Palace Hotel

4 stars
View map of Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen, 1550

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
29 reviews
A great stay

Location is perfect, a 5 minute walk from Copenhagen Station which is 20 minutes from the... See full review

  • secretrraveler
  • Sep 27, 2014
Ideally located in Copenhagen

This hotel is ideally located- across the street from Tivoli, one block from the main shopping... See full review

  • Gypsyfish
  • Jul 15, 2015

The Scandic Palace Hotel offers modern, 4-star service in Copenhagen's historic Town Hall Square. After a renovation in 2008, all rooms offer high quality, modern accommodations behind a traditional façade. All major attractions of the city centre are easily accessible, including Tivoli Gardens and Strøget shopping street. Wireless Internet access is available, some rooms are suitable for disabled access, and children can stay either free or at reduced rates. A certified organic breakfast buffet offers a healthy way to start the day.

Rooms

The Scandic Palace Hotel has 161 rooms, most of which are non-smoking. After a renovation in 2008, all rooms feature a light and airy appearance and a modern design. Room sizes vary from single Standard rooms from 150 sq ft/15 sq m to 558 sq ft/58 sq m suites. Superior rooms and suites all have a Town Hall Square view. Superior Plus rooms feature balconies. All rooms have a hairdryer, safe deposit box, free soft drink mini-bar, flat screen television, work desk, wireless Internet access, and separate bathroom with shower. Accompanied children stay free or at a reduced rate. Room service is available.

Property features

The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The restaurant combines innovation and traditional Nordic food. Healthy options and traditional European dishes are also available. The Scandic Palace Bar serves a wide range of drinks and snacks. The well-equipped gym is free to guests and features weight machines, jogging machines, bikes, weights, and Pilates balls.

 

The Scandic Palace hotel's three meeting rooms can accommodate from 12 to 70 people.

Highlights
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Free access to fitness center
  • Free or reduced-rate children's accommodations
Nearby attractions
  • Tivoli Gardens (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Strøget shopping street (0.4 mi/0.8 km)
  • Halmtorvet Square cafés, bars and clubs (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Nyhavn canalside (1.6 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms (maximum 70)
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Business district (0.6 mi/1.0km)
Transportation
  • Central train station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (6.3 mi/10.0 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palace Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Palace Hotel Rooms

Economy
Our economy rooms are between 15-17 sqm with carpet floor. The rooms are equipped with armchair and table and bathroom with bathtub.
Room
Our standard rooms are between 17-22 sqm and equipped with armchair and table, minibar, bathroom with bathtub and safe deposit box. Queen or twin bed.
Superior
The superior romms are between 21-33 sqm equipped with armchair and table, bathroom with bathtub, minibar and safe deposit box. King or twin bed.
Suite
The suites are between 49-58 sqm big and all have king bed and minibar and safe deposit box.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Danish Design Centre: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.2 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.3 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.5 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.5 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.2 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.3 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.5 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.5 mi
  • Indre By: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.7 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.7 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.8 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Amalienborg: 0.8 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 1 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 1 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1.1 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.1 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.2 mi
  • The Marble Church: 1.2 mi
  • Christiania: 1.2 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 1.2 mi
  • Fælledparken: 1.2 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Osterport: 1.3 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 1.3 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 1.5 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 1.6 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 1.6 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 1.7 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 1.8 mi
  • Copenhagen Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Oresund Bridge: 2.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
International Brasserie style.
Bar
International bar with various cocktails and food.
Breakfast
International Buffet served from Monday to Sunday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Palace Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trog
Business
Virginia
Jul 13, 2012

Excellent Value for the Money

I needed to extend my stay in Copenhagen by one day prior to starting my trip. I was already booked for five nights at the Radisson Blu and decided instead of extending my stay there at a higher room rate to try another hotel. On previous trips I had stayed at the Plaza and the Square, but generally booked at the Radisson. The Palace room and bed was much larger than what I had settled for at the Radisson, and the room, having been smartly renovated, was, frankly, more comfortable than the accommodation at the Radisson. It was convenient having access to Fitness DK while staying at the Radisson but I think I would come out well ahead by staying at the Palace and purchasing day passes for the fitness center. I definitely will look into staying at the Palace next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen from GA
Business
Valdosta, Georgia
Aug 17, 2012

Great hotel and great location

The location of this hotel couldn't have been any better. It was right around the corner from the walking street and right across from town hall square. We did find the chimes from the clock tower across the street to be somewhat annoying, but at least they stopped for a few hours during the night. The room was very clean and modern, and having A/C was a plus, as it was quite warm while we were in Copenhagen. I have stayed in many hotels in and around Copenhagen, and this was by far the best location to be in. Buses were right across the street, and the central train station was within walking distance. My only complaint has nothing to do with the hotel. It seems the entire city of Copenhagen is undergoing renovation/construction. We had to maneuver around all of it when trying to get around town, and as I have always loved the sights in Copenhagen, was disappointed to see it all torn up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 7-11 within a minute walk from the hotel. We saved a lot by getting drinks and snacks there instead of buying from the mini-bar in the room. There are countless restaurants within walking distance which are more reasonable than the hotel restaurant.

