$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

3 stars
View map of Vester Farimagsgade 33, Copenhagen, DK-1606

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
23 reviews
Definitely a 3 star and great price

We stayed 2 nights and our stay exceeded our expectations. The hotel was very clean and quiet.... See full review

  • Cathryn 01
  • Jun 7, 2014
Copenhagen Adventure

The Hotel Richmond was a brisk ten minute walk from the Central train station in Copenhagen. The... See full review

  • SKen
  • Dec 23, 2014
Convenient hotel located right in the heart of the Danish Capital

Richmond Hotel Copenhagen is located in Copenhagen's most vibrant area, closely surrounded by all the must-see attractions. The hotel has an elegant and classic atmosphere with a lobby and 24-hour reception bar. The hotel has an Italian restaurant adjoining, with many other eateries offering a range of cuisines located nearby. Guests also benefit from free Internet access, conference facilities, and business center.

Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • 24-hour reception bar
  • On-site restaurant
  • Central location
Rooms

Richmond Hotel Copenhagen has 127 rooms, 106 of which are non-smoking. Rooms feature free Internet access, flat screen television with a wide range of international channels, and data ports. Guests can make themselves refreshments in their rooms with tea and coffee making facilities.

Features

Richmond Hotel Copenhagen's classic and elegant lobby is the ideal place for guests to relax and meet friends, with the reception bar open 24 hours a day. Adjoining the hotel is Il Grappolo Blu hotel offering exclusive Italian gourmet dining and finger food.  

The hotel is ideally located for leisure guests who are holidaying in Copenhagen or business customers looking to wind down at the end of the day and enjoy some time off. Within easy walking distance is Tivoli Gardens, the city's renowned amusement park and pleasure garden and the second oldest in the world. The attraction features rollercoasters, an aquarium, cabaret, concerts, and pantomime. Also close by are City Hall Square, Amalienborg Castle -- the winter home of the Danish royal family -- and Carlsberg Breweries Museum.

Transportation
  • Copenhagen train station (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Oresund Bridge (6.8 mi/11 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Tivoli Gardens (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Halmtorvet Square (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Nyhavn canalside (1.8 mi/3.0 km)
  • The Little Mermaid (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Amalienborg Castle (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
  • Six meeting rooms
  • Maximum 120 delegates

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Richmond Hotel Copenhagen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Richmond Hotel Copenhagen Rooms

Standard Room
Richmond Hotel's 127 rooms offer light and contemporary decorated rooms with flat-screen tv and free wifi for all of our guests that can be used in all areas of the hotel. All rooms have a spacious workplace and when the day is through you can sleep well in our comfortable beds. We always include complimentary breakfast for all of our guests and in our lovely breakfast restaurant we serve a large and delicious full breakfast buffet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Library Garden: 0.2 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.3 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.4 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.6 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.6 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.6 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.6 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.7 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.2 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.3 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.4 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.4 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.5 mi
  • National Museum: 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.6 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.6 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.6 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.6 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.7 mi
  • Stroget: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Indre By: 0.8 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 0.9 mi
  • The Marble Church: 0.9 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.9 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.9 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 1 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 1 mi
  • Fælledparken: 1.1 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1.1 mi
  • Amalienborg: 1.1 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 1.2 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.3 mi
  • Osterport: 1.4 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.4 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 1.5 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 1.5 mi
  • Christiania: 1.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 1.5 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 1.6 mi
  • Copenhagen Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 1.7 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 1.8 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 2 mi
  • Valby: 2.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Richmond Hotel offers conference rooms with standard equipment. We can organize your next meeting/party/dinner according to your wishes and requests.

Dining

Dining
Adjoining to hotel: II Grappolo Blu, Exclusive Italian gourmet dining; 0.7 km from hotel: Bryggeriet Apollo, Steak and Beer House; 0.7 km from hotel: Reef 'n Beef, Australian Cousine; 0.7 km from hotel: Biscaya Tapas Bar, Tapas and wine: 0.9 km from hotel: Copenhagen Corner, Danish/French.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tarh
Business
nj
Feb 22, 2014

Disappointed

When I checked into my room it was freezing. The heat was not working. They offered another room but it was worse than the first. The second night, the staff left the terrace door open and it was even colder. It was also a security breech. My husband had trouble phoning my room (from the States) as the phone would ring with no one picking up and he was often disconnected. I learned that you must put a sign on the outside of the door indicaitng that you want the room made up (towels, etc...). The staff was friendly and nice but the hotel itself needs improvement. The room I stayed in was a good size with a normal size bathroom. The breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Skip the expensive restaurants and try the open faced sandwiches. They are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ellie the traveller
Business
NYC
May 29, 2013

Needs some renovation, especially the bathroom.

