$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

3 stars
8 H. C. Andersens Blvd., Copenhagen, DK 1553
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
15 reviews
Charming

My stay was welcoming, cozy and comfortable. I enjoyed the Retro theme, and found the room clean... See full review

  • Yenniefair
  • Jan 3, 2014
Would return in a heartbeat!

After hours of researching accommodation in CPH, I was pretty sure I found the best one- and I was... See full review

  • LoveCPH
  • Jul 27, 2011
Location, location in this retro-themed hotel in the heart of the city

Hotel Alexandra is the only hotel in Copenhagen with a Danish-retro theme. The classical building encapsulates over 100 years of Danish tradition in the heart of the city. The hotel has developed its own unique atmosphere, uniting proud old architecture and traditional design with modern facilities. The hotel has its own spa and bistro. The central location is ideal for tourists, with sights such as Tivoli Gardens nearby.

Highlights

  • On-site spa
  • On-site bistro
  • Historic hotel building
  • Central location

Rooms

The hotel has 61 rooms in four different sizes, from a small Danish retro room to a deluxe Danish designer room. The retro rooms feature genuine Danish furniture and art from the 1930s, '40s and '50s. Designer rooms have furniture inspired by some of Denmark's most famous architects and designers. All rooms have a private bathroom with shower or bath, a desk and chair, telephone, soundproofed windows, flat-screen television, Internet access (fees apply), tea- and coffee-making equipment, electronic safe, and fan.

Features

Guests should consider pre-booking the 100-minute, relaxing Mirage Spa experience -- a body scrub in almond oil followed by a Jacuzzi spa, facial cleansing and peeling, and an invigorating massage with hot lava stones. The experience is topped off by fresh fruit and a glass of Asti.

 

Bistro KBH, the on-site restaurant, serves French cuisine with a fresh Scandinavian twist. The restaurant has an extensive selection of wines sold by the bottle or glass. The restaurant also serves pølsevogn, a traditional Danish fast food, recommended for guests on the go.

Transportation

  • Copenhagen train station (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Øresund Bridge (6 mi/9.7 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Tivoli Gardens (380 yd /400 m)
  • Halmtorvet Square (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Nyhavn Canalside (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • The Little Mermaid (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Amalienborg Castle (2.5 mi/4.1 km)

Business

  • Business district 15 minutes away by car
  • Close to main train station

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen Rooms

Danish Retro Room
Danish Retro Room is primarily decorated with Danish furniture art from 50s to 60s. Toilet with shower or bath, hair dryer, desk & chair, telephone, electronic safe box, soundproofed windows, fan, flatscreen TV, Free Wi-Fi, electric kettle with coffee and tea possibilities.
Danish Retro Room - Superior
Our Danish Superior Retro Rooms are approximately 16-17m2. All rooms have double mattresses, 160-180 cm. The Superior Double Rooms are overlooking the boulevard (H C Andersens Boulevard) or the courtyard, and they are decorated and either a 50s style or 60s style. All Rooms have private bath / toilet, desk / chair, soundproof windows, electronic safe, telephone with possibility for direct dial, flat screen TV with international TV channels, electric kettle with the possibility to make coffee/tea, fan, iPhone/iPod docking station with speaker, and free use of Wi-Fi in room.
Danish Retro Room - Twin
Our Danish Retro Rooms are approximately 15-16m2. The Danish Retro Room has two separated twin beds. The twin rooms are either facing the side street (Studiestrde) or the courtyard. The rooms are either dedicated to the 50s or to the 60s. All rooms have private bath/toilet, desk / chair, soundproof windows, electronic safe, telephone with possibility for direct dial, flat screen TV with international TV channels, electric kettle with the possibility to make coffee/tea, fan, and free use of Wi-Fi.
Small Danish Retro Room - Single room
Our Small Danish Retro Rooms are approximately 11m2. The Small Danish Retro Room has a single bed and are for one person. All of the single rooms are overlooking the courtyard, and all of the room are dedicated to either the 50s or to the 60s. All rooms have private bath/toilet, desk / chair, soundproof windows, electronic safe, telephone with possibility for direct dial, flat screen TV with international TV channels, electric kettle with the possibility to make coffee/tea, fan, and free use of Wi-Fi.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Church of our Saviour: 0.2 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.3 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum: 0.4 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.6 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.6 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.2 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 0.3 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Library Garden: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 0.3 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.4 mi
  • National Museum: 0.4 mi
  • DGI-byen: 0.5 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.5 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.5 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.6 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.6 mi
  • Stroget: 0.6 mi
  • Indre By: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.8 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.8 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.9 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 0.9 mi
  • Amalienborg: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 1 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1 mi
  • The Marble Church: 1 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 1 mi
  • Fælledparken: 1.1 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 1.1 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.2 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.3 mi
  • Osterport: 1.3 mi
  • Christiania: 1.4 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 1.4 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 1.4 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 1.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 1.6 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 1.6 mi
  • Copenhagen Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 1.7 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 1.9 mi
  • Valby: 2.4 mi

