, unlocked the shed and gave us clubs, carts, and 20 range balls that we were later charged 40 bucks for. Once we got our caddy he explained that the whole place was on strike and that resorts were aware. That explained why NO OTHER GOLFERS played between when we teed off and when we left. No restaurant, unkept grounds, empty restaurant. All we got was one girl who came out with a shopping back of Pringles and frosted flakes. The resort denied any wrong doing. They said it wasn't their problem and we were out of luck The food was ok, but you get BLITZED at every corner by people selling you stuff. Cigars, atv trips, zip lining, etc. they're at the pool, beach, and even outside the restaurant It's a shotty operation and there are better options, especially within the dreams chain. Avoid la romana if you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 17, 2008

Expensive day at the beach

The staff is very friendly, if not efficent. Most meals are buffet style, there are some events and the beach is nice, though small. The pools are fun and have a cool swim-up bar. THis vacation is like a cruise ship for those who get seasick. If you live on the coast already, skip it, but if you live in Ohio, this is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top