$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

4 stars
Nyhavn 71, Copenhagen, 1051
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
40 reviews
Old World Charm in a Great Location!

I loved this place!!! Of all the places I've traveled, the 71 Nyhavn (pronounced "NEW-houn") Hotel... See full review

  • Scorpio7790
  • Oct 23, 2012
Super Bed & Breakfast

This was a super bed & breakfast with a great location on the canal. It was close to bus stops,... See full review

  • Ole and Lena
  • Jun 20, 2011
Hotel full of character on the colorful Nyhavn waterfront

Whatever the reason for a visit to Copenhagen, the 71 Nyhavn Hotel provides an appealing ambience. The two warehouses that house the 71 Nyhavn Hotel have acted as points of orientation for visitors to the Nyhavn area of Copenhagen for the past two centuries. The warehouses were originally used to store spices from the Far East, and the Pomeranian pine beams remain as reminders of the era. Attention to detail guarantees an unforgettable stay in Copenhagen.

Highlights
  • Restaurant and bar
  • Original architectural features
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Rooms

The 71 Nyhavn Hotel has 150 elegant rooms and suites that interplay with the old warehouse building to create an unusual atmosphere. All accommodations have free Wi-Fi, en-suite private bath, flat-screen television, and a well-stocked mini-bar. Standard and superior rooms as well as executive rooms, suites, and junior suites are available. Suites overlook the entrance of Copenhagen harbor. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking accommodations. Guests can order room service from the on-site restaurant.

Features

Restaurant Pakhuskælderen (The Warehouse Cellar) is on the most prominent corner of the Nyhavn Canal. The charming restaurant, newly renovated yet rustic, is open for lunch and dinner, serving innovative cuisine with a classical foundation. The menu takes full advantage of local, seasonal produce. It includes a comprehensive wine list. Drinks and light meals are served from noon in the bar. Pakhuskælderen's location in the heart of Copenhagen makes it an obvious choice for a gourmet experience before a show at the neighboring Opera House or the National Theatre.

 

One meeting room accommodates up to 14.

Transportation
  • Copenhagen central train station (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Copenhagen Airport (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Opera House (0.3 mi/0.5 km by water taxi)
  • New National Theatre (0.4 mi/0.6 km by water taxi)
  • Amalienborg Castle (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • The Little Mermaid (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Tivoli Gardens (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
Business
  • One meeting room accommodating 14
  • Catering
  • AV equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • Whiteboard and flipchart

Hotel Map

55.6792 12.5936
Area served
Copenhagen.
Nearby airports
Kastrup (CPH) 7.9 km, Sturup (MMX) 51.3 km, Angelholm-Helsingborg (AGH) 70.4 km.
Area description
71 Nyhavn is located in the heart of Copenhagen, only a few minutes walk to Amalienborg Castle, Kongens Nytorv and the pedestrian shopping street "Strget".

