$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bayahibe, La Romana, La Romana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
45 reviews
Great week

The hotel was perfect, exceeded my expectations and i would recomened for family with kids, young... See full review

  • Juan L.
  • Jun 10, 2015
Family vacation

Upon entering the hotel at 3 a.m., the staff were expecting our arrival, making the check-in... See full review

  • snim
  • Apr 14, 2015

Situated on a white sand beach overlooking turquoise Caribbean waters, Catalonia Gran Dominicus - All Inclusive features stays that include breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as snacks, domestic drinks, nonmotorized water sports and clubs for kids and teens. Guests can participate in organized activities, including aerobics and volleyball, or kick back at the outdoor pools. Other amenities include an airport shuttle (at additional cost), comfortable, air-conditioned guest rooms with balconies and turndown service (at selected rooms), and a spa offering massages(at additional cost) on the beach.

Dining

Six restaurants and five bars at the Catalonia Gran Dominicus - All Inclusive offer edibles for all manner of traveler, including cravers of Mexican, steakhouse and Italian cuisines. Crepes and ice cream are options, too, and there are numerous places to relax over Caribbean cocktails.

Rooms

All 415 climate-controlled guest rooms and 16 villas at the Catalonia Gran Dominicus - All Inclusive are accessed via exterior corridors and have one king or two double beds with down blankets. Features range from balconies with garden, courtyard or pool views to cable televisions, phones with voice mail and complimentary wireless Internet access. Cosmetic mirrors, hair-dryers, minibars with bottled water, refrigerators and clock radios are added highlights. Turndown services are offered, and irons and ironing boards are available on request. Meanwhile, upgraded rooms at the Catalonia Gran Dominicus - All Inclusive have bathrobes, slippers, 24-hour room service and LCD televisions.

Highlights
  • All-inclusive property, with meals and drinks at on-site restaurants and bars
  • Pools for both adults and children
  • Dedicated clubs with engaging activities for kids and teens

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive Rooms

Comfort Room
The bedding options for this room is one king or two double beds including with airconditioning, terrace or balcony, Plasma LCD cable TV, direct telephone, safety box,Coffe maker, weight scale, fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer and courtesy amenities.Comfort guest bracelet and special discount at the spa and lobster dinner.
Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suite
Upgraded rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services: private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffe maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to all a la carte restaurants. Welcome fruit basket and bottle of sparkling wine.
Privileged Room
Completely renovated rooms with exclusive up-graded amenities and services: private separate check-in at privileged front desk, exclusive lounge area with coffee break, pillow menu, coffe maker & minibar, bathrobes and slippers, plasma TV, special discounts in some services and preferential access to all a la carte restaurants.
Standard Room
The bedding options for this room is one king or two double beds including with airconditioning, terrace or balcony, satellite TV, direct telephone, safety box, fully equipped bathroom with hairdryer and courtesy amenities.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant "La toscana"
Italian restaurant(only for dinner, with reservation)
Restaurant Club "El Taino"
Buffet Style with every night theme dinner. Open for breackfast, lunch and dinner
Pizzeria "El Patio"
Italian cuisine buffet style (12.30 pm - 02.30 am) Pizzeria in night (11pm - 02am)
Restaurant "El Rodeo
Steack House style (only for dinner, with reservation)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:02 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juan L.
Business
Miami
Jun 10, 2015

Great week

The hotel was perfect, exceeded my expectations and i would recomened for family with kids, young couple or any type of vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snim
Business
Brooklyn
Apr 14, 2015

Family vacation

Upon entering the hotel at 3 a.m., the staff were expecting our arrival, making the check-in smooth. Unfortunately, we were given room 4102 which was below our expectations. When we expressed our concern towards the room, it was changed immediately to 2230. This room was perfect, mini bar stocked. The wifi, considering that it was free, worked well in comparison to other hotels. One concern that I had was with the fitness room. It was small and there was not enough equipment for leg exercise. Overall, the stay at this hotel was so great, that we are considering to come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieLynn
Business
Dunedin, Florida
Nov 5, 2014

Beautiful beach!

