$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Palace Hotel

4 stars
Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen, 1550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
36 reviews
Excellent location and wonderful staff

Stayed here for two nights (11-13 October 2013), very good location for Tivoli Gardens, Stroget... See full review

  • Fun40
  • Oct 31, 2013
Great hotel, PERFECT location!!!

This hotel was amazing! Staff is so nice and helpful. The hotel location can't be better, you are... See full review

  • Zurine
  • Jun 4, 2013
Newly renovated hotel in Copenhagen’s historic Town Hall Square

The Scandic Palace Hotel offers modern, 4-star service in Copenhagen's historic Town Hall Square. After a renovation in 2008, all rooms offer high quality, modern accommodations behind a traditional façade. All major attractions of the city centre are easily accessible, including Tivoli Gardens and Strøget shopping street. Wireless Internet access is available, some rooms are suitable for disabled access, and children can stay either free or at reduced rates. A certified organic breakfast buffet offers a healthy way to start the day.

Highlights
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Free access to fitness center
  • Free or reduced-rate children's accommodations
Rooms

The Scandic Palace Hotel has 161 rooms, most of which are non-smoking. After a renovation in 2008, all rooms feature a light and airy appearance and a modern design. Room sizes vary from single Standard rooms from 150 sq ft/15 sq m to 558 sq ft/58 sq m suites. Superior rooms and suites all have a Town Hall Square view. Superior Plus rooms feature balconies. All rooms have a hairdryer, safe deposit box, free soft drink mini-bar, flat screen television, work desk, wireless Internet access, and separate bathroom with shower. Accompanied children stay free or at a reduced rate. Room service is available.

Features

The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The restaurant combines innovation and traditional Nordic food. Healthy options and traditional European dishes are also available. The Scandic Palace Bar serves a wide range of drinks and snacks. The well-equipped gym is free to guests and features weight machines, jogging machines, bikes, weights, and Pilates balls.

 

The Scandic Palace hotel's three meeting rooms can accommodate from 12 to 70 people.

Transportation
  • Central train station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (6.3 mi/10.0 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Tivoli Gardens (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Strøget shopping street (0.4 mi/0.8 km)
  • Halmtorvet Square cafés, bars and clubs (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Nyhavn canalside (1.6 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms (maximum 70)
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Business district (0.6 mi/1.0km)

Hotel Map

55.6761 12.5701
Area description
Airport, 10km

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palace Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Palace Hotel Rooms

Economy
Our economy rooms are between 15-17 sqm with carpet floor. The rooms are equipped with armchair and table and bathroom with bathtub.
Room
Our standard rooms are between 17-22 sqm and equipped with armchair and table, minibar, bathroom with bathtub and safe deposit box. Queen or twin bed.
Superior
The superior romms are between 21-33 sqm equipped with armchair and table, bathroom with bathtub, minibar and safe deposit box. King or twin bed.
Suite
The suites are between 49-58 sqm big and all have king bed and minibar and safe deposit box.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Danish Design Centre: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.2 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.3 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.5 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.5 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.2 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.3 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.5 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.5 mi
  • Indre By: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.7 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.7 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.8 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Nyhavn: 0.8 mi
  • Frederiksberg: 0.9 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 1 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 1 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1.1 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.1 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.2 mi
  • The Marble Church: 1.2 mi
  • Christiania: 1.2 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 1.2 mi
  • Fælledparken: 1.2 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Osterport: 1.3 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 1.3 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 1.5 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 1.6 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 1.6 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 1.7 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 1.8 mi
  • Copenhagen Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.9 mi

Dining

Restaurant
International Brasserie style.
Bar
International bar with various cocktails and food.
Breakfast
International Buffet served from Monday to Sunday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Palace Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sal the traveler
Montgomery, Al.
Jul 18, 2012

Terrible night

Our room was a three person room with balcony facing the main square. Big construction project right in front of hotel; dust, noise, and spoiled view. The city hall has a clock that rings bells every 15 minutes until midnight. Amateur musicians play music all night, with loud speakers, on the main square. Avoid this hotel and any other facing the city hall square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trog
Virginia
Jul 13, 2012