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen Rooms

Superior Room
All superior rooms at 71 Nyhavn Hotel have a beautiful view of the Nyhavn Harbour. There are three types of superior rooms; single, double and twin. Room Facilities: Minibar, Shower, TV, Telephone, Bathroom Amenities, Toilet, Bathroom, Cable TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk.
Standard Room
71 Nyhavn Hotel has two categories of standard rooms; single and double. All standard rooms are equipped alike. Room Facilities: Minibar, Shower, TV, Telephone, Bathroom Amenities, Toilet, Bathroom, Cable TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Nyhavn: 0.2 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.3 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.3 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Christiania: 0.4 mi
  • Indre By: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.5 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 0.7 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 0.7 mi
  • Nyhavn: 0.2 mi
  • Charlottenborg: 0.3 mi
  • Kongens Nytorv: 0.3 mi
  • Amalienborg Palace: 0.3 mi
  • Copenhagen Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Guinness World Records Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Christiania: 0.4 mi
  • Indre By: 0.5 mi
  • Stroget: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Square: 0.5 mi
  • The David Collection: 0.6 mi
  • Thorvaldsens Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Christiansborg Palace (Christiansborg Slot): 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Danish Resistance (Frihedsmuseet): 0.7 mi
  • University of Copenhagen: 0.7 mi
  • Round Tower (Rundetaarn): 0.7 mi
  • Little Mermaid: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenborg Palace: 0.8 mi
  • Frederiks Bastion: 0.8 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek (Glyptoteket): 0.9 mi
  • Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek: 0.9 mi
  • National Gallery of Denmark: 0.9 mi
  • Church of our Saviour: 0.9 mi
  • Botanical Gardens (Botanisk Have): 0.9 mi
  • Danish Design Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Osterport: 0.9 mi
  • The Little Mermaid (Den Lille Havfrue): 1 mi
  • Tivoli Gardens: 1 mi
  • Church of Our Lady: 1.1 mi
  • Islands Brygge: 1.2 mi
  • Copenhagen Train station: 1.2 mi
  • DGI-byen: 1.3 mi
  • Library Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Indre Osterbro: 1.3 mi
  • IMAX Tycho Brahe Planetarium: 1.4 mi
  • Vestamager: 1.4 mi
  • Amager Strandpark: 1.6 mi
  • Oresund Bridge: 1.7 mi
  • Frederiksberg: 1.8 mi
  • Parken Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Dyrehaven: 1.9 mi
  • The Marble Church: 2.1 mi
  • Fælledparken: 2.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hold your private meeting in exclusive surroundings at the 71 Nyhavn Hotel. The hotel has a small but wonderful meeting room which can seat up to 12 participants. It is also possible to hold a private meeting in one of our suites with a view of the Copenhagen harbour. Experience the special attention you receive as a meeting guest at 71 Nyhavn Hotel. For larger conferences on up to 80 meeting participants we have a co-operation with Nordatlantens Brygge, situated opposite the hotel on the other side of the water and we include a water taxi to and from the hotel.

Dining

Restaurant Pakhusklderen
Restaurant Pakhusklderen is located in the corner of the building towards the Nyhavn canal. The original Pomerianian fir beams contribute to the intimate atmosphere of the restaurant where an innovative, seasonal gourmet menu inspired by the Danish/French cuisine is served.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jorgie Jorg
Massachusetts
Feb 9, 2014

Not a 4 Star

Area is absolutely perfect! However, rooms are very tiny and the housekeeping crew didn't clean our room for 3 days. We left our Do Not Disturb on the door to sleep in the morning, which was obviously a message to the housekeeping staff to not clean the room. They would leave a plastic bag of toilet paper and towels in the hall in front of the room for us...how nice. When we complained at the front desk, we were told that housekeeping leaves for the day at noon. WOW!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Supergrandad
Bristol UK
Apr 19, 2013

Short Birthday Break - Mature Couple

The location is perfect for visits to the centre of Copenhagen and for the bars and restaurants on Nyhavn. However, the ridiculous prices in the city - and this Hotel - for meals/drinks completely spoiled the whole experience. Breakfast £20 per head Dinner would have been £40 per head such stuff is really only for the wealthy and the business traveller. Our room was an 2 room attic [?Junior Suite?] with limited amenity and poor view, even though a "Superior View" had been booked and paid for. Sorry but value for money was poor. Also - do not visit till May..weather very poor till then

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The City Museum is free and very interesting...the Rosenberg Palace and Christianborg Palace are quite interesting

Review of 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom in NJ
Tenafly, NJ
Nov 19, 2012

Lovely hotel

The area that the hotel is in is called "Newhown" although it looks in English as it should be pronounced very differently. I came here with my daughter who is actually studying in Copenhagen for the semester and wanted to stay near her apt/dorm in Nyhavn. We easily took the metro from the airport and then walked about 10-15 minutes from the metro to the hotel at the end of the street, after passing restaurants all the way down the block. The hotel was lovely. The room was Europe-smallish but adequate for our suitcases and for two of us. The queen sized bed (I was told we had a double) was fine as we had separate duvets. My daughter had mentioned that outlets in Denmark are not common so it was hard to charge up our phones, pc, etc. at the same time but we figured out it anyway. The walls are somewhat thin as I could hear talking at night (the next door neighbor had a sneezing spell) so it was a little hard to sleep, but besides that, the bed was comfy, the room was nice and the experience was fine. The hotel restaurant was hopping! We only had coffee/hot chocolate one night in the bar as there were too many restaurants in the area to stay at the hotel, but the service was good. It was a nice stay in Copenhagen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go into town and experience all the shops!

