$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

4 stars
View map of Vester Voldgade 25, 1552 COPENHAGEN, Copenhagen, 1552

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
11 reviews
nice weekend

Great location just steps from Tivoli and the Ratusha. Shopping area around! Very friendly staff! See full review

  • ddnd
  • Apr 4, 2013
Couples weekend break

The hotel was lovely. It was incredibly clean and laid out. Its location is perfect, right in the... See full review

  • Bernie Mac
  • Feb 27, 2013

First Hotel Kong Frederik is one of Copenhagen's most classic and historic hotels. The prime location is close to the Town Hall square (Rådhuspladsen), Tivoli Gardens, and boutique shopping. The hotel has been the choice for years of international performing artists and legendary poets. The hotel, fully refurbished in 2010, offers the same legendary, townhouse atmosphere, but with a twist of modernity. Bicycles are available for rent.

Rooms

First Hotel Kong Frederik has 110 rooms, varying in size from the standard single to the Kong Frederik suite. Double rooms have either a king-sized or two single beds. Suites have king beds. Bedrooms are styled in romantic, classic, or library themes (with books on the wallpaper). All rooms have a private bathroom with bathtub, cable television, mini-bar, free broadband Internet, and room service.

Property features

The hotel is in the very center of Copenhagen, within walking distance of the Nyhavn waterfront entertainment area, Tivoli Gardens, and Halmtorvet Square. The location is ideal for guests visiting the city on holiday or business travelers who want to catch the tourist sites.

 

The hotel features an on-site restaurant and bar, offering modern interpretations of British classics such as beef Wellington, shepherd's pie, fish and chips, bread-and-butter pudding, and sponge cake. Dishes feature top ingredients such as mussels, Angus beef, and Scottish lamb. Menus change to reflect what is in season. 

Highlights

  • Free broadband Internet
  • On-site restaurant and bar
  • Bicycle rental
  • Meeting facilities
  • Prime location in the center of the city

Nearby attractions

  • Tivoli Gardens (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Halmtorvet Square (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Nyhavn Canalside (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • The Little Mermaid (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Amalienborg Castle (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Business

  • Experienced staff
  • Four meeting rooms (two large, two small) accommodate up to 60
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Free Wi-Fi

Transportation

  • Copenhagen train station (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Øresund Bridge (9.3 mi/15 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$126
4.0 / 5 100 reviews
★★★★
$148
4.1 / 5 29 reviews
★★★★
$139
4.0 / 5 50 reviews
★★★★
$225
3.6 / 5 60 reviews
★★★★
$107
3.2 / 5 26 reviews
★★★
$107
3.3 / 5 38 reviews
★★★★
$174
3.4 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★
$127
3.0 / 5 2 reviews
★★★
$122
3.8 / 5 17 reviews

First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen Rooms

Standard Room
Single or Double with Bathtub, Free broadband internet, Cable TV, Complimentary free minibar, non-smoking rooms, Concierge service, All White Amenities. Breakfast is not included in the rate and costs DKK 155.00 pp.
Superior Room
Double with Bathtub, Free broadband internet, Cable TV, Complimentary free minibar, non-smoking rooms, Concierge service, All White Amenities. Breakfast is not included in the rate and costs DKK 155.00 pp.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Copenhagen Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.3 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.4 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.5 mi
  • The Round Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.6 mi
  • Copenhagen Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.3 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.4 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.5 mi
  • The Round Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.6 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.6 mi
  • Indre By: 0.6 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.7 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.8 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.8 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 0.9 mi
  • Amalienborg: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 0.9 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1 mi
  • Copenhagen Business School: 1.1 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 1.1 mi
  • Fælledparken: 1.2 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.2 mi
  • Osterport: 1.3 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Christiania: 1.3 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 1.4 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 1.4 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 1.5 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 1.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 1.6 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 1.7 mi
  • Copenhagen Zoo: 1.8 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 1.8 mi
  • Valby: 2.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.8

