$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen

3 stars
Dronningens Tvrgade 45, Copenhagen, DK-1302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
6 reviews
Top location

We felt very welcome & at home in this small & intimate little hotel. The location was perfect - we... See full review

  • NCSPT
  • Sep 23, 2013
Great location, Great staff, and Great breakfast!!

The Christian IV Hotel was the perfect place for our family of three (two adults and an 8 yr old).... See full review

  • Swanitz Family
  • May 2, 2013
A gem of a hotel with warm, friendly staff in the heart of Copenhagen
Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen is a bright, modern hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is located in Old Town Copenhagen, just a short distance from numerous attractions such as the Royal Castle. Guests receive a daily continental buffet style breakfast, which is served in the breakfast room. Bicycle rental is available for all guests who wish to explore the city and all guests have use of the health club located close to the hotel. Pets are allowed to stay at the hotel, which is also a short walk to the metro station.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Modern Danish hotel close to many attractions and delightful gardens in the heart of the city

  • Close proximity to public transportation makes navigating the city easy

  • A selection of rooms have a view of the beautiful courtyard area, and pets are welcome

Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen Rooms
There is a choice of three different rooms at the Christina IV Hotel Copenhagen, standard single, standard double and a superior triple room. Standard rooms each contain a telephone, radio and satellite television. The superior triple also includes a 32" flat screen television and fabulous artwork. Some rooms at the Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen have a view of the green courtyard and a unique Danish style permeates all rooms, creating a bright, modern feel. Non-smoking rooms at the Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen are available and pets are welcome to stay. Internet access is available to guests free of charge. A laundry service and safety deposit box is also available for guest's convenience.
Things To Do:
  • Rosenborg Castle (0.2 mi/0.4 km) 

  • Frederik's Church (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 

  • Musical History Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km) 

  • Royal Danish Theater (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 

  • Danish National Gallery (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 

  • Amalienborg Palace (0.4 mi/0.6 km) 

  • Stroeget (0.6 mi/1 km) 

  • Christianborg Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km) 

  • National Museum of Denmark (0.8 mi/1.3 km) 

  • Little Mermaid (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

Hotel Map

55.6847 12.5837
Area served
Copenhagen.
Nearby airports
Kastrup (CPH) 8.8 km, Sturup (MMX) 52.1 km, angelholm-Helsingborg (AGH) 69.9 km.
Area description
Situated in the old town close to Kings Garden, Nyhavn, Stroeget - the longest shopping street in Europe. All major attractions are within walking distance. The friendly hotel staff will see to a warm and relaxed atmosphere. In all rooms you will find free wireless high speed internet access and free bottled water.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen Rooms

Standard Single Room
Room Facilities: Shower, Flat screen TV, Working desk, Telephone, Radio, Insuite Bathroom, Satellite TV, Bottled Water, Free WIFI.
Standard Double Room
Room Facilities: Shower, Flat screen TV, Telephone, Radio, Insuite Bathroom, Cable TV, Free WIFI, Bottled Water.
Superior Triple Room
Large superior double room: tastefully decorated with exquisite art work and 32" flatscreen TV with HD channels, Radio, Working desk, Insuite Bathroom, Shower, Cable TV, Free WIFI, Bottled Water.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • The David Collection: 0 mi
  • Indre By: 0.2 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.3 mi
  • Stroget: 0.3 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.4 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 0.4 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 0.4 mi
  • Nyhavn: 0.4 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.4 mi
  • Osterport: 0.5 mi
  • The David Collection: 0 mi
  • Indre By: 0.2 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.3 mi
  • Stroget: 0.3 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.4 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 0.4 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 0.4 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 0.4 mi
  • Nyhavn: 0.4 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.4 mi
  • Osterport: 0.5 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 0.6 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.6 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.6 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 0.6 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.9 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 0.9 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.9 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 0.9 mi
  • Christiania: 0.9 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 1 mi
  • Library Garden: 1 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 1.1 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 1.1 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 1.1 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 1.2 mi
  • DGI-byen: 1.2 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Frederiksberg: 1.5 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.7 mi
  • The Marble Church: 1.7 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.8 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1.8 mi
  • Fælledparken: 2 mi
  • Oresund Bridge: 2.3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sltraveler
Boston, MA
May 26, 2014

