$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bayahibe, La Romana, La Romana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
44 reviews
Great week

The hotel was perfect, exceeded my expectations and i would recomened for family with kids, young... See full review

  • Juan L.
  • Jun 10, 2015
Family vacation

Upon entering the hotel at 3 a.m., the staff were expecting our arrival, making the check-in... See full review

  • snim
  • Apr 14, 2015

Situated on a white sand beach overlooking turquoise Caribbean waters, Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive features stays that include breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as snacks, domestic drinks, nonmotorized water sports and clubs for kids and teens. Guests can participate in organized activities, including aerobics and volleyball, or kick back at the outdoor pools. Other amenities include an airport shuttle (at additional cost), comfortable, air-conditioned guest rooms with balconies and turndown service (at selected rooms), and a spa offering massages(at additional cost) on the beach.

Dining

Seven restaurants and five bars at Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive offer edibles for all manner of traveler, including cravers of Mexican, steakhouse and Italian cuisines. Crepes and ice cream are options, too, and there are numerous places to relax over Caribbean cocktails.

Rooms

All 415 climate-controlled guest rooms and 16 villas at the Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive are accessed via exterior corridors and have one king or two double beds with down blankets. Features range from balconies with garden, courtyard or pool views to satellite televisions, phones with voice mail, safe deposit box and W-Fi access. Cosmetic mirrors, hair-dryers, minibars with bottled water, refrigerators and clock radios are added highlights. Turndown services are offered, and irons and ironing boards are available on request. Meanwhile, upgraded rooms at at the property have bathrobes, slippers, 24-hour room service and LCD televisions.

Highlights
  • All-inclusive property, with meals and drinks at on-site restaurants and bars
  • Pools for both adults and children
  • Dedicated clubs with engaging activities for kids and teens
Nearby attractions
  • Altos de Chavon (15 mi/25 km)
  • Punta Espada Golf Course (29.2 mi/47 km)
  • Punta Blanca Golf Course (34.3 mi/55.2 km)
  • Segway Caribe Eco-Tour (35 mi/56.3 km)
Transportation
  • La Romana International Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Santo Domingo International Airport (56.3 mi/90.6 km)
  • Punta Cana International Airport (62 mi/99.8 km)
Recreation

In addition to pools for adults and children, Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive has a gym and spa. Nonmotorized water sports are included in stays, and everything from aerobics to volleyball and aqua-gym are featured for active travelers. A dedicated club for kids as well as a disco are added diversions, as are table tennis, introductory scuba lessons and archery. Golf courses are within driving distance.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$146
3.4 / 5 55 reviews
★★★★
$224
4.5 / 5 50 reviews
★★★
$173
3.4 / 5 22 reviews
★★★
$136
3.3 / 5 46 reviews
★★★★
$187
4.7 / 5 10 reviews
★★★★
$98
4.0 / 5 3 reviews
★★★
$100
3.0 / 5 61 reviews

Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive Rooms

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Upgraded rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services: private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffe maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to all a la carte restaurants.Bath tub on the terrace & Living room Welcome fruit basket and bottle of sparkling wine.
Comfort Room
The bedding options for this room is one king or two double beds including with airconditioning, terrace or balcony, Plasma LCD cable TV, direct telephone, safety box,Coffe maker, weight scale, fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer and courtesy amenities.Comfort guest bracelet and special discount at the spa and lobster dinner.
Privileged Honeymoon
Upgraded rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services: private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffe maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to all a la carte restaurants. Welcome fruit basket and bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Room
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services: private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffe maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to all a la carte restaurants.
Garden View Room
The bedding options for this room is one king or two double beds including with airconditioning, terrace or balcony, satellite TV, direct telephone, safety box, fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer and courtesy amenities.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Yuca
A la carte restaurant with the traditional caribbean flavour. Air conditioned. Dress code: Casual
Crperie Bretonne
Salty and sweet crpes . A la carte, during the day Dress Code: Informal
Terrace Tapas Restaurant & Lounge
Innovative la carte Spanish Tapas restaurant next to the beach. Exclusive for Privileged Clients for Dinner. Dress Code: Casual
Restaurant "La toscana"
Italian restaurant(only for dinner).the restaurant is Open air,o la carte dinner. Dress code: Casual
Restaurant El Taino
Buffet Style with every night theme dinner. Open for breackfast, lunch and dinner. Dress Code: Brakfast and Lunch " Informal; Dinner - Casual
Pizzeria Sorrento
Enjoy Italian cuisine and wood fired pizzas Open air pizzeria buffet , Lunch (buffet), dinner (a la carte) Dress Code: Breakfast and Lunch " Informal; Dinner - Casual
Restaurant "El Rodeo
Steack House style (only for dinner)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:02 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brenda
Couples
lawrence
Aug 5, 2015

awesome couple's vacay

Beutiful location..food was awsome..beach was gorgeous..staff was very nice but un attentive at times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nani
Single
Newark
Jul 23, 2015

