$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

3 stars
Havnegade 37, Copenhagen, 1058
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
52 reviews
Wonderful wonderful Copenhagen!

Lovely hotel centrally located in Nyhavn where all the bars and restaurants are. The hotel is... See full review

  • Nanna Moo
  • Jul 21, 2013
Short break

The staff were very efficient and friendly. Cleanliness was excellent and breakfast choice great.... See full review

  • Bull
  • Jul 4, 2013
Charming maritime hotel in the heart of the Danish capital

The Copenhagen Strand is superbly located in the heart of Copenhagen, overlooking Copenhagen Harbor, just a stone's throw away from Nyhavn, Amalienborg, and the Strøget shopping district. The hotel is housed in one of the original waterfront warehouses, which dates back to 1869. The old building has been beautifully and carefully restored. The decor has been kept rustic with a slightly maritime style, making it one of the city's most charming hotels.

Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • On-site bar
  • Business center
  • Convenient location
  • Bicycle rentals available
Rooms

The Copenhagen Strand has 174 rooms and suites decorated in a charming maritime style. All accommodations have free Internet access, via a cable available for loan from the hotel lobby. Rooms and suites feature private en-suite bathrooms, cable television, a desk, a telephone, and a mini-bar. Standard and superior accommodations are available as single, twin, or double rooms, while executive and suite accommodations feature double beds. Suites, junior suites, and executive rooms all have excellent views of the harbor. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Breakfast can be ordered to the room.

Features

The Copenhagen Strand is ideally situated for any visitor. Besides looking over the beautiful Copenhagen Harbor, the hotel is within easy reach of sights such as Tivoli Gardens and The Little Mermaid. While public transport is plentiful in Copenhagen, the hotel also rents bicycles for guests.

 

A meeting room with free Internet access, catering, and AV equipment is available.

Transportation
  • Copenhagen central train station (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Nyhavn Canalside (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Amalienborg Castle (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Tivoli Gardens (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • The Little Mermaid (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Halmtorvet Square (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Øresund Bridge (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
Business
  • One meeting room accommodating up to 10
  • Light buffet catering
  • AV equipment
  • Flat-screen television and camera
  • Free Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen Rooms

Standard Single Room
The room offers 1 single bed or 1 double bed with Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio and Telephone.
Superior Single Room
The room offers 1 single bed or 1 double bed with Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio and Telephone.
Standard Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed or 2 twin beds with Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio and Telephone.
Superior Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed and 1 twin bed with Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio and Telephone.
Small Double Room
The room offers 1 double bed with Room Facilities: Minibar, TV, Telephone, Toilet, Bathroom, Satellite TV, Bath or Shower, Hairdryer, Trouser Press, Work Desk. Please note that there is no space for extra beds in this room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Amalienborg: 0.2 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.3 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Stroget: 0.4 mi
  • Indre By: 0.4 mi
  • Christiania: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.4 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.6 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Amalienborg: 0.2 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.3 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Stroget: 0.4 mi
  • Indre By: 0.4 mi
  • Christiania: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.4 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 0.5 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.6 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.7 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.7 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.8 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 0.8 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.9 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 1 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 1 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 1 mi
  • Osterport: 1 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 1.1 mi
  • DGI-byen: 1.1 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 1.2 mi
  • Library Garden: 1.2 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 1.2 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.2 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 1.3 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.4 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 1.4 mi
  • Oresund Bridge: 1.8 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1.8 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • The Marble Church: 2 mi
  • Fælledparken: 2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Zoo: 2.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel's large, delightful breakfast restaurant is next to the cosy lounge with a TV room that is open every day of the week. Breakfast served only.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simplyshauna
Business
Yorkshire, England
Mar 5, 2013

Well located for visiting Copenhagen

We stayed 4 nights at the Strand which is well located for visiting all the city's attractions. The staff were very friendly and professional and breakfast had a good choice - cold buffet. The room, albeit a superior, was quite small but did have tea / coffee in the room. There is no evening restaurant but there are plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. Limited general seating areas and bar service is via reception. Would stay here again as a base for visiting the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Culture Vulture
Business
Cheltenham
Sep 10, 2012

Another brilliant city break.

