$346 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Playa Bayahibe, La Romana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kev and Linda
Business
Rehoboth, MA, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Very Nice, but short of great

On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the air conditioner was very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. They do not make guests wear those awful plastic bracelets. You have unlimited visits to any of the seven restaurants on the property. The snorkeling was pretty good. On the negative side there aren't any elevators, so it's a hike up to the third floor rooms. They need to add soundproofing. You can hear too much from the corridor and adjacent rooms. The staff provides the nightly entertainment for most shows. It's a 90 minute ride from the airport to the resort. If this had been our first visit to the Dominican Republic at an all inclusive we would have thought it was really good. However we've been to the Punta Cana area three times and liked it better than La Romana. Punta Cana's attractions, Iberostar Bavaro Resort and Bavaro beach just have that little something extra, and it's a lot closer to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the 4 hour taxi tour to see Casa De Campo, Altas de Chavron and La Romana. We did it through VIP tours. Our guide was Jose Espiritosanto. His english is very good and he was very knowledgable and friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LadySkinsFan87
Business
Aldie, VA
Oct 11, 2011

Weather is here, wish you were beautiful

An overall okay, run of the mill, all-inclusive resort. Weather was beautiful most of the time, but the staff and amenities could've been better. We arrived to glasses of champagne and loads of people to greet us, carry our bags, etc. During our initial meet and greet with the staff, we were then asked if we'd like to take part in a "VIP Breakfast on the Beach," which would be followed with a free bottle of rum. Being a tad younger and still living on a beer budget, of course we sad yes. Cut to the next day, we were sucked into a 90-minute presentation on buying a time share, that's not a time share? Ya, I was a little confused myself. The VIP breakfast was exactly the opposite, we were made to sit with one of their salesperson for an awkward meal at the hotel buffet that everyone else eats at. Finally after 3 hours of our first day was wasted on their dog and pony show, we grabbed our "free" bottle of rum and split. The food was mediocre, however drinks were plentiful. The downfall of this resort is that everyone is trying to sell you something at all times, whether it's a time share or the vendors they allow to come into the resort during cocktail hour to bombard you with cheap jewelry, cigars and paintings. If you want to relax with a good cocktail in hand, then hit the beach and the pool bar, great scenery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelibird
Business
Austin, Texas
Sep 12, 2011

Nice Stay

We stayed 4 nights and had a good time. The location is clean and the staff is nice. We enjoyed meeting other guests and the entertainment team works very hard to get guests involved in daily activities. Overall it was a nice resort but I will probably stay at Playa Dominicus next time because the beach is better there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Casino is fun and has a poker tournament nighty at 10:45.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
YESSE
Business
Bronx, New York, USA
Sep 9, 2011

THE WORST NIGHTMARE OF MY LIFE!!

MOST OF THE HOTEL STAFF ARE FROM HAITI AND NOT THE FRIENDLY DOMINICANS IM USED TO. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ALL. SINCE THE FIRST DAY WE WERE HAVING PROBLEMS. THEY DIDN'T PICK UP US AT THE AIRPORT, WE TOOK A TAXI AND NEVER REFUND OUR MONEY. WHEN WE GOT IN THE ROOM WHILE WE WERE CHANGING A CLEANING LADY WALKED IN AND SAID TO TURN OFF THE TV OR SHE WOULD CALL SECURITY EVEN THOUGH WE WERE IN THE VIP BLACK CARD AREA. WE TOOK A 4 HOURS TOUR, LEFT THE HOTEL AT 3PM AND RETURNED AT 415PM. NEVER WENT WHERE WE SUPPOSED TO GO, INSTEAD TOOK US TO A TOWN WHERE A BUNCH OF HAITIAN KIDS WERE ASKING FOR MONEY AND SINCE WE DIDNT HAVE ANY THEY WERE THROWING ROCKS TO US. WHEN WE TRIED TO SAY SOMETHING THE LEADER WANTED TO FIGHT WITH THE WOMEN.WE ORDERED FOOD TO BE DELIVERED TO THE ROOM IN 30 MINS, INSTEAD THE FOOD GOT TO US 3 HOURS LATER COLD AND THE DRINKS HOT. WENT TO THE CHINESE RESTAURANT TO EAT, 2 GIRLS IN OUR TABLE PASSED OUT WAITING ON THE FOOD BECAUSE THEY WERE STARVING... WE GOT THERE ON A FRIDAY AFTERNOON AND ONLY MANAGE TO GET TO THE BEACH ON MONDAY FOR A FEW. AFTER SO MANY COMPLAINS AS OF COURTESY THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD GIVE US A NICE PACKAGE..ALL WE GOT A SMALL OPENED BOTTLE OF BRUGAL AND SCRATCHED OLD SCHOOL MUSIC CD, INSTEAD OF THE PICTURES AND VIDEO OF THE TOUR WE DID... EVERYWHERE U LOOK ALL YOU SEE PEOPLE COMPLAINING...IT WAS AN HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

