$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

3 stars
Havnegade 37, Copenhagen, 1058
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
89 reviews
Wonderful wonderful Copenhagen!

Lovely hotel centrally located in Nyhavn where all the bars and restaurants are. The hotel is... See full review

  • Nanna Moo
  • Jul 21, 2013
Short break

The staff were very efficient and friendly. Cleanliness was excellent and breakfast choice great.... See full review

  • Bull
  • Jul 4, 2013
Charming maritime hotel in the heart of the Danish capital

The Copenhagen Strand is superbly located in the heart of Copenhagen, overlooking Copenhagen Harbor, just a stone's throw away from Nyhavn, Amalienborg, and the Strøget shopping district. The hotel is housed in one of the original waterfront warehouses, which dates back to 1869. The old building has been beautifully and carefully restored. The decor has been kept rustic with a slightly maritime style, making it one of the city's most charming hotels.

Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • On-site bar
  • Business center
  • Convenient location
  • Bicycle rentals available
Rooms

The Copenhagen Strand has 174 rooms and suites decorated in a charming maritime style. All accommodations have free Internet access, via a cable available for loan from the hotel lobby. Rooms and suites feature private en-suite bathrooms, cable television, a desk, a telephone, and a mini-bar. Standard and superior accommodations are available as single, twin, or double rooms, while executive and suite accommodations feature double beds. Suites, junior suites, and executive rooms all have excellent views of the harbor. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Breakfast can be ordered to the room.

Features

The Copenhagen Strand is ideally situated for any visitor. Besides looking over the beautiful Copenhagen Harbor, the hotel is within easy reach of sights such as Tivoli Gardens and The Little Mermaid. While public transport is plentiful in Copenhagen, the hotel also rents bicycles for guests.

 

A meeting room with free Internet access, catering, and AV equipment is available.

Transportation
  • Copenhagen central train station (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Nyhavn Canalside (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Amalienborg Castle (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Tivoli Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • The Little Mermaid (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Halmtorvet Square (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Øresund Bridge (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
Business
  • One meeting room accommodating up to 10
  • Light buffet catering
  • AV equipment
  • Flat-screen television and camera
  • Free Internet access

Hotel Map

55.6772 12.5904
Area served
Copenhagen
Nearby airports
Kastrup (CPH) 7.8 km, Sturup (MMX) 51.5 km, Angelholm-Helsingborg (AGH) 70.8 km.
Area description
Hotel is located in the city centre, close to Nyhavn and the shopping street Strget, and has easy access to restaden, Copenhagen's airport, metro and busses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen Rooms

Standard Single Room
The room offers 1 single bed or 1 double bed with Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio and Telephone.
Superior Single Room
The room offers 1 single bed or 1 double bed with Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio and Telephone.
Standard Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed or 2 twin beds with Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio and Telephone.
Superior Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed and 1 twin bed with Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio and Telephone.
Small Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed with Room Facilities: Minibar, TV, Telephone, Toilet, Bathroom, Satellite TV, Bath or Shower, Hairdryer, Trouser Press, Work Desk. Please note that there is no space for extra beds in this room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Nyhavn: 0.2 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.3 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Stroget: 0.4 mi
  • Indre By: 0.4 mi
  • Christiania: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.4 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.6 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Nyhavn: 0.2 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.3 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Stroget: 0.4 mi
  • Indre By: 0.4 mi
  • Christiania: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.4 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.6 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.7 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.7 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.8 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 0.8 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.9 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 1 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 1 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 1 mi
  • Osterport: 1 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 1.1 mi
  • DGI-byen: 1.1 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 1.2 mi
  • Library Garden: 1.2 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 1.2 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.2 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 1.3 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.4 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 1.4 mi
  • Frederiksberg: 1.7 mi
  • Oresund Bridge: 1.8 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1.8 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • The Marble Church: 2 mi
  • Fælledparken: 2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel's large, delightful breakfast restaurant is next to the cosy lounge with a TV room that is open every day of the week. Breakfast served only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
cardinal, va.
Jul 15, 2011

great location... great breakfast...

great location, great breakfast(prebuy it with your reservation) good value. small but very nice rooms,clean modern bathrooms, great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WPSue
NY
Jul 10, 2011

