$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

3 stars
8 H. C. Andersens Blvd., Copenhagen, DK 1553
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
23 reviews
Charming

My stay was welcoming, cozy and comfortable. I enjoyed the Retro theme, and found the room clean... See full review

  • Yenniefair
  • Jan 3, 2014
Interesting decor/ great service

This is an historic hotel that has been renovated using vintage Danish furniture. It is very... See full review

  • Dontwantanickname
  • Jun 17, 2013
Location, location in this retro-themed hotel in the heart of the city

Hotel Alexandra is the only hotel in Copenhagen with a Danish-retro theme. The classical building encapsulates over 100 years of Danish tradition in the heart of the city. The hotel has developed its own unique atmosphere, uniting proud old architecture and traditional design with modern facilities. The hotel has its own spa and bistro. The central location is ideal for tourists, with sights such as Tivoli Gardens nearby.

Highlights

  • On-site spa
  • On-site bistro
  • Historic hotel building
  • Central location

Rooms

The hotel has 61 rooms in four different sizes, from a small Danish retro room to a deluxe Danish designer room. The retro rooms feature genuine Danish furniture and art from the 1930s, '40s and '50s. Designer rooms have furniture inspired by some of Denmark's most famous architects and designers. All rooms have a private bathroom with shower or bath, a desk and chair, telephone, soundproofed windows, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), tea- and coffee-making equipment, electronic safe, and fan.

Features

Guests should consider pre-booking the 100-minute, relaxing Mirage Spa experience -- a body scrub in almond oil followed by a Jacuzzi spa, facial cleansing and peeling, and an invigorating massage with hot lava stones. The experience is topped off by fresh fruit and a glass of Asti.

 

Bistro KBH, the on-site restaurant, serves French cuisine with a fresh Scandinavian twist. The restaurant has an extensive selection of wines sold by the bottle or glass. The restaurant also serves pølsevogn, a traditional Danish fast food, recommended for guests on the go.

Transportation

  • Copenhagen train station (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Øresund Bridge (6 mi/9.7 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Tivoli Gardens (380 yd /400 m)
  • Halmtorvet Square (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Nyhavn Canalside (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • The Little Mermaid (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Amalienborg Castle (2.5 mi/4.1 km)

Business

  • Business district 15 minutes away by car
  • Close to main train station

Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen Rooms

Danish Retro Room
Danish Retro Room is primarily decorated with Danish furniture art from 50s to 60s. Toilet with shower or bath, hair dryer, desk & chair, telephone, electronic safe box, soundproofed windows, fan, flatscreen TV, Free Wi-Fi, electric kettle with coffee and tea possibilities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

55.6772 12.5661
Area served
Copenhagen.
Nearby airports
Kastrup (CPH) 8.7 km, Sturup (MMX) 52.9 km, Angelholm-Helsingborg (AGH) 71.1 km.
Area description
Alexandra is located on finest corner by the Townhall Square 3 min. walk to Tivoli Garden and the main shopping area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Church of our Saviour: 0.2 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.3 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum: 0.4 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.6 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.6 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.2 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.3 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum: 0.4 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.6 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.6 mi
  • Stroget: 0.6 mi
  • Indre By: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Frederiksberg: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.8 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.9 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 0.9 mi
  • Nyhavn: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 1 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1 mi
  • The Marble Church: 1 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1 mi
  • Fælledparken: 1.1 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 1.1 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.2 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.3 mi
  • Osterport: 1.3 mi
  • Christiania: 1.4 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 1.4 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 1.4 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 1.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 1.6 mi
  • Copenhagen Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 1.7 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Small meeting room "Retro". Maximum of 8 persons. Please contact the reception for pricing and availability.

