$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

4 stars
Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen, 1560
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
57 reviews
Weekend Break

Hotel was just what was needed for a weekend break - we were well looked after, location provided... See full review

  • LondonRWP
  • Aug 7, 2013
Very Helpful Staff

We really enjoyed our stay at the Copenhagen Island. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The... See full review

  • Amtm
  • Aug 4, 2013
Four-star waterside hotel in the Danish capital

With its stylish design by Danish architect Kim Utzon and harborside location, Copenhagen Island is the perfect starting point for a visit to Copenhagen. State-of-the-art quality abounds throughout the hotel, which has 325 air-conditioned rooms, free wireless Internet, a waterside restaurant, and a small, exclusive gym. The combination of light, glass, and water creates a unique environment in which fabulous design, modern comfort, and superb service take center stage.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Fitness center
  • Restaurant and bar
  • Beautiful location
  • Allergy-friendly rooms
Rooms

The hotel has 325 rooms decorated in a simple, modernist design, all with free Wi-Fi, en-suite private bath, flat screen television with 22 international channels, and a well-stocked mini-bar. Standard rooms overlook the city, while superior and executive rooms and suites face the waterfront. Standard and executive rooms are available as twin or double rooms, with single accommodation available in superior rooms. Junior suites come with twin adjustable beds. Smoking and non-smoking accommodations are available. Copenhagen Island has a number of rooms classified as allergy-friendly, all on the first or second floor of the building. The allergy-friendly rooms have wooden floors instead of carpets as well as anti-allergy bedding. Room service is available between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m.

Features

Like the rest of the Copenhagen Island Hotel, the Harbour Restaurant was designed by Kim Utzon and built in 2006. The restaurant offers views over Copenhagen's waterfront, a beautiful interior, and an internationally inspired menu. The Harbour Restaurant's modern and minimalistic style, with three split-level floors, is specially designed to blend with Copenhagen Island. Breakfast can be enjoyed with splendid views along Copenhagen's harbor, and dinner comes with front-row seats to the city lighting up at dusk.

 

Nine well-equipped meeting rooms are available, accommodating up to 34.

Transportation
  • Central train station (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (7.6 mi/12.3 km)

Nearby attractions
  • Halmtorvet Square (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Tivoli Gardens (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Nyhavn Canalside (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Amalienborg Castle (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • The Little Mermaid (3 mi/5 km)
  • Øresund Bridge (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
Business
  • Nine meeting rooms accommodate up to 34
  • Catering
  • AV equipment
  • Whiteboard and flipchart

Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen Rooms

Superior Single Room
Room offers a double bed or two twin beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini bar, non smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone and voicemail.
Standard Double Room
Room offers a double bed or two twin beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini bar, non smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone and voicemail.
Superior Double Room
Room offers a double bed and a twin beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini bar, non smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone and voicemail.
Standard Single Room
Room offers a double bed or two twin beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, laundry service, mini bar, non smoking rooms, radio, room service, safe in room, telephone and voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.6634 12.5635
Area served
Copenhagen.
Nearby airports
Kastrup (CPH) 7.7 km, Sturup (MMX) 52.7 km, Angelholm-Helsingborg (AGH) 72.6 km.
Area description
Island Hotel is located in Copenhagen Harbour, not far from the Central Station and within walking distance from Tivoli, the town hall square Radhuspladsen and the famous pedestrian shopping street, Stroget.

Nearby points of interest

  • Amager Strandpark: 0.3 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.5 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 0.6 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.7 mi
  • Vestamager: 0.7 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.8 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Fælledparken: 1 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 1.1 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 0.3 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.5 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 0.6 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.7 mi
  • Vestamager: 0.7 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.8 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Fælledparken: 1 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 1.1 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Library Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 1.2 mi
  • Frederiksberg: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall Square: 1.3 mi
  • Stroget: 1.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 1.4 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Indre By: 1.5 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 1.5 mi
  • The Marble Church: 1.5 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 1.5 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 1.5 mi
  • Nyhavn: 1.5 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 1.6 mi
  • The David Collection: 1.7 mi
  • Christiania: 1.7 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 1.7 mi
  • Copenhagen Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Kongens Enghave: 1.8 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 1.8 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 1.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 1.9 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 1.9 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1.9 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 2.2 mi
  • Valby: 2.2 mi
  • Osterport: 2.2 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 2.3 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 2.4 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 2.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Restaurant the Harbour is designed in a unique modern and minimalistic style, and has an exceptional view of the Copenhagen Harbour. The restaurant can seat 226 people for breakfast, and throughout the day, guests can enjoy the spectacular change in the light of the city. The Harbour offers a la carte, a lovely international inspired menu, and of course private dinners tailored after your wishes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fashion man
Business
ireland
Feb 4, 2014

not a great buisness hotel

front desk staff were very good as were the bar staff but the staff at breakfast were poor leaving some dishes run empty. it would be good if a trouser press was in the bed room the prices of food and drink inc the mini bar were very expensive compared to other hotels in copenhaghen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jheel
Dallas, Tx
Aug 22, 2013

