$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

3 stars
View map of 8 H. C. Andersens Blvd., Copenhagen, DK 1553

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ameliasgrandma
Business
New Jersey
Jul 3, 2012

Great location, but really basic

Friendly, helpful front desk staff, and a great location a block up the street from Tivoli, but the room was really tiny, with a thin and saggy mattress. I had to use the chair for my suitcase, as there was no place else to put it. This was the last two nights of a 10-night trip, so we didn't want to fully unpack. The bathroom was compact but functional, and free wi-fi was great. But NO air conditioning. The street is noisy, so it is a choice between a little air and the street noise. There was a fan. . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crim
Business
New Jersey
Oct 23, 2011

In for a conference

And as a place to stay for a few nights, was great. Charming in its appearance, the room was just the right size for me. Two blocks from the S train, one stop to the Metro - very convenient to get to/from the airport and to the Bella Center, which is where my event was held. Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChristyC
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Were moved to another hotel

we arrived to hear that there was a problem and they needed to move us to another "comparable" hotel. It was farther away but they paid for a cab. It was not a comparable hotel. However, the Savoy staff were fabulous, the breakfast wonderful and we told the Savoy we were happy to have been booted out of the Alexandra Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emily
Business
Chicago
Aug 15, 2011

Adequate room

The room was very small, but adequate--much smaller than the hotel I stayed in Stockholm (comparable value). The hotel is in a great location and walking distance to lots of places. My only beef was that the hot water in the shower kept changing temps. The staff were nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LoveCPH
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 27, 2011

Would return in a heartbeat!

After hours of researching accommodation in CPH, I was pretty sure I found the best one- and I was right! I am a frequent traveler, in my 20s, and sometimes I find the 5-star reviews here on TA a bit misleading; we once stayed at a hotel in New Orleans that was among the top 5 places to stay there, and we were more than a bit disappointed. I'd like to assure you that this 5-star rating is deserved. I noticed a lot of complaints in hotel reviews in Copenhagen that the: rooms were super small, hotel was extremely overpriced, locations were in a noisy part of town, staff was rude, etc. Since I knew I was going to be spending more money than usual on accommodation (this is Scandinavia!), I decided that if I was going to spend money, I wouldn't waste it on a cramped, noisy hotel. That isn't to say I didn't have a budget in mind-I paid around $500 for 4 nights for a single room (I was meeting up with friends), and it was worth every penny. Hotel Alexandra is a convenient 5-minute walk from Central Train Station, which was ideal for me since I was traveling by rail. When I got there, they gave me a city map, and when I asked them, they were more than happy to point out where the nearest grocery store was (Rema 1000), and where I could find non-touristy shopping. I walked into my room and instantly loved it. It wasn't overly luxurious, but the furnishings were new and clean, the bathroom wasn't minuscule, and the bed was just so cozy! I am very picky about hotels in general, and I just loved it here. My umbrella broke the first day I was there, and they happily let me use one of the many FREE and awesome umbrellas they had near the elevator. (Weather note: I went in late July, and it was cold: bring sweaters, jackets, pants, and closed toed shoes.) in the room, I could easily make coffee or tea anytime. The breakfast isn't free (and at 95Kr per person, almost $20, I highly recommend skipping it and picking up the awesome cinnamon buns at REMA 1000 for 6Kr each). The way I didn't go broke in Denmark (and Sweden) was that I bought all my food at grocery stores. I realize this isn't always possible or ideal, but that's the way you will save. Also, for families: many cultural activities are free for kids under 5, and make sure teenagers bring an ISIC card! My departing train was at 8:30am, and I left my room at 7:30am, and was checked out at 7:35. So easy! The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were all incredibly nice. LOCATION: Ideal. You don't need to take public transportation within the center, everything is walkable. 10 minutes walking from city center, 15 minutes from trendy southwest neighborhoods, and 5 minutes from train station and Tourist Office (which is truly incredible). There's a movie theater around the corner, for when it's too cold outside (movies are in English with Danish subtitles). On any kind of budget, I would return to this hotel. I absolutely adored CPH, and this hotel has a lot to do with that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go shopping on Stogen (aka The Stroll) unless you want to feel like you're back in the US! go to the small boutiques that are close the the Round Tower.

Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy Y.
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 26, 2011

Absolutely fabulous!

The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The room design and furniture was exquisite. The retro feel made it worth the while. Staff was very helpful in providing recommendations. Great location for sightseeing - close to Copenhagen H station, Tivoli, City Hall, and Stroget. Definitely return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk along the Stroget at night. Lots of stores/churches nearby.

Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
illinois
Aug 20, 2010

Location, Location, Location

Great location, clean. Very small room. Bed takes up most of the space, hard to even get out a suitcase. Staff were terrific. Wonderful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jun 12, 2010

Lovely Staff

We were very pleased with the design, location, cleanliness and, especially, the helpful staff at the Alexandria Hotel. Our room was tastefully designed and we found a comfortable Danish chair in the room that we will try to buy back home. The location is near everything and bicycles are on offer, for a fee, to travel around town. The breakfast is well worth the cost. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the Smorgasborg for lunch at Christian 4-tal Dansk frokost restaurant at Strandgade 14. The herring and meatballs are fresh, home-made and superb. They are only open from 11:00 to 17:00, so don't go for dinner.

Review of Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jun 2, 2010

Great location, service

The hotel was easy to get to using the train into the city and walking. The staff for very helpful, the breakfast was great. They were genersous in allowing us to leave bags and sight see befor or departure. For a short vist in Copenhagen I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top