Our third, four night city break , and good again. Hotel was in a perfect location, quiet yet close to most things. Room was clean and even had a small balcony where we could sit in the sun and see the canal. Public rooms were very comfortable for a drink from the bar.Staff at reception were excellent; helpful,interesting to talk to and in perfect English. Breakfast buffet very good indeed. We would certainly stay there again if we returned to Copenhagen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barb in Indy
Business
Indianapolis
Sep 4, 2012

Kopenhavn value

Located on the canal and convenient to all locations. Clean. One side of double bed was against a wall; small room with wardrobe but ample bathroom. European breakfast was delicious and filling. Refrigerator in room. Ice available at desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal ride was worth the money. Take the "free" city tour starting at the City Market. Tivolia was worth the money - lanterns, atmosphere. Watch the change of guards at palace and go into "Marble" church.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
allyB
Business
Aberdeen, Scotland
Aug 30, 2012

Late summer break

Having read previous reviews I was a bit wary of what this hotel might hold for me. However, I can honestly say that following my 3 night stay I have absolutely nothing detrimental to say about this hotel. The check-in was speedy and efficient with the staff welcoming. The room was for single occupancy so was small but no worse than your average single room encountered in most hotels. The room was clean and well decorated and being on the 5th floor at the back was very quiet and I was able to sleep with the window open with no outside noise. The room was hot but as I said no problem in opening the window. The breakfasts are very busy, I went at 8am on the first two days and found the Friday to be more busy at that time than the Sat. On the Sunday I went at 9.45 and it was very hectic, although the diners were allowed to use the tables in the bar so I think everyone coped with a little common sense. Checkout time was noon and allowed time for a stroll after breakfast before vacating the room. Main selling point for this hotel is the location, by the harbour canal, two minutes from Nyhavn and 10 mins from the Metro which connects to the airport in 10 mins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a Copenhagen Card at the airport which among other things gives you free use of all methods of public transport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flying Dutchman2
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 30, 2012

Good hotel at convenient location and excellent breakfast

Stayed at Strand hotel for three nights while on a short business trip to Copenhagen. Arrived early on Sunday morning after arriving from the US. Since it was weekend, the hotel was fully booked and no room was available immediately. As soon as guests started checking out, a room was cleaned and I was able to get in to my room at 11am. The (single) room was small, but large enough en had everything I needed. I was at the back side of the hotel, which was really quiet (although there was not much traffic at the front side of the hotel either) and allowed me to sleep with the window open. The location of the hotel is really convenient, just around the corner from Nye Havn (a major tourist attraction) and a 5 min walk from the metro station. The metro takes you in 15 - 20 minutes to the airport. Hotel gusests were a mixture of tourists and those on business. At the moment there is only wifi in the lobby of the hotel, but they provide cables so you can connect your lap top in the room, and they are currently installing wifi on all the floors. the best part is probably the breakfast, which is included in the price. Freshly baked bread rolls, croissants and of course Danish pastries!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to Nye Havn, where you will find many restaurants, but which is rather touristy. Copenhagen is also home to many high-end restaurants (some with Michelin stars) which are worth while trying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Traveller 47
Business
Texas
Aug 20, 2012

Hotel room

Although we thought the room we booked would be a good value. Upon checking in we were told that this room was extremely small and less than a double size bed. Therefore we upgraded at an additional $16 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bookreader extraordinaire
Business
Rockville, MD, USA
Sep 19, 2011

great place to stay in Copenhagen

Copenhagen is a walkable, friendly city. We toured it by foot and also took a water cruise. This hotel was located in walking distance to most tourist sites and right near the center of restaurant and nightlife. Good value, very friendly staff. highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be sure breakfast is included with the room cost as it is very expensive if it is not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just there one night
Business
San Diego, California
Sep 12, 2011

Great Location!

This is a very nice hotel with a great location. You just walk a block and you are at the water in beautiful Nyhaven. The hotel room is small but clean and nice and has everything you need. The staff was very friendly. The Hop on Hop off bus has a stop just a couple blocks away. I would recommend this hotel. We stayed here the night before we left for a cruise and it was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WXYZ4
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 7, 2011

Orbitz customer

We felt as second class citizens with our Orbitz reservation. Upon check in, the receptionist asked if the two couples of us wanted adjacent rooms and we indicated that would be nice and he had them lined up. Then he discovered we were an Orbitz reservation and the two adjacent rooms disappeared which wasn't a big deal for us but it seemed our Orbitz reservation was a factor and made us wonder. Our room was quite small and the double bed was pushed against the wall making it difficult for one person to get in and out. As well there was only one reading light on one side of the bed. The hotel was perfectly adequate though nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copenhagen Strand Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Highland Heights, OH
Jul 25, 2011

Warm Hospitality

Copenhagen Strand Hotel has an outstanding staff that is most helpful in answering my many questions about the city and offered suggestions on how to enjoy my time.They offer a wonderful breakfast before you head out for the day. Just around the coner is Nyhaven on the canal, a place to catch the guided tour boats and hop on hop off bus that will take you to every part of the city you want to visit. The weather was wet and overcast, but this did not deter enjoying the wonders of Copenhagen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top