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
globalceo
Business
fort lauderdale, fl
Oct 3, 2012

Location Location Location!

Loved it. ALL of it. every part of my stay exceeded my expectations. Beds are super comfy. Best hotel gym ever... small but all the machines are top of the line and in brand new condition. I'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zurine
Business
Atlanta
Jun 4, 2013

Great hotel, PERFECT location!!!

This hotel was amazing! Staff is so nice and helpful. The hotel location can't be better, you are in the heart of the tourist area, near to shops and restaurants and just one block away of the train station! We absolutely loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun40
Business
Somerset
Oct 31, 2013

Excellent location and wonderful staff

Stayed here for two nights (11-13 October 2013), very good location for Tivoli Gardens, Stroget (shopping), museums/castles and Nyhaun. We easily walked everywhere. Hotel very good and staff were excellent. Fantastic breakfast, both cooked and continental.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Huks Fluks at Grabrodretorv 8). Had a very enjoyable lunch here. Also in the same square there are lots of other restaurants e.g. a great French restaurant for dinner.

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron from ronnie world.
Business
Winter Springs, FL
Jul 3, 2009

Perfect location and more

Excellent location in center city and you can walk to every thing you need to see for the most part. Some of the city tours also start at this location. Rooms were very modern and clean despite the outside appearance. The renovation was more like a complete rebuild and much better than most U.S. type hotel renovations. However, the old charm is still maintained. The free inclusive breakfast was good and certainly more comprehensive than most U.S. type free inclusive breakfasts. This is currently also a Holland America hotel choice thus you can see many cruise travelers. However, this can sometimes be a little much during breakfast times. Keep in mind that Copenhagen is expensive in comparison thus breakfast is of value. Service was outstanding and friendly. You can even borrow a bicycle from the Hotel. The only real complaint is the church bell next door. It does not stop till midnight and is back on at 8:00 AM in the morning. I personally could not sleep until the bell stops at midnight. Also keep in mind that the church bell will make noise every 15 minutes. Do NOT change currency in the shopping district. Best currency exchange is at airport and train station close to Hotel. The reason for my stay was a baltic cruise vacation and you can take the train from airport to hotel cheap. I also took bus from hotel to cruise terminal and once more cheap. I wanted to be part of the locals and this is the way to do it. I'm definitely coming back to Copenhagen. Most European hotels do NOT allow early check-in. Be prepared to do some thing else if you arrive early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The old shopping district with cafes etc. starts right outside your hotel. Two right turns leaving the hotel and just walk. At the end of the primary shopping district you will see numerous restaurants on thee water and this is also the starting point of boat tours. This is once more the place to be and take the boat tours.

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chadds Ford, PA
Feb 5, 2010

Surprisingly large and modern room

Breakfast was excellent in terms of choice and quality. Conveniently located to shopping streets and restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GPP
Business
New york City
Mar 24, 2010

Scandic Palace Hotel

I had a great experience. My flight arrived from the US at 7 am and I went to the hotel at 8 am and my room was already available and i have the opportunity to have breakfasr that morning in the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located in the central plaza and in a walking diatance of all major atractions in Copenhagen

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim World Traveler
Business
Normal, IL
Feb 24, 2010

Great quality in an unbeatable location

We were initially concerned about the location but turned out you could not pick a better one. It's sits right on the edge oh the old town and easily ithin walking distance of all the great historical sites. It is minutes away from the train station and the metrol. We took the train over to Marmol, Sweden, a great bonus. The accomodations were wonderful and the staff unbelievably friendly and helpful. Our flight from Copenhagen was canceled and the staff went out of their way to help us contact the airline and others. We took advantage of the city tour and castle tour which depart from the front of the hotel. Restaurants of all prices were only minutes away. The included breakfast was a veritable smorgasbord and we needed only one other meal eac day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NABC
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 4, 2011

The Scandic Palace

We had a brief but lovely stay at the Palace. People were friendly and helpful, location right by City Hall and the Tivoli Gardens. Square across the street was lively and fun to watch from our 4th floor balcony. The hotel was recently refurbished, and extremely comfortable--best shower I had in Europe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top