$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 21, 2015 Check-out: Jan 24, 2015

Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
Villas Del Mar Juan Dolio, Villas Del Juan Dulio, Juan Dolio,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
177 reviews
Gorgeous grounds

The hotel was beautiful, the employees were friendly and the rooms were comfortable. The food was... See full review

  • ElyNyTraveler
  • May 21, 2014
Vacation

It was a wonderful experience, no problems . Overall nice experience, I would recommend this , just... See full review

  • Hardbody2
  • Apr 16, 2014
Tropical haven sparkles in the Dominican Republic

The Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive offers guests a stunning location in Juan Dolio, known for its beautiful Caribbean beaches. This beach resort provides ample space to play, including swimming pools, a disco, amphitheater, tennis courts and water sports facilities. The hotel also provides a 24-hour room service. Buffet breakfasts, lunches and dinners are available at the resort, as well as an a la carte option.

Reasons to stay
  • Impressive location with stunning beaches within walking distance

  • Great entertainment and leisure options: shows, nightclub, pools, water sports (snorkeling, kayaking, diving and more)

  • Large conference rooms for the business set. The resort has three meeting rooms for up to 120 guests.

Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive rooms

The Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive offers guests a choice of double rooms and junior suites. Rooms have one king-size or two queen-size beds, and the Junior Suite has a living room. The rooms are elegantly decorated and feature colorful native artwork. Features such as satellite television, minibar, coffee and tea-making facilities and toiletries are standard.

Things to do nearby

  • Juan Dolio Beach (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Isla Saona (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Los Marlins Golf Course (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Guavaberry Golf and Country Club (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Playa Guayacanes (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Estadio Tetelo Vargas (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Tabacalera De Garcia Cigar Factory (37.2 mi/60 km)
  • Los Haitises National Park (124.2 mi/200 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Double
Room with one king or two queen beds includes spacious, elegantly decorated featuring colorful native artwork. Located in a compound of low rise buildings. Satellite Television, minibar, individually controllable air-conditioning, direct-dial telephone, in-room safe, coffee & tea maker,bath and body amenities and hair dryer.
Suite
Accommodations are bigger than standard rooms, elegantly decorated featuring colorful native artwork. Each room comes equipped with one king size or two full size beds and one sofa-bed, satellite television, minibar, individually controllable air conditioning, direct-dial telephone, in-room safe, coffee & tea maker, bath robes, bath and body amenities and hair dryer.
Junior Suite
Room with one king or two queen beds includes spacious, elegantly decorated featuring colorful native artwork. Satellite Television, minibar, individually controllable air-conditioning, direct-dial telephone, in-room safe, coffee & tea maker, bath robes, bath and body amenities and hair dryer.Also this room has a big terrace with Jacuzzi and a beautiful view of the ocean.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

El Pescador
This buffet-style restaurant with a soft Caribbean breeze offers an abundance of daily selections including an international menu every day of the week, sure to please even the most demanding palates.(Open Breakfast ,Lunch ,Dinner and Snacks).
Chez Fontaine
Specializing in French gourmet cuisine in an intimate and cozy environment where you can enjoy a touch of European cuisine amid the Caribbean. Reservations required. Dinner: 18:30 hrs. to 22:30 hrs.
Amphitheater
Space for 400 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
good time seeker
Business
massachussetts
May 5, 2012

If u sure u can get a room without mole and a good matress,u will have a great vacacions over there

Beginning was bad, did not get the room i reserved, they took me to a room in the back of the hotel with one bed instead of 2, the smell of mole was very bad. after i called to get my money back, they offered me another room after 6 and 1/2 hrs. of wait .it was very nice, i stays for 3 hrs but can't stand another hr. after i turned off the AC, the bathroom floor was wet d/t the humidity of the room and the moles odor was overwhelming . i called the manager again, this time i got a room in the 4th floor without mole. Then, everything was great after that, staff very nice, most of them speak English also. food was good . the restaurants were great. decor really nice.Mattress not comfortable at all. i will go back because the manager and the staffs know me now. they promised me a great room when i am come back . so make sure u call them first let them know u would not take any room with moles and humidity and u need a room with good mattress.Also u better off bring ur own towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

skip the buffet after a day or 2, try the restaurants . or do both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carmen and oscar
Business
Kissimmee, FL
May 4, 2012