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Global Gal
Couples
Whidbey Island, WA
Aug 25, 2014

Ideally located near Tivoli

We arrived in the morning on an early flight from Bergen, Norway. The hotel was quite full, so there wasn't a room, but we were able to store our luggage. (and get in an hour early). It's an old building, but the public areas and rooms are cozy and spacious. It's the first hotel in two weeks that had washcloths in the bathrooms! Also extra pillows in the cabinet and nice bath products. Not sure about breakfast, or even if it's included, as we left at 530 AM just when all the local drunk party people were heading home after the bars closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a return ticket to Tivoli and go back in the evening. I think it's 25DK, and that way you can spend the day there and return later that evening for the beautiful lights and live entertainment -- plus dine at the restaurants. The hotel is just a few blocks away.

Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ric action
Single
USA
Aug 7, 2014

No AC

The room was small. No AC and it just felt poor for the price. But this is europe. Nordic areas are always like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luciani
Couples
Mexico
Jul 23, 2013

Good location, facilities closer to 2 star than 4 star

Room was very small, bathroom extremely small and uncomfortable. Room was very hot with heat coming out of the closet. Kept windows open all day to make room cooler but was impossible to leave them open at night because the street is very noise. Would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NurseAndy
Couples
Denver, CO
May 27, 2013

Beware

While the hotel was nice, convenient, clean, etc., our experience was disastrous. When we went for dinner (5:30 to 9 pm), our room was robbed of all electronic equipment, camera, jewelry, souvenirs - everything of value except the dirty clothes. In the future I would recommend that you put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign and leave the television on. The staff was very helpful after the incident but there was little security to prevent the occurrence, which the staff admitted was obsolete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moveruk
Single
Boston
May 7, 2013

Good Experience

Very comfortable room, pleasant helpful staff, noisy wedding party early hours, breakfast buffet very expensive, quoted price from front desk, $20, turned into $31 when taxes were added. I definately recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ddnd
Couples
Delaware
Apr 4, 2013

nice weekend

Great location just steps from Tivoli and the Ratusha. Shopping area around! Very friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bernie Mac
Couples
Ireland
Feb 27, 2013

Couples weekend break

The hotel was lovely. It was incredibly clean and laid out. Its location is perfect, right in the heart of Copenhagen. The only issue we had was to do with the bed covers. We were in a double room in a double bed but it was dressed with two single duvets. It was the only issue we had with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travissmc
Couples
Galway, NY
Oct 19, 2012

Ideal Copenhagen vacation spot

This hotel was ideal for our weekend in Copenhagen. Very clean and nearby everything we wanted to see. They were able to accommodate our early arrival after an all night flight, something many hotels would not do. The only "glitch" was at checkout when we were charged for the stay even though we had pre-paid for the room. This eventually got partially resolved although we are still disputing part of the charges. I will make sure I understand all the charges and arrangements for pre-payment in the future, ideally at check-in, but definitely before checking out, to avoid recurrence of this type of problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Most attractions are within walking distance from the hotel, but the hop on / hop off buses in Copenhagen made seeing all the sights very easy.

Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Now in stockholm
May 22, 2011

Very noisey

The hotel is right across from a after hours bar that opens after the bars close, we thought it started getting noisy at about 11 pm. But we heard the bass from the music and the drunks all night and morning long. The first night we had the window open as we didn't know about what was to happen later. But we had flown in from the us and were exhausted but the only way to get air in the room is to open the window, then you hear the bar and the workers the next morning. The next day we went to the desk and a nice woman offered to move us, but then her collegue checked and apparently the only other room available was outside a generator. Which would be worse. We stayed in the same room, and closed the windows at 11:00 could hear it through the closed windows. We paid a lot of money and did not sleep. Would not recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of First Kong Fredrik Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Chicago
Apr 18, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was right across the street from Tivoli and within two blocks of the main shopping street. Walking distance to the train and all major sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top