$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

4 stars
Vester Voldgade 25, 1552 COPENHAGEN, Copenhagen, 1552
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
12 reviews
nice weekend

Great location just steps from Tivoli and the Ratusha. Shopping area around! Very friendly staff! See full review

  • ddnd
  • Apr 4, 2013
Older good hotel with great location

No bad experiences. Hotel overall is a little warm in the summer, but not bad. My room was very... See full review

  • Casey
  • Aug 25, 2013
Centrally located, classically styled historic hotel in Danish capital

First Hotel Kong Frederik is one of Copenhagen's most classic and historic hotels. The prime location is close to the Town Hall square (Rådhuspladsen), Tivoli Gardens, and boutique shopping. The hotel has been the choice for years of international performing artists and legendary poets. The hotel, fully refurbished in 2010, offers the same legendary, townhouse atmosphere, but with a twist of modernity. Bicycles are available for rent.

Highlights

  • Free broadband Internet
  • On-site restaurant and bar
  • Bicycle rental
  • Meeting facilities
  • Prime location in the center of the city

Rooms

First Hotel Kong Frederik has 110 rooms, varying in size from the standard single to the Kong Frederik suite. Double rooms have either a king-sized or two single beds. Suites have king beds. Bedrooms are styled in romantic, classic, or library themes (with books on the wallpaper). All rooms have a private bathroom with bathtub, cable television, mini-bar, free broadband Internet, and room service.

Features

The hotel is in the very center of Copenhagen, within walking distance of the Nyhavn waterfront entertainment area, Tivoli Gardens, and Halmtorvet Square. The location is ideal for guests visiting the city on holiday or business travelers who want to catch the tourist sites.

 

The hotel features an on-site restaurant and bar, offering modern interpretations of British classics such as beef Wellington, shepherd's pie, fish and chips, bread-and-butter pudding, and sponge cake. Dishes feature top ingredients such as mussels, Angus beef, and Scottish lamb. Menus change to reflect what is in season. 

Transportation

  • Copenhagen train station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Øresund Bridge (9.3 mi/15 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Tivoli Gardens (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Halmtorvet Square (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Nyhavn Canalside (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • The Little Mermaid (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Amalienborg Castle (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Business

  • Experienced staff
  • Four meeting rooms (two large, two small) accommodate up to 60
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

55.6773 12.5675
Area served
Copenhagen.
Nearby airports
Kastrup (CPH) 8.6 km, Sturup (MMX) 52.8 km, Angelholm-Helsingborg (AGH) 71.0 km.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen Rooms

Superior Room
Double with Bathtub, Free broadband internet, Cable TV, Complimentary free minibar, non-smoking rooms, Concierge service, All White Amenities. Breakfast is not included in the rate and costs DKK 155.00 pp.
Standard Room
Single or Double with Bathtub, Free broadband internet, Cable TV, Complimentary free minibar, non-smoking rooms, Concierge service, All White Amenities. Breakfast is not included in the rate and costs DKK 155.00 pp.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Church of our Saviour: 0.2 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.3 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.4 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.6 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.2 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.3 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.4 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.6 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.6 mi
  • Indre By: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.8 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Frederiksberg: 0.8 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.8 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 0.9 mi
  • Nyhavn: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 0.9 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1 mi
  • The Marble Church: 1.1 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 1.1 mi
  • Fælledparken: 1.2 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.2 mi
  • Osterport: 1.3 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Christiania: 1.3 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 1.4 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 1.4 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 1.5 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 1.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 1.6 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 1.7 mi
  • Copenhagen Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.8

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ddnd
Delaware
Apr 4, 2013

nice weekend

Great location just steps from Tivoli and the Ratusha. Shopping area around! Very friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bernie Mac
Ireland
Feb 27, 2013

Couples weekend break

The hotel was lovely. It was incredibly clean and laid out. Its location is perfect, right in the heart of Copenhagen. The only issue we had was to do with the bed covers. We were in a double room in a double bed but it was dressed with two single duvets. It was the only issue we had with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casey
Dallas, TX
Aug 25, 2013

Older good hotel with great location

No bad experiences. Hotel overall is a little warm in the summer, but not bad. My room was very large with queen bed and very nice bath, it was in the back with no view, but that meant open windows for fresh air and no noise at all. Complementary beverages in the room and coffee all day in the lounge. I had breakfast included and although not a fancy buffet, there was plenty to make anyone happy. Location couldn't be better. Two blocks from Stroget shopping street, as well as Tivoli, Town Hall, several museums, train station, and six gay bars. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moveruk
Boston
May 7, 2013

Good Experience

Very comfortable room, pleasant helpful staff, noisy wedding party early hours, breakfast buffet very expensive, quoted price from front desk, $20, turned into $31 when taxes were added. I definately recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travissmc
Galway, NY
Oct 19, 2012

Ideal Copenhagen vacation spot

This hotel was ideal for our weekend in Copenhagen. Very clean and nearby everything we wanted to see. They were able to accommodate our early arrival after an all night flight, something many hotels would not do. The only "glitch" was at checkout when we were charged for the stay even though we had pre-paid for the room. This eventually got partially resolved although we are still disputing part of the charges. I will make sure I understand all the charges and arrangements for pre-payment in the future, ideally at check-in, but definitely before checking out, to avoid recurrence of this type of problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Most attractions are within walking distance from the hotel, but the hop on / hop off buses in Copenhagen made seeing all the sights very easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Global Gal
Whidbey Island, WA
Aug 25, 2014

Ideally located near Tivoli

We arrived in the morning on an early flight from Bergen, Norway. The hotel was quite full, so there wasn't a room, but we were able to store our luggage. (and get in an hour early). It's an old building, but the public areas and rooms are cozy and spacious. It's the first hotel in two weeks that had washcloths in the bathrooms! Also extra pillows in the cabinet and nice bath products. Not sure about breakfast, or even if it's included, as we left at 530 AM just when all the local drunk party people were heading home after the bars closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a return ticket to Tivoli and go back in the evening. I think it's 25DK, and that way you can spend the day there and return later that evening for the beautiful lights and live entertainment -- plus dine at the restaurants. The hotel is just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florioda
Nov 22, 2010

Good Location

The hotel was very centrally located. It provided a very decent breakfast. The biggest drawback was the street noise. Unfortunately part of my stay was during a weekend(with a street facing room)and the noise from the partying crowds of young people, the is a club across the street, kept me awake all night. A travelling companion who had a room facing the courtyard did not fare much better. They also experienced alot of noise from other hotel customers loudly partying in the courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Apr 18, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was right across the street from Tivoli and within two blocks of the main shopping street. Walking distance to the train and all major sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NurseAndy
Denver, CO
May 27, 2013

Beware

While the hotel was nice, convenient, clean, etc., our experience was disastrous. When we went for dinner (5:30 to 9 pm), our room was robbed of all electronic equipment, camera, jewelry, souvenirs - everything of value except the dirty clothes. In the future I would recommend that you put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign and leave the television on. The staff was very helpful after the incident but there was little security to prevent the occurrence, which the staff admitted was obsolete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luciani
Mexico
Jul 23, 2013

Good location, facilities closer to 2 star than 4 star

Room was very small, bathroom extremely small and uncomfortable. Room was very hot with heat coming out of the closet. Kept windows open all day to make room cooler but was impossible to leave them open at night because the street is very noise. Would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search