Worse hotel in Juan dolio

When we arrrived there was at least 60 people waiting to check in and no one was helful, in top of the 2 hour wait we tha had to go to another line to get the key, staff was extremely rude and not friendly at all. The worse part of it all was when an african american who was a tourist and did not spoke spanish asked a customer service person almost not happy is that was the line to check "it was ridiculous" so she decided to take all his documents and check him in ahead of all the people that had waited their turn just because he was a tourist. SO I made everyone aware and it was not a good turn ot, to me everyone should be treated the same and not because they are american they get special treatment so next time I go to any hotel in DR I wont speak Spanish and will flash my blue passport to the staff so i dont have to wait in line... Really??? awful food and awful entertainment...NEVER AGAIN!!! Ive stayed a many hotels in DR since its my favorite place to travel and this hotel by far did not meet at leat a 2 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlexC1689
Business
Newburgh, NY, USA
May 1, 2012

Perfect for a Short Escape

The staff could not be more friendly or accomodating to your needs. Everyone greets you with a smile! The check-in process is slow, but they hold your bags and allow you to explore the hotel while you wait for your room. The food is nothing spectacular, but it is edible and you get what you pay for. The drinks are abundant and the bartenders make the whole experience fun. There are no water sports available, so this would strictly be a hotel made for relaxation. The pools are clean, the rooms are basic, though the bathrooms could use an update, but overall thanks to the scenery, the staff and the gorgeous weather, I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jslav
Business
massachusettes
Apr 10, 2012

6 friday nights in a row

what a relaxing fun time ! for the money you cant complain . i have read some of the other reviews and some people you just cant make happy. food was great not what your used to at home but embrace it you are in another country after all. the drinks could have been better but they were ok. thanks would go back again. j&s

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2SOT
Business
NJ
Mar 25, 2012

Recent trip to Juan Dolio

The hotel was great and the staff were very friendly and kind. The room was good, the food that was offered was good. The beach was very clean and nice. We plan to return back to the Capella

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We found shopping for gifts to bring back were very cheap and there were alot of good shops in San Pedro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jamier
Business
Bayonne, NJ
Mar 17, 2012

nice grounds, but.............

The grounds was very very nice, but the rest of the hotel (room) was old, moldy, foul, and at times disgusting. The bath tub and sink had cracks, rust on the pipes, the garbage bin was broken, and they never, never gave us towels. We had to call every day to get towels!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You have to make reservations for all of the resturants, except the buffet, which was decent, but not great. I called for reservations each day, and they were always booked! The grounds and exterior of the hotel/grounds was beautiful, but the rooms were horrible!!! The bathroom was rusty, moldy, and downright filthy!! Every day, we had to call to just towels, the service was poor, and slow. We had a leak in the bathtub, the toilet ran constantly, and garbage lid was broken and you did not want to touch it with your fingers. I went through a full can of lysol, just to tolerate the rooms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christina1
Business
NYC
Mar 17, 2012

Couple's Retreat

This was my 2nd time going back to this hotel and it was another good experience for me. We needed to get away from big city life and just relax by a beautiful beach and not worry about anything. The food at the buffet was delicious and the service was fast and courteous. I wouldn't say so for the Olas Grill though, the food there was bad and service was slow. Our original room (3000s) was extremely loud at night next to the discoteca blasting music till at least 2am every night, so we asked for a room change and the staff gave us one in the (1000s) and it was much nicer. Overall very happy with our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rutherforian
Business
Rutherford, NJ
Mar 11, 2012

Great Location, Short drive from Airport

Rooms started with 4 are much nicer. Close to the beach and dining areas. Air conditioning was not working for 3 days, It was fixed after several phone calls. Internet very expensive and hotel has only a pair of computers available. Food and drinks were average. Seafood restaurant was excellent (need reservation, but it is included). Complete different tourist now, a lot of Russians. VENDORS AT THE BEACH ARE VERY ANNOYED. Entertainment was good. Beach very rocky. None aquatic sports . Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring a couple of dollars for tipping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jennezz22
Business
Epping, NH, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Great time

Everything was very nice and the staff was very accommodating..Cant wait to do it again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Capella Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Havingfun
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Hang Out

There are not too many activities for everyone. At night, there are no theatrical shows like I have seen in other hotels. Food is below average and not that much variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make your reservations early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top