Nothing super special

The rooms are average-- like a Best Western/Ramada/Red Roof Inn in the states. They were clean and roomy but dated and a little dingy. The location is great, you can walk to just about anything in Copenhagen and if you can't walk there, then you can catch the metro which isn't far. We didn't interact too much with the staff but when we did, they seemed nice. The breakfast buffet was great! More than just pre-packaged foods. Delicious pastries, cereals, fruits, coffee/tea/milk/juice/water, meat spread, homemade-looking breads, so good! They have free wifi too and it's fairly fast. Seems like all hotels in Copenhagen are really expensive (even the hostels) so the value compared to the quality was slightly above average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCSPT
Sydney Australia
Sep 23, 2013

Top location

We felt very welcome & at home in this small & intimate little hotel. The location was perfect - we could walk to all the places of interest & there were so many great restaurants within a 10 minute stroll. We took the advice of the receptionist to do the canal tour & it was wonderful. We also hired bikes from the hotel one of the days & saw so much just cycling around this beautiful & immaculately kept city. The hotel breakfast was sumptuous & set us up for the day....would come back just for that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The tour of the Copenhagen by canal boat - not to be missed.

Review of Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swanitz Family
Business
Santa Ynez, California
May 2, 2013

Great location, Great staff, and Great breakfast!!

The Christian IV Hotel was the perfect place for our family of three (two adults and an 8 yr old). A lot of the hotels I researched in Copenhagen did not accommodate 3 people without paying for a very expensive suite. While not fancy, the room was very large for Europe where rooms are typically much smaller than we are use to in the US. The location was perfect, very central to all sites and right next to Rosenborg Slot and the adjacent park. It was also close to a couple of metro stations and numerous bus stops. I noticed on another review, someone said there was a "small" breakfast. I am not sure what their criteria was for saying small or if the hotel has stepped things up but the breakfast was wonderful and by no means "small" ! There was several kinds of fresh breads, fresh danishes, salami, ham, cheeses, soft boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt and granola, cereal, and several types of beverages. The breakfast was really so wonderful and plentiful that really you can eat up and just have a light lunch to save money. Beyond breakfast, they had apples, cookies, sometimes danish, and beverages out in the breakfast room through out the day so you could grab an apple to go and have a small snack. The staff was also very nice and helpful but during our week long stay we really enjoyed the breakfast hostess Wikkee! She was FABULOUS! She had the breakfast buffet table decorated with intricately cut fruit to look like swans, veggies cut to look like peony flowers, pineapple to look like butterflies. She also came to our table and carved one of the apple swans for my daughter so she could she how it was done. She also noticed on the first day, that my daughter was making hot chocolate with hot water on the buffet table and asked if she would like it better with hot milk - which of course is much better tasting. After that first time, every morning she would bring our daughter a cup of warm hot hot chocolate made with milk as soon as we sat down at a table. She really made us feel at home during our stay! So I'll sum it up as I did in the title, the location was perfect, the staff made you feel at home, and the "Wikkie breakfast" as we called it was not only delicious but really a great added value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Eat up on the fabulous breakfast that is included and you and save money by only needing a light lunch. Also, if you are going to visit a lot of historical sites and museums, buy with cOPENhagen card at the airport (there is also a place at one of the TI's in town but not sure exactly where) - it gives you free use of all the public transportation and entrances into most of the sites and attractions. Check it out at http://www.copenhagencard.com It saves us a lot of money.

Review of Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don and Marta
Canada
Aug 31, 2012

Great Room!

We had a great room (48) on the 4th floor looking out at the garden. Bed was super comfortable, terrific breakfast, friendly, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ParanoidGeek
Ohio
Sep 3, 2010

Quiet spot outside the tourist bustle

This is a nice hotel within easy walking distance to a number of Copenhagen tourist attractions, but not right in the middle of all the noise and congestion from them. The staff are nice and not overly solicitous. There is a small breakfast downstairs to get you going and coffee served all day if you are like me and need time to regroup before heading out to yet another museum. Dinner options in the surrounding block was limited, but there are a number of things a little further away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located about halfway between the Little Mermaid and Tivoli which is a great location if you plan on just walking or biking while you are in Copenhagen.

Review of Christian IV Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ParanoidGeek
Ohio
Sep 3, 2010

Quiet spot outside the tourist bustle

This is a nice hotel within easy walking distance to a number of Copenhagen tourist attractions, but not right in the middle of all the noise and congestion from them. The staff are nice and not overly solicitous. There is a small breakfast downstairs to get you going and coffee served all day if you are like me and need time to regroup before heading out to yet another museum. Dinner options in the surrounding block was limited, but there are a number of things a little further away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located about halfway between the Little Mermaid and Tivoli which is a great location if you plan on just walking or biking while you are in Copenhagen.

Back to menu Return to top