My husband and I planned a getaway to Catalonia and the views were absolutely stunning!! The beach and water were amazing. The hotel was just average. Not many people speak English so we felt as if we were being ignored and treated poorly some of the time. We did not have the privileged wrist bands as well and I think that may have had something to do with the below average service. Beautiful stay though!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron da Don
Business
Connecticut
Jun 10, 2014

Catalonia

The hotel is very nice and is located about a 15 minute drive from the La Romana Airport. The pool is very nice and warm, I enjoyed it almost every day. The beach was also nice, I was a little swayed when another guests told me about the sea urchin sign. The staff was very attentive, as soon as you finished your drink they'd be giving you another. It's a very nice resort and I enjoyed my stay. Only gripe I had was with the rental car service from the airport. The rental car companies are all located under one desk. Avis,budget,europcar, and one other. I had a horrible experience renting a car and being forced to add insurance only to be charged more than was agreed upon. You might be better of using a shuttle or taxi service from the airport. The rental companies are a joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are huts toward the left side of the beach that offer various trickets for sale. Might be worth of look ;)

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom and daughter besties
Business
New York NY
Jun 3, 2014

Am affordable Paradise

The people are the hotel were very nice, helpful and went the extra mile for us. We had a beautiful stay. There's plenty of activities and amenities provided by the hotel. Cleanliness was excellent. The hotel staff was fluent in many languages such as English Italian Spanish French and German. We hope to be back soon. This is a family and couples hotel do not expect to find spring breakers and party people there. Very nice peaceful and relaxing. Awesome drink varieties, all water and ice is purified.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be aware that people from the local shopping shacks around the hotel area by the beach are very persistent and for lack of a better word, annoying. Name your price and do not let them harass you for money. All the shops have basically all the same things so don't feel like you need to browse too much. The shop karina across the hotel Catalonia is probably the best to visit and not the beach shacks for this is more of a store type experience and they accept all types of debit and credit cards.

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichelleandAri
Business
Jacksonville, FL
May 28, 2014

Couples getaway!

Amazing place! You have everything you could imagine and much more. Unfortunately out room had plumbin problems and we had to call maintenance several times to fix the sink then the toilet and then the shower. Since we were one there for three days we never asked to change rooms. I'm sure if we would've requested to move they would've. Other than that, can't complain! This place was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Italian restaurant is not authentic so don't expect authentic. Enjoy the carri ran flavored and stick to eating the local food. You won't be disappointed!

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SavannahLady
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Mar 27, 2014

FLY INTO LA ROMANA

Resort is beautiful, if a little dated. Grounds are meticulously maintained. Room is very comfortable. Bath was clean but dated. Some of the staff were bi-lingual but, on the whole, Spanish was the prevalent language. Beach is gorgeous and well-supplied with sun chairs. Lots of activities for guests, but if you are not Spanish speaking, not always practical to participate. We flew into Santa Domingo and had to take a taxi to the location over an hour away. There is an airport in La Romana and it is advised that flights are booked in to that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Fly into La Romana airport.

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sk34
Business
New York, NY
Mar 19, 2014

Not for Americans!

This hotel caters to Italians. Also to Spanish and French. We were the only Americans. We were greeted and shown the property by our concierge at the front desk in the lobby - who turned out not to work for the hotel but for a time share company. The real concierge was helpful but it took us two days and too much time to figure this out. We booked a boat trip then were told on our way to it that we should not go with the guy we booked with as he was fired that day. We were also sent on a snorkel trip without fins so even though we paid for snorkel for 6 hours, we couldn't snorkel. The TV and the phone in the room didn't work. Booked with air and the hotel was an hour and a half trip from the airport and $200, which was not a hotel issue but not good. We had to pay cash to book activities and transport, nothing was charged through the hotel. All around not a relaxing or enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kelvz
Business
New york, ny
Jun 16, 2013

Loved it!!

Great expereience, staff is helpful, always looking out for you and looking for you when something , such as a show is occuring Food was great, room was very spaceious Overall loved it and would go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Catalonia La Romana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
momy s
Business
brooklyn,ny
Apr 8, 2013

nice for the money paid

the hotel was nice, the only think i don't like that bathroom was not close by door and it just on enter to the room, so if people are just friends it is a little bit unconvient, food was nice and every day you can choose whatever you like, and people were very nice and friendly.No any problems with condition in room, we have some leaking in the room, so it was fixed quickly. Water is beautiful. so, i like to stay ther

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top