Good location

This was our first stay in Copenhagen. The Strand is a good location, just a few minutes walk from Nyhaven Street, with its famous canal and row of restaurants. Our room was very small, but clean and comfortable. We were on the top floor, and the slanted ceiling gave it a cozy feel. Also, we had a tiny balcony; since we traveled in July, leaving the balcony door open at night cooled off the room. But when it rained, we had to close it and the room was quite warm. There was a flood in town the day before we arrived, so breakfast arrangements were compromised. During our four day stay, there was no hot food, and no place to sit while eating. We brought our breakfast up to the room. Staff were very nice and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 6, 2011

Not the best I've stayed in

There were steps down into the lobby without an elevator which made it extremely difficult to get luggage down into the hotel. Also, there was no designated parking area for hotel guests. There was no wifi in the hotel room, only lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut, USA
Jul 5, 2011

Courteous and Professional Staff

The Strand Hotel is in an excellent location, within a few blocks of Nyhavn and the Kongens Nytorv Metro station. Rooms are small, but comfortable. Having breakfast included makes the hotel a good deal, because eating in restaurants in Copenhagen is quite a drain on the budget. During my stay (my second) there was a torrential downpour in Copenhagen, and many waterfront businesses experienced some flooding, the Strand included. I was impressed with how well the hotel staff made the best of an unfortunate situation, and still managed to feed us a very nice breakfast in the lobby next morning, even though the kitchen was still flooded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the METRO to and from the airport, if you don't mind walking a few blocks. You'll save over $40 each way.

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
glob trotter
Seattle, WA
Jun 25, 2011

good location

Nice and clean. We have a little balcony with water view, so cute. Room is small but it's Europe? :) very good location, 10 min walking distance to Nyhavn. front desk stuff are friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Ana, CA
Jun 7, 2011

Cruise ending

We stayed here before and after a cruise. The location is perfect for walking to any of the sites in Copenhagen. Taking Metro to and from the airport is much cheaper than a cab. Since the Metro does not go all the way to the cruise port, it's better to take a cab with the luggage. The Port is not far away. The staff was very helpful in directing us as to the money, metro, sights, and getting around. The room was small but larger than a cruise cabin. It was clean with TV, windows, and down comforters. Free use of a house computer for printing boarding pass and checking email. Only serves breakfast (not included). Our flight was changed and it was better to forfeit one night than cancel. Popular hotel for cruise guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is 3 blocks from Nyhaven restaurants and the canal cruise port. Take the Hop On, Hop Off bus and tour the city with Guide in many languages (earphones). The main bus stop for 3 routes is in front of Tivoli Gardens. There is more than one company so beware. There is a large department store at the Nytorv metro stop that has a grocery deli for meals.

Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palmetto,Fl
May 22, 2011

great stay

quiet,very clean,comfortable,good beakfast buffet,free internet service,good location, on waterfront near nyhavn,had bar in lobby,could walk to most sights and many restaurants and stores. had a very pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Derry, NH
May 16, 2011

GREAT LOCATION

We arrived at about 11AM and were allowed to check in early. The hotel has a wonderful location in the Nyhaven district and is a short walk to many restaurants and Canal boat tours, which we took. Also an easy walk to Stroget (the pedestrian street) and a little further walk to Tivoli Gardens. Our room was quite small with a small double bed on the fifth (top or attic) floor of the hotel. We would go for twin beds next time as we are used to king size at home. We were thankful for the small balcony from which we could view two of the canals. When open, the balcony door cooled the room beautifully. Otherwise the room would have been very hot, as there was no AC. We were there in mid May and the weather was cool. However, the sun heated the room up even in cool weather, so I imagine the room would be quite uncomfortable in warm weather. The room was very clean, but the smallest hotel room we have every stayed in. As we did not spend much time there, the size did not matter. The bathroom was good size and very clean. We would stay there again in early spring, late fall or winter. However, not in warm or hot weather! The breakfast buffet was outstanding and plentiful and included both hot and cold items. Absolutely no negative comments there! The lobby also had free internet access so we could check on our flight home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Feb 7, 2011

CPH Strand overnight visit

I walked to the hotel from the Central Station (completely do-able, but be prepared for the walk!) - when I arrived onsite, the lobby was very clean and well maintained and the staff was quite friendly. I had a few questions about sites to see and they answered without a problem. My friend arrived later than me and had no troubles getting to our room (no hassles from the staff). The morning breakfast was adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marooned
business center of an airport hotel...
Nov 18, 2010

awesome

very good. Great location very walkable to nyhaven and palaces. Tivoli and train station area walkable as well if you are not a fat waste of life. Very clean good helpful staff. Rabid competition for printer in lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont go to Denmark your money is useless here....

Back to menu Return to top

Change search