Excellent Value for the Money

I needed to extend my stay in Copenhagen by one day prior to starting my trip. I was already booked for five nights at the Radisson Blu and decided instead of extending my stay there at a higher room rate to try another hotel. On previous trips I had stayed at the Plaza and the Square, but generally booked at the Radisson. The Palace room and bed was much larger than what I had settled for at the Radisson, and the room, having been smartly renovated, was, frankly, more comfortable than the accommodation at the Radisson. It was convenient having access to Fitness DK while staying at the Radisson but I think I would come out well ahead by staying at the Palace and purchasing day passes for the fitness center. I definitely will look into staying at the Palace next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mercy me
Seattle
Jun 26, 2012

Pre-cruise hotel

We were upgraded to a newly remodeled room which was very comfortable. It had a bed in a loft which was different. Needed to be careful when using the stairs to/from it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shops and great restaurants just around the corner.

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SPG Gold
Denver, CO
Jun 8, 2012

Nice hotel but

The location and roon were great and the staff was very nice, but I had several bad experiences; first my room was not ready so I was offered to upgrade to a more expensive room for 300 Kr per day with a view and a bit larger, my choice and I did, the view was of the square which would normally be nice but there was construction and every morning by 7:30 there were cranes and jackhammer working, they could have told me, then they didn't want to switch my room, said nothing available, my room safe malfunctioned and my valuables were locked in my safe for 2 days before they could get a locksmith

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast is advertised as included but is not

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NABC
Massachusetts
Sep 4, 2011

The Scandic Palace

We had a brief but lovely stay at the Palace. People were friendly and helpful, location right by City Hall and the Tivoli Gardens. Square across the street was lively and fun to watch from our 4th floor balcony. The hotel was recently refurbished, and extremely comfortable--best shower I had in Europe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NABC
Massachusetts
Sep 4, 2011

The Scandic Palace

We had a brief but lovely stay at the Palace. People were friendly and helpful, location right by City Hall and the Tivoli Gardens. Square across the street was lively and fun to watch from our 4th floor balcony. The hotel was recently refurbished, and extremely comfortable--best shower I had in Europe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCZH
Washington DC
Aug 24, 2011

Check city calendar to enjoy!

Great hotel in a fantastic location. To really enjoy, however, check the city's festival calendar! During our stay in a balcony room overlooking City Hall Square, there was a festival with huge crowds and window-rattling techno music with speakers directed at the hotel. Two pieces of good news: the city shuts down music at 11 pm and, when the festival left town, we enjoyed the view and balcony to the fullest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the train from the airport to Central Station in Copenhagen. Inexpensive and, if your hotel is near Tivoli/Rudhaus Plaza, an easy walk even with luggage.

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCZH
Washington DC
Aug 24, 2011

Check city calendar to enjoy!

Great hotel in a fantastic location. To really enjoy, however, check the city's festival calendar! During our stay in a balcony room overlooking City Hall Square, there was a festival with huge crowds and window-rattling techno music with speakers directed at the hotel. Two pieces of good news: the city shuts down music at 11 pm and, when the festival left town, we enjoyed the view and balcony to the fullest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the train from the airport to Central Station in Copenhagen. Inexpensive and, if your hotel is near Tivoli/Rudhaus Plaza, an easy walk even with luggage.

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 11, 2011

Great Location!

Great value -- no charges at check-out out when I was expecting to pay for the local calls and WIFI use for 4 days. Breakfast was included and provided a healthy and nourishing start for each day. Efficient, polite staff all around. Location is convenient if you're coming in from the airport by train. And from the Central Station, you have access to anywhere in Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Herman inside the Nimb is superb; ask for Emil. Noma is almost an hour away on foot.

Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 11, 2011

Great Location!

Great value -- no charges at check-out out when I was expecting to pay for the local calls and WIFI use for 4 days. Breakfast was included and provided a healthy and nourishing start for each day. Efficient, polite staff all around. Location is convenient if you're coming in from the airport by train. And from the Central Station, you have access to anywhere in Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Herman inside the Nimb is superb; ask for Emil. Noma is almost an hour away on foot.

Back to menu Return to top