The room we were in needs a sprucing up, like new beds and carpeting. The bathroom was the real problem. There was mold on the ceiling and the grout had a lot of mold too. The room size was good with plenty of storage. The breakfast was very nice and there was a computer in the lobby. They also provided free Wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The large department store in Copenhagen has a food court in basement where you can buy good food. There are tables to sit while eating. Also, on the top floor is a hot/cold buffet with comfortable seating. Very reasonable for an expensive city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 17, 2011

Unimpressive

Only 4 blocks from the central rail station, so it's location was reasonably convenient to most things. Of course, with that came the noise of the screeching trains, although that didn't seem to be much of a problem for sleeping. The room was adequate though not impressive. The walls are very thin, and could hear loud music playing from both of my neighbors. Not to mention a constant banging that I finally figured out was the flagpole right outside my room! The room is very stuffy with no ventilation unless you open the door to the balcony walkway; you can't open a window. And other people on the floor can walk in front of your room on the balcony, so I listened to someone yelling in Arabic into his cell phone. The bed was perfectly adequate for one person, although only suitable for two people who truly love each other. The bathroom design was horrible. The sink is effectively in the shower stall, but the shower curtain pulls right in front of the sink. But the shower controls are in the rear of the shower stall, right next to the sink (and right outside the shower curtain). So it's hard to change the temperature, etc, AND you'll get your feet wet if you use the sink after you've taken a shower. Additionally, I was provided with only one towel, and it was a hand towel. The reception people said they wouldn't help with making restaurant reservations, mentioning that they'd had problems in the past of people not showing up at their reserved time (I've never encountered that before from a hotel). Additionally, the WiFi, although free, was intermittent. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet was very good, and included in the hotel stay. Overall, it did the job, but with more rough edges than I'm accustomed to seeing in a downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oscar L
Business
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Aug 13, 2014

Not what we expected

We reserved for 2 nights but we left after the first one. What motivated us to do it wasn't the outdated accommodations of the hotel but the lack of air circulation in the rooms. Rooms don't have either A/C or windows but they instead have a back door that connects to a shared balcony, so the only way we could get some air while sleeping, other than a small fan inside the room, was by leaving the door open at night, which we perceived as unsafe. Sleeping was a duress under the room temperature. Also, we prepaid for a buffet breakfast that was a disaster. Very few items were offered and some of them were not fresh, as the tomatoes and the bread, and others were poorly cooked. The only positive we found out at the end was the attention and assistance received by the front desk personnel, who couldn't do any better with their resources limitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lukey123456
Business
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
Mar 14, 2012

Good location

Basic rooms but a good telly. Shower never seemed to ever get hot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Backpacker1981
Business
Vancouver island
Apr 4, 2013

Great Location!

This property has a very good location and very friendly staff. Breakfast was good (loved the croissants!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UTMike
Business
Olive branch, Mississippi
May 11, 2013

Richmond hotel

This is a good location for sightseeing and eating out. Close to the train station and small grocery 1 block away, great park 1/2 block. The staff were great, friendly and giving local information. The room is basic, nothing extra but had tv and shower, no Kleenex, no real glasses, coffee maker, micro, or fridge. Basic and no complaints. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bostonians travelers
Business
Boston , MA
May 25, 2013

first time in copenhagen

very good location, nice stuff and very good breakfast buffet .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul Kang
Business
Chicago
Aug 29, 2014

OK hotel

Even though Copenhagen is one of the most expensive cities, there must be better hotel with this price range. Hotel is OK to stay but in terms of value for money, I can't help rating this hotel less than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Richmond Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billy boy lone traveller
Business
London England
May 5, 2014

Amazing central location

This hotel is clean and simply furnished,but the location is excellent so close to all major attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A beautiful park is only 30 second walk away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top