$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

3 stars
View map of Havnegade 37, Copenhagen, 1058

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marooned
Family
business center of an airport hotel...
Nov 18, 2010

awesome

very good. Great location very walkable to nyhaven and palaces. Tivoli and train station area walkable as well if you are not a fat waste of life. Very clean good helpful staff. Rabid competition for printer in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont go to Denmark your money is useless here....

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New Brunswick, NJ
Nov 14, 2010

Strand Hotel

I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Detroit, Michigan
Sep 12, 2010

Close but not that close to Nyhavn

The hotel is quite a few blocks from Nyhavn and the metro station, about 10 minutes walk to each location. Standard double room is a little tight, not much room to put your bags or sit. The bathroom is nice and good size. A lot of good restaurants close by. Check out the restaurant, Sahil on the next block for excellent curry. Breakfast was included with our room and excellent. Good value for the money. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About 10 minutes walk to metro station, stroget or Nyhavn. You can walk to Amalieborg palace in 20 minutes. Very nice walk along the water front pass Nyhavn.

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danophile.
Couples
Guernsey
Sep 1, 2010

A very nice hotel near shops and restaur

Very little to complain about; we would have liked some reading matter in ENGLISH in the reception area where there is comfortable seating and an ideal area in which to meet friends, and where there is access to the odd glass of Danish beer! This was useful as, on our arrival, we could not get a room for a long time due to a computer malfunction. All staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful Japanese restaurant in Custom House restaurants over the road.

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danophile.
Couples
Guernsey
Sep 1, 2010

A very nice hotel near shops and restaur

Very little to complain about; we would have liked some reading matter in ENGLISH in the reception area where there is comfortable seating and an ideal area in which to meet friends, and where there is access to the odd glass of Danish beer! This was useful as, on our arrival, we could not get a room for a long time due to a computer malfunction. All staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful Japanese restaurant in Custom House restaurants over the road.

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Miami, FLA
Aug 23, 2010

Clean hotel, good location

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious. It's located within a short walking distance of shopping and dinning. I was traveling with my husband and fifteen years old niece and the room was kind of small for three people. I didn't realize that this is not an air conditioned hotel prior to booking and it was hot. The staff tried to help out by bringing us a fan but it was not enough to cool the room. I have learned a valuable lesson; always confirm that the hotel provides air conditioning prior to booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stockholm convert
Single
Geelong
Aug 17, 2010

Warehouse conversion

Single room was great for price. Arrived in the heaviest rain for 80 years and would have loved a armer welcome from reception, as I was very very wet. Two reception staff were outstanding. Use laundry service with caution. Great city for walking, cycling, boating, photography

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
North Carolina
Aug 15, 2010

Geat Stay!

The Strand Hotel was in a great location! we were merely minutes away from all of the sights. The hotel staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired Spanish Prof
Couples
Chicago Area
Aug 2, 2010

Quiet But Near Lively Nyhavn Canal Area

The Strand is a business hotel but also popular with tourists in the summer, when they have very competitive pricing. Our "small queen rooms" were indeed small but very well designed and quite nice. We stayed there for three nights over a two-week period. The staff is highly professional, very helpful. The Strand is situated on the inner harbor, just three blocks from the lively Nyhavn Canal cafe scene and close, too, to the Stroget pedestrian way. The only negative is no air conditioning. That normally isn't a problem in Scandinavia but we showed up when there was a heat wave. We definitely will stay there again the next time we're in Copenhagen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For people watching, either the Nyhavn Canal or the Stroget pedestrian way can't be beat. In Nyhavn if you're short of cash, then buy a beer in the grocery store (or an ice cream), sit along the canal and catch the scene. If you want to spend some money, then dine at one of the outdoor cafes and watch the old sailing boats moored along the canal. A slightly longer walk will bring you to Amalienborg palace, a view of the new opera house across the harbor, and the Danish Resistance Museum. A city bus will get you to Tivoli Gardens and the train station.

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin' Texans
Couples
Houston, Texas
Jul 31, 2010

recent stay for 1 night

We stayed here for 1 night pre-cruise. It was perfect for that purpose. Quiet location within easy walk of Nyhavn Canal area. Staff friendly and allowed us to check our luggage with them for the day as we arrived early in the morning ready to see the city. Comfy bed. Carpet in room needed attention; otherwise a clean room. Glad to have booked rate that included breakfast as other options close to hotel not easy to find on a Sunday morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased the CPH card on-line several weeks before our trip. It saved us money by allowing free use of most public transportation, free entrance to many attractions and discounts on others.

Back to menu Return to top