$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Palace Hotel

4 stars
Raadhuspladsen 57, Copenhagen, 1550
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
29 reviews
A great stay

Location is perfect, a 5 minute walk from Copenhagen Station which is 20 minutes from the... See full review

  • secretrraveler
  • Sep 27, 2014
Excellent location and wonderful staff

Stayed here for two nights (11-13 October 2013), very good location for Tivoli Gardens, Stroget... See full review

  • Fun40
  • Oct 31, 2013
Newly renovated hotel in Copenhagen’s historic Town Hall Square

The Scandic Palace Hotel offers modern, 4-star service in Copenhagen's historic Town Hall Square. After a renovation in 2008, all rooms offer high quality, modern accommodations behind a traditional façade. All major attractions of the city centre are easily accessible, including Tivoli Gardens and Strøget shopping street. Wireless Internet access is available, some rooms are suitable for disabled access, and children can stay either free or at reduced rates. A certified organic breakfast buffet offers a healthy way to start the day.

Highlights
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Free access to fitness center
  • Free or reduced-rate children's accommodations
Rooms

The Scandic Palace Hotel has 161 rooms, most of which are non-smoking. After a renovation in 2008, all rooms feature a light and airy appearance and a modern design. Room sizes vary from single Standard rooms from 150 sq ft/15 sq m to 558 sq ft/58 sq m suites. Superior rooms and suites all have a Town Hall Square view. Superior Plus rooms feature balconies. All rooms have a hairdryer, safe deposit box, free soft drink mini-bar, flat screen television, work desk, wireless Internet access, and separate bathroom with shower. Accompanied children stay free or at a reduced rate. Room service is available.

Features

The Restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The restaurant combines innovation and traditional Nordic food. Healthy options and traditional European dishes are also available. The Scandic Palace Bar serves a wide range of drinks and snacks. The well-equipped gym is free to guests and features weight machines, jogging machines, bikes, weights, and Pilates balls.

 

The Scandic Palace hotel's three meeting rooms can accommodate from 12 to 70 people.

Transportation
  • Central train station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (6.3 mi/10.0 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Tivoli Gardens (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • National Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Strøget shopping street (0.4 mi/0.8 km)
  • Halmtorvet Square cafés, bars and clubs (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Nyhavn canalside (1.6 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms (maximum 70)
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Business district (0.6 mi/1.0km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Palace Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Palace Hotel Rooms

Economy
Our economy rooms are between 15-17 sqm with carpet floor. The rooms are equipped with armchair and table and bathroom with bathtub.
Room
Our standard rooms are between 17-22 sqm and equipped with armchair and table, minibar, bathroom with bathtub and safe deposit box. Queen or twin bed.
Superior
The superior romms are between 21-33 sqm equipped with armchair and table, bathroom with bathtub, minibar and safe deposit box. King or twin bed.
Suite
The suites are between 49-58 sqm big and all have king bed and minibar and safe deposit box.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room

Nearby points of interest

  • Danish Design Centre: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.2 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.3 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.5 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.5 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.2 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.2 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.3 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.5 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.5 mi
  • Indre By: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.7 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.7 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.8 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Amalienborg: 0.8 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 1 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 1 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1.1 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.1 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.2 mi
  • The Marble Church: 1.2 mi
  • Christiania: 1.2 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 1.2 mi
  • Fælledparken: 1.2 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Osterport: 1.3 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 1.3 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 1.5 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 1.6 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 1.6 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 1.7 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 1.8 mi
  • Copenhagen Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Oresund Bridge: 2.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
International Brasserie style.
Bar
International bar with various cocktails and food.
Breakfast
International Buffet served from Monday to Sunday

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Palace Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DiscriminatingTraveler
Business
St.Paul, MN
Nov 21, 2012

Good stay.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is central to everything. The breakfast is really good. The room was pleasant with a good shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
globalceo
Business
fort lauderdale, fl
Oct 3, 2012

Location Location Location!