Won't do this again

Definitely not a 4* experience - tiny rooms, even for European circumstances. We had a child bed in the room and with suitcases on the floor you were constantly tripping over each other. - closet space was for one person maximum - the beds were terrible. smaller than a twin mattress and you could feel every spring on the pullout and on the regular beds they were so soft I needed a week to recover from the back pain I left with. - cheap curtains that don't provide real blackout shade from the sun. Our first room was on the ground floor and there were bright streetlights right in front of these windows. They were on all night. - Our second room had a terrible stench coming from the bathroom. Turns out the drain was clogged with some horrific hairball no one had bothered to take out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LondonRWP
London, UK
Aug 7, 2013

Weekend Break

Hotel was just what was needed for a weekend break - we were well looked after, location provided easy access to town, if not in the midle of things, and all the amenities were provided just as required.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amtm
Toronto, Ontario
Aug 4, 2013

Very Helpful Staff

We really enjoyed our stay at the Copenhagen Island. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are very comfortable for 2, a little tight for 3. Close to Tivoli Gardens. Great fitness room looking out over the canal. Can rent bikes on site and complimentary Wifi in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The transportation system is so good that I wouldn't bother renting a car next time.

Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZWDN
Stockholm
Jul 26, 2013

Pretty good.

Very Nice room. New and fresch. The wifi was bad in fact it suckt! Good service. My Danich is bad and they had no problem speaking englisch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Madkaz
Dublin
Jul 25, 2013

Very Average

We arrived late with our elderly father, no-one offered to help him with his bags. We found the check-in assistant very unhelpful. We asked about parking, he told us to park at the other hotel (10 min walk away), with very little detail as to where. The location is good, the breakfast is great but we were given a smoking room when we booked a non-smoking room. The bar also closes early, 9pm on a Wednesday Night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ATA9
İstanbul, Turkey
Aug 21, 2012

Good choice for couples & family

Compared to my citycenter hotel stay, Copenhagen İsland hotel has beter location despite long walking distance to city center facilities. However, next to public open air swimming facility, next to cinema and shopping complex, and less crowded and less noisy which you have chance to have some privacy compared to central stay locations. Rooms are not big enough but well designed, breakfast was OK but extra!..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Magaly Fernandez
Miami, Florida
Aug 1, 2012

Excellent Hotel

The hotel is the perfect place to relax after a busy day in such a beautifull city. The rooms are not big but with all the amenities that you need to fell confortable. Very, clean and with a better view. The staff was very friendly and cooperative. Within walking distance of a very nice mall where you could eat and shop. A good fifteen minutes walk from the center but very safe to walk and enjoy the view. I will come back to this hotel if I come back to Copenhagen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring confortable shoes because the city invites you to walk and explore on your own. The city tours are very good and will give you an idea where you could walk to see memorable arquitecture, streets, and restaurants where you could sit and enjoy the culture of Copenhagen.

Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Always Hunting Quality
Zurich, Switzerland
Jul 24, 2012

Bait and Switch

Based on it's relatively high ratings, I thought I had found a good simple and safe bet. Nope. This hotel isn't near anything, except a nicer hotel that starts with "Tiv"... (across the street) and the management seem to play a game of bait and switch. When we arrived, they issued keys for a certain room, and then asked if we didn't want to upgrade now that we were there, for a "nicer room that isn't noisy or small and has a harbour view". The desk agent said that he definitely thought it was worth it, especially for only another 200 crowns per night, and when we declined the upgrade, our room was suddenly changed and we were issued keys to room 101 - right next to the lobby, tiny, very worn (the high traffic room they give to those who book at discount-rates?) and smelling of smoke, which we had specifically requested to avoid. Though we didn't want to play this game, we had little choice since our reservation was paid for and we decided to ask for the upgrade 30 minutes later. The check-in staff smiled at each other and gladly took our money. The "upgraded" room wasn't much better and the design of this hotel (and condition) is that of a modern Danish property from around 1997. It's sparse and lacking, certainly not simple and chic. There's nothing great about the location (it's a long walk to the action) and the restaurant is remarkably bad and outrageously expensive. In future, I will neither stay at nor recommend this hotel. It simply acts like an worn 2-star property at 4-star cost. No thanks..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super mom Lizzie
Providence ri
Jul 23, 2012

A beach resort in downtown Copenhagen

After staying in the heart of historic Copenhagen in a small hotel, it was refreshing to be by the water with contempory buildings and space. We had bikes otherwise it would be too far away from central town. There was swimming and boat rental next to the hotel and fun to bike around , over the bridge. Very clean and nice staff. The only uncomfortable part was sitting down to dinner in the nice restaurant and having no option but to order a minimum of a $50 dinner, one course. It would have been much nicer to have a Larger selection. Good food but you are so far away from any restaurants that you have no choice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike

Back to menu Return to top