Review of 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scorpio7790
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Oct 23, 2012

Old World Charm in a Great Location!

I loved this place!!! Of all the places I've traveled, the 71 Nyhavn (pronounced "NEW-houn") Hotel is one of my all-time favorites. However, if you're a fan of luxury name brand hotels, this ain't the place for you. I stay in WAY too many of the same old, same old hotel chains in the US -- every Marriot, Hyatt. etc. in every city across the country is guaranteed to provide the exact same room layout, decor, carpeting, breakfast bar, pillows whether you're in California or Florida. The Nyhavn Hotel has its own special character. To begin with, the hotel is actually two adjacent old industrial buildings which have been renovated to retain a rustic feel, located at the very end of the Nyhavn canal -- a lively and colorful street filled with lots of wonderful restaurants, cafes, bars, and ice cream shops. Even in October, despite the cold and grey skies, the sidewalk along the canal was crowded with outdoor diners from morning to evening. You can catch a canal boat tour just a short stroll from the hotel entrance. I was in Copenhagen for a week and a half visiting my daughter, who was completing a study abroad program there, and I originally booked a single room. But when my daughter realized my hotel was within walking distance of her classes, she moved in with me. So I upgraded to a double room with a view of the channel, providing live action entertainment out our fourth floor windows 24 hours a day. The hotel staff were all delightful young professionals who spoke both Danish and English (and probably others) fluently. They managed their duties with a wonderful blend of friendly helpfulness and professional competence – even down to sending me back to the airport at the end of my stay via the metro with detailed instructions for how many zones I would need, how much it would cost, and how long it would take. (Alternatively, I was offered the opportunity to book a taxi.) During my 10-day stay, I took an overnight mini-cruise to Oslo, Norway with my daughter, and the hotel stored our luggage until our return, booking us back into a room comparable to our original when we returned. Housekeeping was immaculate. Each room had a small refrigerator, a flat screen TV, and a ground line phone. Wifi internet access was free and worked well throughout the premises, even on the upper floors. The hotel has its own restaurant, though we did not eat there. At 180 kroner (about $36), breakfast was quite expensive, but be warned – dining out in Copenhagen is very pricey everywhere. One final note—71 Nyhavn is the only hotel along the Nyhavn strip. It’s a real gem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Copenhagen is an eminently accessible city. I would strongly encourage visitors to walk to as many places as possible to really get a sense of place. If you're up for the exercise, you can reach nearly all the major city sites on foot.

Review of 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2loves2travel
Placerville, CA
Sep 22, 2012

Great Location

Room was clean, but small. Mold in shower was not pleasing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
achi
costa rica
Aug 24, 2012

Great location for vacation

The canal front rooms too small and it was very hot day at Copenhague, no air conditioning, moved to the new building with a/c and rooms more spacious and a/c with fixed temperature. Good beds European standard. Excellent location, great breakfast, free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to dining, shopping and tour office

Review of 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Business.traveller
Business
Prague, Cz
Aug 17, 2012

Great location but not much else

Nice location in centre of tourist area. Small, stuffy, unclean and poorly maintained rooms. Very expensive for what you get. Would not return again to 71 Nyhavn, would prefer a better standard but not right on the canal. One night a disco boat circled the hotel at 2:30 am for 15 mins, blasting dance music. Not good... Filthy bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the metro from airport to the town centre. Easy to use and fast.

Review of 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vagabond1962
Canada
Jul 31, 2012

Stay away

tiny rooms, uncomfortably hot in the summer - no a/c, every attempt was made to up-sell, but the overall quality was terrible....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2011

Great Place-Hotel 71 Nyhavn

The location was great. It was right on the canal. The staff was very friendly and did what they could make the stay wonderful. Their restaurant was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's close to shopping and the Little Mermaid statue.

Review of 71 Nyhavn Hotel Copenhagen

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 20, 2011

Great Place-Hotel 71 Nyhavn

The location was great. It was right on the canal. The staff was very friendly and did what they could make the stay wonderful. Their restaurant was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's close to shopping and the Little Mermaid statue.

Back to menu Return to top