PLEASE DON'T DO IT... THEY ARE DANGEROUS AND THEY WOULD TAKE YOUR MONEY EVEN IF YOU CANCEL

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minted Geek
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Excellent hotel in Bayahibe

I was in the Bayahibe area for two weeks diving, and I stayed in 3 different hotels during that time. Dreams was by far the nicest, but it was also the most expensive. The grounds were great, the restaurants were quite good, and the room comfort was excellent. I happened to book my stay under their VIP/Preferred package, which probably contributed somewhat to the improved quality, but the facility was still overall very nice. There is a private check-in and dedicated concierge for the VIP package, as well as a smaller private pool. The package description also listed "premium alcohol", but I honestly didn't notice anything different in the drinks (perhaps you have to explicitly request it). Wifi Internet was widely available everywhere throughout the hotel grounds (including in room, at the pools and on the beach - with reduced signal strength). There is a steep daily charge for the Wifi if you are not in a VIP package; for those the concierge will give you a voucher to give to the Internet cafe so you can get a 24-hour access code at no extra cost. One downside I didn't like was the cost of the taxis. The "downtown" Bayahibe area is quite literally a 10 minute walk from Dreams: out to the beach, make a left, follow the beach until it stops, then follow the sidewalk until you hit beach, then follow the beach until you get to the town. 10 minutes, tops. The hotel wanted to charge me USD $25 for a round trip taxi to Bayahibe. I understand that there is a taxi union here, and controlled access into and out of the hotel, but I doubt 10% of that actually goes to the taxi driver (most DR service workers make the minimum wage or slightly above - about USD $250/mo). So, tip your people in cash and tip them well. It will make a huge difference to their monthly income.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minted Geek
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Excellent hotel in Bayahibe

I was in the Bayahibe area for two weeks diving, and I stayed in 3 different hotels during that time. Dreams was by far the nicest, but it was also the most expensive. The grounds were great, the restaurants were quite good, and the room comfort was excellent. I happened to book my stay under their VIP/Preferred package, which probably contributed somewhat to the improved quality, but the facility was still overall very nice. There is a private check-in and dedicated concierge for the VIP package, as well as a smaller private pool. The package description also listed "premium alcohol", but I honestly didn't notice anything different in the drinks (perhaps you have to explicitly request it). Wifi Internet was widely available everywhere throughout the hotel grounds (including in room, at the pools and on the beach - with reduced signal strength). There is a steep daily charge for the Wifi if you are not in a VIP package; for those the concierge will give you a voucher to give to the Internet cafe so you can get a 24-hour access code at no extra cost. One downside I didn't like was the cost of the taxis. The "downtown" Bayahibe area is quite literally a 10 minute walk from Dreams: out to the beach, make a left, follow the beach until it stops, then follow the sidewalk until you hit beach, then follow the beach until you get to the town. 10 minutes, tops. The hotel wanted to charge me USD $25 for a round trip taxi to Bayahibe. I understand that there is a taxi union here, and controlled access into and out of the hotel, but I doubt 10% of that actually goes to the taxi driver (most DR service workers make the minimum wage or slightly above - about USD $250/mo). So, tip your people in cash and tip them well. It will make a huge difference to their monthly income.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 22, 2011

relxing trip

The service was excellent and the food was delicious, how ever there was not much to do... This resort is more design for couples, not for someone who just want to go away and have fun. Honestly in order for me to have fun i had to drink during my entire stay. An the alcoholic beverage was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marcelo Meyer
Business
Chile
Jul 20, 2011

The worst hotel I have been

Embarrassing the hotel. Would not recommend at all. The day we were leaving, my wife walking down the beach where the dirty towels are provided for the change of towels, is electrocuted feet and left with severe pain in the foot and ankle, I also happened the same but does not generate so much pain. Being a 5 star hotel is unacceptable that this happened. The attention of the hotel was terrible, the operations officer did not give an answer that did not correspond to the case, indicating they were checking the area and had not detected anything. I will take a drastic legal action with those responsible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma.
Jul 17, 2011

spectacular stay!

Great resort service was exellent, room was beautifull and clean, grounds were paradice, only two complaints, food was not so great, need more and better selection, and some sales pressure from staff to attend seminar about buying time share in the hotel chain, besides that an awesome resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dreams La Romana Resort and Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yabucoa, Puerto Rico
Jul 12, 2011

Great stay in paradise!

Our family vacation was great! We went with our three sons which are 21, 18 and 15. They all found something to do and were always entertained. They especially loved the buggy adventure! We enjoyed everything about Dreams La Romana. We can honestly say that it was even better than expected. The only downside (which was not the hotel's fault) was the hour and a half trip from the airport in Santo Domingo to the hotel. Otherwise everything was terrific! We definitely plan on going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buggy Adventure - It might be a good idea to pack something extra, since you do get ALL muddy!!!! My sons loved this trip and would recommend it to anyone. This trip was booked at the hotel with Kingston from alpfi tours. He was a great person also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top