Nice Resort - Food needs work

I liked this resort a lot. The best part was the FREE wifi. The beach was very nice and the resort as well. The worst part was the service. The main bar employees were more busy talking to each other than working the bar. It sometimes took 15 minutes to get beer. BEER! Not for lack of employees but lack of focus. The food needs some serious help! The food court is extremely confusing! There is a VIP area for sitting which tends to have all guests confused as to whether the food near that area is included to all. IT IS! The lack of interaction with the guests from the employees manning these stations is sad. I speak both English and Spanish fluently and sometimes felt like I couldn't communicate! The set-up sucks. The food options are horrible. The friendliness from staff needs an overhaul! On the plus side, there is a whole buffet dedicated to the younger guests which I thought was an amazing idea. In fact, the kids activities seemed to be going on all day and the kids looked as if they were enjoying them immensely. I didn't travel with children and it was good not to feel overpowered by their entertainment. Overall, I would give it another shot and hope they continue making obvious upgrades that were in the works

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yevgeniy M.
Family
N/A
Jul 8, 2015

Nice Family Trip

The grounds are nice and very well kept. The beach is ABSOLUTELY beautiful. The rooms are OK but need renovation. Some room's ACs do not work very well but overall - manageable. The food is not fancy or great variety but is a good quality. The staff is very friendly and pleasant but noticeably not great with English, which was not really a problem for us. Overall we loved the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juan L.
Single
Miami
Jun 10, 2015

Great week

The hotel was perfect, exceeded my expectations and i would recomened for family with kids, young couple or any type of vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snim
Family
Brooklyn
Apr 14, 2015

Family vacation

Upon entering the hotel at 3 a.m., the staff were expecting our arrival, making the check-in smooth. Unfortunately, we were given room 4102 which was below our expectations. When we expressed our concern towards the room, it was changed immediately to 2230. This room was perfect, mini bar stocked. The wifi, considering that it was free, worked well in comparison to other hotels. One concern that I had was with the fitness room. It was small and there was not enough equipment for leg exercise. Overall, the stay at this hotel was so great, that we are considering to come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieLynn
Couples
Dunedin, Florida
Nov 5, 2014

Beautiful beach!

My husband and I planned a getaway to Catalonia and the views were absolutely stunning!! The beach and water were amazing. The hotel was just average. Not many people speak English so we felt as if we were being ignored and treated poorly some of the time. We did not have the privileged wrist bands as well and I think that may have had something to do with the below average service. Beautiful stay though!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron da Don
Friends
Connecticut
Jun 10, 2014

Catalonia

The hotel is very nice and is located about a 15 minute drive from the La Romana Airport. The pool is very nice and warm, I enjoyed it almost every day. The beach was also nice, I was a little swayed when another guests told me about the sea urchin sign. The staff was very attentive, as soon as you finished your drink they'd be giving you another. It's a very nice resort and I enjoyed my stay. Only gripe I had was with the rental car service from the airport. The rental car companies are all located under one desk. Avis,budget,europcar, and one other. I had a horrible experience renting a car and being forced to add insurance only to be charged more than was agreed upon. You might be better of using a shuttle or taxi service from the airport. The rental companies are a joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are huts toward the left side of the beach that offer various trickets for sale. Might be worth of look ;)

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom and daughter besties
Family
New York NY
Jun 3, 2014

Am affordable Paradise

The people are the hotel were very nice, helpful and went the extra mile for us. We had a beautiful stay. There's plenty of activities and amenities provided by the hotel. Cleanliness was excellent. The hotel staff was fluent in many languages such as English Italian Spanish French and German. We hope to be back soon. This is a family and couples hotel do not expect to find spring breakers and party people there. Very nice peaceful and relaxing. Awesome drink varieties, all water and ice is purified.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be aware that people from the local shopping shacks around the hotel area by the beach are very persistent and for lack of a better word, annoying. Name your price and do not let them harass you for money. All the shops have basically all the same things so don't feel like you need to browse too much. The shop karina across the hotel Catalonia is probably the best to visit and not the beach shacks for this is more of a store type experience and they accept all types of debit and credit cards.

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SavannahLady
Couples
Cherry Hill, NJ
Mar 27, 2014

FLY INTO LA ROMANA

Resort is beautiful, if a little dated. Grounds are meticulously maintained. Room is very comfortable. Bath was clean but dated. Some of the staff were bi-lingual but, on the whole, Spanish was the prevalent language. Beach is gorgeous and well-supplied with sun chairs. Lots of activities for guests, but if you are not Spanish speaking, not always practical to participate. We flew into Santa Domingo and had to take a taxi to the location over an hour away. There is an airport in La Romana and it is advised that flights are booked in to that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Fly into La Romana airport.

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sk34
Friends
New York, NY
Mar 19, 2014

Not for Americans!

This hotel caters to Italians. Also to Spanish and French. We were the only Americans. We were greeted and shown the property by our concierge at the front desk in the lobby - who turned out not to work for the hotel but for a time share company. The real concierge was helpful but it took us two days and too much time to figure this out. We booked a boat trip then were told on our way to it that we should not go with the guy we booked with as he was fired that day. We were also sent on a snorkel trip without fins so even though we paid for snorkel for 6 hours, we couldn't snorkel. The TV and the phone in the room didn't work. Booked with air and the hotel was an hour and a half trip from the airport and $200, which was not a hotel issue but not good. We had to pay cash to book activities and transport, nothing was charged through the hotel. All around not a relaxing or enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top