$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Opera Hotel Copenhagen

3 stars
View map of Tordenskjoldsgade 15, Copenhagen, 1055

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJC2
Couples
Virginia
Jul 5, 2012

Great location and wonderful breakfast

This hotel is easy to reach by subway from the airport and is ideally located to explore the city by foot, bus or boat. The breakfast is very full of Danish specialties and will get anyone through to a late lunch. The room was small but comfortable. I would probably upgrade on my next visit. Staff was helpful with suggestions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Elk Restaurant in Nyhavn offers a nice lunch selection of traditional herring dishes at a reasonable price.

Review of Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
RHE,CA
Jul 21, 2011

Right near everything

This was a great little hotel. Near everything and the breastfast was good. Rooms a little small but we were not in them much, out and about.Could get a little noisy.Over all a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Nevada
Jun 5, 2011

Opera Hotel - Copenhagen

The hotel was friendly and clean we chose it because each room had it own bathroom, relative inexpensive and within walking distance to down-town. The location is better than we hoped for, one block from nye harbor, a ten minute walk from tivili and a few blocks from the palace. Breakfast was great. The guests were mostly Scandinavian, we were the only Americans we saw at breakfast. Overall a good experience. (The royal opera moved so the opera hotel is without the royal opera).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The harbor dining is reasonable priced compared to the other tourist attractions.

Review of Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rando Polo
Single
Atlanta, Ga., USA
Mar 9, 2011

Good, clean room.

While not a luxury hotel, I had a good experience. It is very well located. Near CPH metro, Nyhavn and other attactions. Clean room and bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Virginia USA
Feb 7, 2011

Very satisfied

Great location in walking distance within most of the interesting places in Copenhagen. Very helpful staff. Clean and fully adequate room, although quite small and a bit worn down. Breakfast was very good. Overall a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swan Laker
Couples
Boston, MA
Nov 10, 2010

European

We went to Copenhagen to go to the ballet and this hotel was right around the corner in a very convenient location for most things. The room was small as they often are in Europe, but very comfortable with excellent beds, quilts top and bottom, in the northern European style. It is an old hotel with a cosy wood panelled lobby. The food in Copenhagen is extraordinarily expensive if you're on an American dollar and in that light the breakfast is a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

At the moment many Danish restaurants (and the railway at the airport) require that you have a pin code in order to use your credit card, which posed some problems for us as we had none that we knew. This can be solved by either having one, or using your bank card as a debit card.

Review of Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doomster
Single
Sunnyvale, CA
Oct 12, 2010

You get what you pay for

My friend reserved rooms at Hotel Opera because it was centrally located and it was relatively cheap (for Copenhagen). The staff was friendly but the hotel is old. The carpets are worn. Thin walls so you can hear the person in the room next to you snoring. Not well insulated and the heat didn't work. I've been to Europe before so the quality of hotels in Europe do not surprise me. This is a typical European 3-star hotel, which is a step below a Motel 6 in the US. I couldn't stay any longer so I transferred to the First Hotel Vesterbro instead. That hotel is nicer, but about $200/night. Worth it though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel Opera is very close to Nyhavn and the Stroget.

Review of Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 2, 2010

Hotel Opera

Very quiet location. Unfortunately there was no air conditioning and our room windows needed to be open. Our first night there, a large group of young men in an adjacent building had a loud party that went on for hours. We had little sleep that night. The staff was so gracious and helpful that meeting them more than made up for the sleepless night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chagrin Falls, OH
Jul 22, 2010

A very satisfying stay

Very pleasant and relaxing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I forgot my power converter and they went out of their way to borrow one for me from a sister hotel. The breakfast buffet was very satisfying and nicely 'European' for an American traveler. The location was excellent for sight-seeing and we felt totally safe there. It's an older property which means that the rooms are small, but the staff is pretty honest about that if you call them for information. Everything was clean and well maintained. I would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Tivoli Garden is charming -- but frankly not as great as the travel publications would lead you to believe. Also note that your admission price does not get you on the rides. We found it to be a pleasant evening, and a great opportunity to get the feel of a European amusement park where the locals go to play. Don't plan your day around it, but it makes for a nice summer evening.

Review of Opera Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
MIAMI, FLORIDA
Jul 14, 2010

OPERA HOTEL--2 NIGHTS IN JULY 2010

STAFF WAS HELPFUL. ROOM WAS VERY SMALL, SO THEY UPGRADED US FREE OF CHARGE. OLD ROOMS, BUT CHARMING--ROOMS HAVE TITLES OF OPERAS. UNUSUALLY HOT( NO A/C). LOVELY BREAKFAST INCLUDED. GREAT LOCATION FOR A TOURIST. SATURDAY NIGHT A NEIGHBOR(ANOTHER BUILDING) HAD AN ALL-NIGHT PARTY--VERY LOUD--LASTED ALL--I MEAN ALL-- NIGHT--PROBABLY BECAUSE IT WAS SATURDAY NIGHT, VERY(UNUSUALLY)HOT, AND THE SUN NEVER WENT DOWN--IF I WAS YOUNGER, I WOULD HAVE TRIED TO CRASH THE PARTY, SINCE I COULD'NT SLEEP!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NEAR VERY HIP CANAL WITH LOTS OF CAFES--THE COPENHAGEN HARBOR JAZZ FESTIVAL WAS IN FULL SWING JUST 2 BLOCKS AWAY.

Back to menu Return to top