Dining

LeLe Street Kitchen
LeLe Street kitchen offers a variety of tasty and fresh meals from the Vietnamese cuisine (primarily from the north and south), while also offering refreshments. The restaurant is open from 12:00 (noon) until 22:00 (10 pm)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baltic Sea Crousers
Southern California
Sep 1, 2012

Great location, that' all

The Alexandra is located in a very central location, couple blocks from Tivoli, 10 minutes walk from Central station and Stroguet but just is all positive about it. We arrived early in the morning a couple of days before our Baltic sea cruise, our room wasn't ready until middle the afternoon, our room was in the fourth floor facing the street a very busy and noisy boulevard that even with the windows closed was impossible to sleep soundly, to the point that they provide us with ear plugs to mitigate the street noise, to make matters even worse this hotel do not have air conditioning, a fact that I didn't see anywhere in the description of it, this is important when your stay is in late August and can't open the windows, however the hotel provide us with a very small portable fan for ventilation. The icing on the cake came at check out when the lady at the reception try to double charge us for the bicycle rental of the day before which we payed at the time of rental, even when I showed her the credit card receipt she didn't believed me only when I produce a print receipt she accepted in a very rude manner. We fell in love with Copenhagen not so much with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
word travels
Lake Forest, Illinois
Oct 28, 2013

dripping sink smelling of sulphur

If you are young and like hostels, this is the place for you! Choosing not to get your room cleaned will get you about 20 dollars off your restaurant bill next door per day but nothing matters if below your sink the pipe drips onto your floor and it smells of sewage and the complaint is not addressed immediately. Loving Danish mid-century modern is also key if you want to like this perfectly located hotel. My kids thought it was hip and eco-whatever. I thought it was uncomfortable and because I bought it on a package they would not give me another room when requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChristyC
Reno, NV, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Were moved to another hotel

we arrived to hear that there was a problem and they needed to move us to another "comparable" hotel. It was farther away but they paid for a cab. It was not a comparable hotel. However, the Savoy staff were fabulous, the breakfast wonderful and we told the Savoy we were happy to have been booted out of the Alexandra Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ameliasgrandma
New Jersey
Jul 3, 2012

Great location, but really basic

Friendly, helpful front desk staff, and a great location a block up the street from Tivoli, but the room was really tiny, with a thin and saggy mattress. I had to use the chair for my suitcase, as there was no place else to put it. This was the last two nights of a 10-night trip, so we didn't want to fully unpack. The bathroom was compact but functional, and free wi-fi was great. But NO air conditioning. The street is noisy, so it is a choice between a little air and the street noise. There was a fan. . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
illinois
Aug 20, 2010

Location, Location, Location

Great location, clean. Very small room. Bed takes up most of the space, hard to even get out a suitcase. Staff were terrific. Wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
illinois
Aug 20, 2010

Location, Location, Location

Great location, clean. Very small room. Bed takes up most of the space, hard to even get out a suitcase. Staff were terrific. Wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChristyC
Reno, NV, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Were moved to another hotel

we arrived to hear that there was a problem and they needed to move us to another "comparable" hotel. It was farther away but they paid for a cab. It was not a comparable hotel. However, the Savoy staff were fabulous, the breakfast wonderful and we told the Savoy we were happy to have been booted out of the Alexandra Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beendone
NY, NY
Jul 5, 2012

Value for location

Conveniently located (short walk to the rail station and Tivoli Garden), yet far enough outside the dust of Copenhagen's ubiquitous construction. Small, but reasonably comfortable room. Excellent staff. Double windows, when both shut, effectively keep out the noise from the busy boulevard below. I'd worry about a stay in the summer, though, since the hotel has no A/C and the windows would need to be open. Otherwise, I'd recommend this hotel and stay there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Plan to spend an evening in Tivoli Garden, including dinner.

Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emily
Chicago
Aug 15, 2011

Adequate room

The room was very small, but adequate--much smaller than the hotel I stayed in Stockholm (comparable value). The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to lots of places. My only beef was that the hot water in the shower kept changing temps. The staff were nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emily
Chicago
Aug 15, 2011

Adequate room

The room was very small, but adequate--much smaller than the hotel I stayed in Stockholm (comparable value). The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to lots of places. My only beef was that the hot water in the shower kept changing temps. The staff were nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top