$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

3 stars
View map of Havnegade 37, Copenhagen, 1058

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cardinal, va.
Jul 15, 2011

great location... great breakfast...

great location, great breakfast(prebuy it with your reservation) good value. small but very nice rooms,clean modern bathrooms, great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WPSue
Business
NY
Jul 10, 2011

Good location

This was our first stay in Copenhagen. The Strand is a good location, just a few minutes walk from Nyhaven Street, with its famous canal and row of restaurants. Our room was very small, but clean and comfortable. We were on the top floor, and the slanted ceiling gave it a cozy feel. Also, we had a tiny balcony; since we traveled in July, leaving the balcony door open at night cooled off the room. But when it rained, we had to close it and the room was quite warm. There was a flood in town the day before we arrived, so breakfast arrangements were compromised. During our four day stay, there was no hot food, and no place to sit while eating. We brought our breakfast up to the room. Staff were very nice and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 6, 2011

Not the best I've stayed in

There were steps down into the lobby without an elevator which made it extremely difficult to get luggage down into the hotel. Also, there was no designated parking area for hotel guests. There was no wifi in the hotel room, only lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut, USA
Jul 5, 2011

Courteous and Professional Staff

The Strand Hotel is in an excellent location, within a few blocks of Nyhavn and the Kongens Nytorv Metro station. Rooms are small, but comfortable. Having breakfast included makes the hotel a good deal, because eating in restaurants in Copenhagen is quite a drain on the budget. During my stay (my second) there was a torrential downpour in Copenhagen, and many waterfront businesses experienced some flooding, the Strand included. I was impressed with how well the hotel staff made the best of an unfortunate situation, and still managed to feed us a very nice breakfast in the lobby next morning, even though the kitchen was still flooded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the METRO to and from the airport, if you don't mind walking a few blocks. You'll save over $40 each way.

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
glob trotter
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 25, 2011

good location

Nice and clean. We have a little balcony with water view, so cute. Room is small but it's Europe? :) very good location, 10 min walking distance to Nyhavn. front desk stuff are friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Jun 7, 2011

Cruise ending

We stayed here before and after a cruise. The location is perfect for walking to any of the sites in Copenhagen. Taking Metro to and from the airport is much cheaper than a cab. Since the Metro does not go all the way to the cruise port, it's better to take a cab with the luggage. The Port is not far away. The staff was very helpful in directing us as to the money, metro, sights, and getting around. The room was small but larger than a cruise cabin. It was clean with TV, windows, and down comforters. Free use of a house computer for printing boarding pass and checking email. Only serves breakfast (not included). Our flight was changed and it was better to forfeit one night than cancel. Popular hotel for cruise guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is 3 blocks from Nyhaven restaurants and the canal cruise port. Take the Hop On, Hop Off bus and tour the city with Guide in many languages (earphones). The main bus stop for 3 routes is in front of Tivoli Gardens. There is more than one company so beware. There is a large department store at the Nytorv metro stop that has a grocery deli for meals.

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palmetto,Fl
May 22, 2011

great stay

quiet,very clean,comfortable,good beakfast buffet,free internet service,good location, on waterfront near nyhavn,had bar in lobby,could walk to most sights and many restaurants and stores. had a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Derry, NH
May 16, 2011

GREAT LOCATION

We arrived at about 11AM and were allowed to check in early. The hotel has a wonderful location in the Nyhaven district and is a short walk to many restaurants and Canal boat tours, which we took. Also an easy walk to Stroget (the pedestrian street) and a little further walk to Tivoli Gardens. Our room was quite small with a small double bed on the fifth (top or attic) floor of the hotel. We would go for twin beds next time as we are used to king size at home. We were thankful for the small balcony from which we could view two of the canals. When open, the balcony door cooled the room beautifully. Otherwise the room would have been very hot, as there was no AC. We were there in mid May and the weather was cool. However, the sun heated the room up even in cool weather, so I imagine the room would be quite uncomfortable in warm weather. The room was very clean, but the smallest hotel room we have every stayed in. As we did not spend much time there, the size did not matter. The bathroom was good size and very clean. We would stay there again in early spring, late fall or winter. However, not in warm or hot weather! The breakfast buffet was outstanding and plentiful and included both hot and cold items. Absolutely no negative comments there! The lobby also had free internet access so we could check on our flight home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 7, 2011

CPH Strand overnight visit

I walked to the hotel from the Central Station (completely do-able, but be prepared for the walk!) - when I arrived onsite, the lobby was very clean and well maintained and the staff was quite friendly. I had a few questions about sites to see and they answered without a problem. My friend arrived later than me and had no troubles getting to our room (no hassles from the staff). The morning breakfast was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marooned
Business
business center of an airport hotel...
Nov 18, 2010

awesome

very good. Great location very walkable to nyhaven and palaces. Tivoli and train station area walkable as well if you are not a fat waste of life. Very clean good helpful staff. Rabid competition for printer in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont go to Denmark your money is useless here....

Back to menu Return to top