Dining

LeLe Street Kitchen
LeLe Street kitchen offers a variety of tasty and fresh meals from the Vietnamese cuisine (primarily from the north and south), while also offering refreshments. The restaurant is open from 12:00 (noon) until 22:00 (10 pm)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Small meeting room "Retro". Maximum of 8 persons. Please contact the reception for pricing and availability.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoveCPH
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 27, 2011

Would return in a heartbeat!

After hours of researching accommodation in CPH, I was pretty sure I found the best one- and I was right! I am a frequent traveler, in my 20s, and sometimes I find the 5-star reviews here on TA a bit misleading; we once stayed at a hotel in New Orleans that was among the top 5 places to stay there, and we were more than a bit disappointed. I'd like to assure you that this 5-star rating is deserved. I noticed a lot of complaints in hotel reviews in Copenhagen that the: rooms were super small, hotel was extremely overpriced, locations were in a noisy part of town, staff was rude, etc. Since I knew I was going to be spending more money than usual on accommodation (this is Scandinavia!), I decided that if I was going to spend money, I wouldn't waste it on a cramped, noisy hotel. That isn't to say I didn't have a budget in mind-I paid around $500 for 4 nights for a single room (I was meeting up with friends), and it was worth every penny. Hotel Alexandra is a convenient 5-minute walk from Central Train Station, which was ideal for me since I was traveling by rail. When I got there, they gave me a city map, and when I asked them, they were more than happy to point out where the nearest grocery store was (Rema 1000), and where I could find non-touristy shopping. I walked into my room and instantly loved it. It wasn't overly luxurious, but the furnishings were new and clean, the bathroom wasn't minuscule, and the bed was just so cozy! I am very picky about hotels in general, and I just loved it here. My umbrella broke the first day I was there, and they happily let me use one of the many FREE and awesome umbrellas they had near the elevator. (Weather note: I went in late July, and it was cold: bring sweaters, jackets, pants, and closed toed shoes.) in the room, I could easily make coffee or tea anytime. The breakfast isn't free (and at 95Kr per person, almost $20, I highly recommend skipping it and picking up the awesome cinnamon buns at REMA 1000 for 6Kr each). The way I didn't go broke in Denmark (and Sweden) was that I bought all my food at grocery stores. I realize this isn't always possible or ideal, but that's the way you will save. Also, for families: many cultural activities are free for kids under 5, and make sure teenagers bring an ISIC card! My departing train was at 8:30am, and I left my room at 7:30am, and was checked out at 7:35. So easy! The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were all incredibly nice. LOCATION: Ideal. You don't need to take public transportation within the center, everything is walkable. 10 minutes walking from city center, 15 minutes from trendy southwest neighborhoods, and 5 minutes from train station and Tourist Office (which is truly incredible). There's a movie theater around the corner, for when it's too cold outside (movies are in English with Danish subtitles). On any kind of budget, I would return to this hotel. I absolutely adored CPH, and this hotel has a lot to do with that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go shopping on Stogen (aka The Stroll) unless you want to feel like you're back in the US! go to the small boutiques that are close the the Round Tower.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy Y.
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 26, 2011

Absolutely fabulous!

The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room design and furniture was exquisite. The retro feel made it worth the while. Staff was very helpful in providing recommendations. Great location for sightseeing - close to Copenhagen H station, Tivoli, City Hall, and Stroget. Definitely return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk along the Stroget at night. Lots of stores/churches nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
illinois
Aug 20, 2010

Location, Location, Location

Great location, clean. Very small room. Bed takes up most of the space, hard to even get out a suitcase. Staff were terrific. Wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jun 12, 2010

Lovely Staff

We were very pleased with the design, location, cleanliness and, especially, the helpful staff at the Alexandria Hotel. Our room was tastefully designed and we found a comfortable Danish chair in the room that we will try to buy back home. The location is near everything and bicycles are on offer, for a fee, to travel around town. The breakfast is well worth the cost. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the Smorgasborg for lunch at Christian 4-tal Dansk frokost restaurant at Strandgade 14. The herring and meatballs are fresh, home-made and superb. They are only open from 11:00 to 17:00, so don't go for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 2, 2010

Great location, service

The hotel was easy to get to using the train into the city and walking. The staff for very helpful, the breakfast was great. They were genersous in allowing us to leave bags and sight see befor or departure. For a short vist in Copenhagen I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top