Loved it. ALL of it. every part of my stay exceeded my expectations. Beds are super comfy. Best hotel gym ever... small but all the machines are top of the line and in brand new condition. I'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bay Area Biz Traveler
Business
Bay Area, California
Aug 18, 2012

Convenient location on town square

Hotel is located on main town square, close to Tivoli Gardens. When I visited, there was a week-long Pride Celebration in the square, with super loud music till 11pm. My room faced the square and the windows are very thin, so it was loud in the room too. There is construction just outside the hotel (a garden is being installed in the town square), so for the next few months it is a little messy to get in/out. And there is a lot of construction throughout Copenhagen, so I was awakened by jack hammers at 5:00am. The king superior room was fine. It was clean and functional. The wifi signal was weak near the desk, but fine when I moved to the bed. For travelers who just need a comfortable place to sleep, the hotel is fine. But it is pricey for what you get, and the windows allow a lot of noise from outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen from GA
Business
Valdosta, Georgia
Aug 17, 2012

Great hotel and great location

The location of this hotel couldn't have been any better. It was right around the corner from the walking street and right across from town hall square. We did find the chimes from the clock tower across the street to be somewhat annoying, but at least they stopped for a few hours during the night. The room was very clean and modern, and having A/C was a plus, as it was quite warm while we were in Copenhagen. I have stayed in many hotels in and around Copenhagen, and this was by far the best location to be in. Buses were right across the street, and the central train station was within walking distance. My only complaint has nothing to do with the hotel. It seems the entire city of Copenhagen is undergoing renovation/construction. We had to maneuver around all of it when trying to get around town, and as I have always loved the sights in Copenhagen, was disappointed to see it all torn up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 7-11 within a minute walk from the hotel. We saved a lot by getting drinks and snacks there instead of buying from the mini-bar in the room. There are countless restaurants within walking distance which are more reasonable than the hotel restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sal the traveler
Business
Montgomery, Al.
Jul 18, 2012

Terrible night

Our room was a three person room with balcony facing the main square. Big construction project right in front of hotel; dust, noise, and spoiled view. The city hall has a clock that rings bells every 15 minutes until midnight. Amateur musicians play music all night, with loud speakers, on the main square. Avoid this hotel and any other facing the city hall square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trog
Business
Virginia
Jul 13, 2012

Excellent Value for the Money

I needed to extend my stay in Copenhagen by one day prior to starting my trip. I was already booked for five nights at the Radisson Blu and decided instead of extending my stay there at a higher room rate to try another hotel. On previous trips I had stayed at the Plaza and the Square, but generally booked at the Radisson. The Palace room and bed was much larger than what I had settled for at the Radisson, and the room, having been smartly renovated, was, frankly, more comfortable than the accommodation at the Radisson. It was convenient having access to Fitness DK while staying at the Radisson but I think I would come out well ahead by staying at the Palace and purchasing day passes for the fitness center. I definitely will look into staying at the Palace next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mercy me
Business
Seattle
Jun 26, 2012

Pre-cruise hotel

We were upgraded to a newly remodeled room which was very comfortable. It had a bed in a loft which was different. Needed to be careful when using the stairs to/from it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shops and great restaurants just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SPG Gold
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 8, 2012

Nice hotel but

The location and roon were great and the staff was very nice, but I had several bad experiences; first my room was not ready so I was offered to upgrade to a more expensive room for 300 Kr per day with a view and a bit larger, my choice and I did, the view was of the square which would normally be nice but there was construction and every morning by 7:30 there were cranes and jackhammer working, they could have told me, then they didn't want to switch my room, said nothing available, my room safe malfunctioned and my valuables were locked in my safe for 2 days before they could get a locksmith

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast is advertised as included but is not

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NABC
Business
Massachusetts
Sep 4, 2011

The Scandic Palace

We had a brief but lovely stay at the Palace. People were friendly and helpful, location right by City Hall and the Tivoli Gardens. Square across the street was lively and fun to watch from our 4th floor balcony. The hotel was recently refurbished, and extremely comfortable--best shower I had in Europe!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Palace Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCZH
Business
Washington DC
Aug 24, 2011

Check city calendar to enjoy!

Great hotel in a fantastic location. To really enjoy, however, check the city's festival calendar! During our stay in a balcony room overlooking City Hall Square, there was a festival with huge crowds and window-rattling techno music with speakers directed at the hotel. Two pieces of good news: the city shuts down music at 11 pm and, when the festival left town, we enjoyed the view and balcony to the fullest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the train from the airport to Central Station in Copenhagen. Inexpensive and, if your hotel is near Tivoli/Rudhaus Plaza, an easy walk even with luggage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top